5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SBP or MRSM?, Need help

TSFirdaus92
post Jan 24 2008, 06:43 PM, updated 18y ago

980 posts

I got 8A's for my PMR..and I'm currently waiting for an offer from both MRSM and SBP..i already got the offer from SBP..which is Sekolah Berasrama Penuh Integrasi Sabak Bernam..is that school good?I'm still waiting for the MRSM results too though..so..i want to know..should i wait for the MRSM..or go to the SBP? icon_question.gif
azarimy
post Jan 24 2008, 07:01 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

if MRSM, which MRSM would that be? it is to my experience that not all MRSM are as good as the others, so u're gonna have to be specific.

i'm not sure about SBPI sabak bernam.
Trident
post Jan 24 2008, 07:24 PM

353 posts

you got to sabak bernam meh

my friends and i got sekolah menengah sains seremban
lordzarx
post Jan 24 2008, 07:37 PM

On My Way
776 posts

both got pro and cons...
from wat i see....i am now in matriculation programme
here i meet a lot of sbp and mrsm student...
here some story i heard from them

if ur in mrsm:
>u will have plenty of oppurtunity to join fast track programme
>u might get sponsor by mara to oversea if u are g00d enuff

if ur in sbp:
>i dunno...

i dunno what to say
i have friend in mrsm now doing fast track at UTM
and another friend from sbp sains seremben now got jpa scholar
doing preparation to go to korea
so both good choice....
TSFirdaus92
post Jan 24 2008, 07:45 PM

980 posts

To azarimy..i can't choose which MRSM i want to be in..i just follow what they are offering me..which i haven't received it yet...so..i think i wait for the MRSM first..then i choose between those 2 sweat.gif
azarimy
post Jan 24 2008, 09:05 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Firdaus92 @ Jan 24 2008, 11:45 AM)
To azarimy..i can't choose which MRSM i want to be in..i just follow what they are offering me..which i haven't received it yet...so..i think i wait for the MRSM first..then i choose between those 2 sweat.gif
oh i know that wink.gif.

it'll be easier to decide if u know which MRSM u're getting into.

opportunity wise, both MRSM and SBP have equal chances to land a scholarship or any study assistance.
mihawk
post Jan 24 2008, 09:14 PM

302 posts

if u already got an offer from SBP,MRSM wont offer u anymore..it's stated in their website..
http://www.mara.gov.my/faq/showquestion.as...q=1&fldAuto=126

btw, i got Kolej Islam Sultan Alam Shah (KISAS),Klang...gotta register on 12 feb biggrin.gif
TSFirdaus92
post Jan 24 2008, 10:27 PM

980 posts

Cannot got MRSM too eh?My friend got both last year doh.gif By the way, i'm still waiting for MRSM first..then i decide rolleyes.gif
youngkies
post Jan 25 2008, 02:25 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(lordzarx @ Jan 24 2008, 07:37 PM)
both got pro and cons...
from wat i see....i am now in matriculation programme
here i meet a lot of sbp and mrsm student...
here some story i heard from them

if ur in mrsm:
>u will have plenty of oppurtunity to join fast track programme
>u might get sponsor by mara to oversea if u are g00d enuff

if ur in sbp:
>i dunno...

i dunno what to say
i have friend in mrsm now doing fast track at UTM
and another friend from sbp sains seremben now got jpa scholar
doing preparation to go to korea
so both good choice....
yes sponsor/scholarship from mara is good. they are generous, better than jpa and you are not tied with government after graduation, as long as you dont fail and fail them, your money wont be taken away.

as for sbp, they have good reputation as well, they are more to the government. you can apply for scholarship from jpa if you can guarantee good spm result, and willing to proceed to some pre-uni and being sent to oversea. usually a-level with jpa and international baccalaureate (ib) with mara. sbp have good sports event among themself, so you might get the chance to travel around. i thought they are called as sms instead since long ago?

meanwhile, since you have not get mara confirmation yet, get into sbp first, you can come out anytime later when you are confirmed with mara.
TSFirdaus92
post Jan 25 2008, 06:37 AM

980 posts

Seriously i can get out anytime?i thought can't doh.gif
youngkies
post Jan 25 2008, 07:03 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Firdaus92 @ Jan 25 2008, 06:37 AM)
not sure if the system or any regulation has been change in recent years. but during my years (6 years ago at least), i had seen student coming in and out after a month or two, because they cant stand the boarding school.

if you got good reason why not? you can just leave school anytime with proper notification.
WillHung
post Jan 25 2008, 09:07 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

stay at home and go for tuition for better results.
m_asyraf2002
post Jan 26 2008, 07:49 AM

