Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Advertlet kena hack? Advertlets.com is expired!, redirecting to another site (Advertising)

goldfries
post Jan 5 2008, 07:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

not so clever but got 25k++ post!!!

Group: Forum Admin
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Creation Date: 04-Jan-2007
Expiration Date: 04-Jan-2008

ahh. not renewed yet. so looks like it's gonna take a while to update.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 5 2008, 11:23 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SanosukeSagara
post Jan 5 2008, 07:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

2008 2008

Group: Senior Member

please be fast.. how on earth they so unprofessional..
+Quote Post
Dashken
post Jan 5 2008, 07:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

Group: Junior Member

LOL! This is so stupid... I wanted to check my earnings and when I go to its website, gone...

My blog also down due to this. Forgot where else I put the ad codes... I thought I already removed them all... Hmm...

Many are going to kpkb about this incident. How the **** did they forget to renew? Their professionalism is VERY questionable?

I think I'll go fully nuffnang and see what happens... blink.gif

This post has been edited by Dashken: Jan 5 2008, 08:00 PM
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jan 5 2008, 08:06 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

QUOTE(Dashken @ Jan 5 2008, 07:58 PM)
...My blog also down due to this. Forgot where else I put the ad codes... I thought I already removed them all... Hmm......

dash, help me on this one.

you mean that those blogs with the JS wouldn't even load because of this?

sorry, i'm on my mac and the file with the Advertlet codes are on the other machine. smile.gif my site currently no Advertlets ad atm so i donno what's the effect.

AFAIK they just call a JS file or something, thus it should be leading to something not loading only. not sure.

so care to explain? really site cannot load because of that failed ad loader? (yeah, really. in my years of using the Internet I've not encountered such thing. so educate me please)

Added on January 5, 2008, 8:07 pmand what is kpkb? probably some hokkien thing again la hor?

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 5 2008, 08:07 PM
+Quote Post
doinkz_gaara
post Jan 5 2008, 08:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

BIG BANG YAY

No wonder blogs with Advertlets became like this.
I can hardly read their posts. Lol.

Lucky I've removed Advertlets since a month ago. XD
+Quote Post
smallstripes
post Jan 5 2008, 08:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

goldfries..pages with the JS(javascript) gets redirected to some site..somehow..im not too sure why this happens..should it just load some error msg or something when the domain expires?why redirect the whole page cos of 1 lil script?
+Quote Post
Dashken
post Jan 5 2008, 08:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 5 2008, 08:06 PM)
dash, help me on this one.

you mean that those blogs with the JS wouldn't even load because of this?

sorry, i'm on my mac and the file with the Advertlet codes are on the other machine. smile.gif my site currently no Advertlets ad atm so i donno what's the effect.

AFAIK they just call a JS file or something, thus it should be leading to something not loading only. not sure.

so care to explain? really site cannot load because of that failed ad loader? (yeah, really. in my years of using the Internet I've not encountered such thing. so educate me please)

Added on January 5, 2008, 8:07 pmand what is kpkb? probably some hokkien thing again la hor?

It loads... but when it detected the codes (which I'm sure I've already removed hmm.gif ), it will be redirected to a URL like this http://www.adbaaz.com/?dn=www.advertlets.c...b0MPf72QvKEM171

I'm in a daze myself. Peaz has warned me before of Blog Rush that if their server is down, he suspected that it will take down the server where my blog is hosted too. He asked me to be careful. But I didn't expect this could happen to an ad as well.

KPKB = kao pek kao bu tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dashken: Jan 5 2008, 08:17 PM
+Quote Post
doinkz_gaara
post Jan 5 2008, 08:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

BIG BANG YAY

When it is redirected, another pop up ad will appear alongside.

Hm, I think it's hard for Advertlets to fight with Nuffnang already.
+Quote Post
smallstripes
post Jan 5 2008, 08:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

dash. if ur using firefox press ctrl + F n find words with advertlets..simple..n remove it if u duno where u put ur scipts.

