Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Animu of 2007, da best, da worst, da unexpected (General)

kyon22
post Jan 2 2008, 02:34 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

trap of the year 2007
-mako-chan (minami-ke)
-teira (gundam 00)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ultralien
post Jan 2 2008, 02:51 PM

Group: New Member

BestWorst Male Character 2007
Makoto (School Days)
+Quote Post
Manjix
post Jan 2 2008, 03:19 PM

Group: New Member

QUOTE(Stormy001_M1A2 @ Jan 2 2008, 02:01 PM)
The Worst?
1. Lucky Star (meaningless story,no character and plot, over hyped)

Still watching 2007 animes of
1. Shakugan no Shana II (just how the novel would put it, I like it)

Actually, Lucky Star is more toward comedy, and it's not over hyped. Shakugan no Shana is a nice anime, but overall the story is long and draggy. The fans chose to watch it because they want to see Shana say her triple "Urusai". The best anime of 2007 according to some poll is sola with over 340k votes and in second place it's Lucky Star with 160k votes.
+Quote Post
Haruhi
post Jan 2 2008, 04:25 PM

The best of 2007:

Byousoku 5cm
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time

The worst of 2007:

Clannad - I still can't understand the hype surrounding this piece of abomination. The character/story developments is just f***ing bizarre. I mean, come on, what's up with all the stupid "FUNNY" conversation that goes on and on every episode. Hey fuuko~ is that a.. star? No, it's a starfish. HAHA NICE ONE!!1

Unexpectedly good of 2007:

Sola - Overlooked series. Thanks to the hype caused by Lucky Star and Clannad. Which is not even half as good as Sola when combined.
Hidamari Sketch - One word - ''Bladder''. This series will make it explode.

Unexpectedly bad of 2007:

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai - Oh god.. K. ended already? Oh wait.. Season 3 in 2008? vmad.gif

User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
matt85
post Jan 2 2008, 04:44 PM

First time posting here, didn't watch much new animes from 2007, but what i could grasp,

The best of 2007:

1. Byousoku 5 Senchimeetoru

Very very touching anime, can't help but feeling sappy each time i rewatch it. The song 'One more time, one more chance' itself is an epic soundtrack. Can say im a fan of Makoto Shinkai's art too icon_rolleyes.gif

2. Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo

In short, sci-fi + high school romance = win laugh.gif

Unexpectedly bad of 2007:

1. Shakugan no Shana II

A huge fan of Shana I, but Shana II is just a major huge super letdown. Not much actions nor fightings, and Yuji is still a dork, so far so BAD. sigh shakehead.gif

For the other categories, no comment.
+Quote Post
cloudstrife07
post Jan 2 2008, 04:49 PM

let's turn the chessboard around

Group: Senior Member

mine:

best anime of 2007:
- Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann (GAR?)
- Minami-ke (leaf shaped ahoge is a win!)
- Seto no Hanayome (cant find other funnier than this)
- Ef a Tale of Memories (awesome, though some dropped this anime due to hard to understand plot.. and Yuukyuu no Tsubasa song at the end of ep12 FTW!)
- School Days (teach playboys a lesson tongue.gif )
- Claymore (bloody wink.gif )
- Myself; Yourself (i was a bit disagreed on the ending)

Worst anime of 2007:

- idolmaster Xenoglossia (i guess wolfx already explained it all)
- Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun (too mindless to be of my liking..seems to have a plot, but i don't think so.only towards the end they have a plot)

Unexpectedly good anime of 2007:
- Lovely Complex (talk about abnormal love eh?something that is realistic in our life)
- Moyashimon (education anime, anyone?)
- Kodomo no Jikan (loli.... tongue.gif )
- Sola (sleeper hit anyone? )
- Kimikiss Pure Rouge (i thought this was another harem, but no..moe FTW! )

potential anime of 2007:
- Bamboo Blade
- Clannad
- Kimikiss Pure Rouge

unexpected bad?hmm..i dont think i have 'em inside my mind

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Jan 5 2008, 03:09 AM
+Quote Post
jhcj
post Jan 2 2008, 05:01 PM

Kliing~!

Group: Staff

After going through this thread, I'm relieved to know that I'm not the only one who thinks Lucky ShitStar is crap.