QUOTE(mihawk @ Jan 24 2008, 09:14 PM)
if u already got an offer from SBP,MRSM wont offer u anymore..it's stated in their website..
http://www.mara.gov.my/faq/showquestion.as...q=1&fldAuto=126

btw, i got Kolej Islam Sultan Alam Shah (KISAS),Klang...gotta register on 12 feb biggrin.gif
waa...consider urself lucky as u got one of the best school in m'sia icon_idea.gif ...but then,u must not forget...even teacher from the heaven can't make u the best student in the world.it is ur attitude is the most important thing.and don't be so proud of ur school too much.

anyway,in my opinion..boarding school is the place where ur will get the most attention from ur teacher(from my previous exp)and for those outside there whom aren't well-dicipline(too lazy to do many exercise on ur own)boarding school is ur best bet because u will be burdened by ton of homework that u will not get enuf sleep cuz u need to finish ur h/w brows.gif

and...about the topic,i think it doesn't matter whether it is mrsm or sbp,but i prefer going to well known and renowned school.e.g.:u got kisas(which is sbp and top 5 school)...u also got mrsm kuantan..i rather choose sbp than mrsm(not saying that mrsm kuantan isn't good,no offence here) and vice versa.good school sometimes promise better future cuz people's perception on u depend on ur school.ok here i give u some sbp and mrsm that u must-go-it-first-or-u-will-regret-if-u-dont...
sbp:kolej islam sultan alam shah(kisas),sms seremban,sekolah seri puteri,malay college kuala kangsar(mckk),sbpi integrasi gombak,kolej tengku kurshiah,sms muar.
mrsm:tun ghaffar baba(jasin),berseri,taiping,langkawi.
kolej yayasan saad(i dunno this school is in which side but i think it is private school.nevertheless,this school is no1 school in m'sia) nod.gif

lastly,it's ur choice...choose it wisely.of course u can stay at ur old school w/o any problem at scoring spm with flying colour but at least give it some try if u get the offer.u can get the hell out of there anytime u want if u dislike being 'prisoned' in th school laugh.gif

This post has been edited by m_asyraf2002: Jan 26 2008, 06:20 PM
youngkies
post Jan 26 2008, 08:29 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(WillHung @ Jan 25 2008, 09:07 AM)
stay at home and go for tuition for better results.
not necessarily, sbp and mrsm are of top students and they achieve way better result than most schools, esp. in term of quantity.

apart of that, cheap fees, really cheap accommodation and food, good discipline and good teacher:student ratio, good facilities and a few more. but it is not for anyone.
firestater
post Jan 26 2008, 08:41 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jan 26 2008, 08:29 AM)
not necessarily, sbp and mrsm are of top students and they achieve way better result than most schools, esp. in term of quantity.

apart of that, cheap fees, really cheap accommodation and food, good discipline and good teacher:student ratio, good facilities and a few more. but it is not for anyone.
+ mix around with all kind off student rich poor, from diff state, day and night.
+ learn how to 'berdikari' manage ur own life.
+ compulsory to play any sport every evening ( as kids now days only prefer stretching ther finger Dota,CS , etc)
+ some other good things

youngkies
post Jan 26 2008, 09:24 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(firestater @ Jan 26 2008, 08:41 AM)
+ mix around with all kind off student rich poor, from diff state, day and night.
+ learn how to 'berdikari' manage ur own life.
+ compulsory to play any sport every evening ( as kids now days only prefer stretching ther finger Dota,CS , etc)
+ some other good things
bad points now

- little time with family
- have to be in class room for at least 10 hours weekdays yawn.gif
- abt to no life (if lyn, shopping, computer and games, lazy weekend, hanging out are what you describe as life) , but you might enjoy the time of having friends all day round. thumbup.gif
- definitely the bed, the room, the bathroom/toilet are not as comfy as home, alongside of daily/weekly chores.
mihawk
post Jan 26 2008, 11:10 AM

302 posts

but u cant bring your hp to boarding school,tho, n i hate it...
well, i guess public phones will be my good friends there blush.gif ....

i think i'll manage well in KISAS, coz i got an offer be4 to SM Sains Kuching when i was in Swak, i went there for 1 week and ran away from that school,hehe...but now i wont run away again, coz the opportunities after SPM are more widely opened compare to ordinary school, that's what i think..

Coz there's a friend of my father who works at Kementerian Pelajaran said that when they want to choose the students to go to overseas, they'll pick from SBP or MRSM first...mostly the top schools like MCKK,TKC,SMS Faris Petra (my sis's school), KISAS (my school-to-be tongue.gif ) etc etc...

so, i wish good luck to all!!!