This post has been edited by smallstripes: Jan 5 2008, 08:23 PM
+Quote Post
Dashken
post Jan 5 2008, 08:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

lol, thanks smallstripes... just found out I removed the wrong thing. haha.. that's what you get when you have a drag n drop interface (Serendipity) and you're lazy to put title on each module. biggrin.gif

Yay! Back up!

Goodbye Advertlets! Once is enuf already! mad.gif

This post has been edited by Dashken: Jan 5 2008, 08:28 PM
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jan 5 2008, 08:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

QUOTE(smallstripes @ Jan 5 2008, 08:10 PM)
goldfries..pages with the JS(javascript) gets redirected to some site..somehow..im not too sure why this happens..should it just load some error msg or something when the domain expires?why redirect the whole page cos of 1 lil script?

QUOTE(Dashken @ Jan 5 2008, 08:16 PM)
It loads... but when it detected the codes (which I'm sure I've already removed  hmm.gif ), it will be redirected to a URL like this http://www.adbaaz.com/?dn=www.advertlets.c...b0MPf72QvKEM171

I'm in a daze myself. Peaz has warned me before of Blog Rush that if their server is down, he suspected that it will take down the server where my blog is hosted too. He asked me to be careful. But I didn't expect this could happen to an ad as well.

it won't take down the server la but based on posts so far, it seems that it redirects the SITE itself to some other page which is what i find (based on my understanding) quite puzzling.

now that i'm back on my main machine, i tested (with my local / development server) - yeah it seems to redirect traffic.

this is the code that i used

CODE
<script type="text/javascript">
adv_username = "goldfries";
adv_gid = "goldfries_default";
adtype = "165x240";
</script><script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.advertlets.com/_/js/advertlets.js"></script>

if using this, it will redirect.

CODE
adtype = "165x240";
</script><script type="text/javascript" src="http://localhost/_/js/advertlets.js"></script>

AND

CODE
adtype = "165x240";
</script><script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.goldfries.com/_/js/advertlets.js"></script>

changing the www part to localhost or www.goldfries.com and the entire page works as it is just that JS did not load, which is what I expected to happen if the browser is unable to locate a JS file.

sweat.gif man, i can't imagine those who use it get forwarded to odd pages, everyone thinks their page is down. those without knowledge won't know what hit them.

it's the first time i see an UNFOUND JS forward the browser to an entirely new page instead of just aborting the JS loading.

i also did a hunt for the "http://www.advertlets.com/_/js/advertlets.js" - it's not found. you can try it on GETRIGHT or whatever stuff you have, it's NOT FOUND. however place it on the browser and it gets forwarded to the adbaaz or whatever.

perhaps there's a HTACCESS or whatever that sets whatever is loaded to override the page loading. hrmm........... *investigates further*

QUOTE(Dashken @ Jan 5 2008, 08:16 PM)
KPKB = kao pek kao bu  tongue.gif

kam sia lu.

Added on January 5, 2008, 8:35 pmOk, here's what i found out.

Adbazz loads the following javascript.

REMEMBER : Advertlets' JS loads some HTML page in your AD box, that's why when Advertlets server was down you'll see the default TIME OUT page of your browser.

so, now this time it doesn't TIME OUT but it loads THAT particular page.

and that page contains the following javascript. smile.gif yup, based on see and understand - the JS WILL override your page loading and loads the instructed page instead.