Now waiting for my fanboi buddy to come here and flame me. xD

Best anime for me? TTGL...hands down. rclxms.gif
+Quote Post
igor_is300
post Jan 2 2008, 05:10 PM

hideous kinky

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jan 2 2008, 04:49 PM)
mine:

best anime of 2007:
- Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann (GAR?)
- Minami-ke (leaf shaped ahoge is a win!)
- Seto no Hanayome (cant find other funnier than this)
- Ef a Tale of Memories (awesome, though some dropped this anime due to hard to understand plot.. and Yuukyuu no Tsubasa song at the end of ep12 FTW!)
- School Days (teach playboys a lesson tongue.gif )
- Claymore (bloody wink.gif )
- Myself; Yourself (i was a bit disagreed on the ending)

Worst anime of 2007:

- idolmaster Xenoglossia (i guess wolfx already explained it all)
- Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun (too mindless to be of my liking..seems to have a plot, but i don't think so.only towards the end they have a plot)

Unexpectedly good anime of 2007:
- Lovely Complex (talk about abnormal love eh?something that is realistic in our life)
- Moyashimon (education anime, anyone?)
- Kodomo no Jikan (loli.... tongue.gif )
- Sola (sleeper hit anyone? )
- Kimikiss Pure Rouge (i thought this was another harem, but no..moe FTW! )

potential anime of 2007:
- Bamboo Blade
- Clannad

unexpected bad?hmm..i dont think i have 'em inside my mind

LEAF SHAPED AHOGE AND CHESTNUT SHAPED MOUTH FTW !!!!

This post has been edited by igor_is300: Jan 2 2008, 05:10 PM
+Quote Post
wolfx
post Jan 2 2008, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 2 2008, 05:01 PM)
After going through this thread, I'm relieved to know that I'm not the only one who thinks Lucky ShitStar is crap.

Now waiting for my fanboi buddy to come here and flame me. xD

Best anime for me? TTGL...hands down. rclxms.gif

So far its only you and stormy. You 2 can go have a room. shocking.gif
+Quote Post
Fyonne
post Jan 2 2008, 05:17 PM

Anime Shrine

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(wolfx @ Jan 2 2008, 05:11 PM)
So far its only you and stormy. You 2 can go have a room.  shocking.gif

me didnt watch Lucky Star, but i dun really like what they are showing but i cant place it in worst if i dun watch it at all :|
+Quote Post
jhcj
post Jan 2 2008, 05:19 PM

Kliing~!

QUOTE(wolfx @ Jan 2 2008, 05:11 PM)
So far its only you and stormy. You 2 can go have a room.  shocking.gif

e-jump also what... >_>

+Quote Post
wolfx
post Jan 2 2008, 05:25 PM

Good la!
3P lor!
+Quote Post
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 2 2008, 05:40 PM

ς(◕ ω ◕ς)

People are overlooking the fact that Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is a 2006 movie.

By the way, Lucky Shit is more towards comedy, yes. But even its humour is stale. They spent 24 episodes making fun of Konata's otakuism, Kagami's tsundere attitude towards her, Tsukasa's retardedness, and Miwiki's long-winded explanations. What else was there?

Give me a break. I enjoyed watching Yutaka's group more, but that's not saying a lot. If you look at it, that group is not much different from Konata's group.
+Quote Post
jonralf
post Jan 2 2008, 06:30 PM

Study Modoo

mine:

Good
Seto no Hanayome
Byousoku 5cm (the art is the best of the best WIN WIN WIN thumbup.gif)
Lovely Complex
Kimikiss Pure Rouge
Lucky Star (still didn't finish watching it though)
Hayate no Gotoku (tongue.gif)
Ghost Hunt

Bad :
dunno/forget coz usually drop the series even it's not finish yet.

Unexpectedly Good :
ef a tale of memories (the main reason is of coz the art thumbup.gif )
School Days ( tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif thumbup.gif )
Kodomo no Jikan ( shocking.gif )

Unexpectedly Bad :
Myself;Yourself (first2 ok but then...)
Mamoru-kun ni Megami no Shukufuku o! (it's supposed to end earlier but then...)
Death Note

This post has been edited by jonralf: Jan 3 2008, 05:55 PM
+Quote Post
Stormy001_M1A2
post Jan 2 2008, 06:43 PM

QUOTE(Manjix @ Jan 2 2008, 04:19 PM)
Actually, Lucky Star is more toward comedy, and it's not over hyped.  Shakugan no Shana is a nice anime, but overall the story is long and draggy. The fans chose to watch it because they want to see Shana say her triple "Urusai". The best anime of 2007 according to some poll is sola with over 340k votes and in second place it's Lucky Star with 160k votes.