AtMostFear
post Jan 26 2008, 03:51 PM

809 posts

I was from MRSM Taiping, and yeah, I got the chance to apply to a lot of scholarships right after my SPM trial. some of them are UTP or to Japan under MARA, and Petronas oversea program. I got two of them, and because it depends on the forecast result, I get to start my study before the actual SPM result came out. all the scholarships I applied for are engineering course. but there are other programs available too. for instance engineering or biotech to UTM, Russia medicine, UiTM fast track medicine or accounting. at least those are the available programs during my time (I took my SPM in 2005).

so basically, MRSM has better opportunities for scholarships if that's what you're looking for. but that only applies if you tend to apply using your trial result, after the actual SPM result comes out, everyone has equal chances. and if you manage to get to one of the top ten schools (regardless of whether it's MRSM or SBP), Bank Negara will come to your school after your forecast result comes out to interview you for the scholarship. (which is kinda rare, because they only open their application for SPM result).

Added on January 26, 2008, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(Firdaus92 @ Jan 25 2008, 06:37 AM)
yes you can, you're not tied to an agreement or anything.

QUOTE(m_asyraf2002 @ Jan 26 2008, 07:49 AM)
and...about the topic,i think it doesn't matter whether it is mrsm or sbp,but i prefer going to well known and renowned school.e.g.:u got kisas(which is sbp and top 5 school)...u also got mrsm kuantan..i rather choose sbp than mrsm(not saying that mrsm kuantan isn't good,no offence here) and vice versa.good school sometimes promise better future cuz people's perception on u depend on ur school.ok here i give u some sbp and mrsm that u must-go-it-first-or-u-will-regret-if-u-dont...
sbp:kolej islam sultan alam shah(kisas),sms seremban,sekolah seri puteri,malay college kuala kangsar(mckk),sbpi integrasi gombak,kolej tengku kurshiah,sms muar.
mrsm:tun ghaffar baba(jasin),berseri,taiping,langkawi,muar
kolej yayasan saad(i dunno this school is in which side but i think it is private school.nevertheless,this school is no1 school in m'sia)
MRSM Muar? are you sure? just because Sheikh Muszaphar is from that school doesn't mean it's a good one. my friend who was almost kicked out from MRSM was transferred there. so people actually call it like a tempat buangan. well no offence, but I might be wrong tho. smile.gif

if you still can, try to get to Kolej Yayasan Saad. it's a very very very good private school. most of the people I met from that school have very high level of confidence and charisma. I wish I was from there.

This post has been edited by AtMostFear: Jan 26 2008, 04:11 PM
m_asyraf2002
post Jan 26 2008, 06:05 PM

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ 26 Jan 2008)
MRSM Muar? are you sure? just because Sheikh Muszaphar is from that school doesn't mean it's a good one. my friend who was almost kicked out from MRSM was transferred there. so people actually call it like a tempat buangan. well no offence, but I might be wrong tho. smile.gif
ermm...I'm not sure bout that cuz I'm not from mrsm,I'm not even thinking bout that astronaut whistling.gif I just put there cuz I've met some student from mrsm muar which are good(in term of quality) and have leadership skill right there biggrin.gif I will put away that school from the list i guess

anyway,from your point there,it is true that Bank Negara will come chasing after u when u got a good trial result.u will be proud then cuz all the teachers are talking bout u and the juniors are admiring at u thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mihawk @ 26 Jan 2008)
i think i'll manage well in KISAS, coz i got an offer be4 to SM Sains Kuching when i was in Swak, i went there for 1 week and ran away from that school,hehe...but now i wont run away again, coz the opportunities after SPM are more widely opened compare to ordinary school, that's what i think..
haha...u'll manage well there,very well indeed.I knew it cuz I was from there tongue.gif ...living there will be the moment u won't forget the most.missing my teachers and friends there rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by m_asyraf2002: Jan 26 2008, 06:24 PM
mihawk
post Jan 26 2008, 10:57 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(m_asyraf2002 @ Jan 26 2008, 06:05 PM)
haha...u'll manage well there,very well indeed.I knew it cuz I was from there tongue.gif ...living there will be the moment u won't forget the most.missing my teachers and friends there rolleyes.gif
wah,cant wait..erm, btw, i heard from my brother's friend that we're not allowed to look at gurls there,is it true??
all we have to do is just look down when we see 'em..

n, do they have form1,2 and 3 students there also?? or just 4,5,6??
my sis's friend was also from there and he's at Egypt now, getting his Medical Doctor license..

sorry if it's out of topic but i'm just curious... drool.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:35 PM