CODE
  <!--
   top.location="http://www.adbaaz.com/?dn=www.advertlets.com&flrdr=yes&nxte=js";
   /*
  -->

<!--
     if(window.top != self)
     {

cWidth = 0;
      cHeight = 0;
      if( typeof( window.innerWidth ) != 'undefined' ) {
      //Non-IE
      cWidth = window.innerWidth;
      cHeight = window.innerHeight;
      } else if( document.documentElement && ( document.documentElement.clientWidth || document.documentElement.clientHeight ) ) {
      //IE 6+ in 'standards compliant mode'
      cWidth = document.documentElement.clientWidth;
      cHeight = document.documentElement.clientHeight;
      } else if( document.body && ( document.body.clientWidth || document.body.clientHeight ) ) {
      //IE 4 compatible
      cWidth = document.body.clientWidth;
      cHeight = document.body.clientHeight;
      }
      if( cHeight <= 200 )
      {
       window.top.location = "http://www.adbaaz.com/?dn=www.advertlets.com&flrdr=yes&nxte=js";
      }
     }
     // -->
    </script>

<frameset rows="100%,*" frameborder="no" border="0" framespacing="0">
    <frame src="http://www.adbaaz.com/?dn=www.advertlets.com&flrdr=yes&nxte=js&foiffs=in100fweg">
    </frameset>
    <noframes>
    <body bgcolor="#ffffff" text="#000000">
    <a href="http://www.adbaaz.com/?dn=www.advertlets.com&flrdr=yes&nxte=js&foiffs=in100fweg">Click here to proceed</a>.
    </body>
    </noframes>
  <!--
  */
  -->

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 5 2008, 08:35 PM
+Quote Post
smallstripes
post Jan 5 2008, 08:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

so if they were to use Iframe...this wont happen..rite?
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jan 5 2008, 08:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

i'm not sure. lemme try.........

Added on January 5, 2008, 8:44 pmok tested. i put iframe around the JS script and it didn't forward me to other place.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 5 2008, 08:44 PM
+Quote Post
SonnyCooL
post Jan 5 2008, 08:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

Web Bastard

adbazz have higher page hit in their history .... hahaha
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
pyroboy1911
post Jan 5 2008, 08:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

A Great Achievement

i think Advertlets are fine now?

anyway, Advertlets have helped me win something through the FACES partnership, while i dun use NN much. kinda the other way round? tongue.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
JoshLim
post Jan 5 2008, 09:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

Hi all:

Please see http://advertlets.blogspot.com/ for updates on the issue.

Rest assured we are working on it and will fully resolve the issue soon. Some of you are already experiencing full service, however some are still affected. We will be working on it, and should you have any questions I can be reached at 0123995674 or 0123119141.
+Quote Post
doinkz_gaara
post Jan 5 2008, 09:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

BIG BANG YAY

This is seriously a huge problem.
I can't access blogs which I frequent as almost everyone has Advertlets.

*Sigh*
+Quote Post
smallstripes
post Jan 5 2008, 09:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 5 2008, 08:52 PM)
i think Advertlets are fine now?

anyway, Advertlets have helped me win something through the FACES partnership, while i dun use NN much. kinda the other way round? tongue.gif

lucky u...i just seee my earnings decreasing like 200% or more...2 weeks and i get like RM1

nuffnang on the other hand..i gotto thank them for banning me for a "professional" reason.they also kept quiet n refuse to justify gj n kudos to them

+Quote Post
JoshLim
post Jan 5 2008, 09:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

Hi, we are aware of the current issue regarding the domain name, and we have already taken action to resolve the problem. However, DNS changes take time to propogate. Should you wish to have immediate access to the Advertlets.com website and widgets on your computer, you can use the following instructions to resolve the domain successfully. Please note that other visitors to your blog may not have the same results. DNS changes come into affect at different times on different international locations.

You can edit your hosts file:
Open up notepad.
Open this file: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts (no file extension).
Add this line in after other lines: 202.46.116.100 advertlets.com

We are aware this is a temporary fix and the permanent solution as well as full service will be back online shortly at www.advertlets.com
+Quote Post
FauxHawk
post Jan 5 2008, 11:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

Ryouhei-hime

At first I thought my blog kena hack after my friend sms'ed me sayin my blog
keeps gettin redirected somewhere else
+Quote Post

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th November 2009 - 02:55 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)