Dude, people still reeling with excitement generated by Haruhi lapped (that includes me, sadly) on this because of

1. Voice actress, Aya Hira something
2. Kyoto Animation
3. Same crew worked on excellent and clever Haruhi

And you telling me it is not hype? Which part of planet you coming from? Hell, ADV USA advertise Lucky Star as "successor of Haruhi Suzumiya" in the promos.

I remember 1st episode and thinking "What a load of crap". 12 minutes on same unfunny punchline of how to eat chocolate pastry. That shows bankruptcy of ideas to make the anime funny. Then I go check the 4 panel comic and realised that it is practically a place for anime fans in Japan to masturbate their fantasy on. The jokes will awesome to them but to me, it is just did not cut the cake. Beer has to ice cold and this one taste like a warm horse piss.

Shana has to be watched from ep 1 of Season One right to end of Season 2 in one shot. The problem is, the beginning of Season 2 is midway of the novel story hence the slow pacing where the write builds up the relationships, addressing history of Reiji Maigo and reason for Shana to be Shana. Due to airing time constraints, the anime studio has to cut out the flashback scenes of Pheles and Johann which is understandable since it is quite substantial in the novelization. A lot of small scenes like for example I remembered a scene where Shana asked Kasumi on how human female get pregnant in early parts that is omitted from the anime. Shana's appeal is not because she is loli or tsundere archetype but she is more believable than the stupid pink hair moron named Zero. It pays when you read the novel and you get the feel of her personality in more detail.

Frankly, I don't give a flying f_u_c_k about the popularity polls. Did not mean a lot of people voted for it means it is good for me. I know Sola is very appealing to many fans but same as Lucky Star, I don't buy it. I don't like what I see. Hell, I gave up on these harem ren ai game based animes. All of them are cliched to capital C.

+Quote Post
ashburn98
post Jan 2 2008, 06:55 PM

Custom title? Nice..

I'll remind myself I need to leech some anime off you guys. can't relate to any of the anime listed. sad.gif
+Quote Post
cloudstrife07
post Jan 2 2008, 06:55 PM

let's turn the chessboard around

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jan 2 2008, 05:10 PM)
LEAF SHAPED AHOGE AND CHESTNUT SHAPED MOUTH FTW !!!!

u're wrong.based on latest ep13 of minami-ke, leaf-shaped-moving ahoge is a win!! tongue.gif

QUOTE(wolfx @ Jan 2 2008, 05:25 PM)
Good la!
3P 3some lor!

corrected for the truth
+Quote Post
Aoshi_88
post Jan 2 2008, 07:13 PM

COMRADE!!!

Re-edited my list and added two new categories.

And yeah, Seto no Hanayome was shit to begin with. At least the main male charater in Nagasarete Airantou knew Kendo.
+Quote Post
kyon22
post Jan 2 2008, 08:26 PM

Up to you what do you want to watch...
+Quote Post
Geminist
post Jan 2 2008, 09:06 PM

- Perfectionist -

Good
Marimate OVA (Sachiko!)
Lucky Star
Minami ke (Haruka!!)
Gurren Lagann (Yoko!!)
Genshiken 2 (Ohno!)

Unexpectedly Good
Seto no Hanayome (wasn't expecting it to be this interesting)
Moyashimon (don't deny partly was because of Hasegawa)
Bamboo blade (Tama chan - Wasn't expecting much but it's suprisingly interesting)

Bad
Wouldn't usually call an anime bad, it's just not what I like to watch.

Best animal in anime
Tama (Hayate no gotoku - talking tiger, what else do you need biggrin.gif

I think it's rather obvious which "side" I lean on now. But in anycase, although I didn't quite like Ef, I might give it another try to see considering the praises here.

This post has been edited by Geminist: Jan 2 2008, 09:11 PM
+Quote Post

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th November 2009 - 01:51 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)