Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
6 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Animu of 2007, da best, da worst, da unexpected (General)

Fyonne
post Jan 2 2008, 10:42 AM

Anime Shrine

Group: Moderator
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Well, i saw a lot thread related to Best/Worst (movie, album, game) of 2007 around LYN, so decided to create 1 for /AS/
So wat does fellow /AS/ feel bout 2007's anime (movie/series/OVA/OAV or cat is fine too)
which is u find it BEST of 2007 (few entry is fine) n WORST n da UNEXPECTED (unexpectedly good: u thought it just another anime but it blow u with awesomeness suddenly ; or unexpectedly bad: u have high hope in it, but it phail hard)
neway it not for flaming or start one, just ur opinion of which is best n worst with ur own point of view.
n anything goes, if u feel like nominate 'BEST CHARACTER' or 'BEST COSTUME' or 'BEST KUCING PUN BOLEH' as long its within the year 2007 animu.

for me,
Da BEST Anime of 2007
i) Dennou Coil > its great concept with good animation and story line. though with some annoying filler (though some say its good filler with a story bu for me im into the story n dun just combo breaker me with filler)
ii) Toki wo kakeru shoujo > one of anime i know bout it n kept me waiting for it release n yet it doesnt disappoint me.

da WORST anime of 2007
i) Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun > seriously, 1 eps spaning 5 to 10 minutes is enough to hurt my eyes, my heart n my dignity.

UNEXPECTEDLY GOOD of 2007
i) Ef - A Tale of Memories > well, i thought i was goin to be emm.... normal school life stuff though the way it was presented is really interesting. Seriously i wouldn't care less bout it at 1st when its released but somehow i try watching it n wow, its got me by surprise.
ii) Tekkon Kinkreet > why? i thought it's dead/ or planned to be made entirely in 3D, but it came out 2D n its really rox after few years (4 i think) i heard bout it n it just came out n took me by surprises.

UNEXPECTEDLY BAD of 2007
i) Romeo X Juliet > for some reason, it had interesting start but start to turn sour slowly which at a point i quit watching it. it was hype so much during the trailer, pre-aired advertised but fact is the story, the animation quality n everything grew mold until i cant bear to watch it nemore.

Best Male Character of 2007
i) Kamina from TTGL > Do i even need to say it out laugh.gif
ii) Kaiji from Kaiji > n again, he aint like mahjong legend which only shine, this one shine dimmer than Akagi, but he crawl up from darker place than Akagi which make him way better than Akagi.

Worst Male Character
yet to remember any.

Best Female Character of 2007
i) Makoto from Tokikake > shes is just adorable n funny smile.gif

Worst Female Character of 2007
i) Aoi from Myself, Yourself > its her voice, n her attitude that wanted to act cute while she is not (due to her high pitch voices) i quit that anime due to her voices (well partially tongue.gif )

neway, i had a short term memory, so there are some i might miss :|

This post has been edited by Fyonne: Jan 2 2008, 02:26 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shah_ho_nam2
post Jan 2 2008, 10:44 AM

らき☆すた

Group: Senior Member

wangan midnight and Full throtle you are under arrest
+Quote Post
Aoshi_88
post Jan 2 2008, 11:10 AM

COMRADE!!!

Refer here: http://ayako.desudesu.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=687

Done by one of the Ayako forumer, IrishHaremOtaku.

1st Irish Anime Awards 03-07
1er Prix Irlandais de Anime 03-07

Categories:

Best use of fanservice
Nominees:
Ichigo 100%
Shuffle!
Amaenaideyo!
Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun

Winner: Amaenaideyo!

Best use of objects for plot development
Nominees:
Lucky Star (Chocolate Cornet)
Bokusatsu Tenshi Dokuro-chan (Excalibolg)
Zero no Tsukaima (Derflinger)
Clannad (Wooden Starfish/Stars)

Winner: Bokusatsu Tenshi Dokuro-chan

Best Serious Bloody Anime
Nominees:
Elfen Lied
Black Lagoon
School Days
Fate/Stay Night
Myself: Yourself

Winner: Fate/Stay Night

Best Harem Anime
Nominees:
Ichigo 100%
Shuffle!
Zero no Tsukaima 2
Amaenaideyo
Nagasarete Airantou

Winner: Shuffle!

Best Arc Anime
Nominees
Clannad
Air TV
Kanon 2006
Shuffle!
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Winner: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Best Romantic Comedy Anime
Nominees:
Lovely Complex
Karin
Onegai Sensei
Sumomo momomo
Ai Yori Aoshi
Nagasarete Airantou
Seto no Hanayome
Kamisama Kazoku

Winner: Ai Yori Aoshi

Best Mecha Anime
Nominees:
Gurren Lagann
Gundam 00
Full Metal Panic (and sequels)
Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion
Neon Genesis Evangelion

Winner: Full Metal Panic

Artistic Anime Award
Recepient: Byousoku 5cm

Best Storyline Award for a 20+ Episode Series
Nominees:
Kanon 06
Fate/Stay Night
Full Metal Panic
Gurren Lagann
Shakugan no Shana

Best Storyline Award for a Series of less than 20 episodes
Nominees:
Zero no Tsukaima
School Days
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
Midori Days
Elfen Lied

Winner: TBA

Best Main Female Character
Nominees:
Suzumiya Haruhi (Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi)
Kaname Chidori (Full Metal Panic)
"Shana" (Shakugan no Shana)
"Suzu" (Nagasarete Airantou)
Sekai Saionji & Kotonoha Katsura (School Days)
C.C (Code Geass)
Saber (Fate/Stay Night)
Furokawa Nagisa (Clannad)
Louise Franoise le Blanc de la Valiel, 3rd Daughter of Valiel (Zero no Tsukaima)

Winner(s): Sekai Saionji & Kotonoha Katsura

Best Opening Music
Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi (It's an Adventure, Right? Right? by Aya Hirano)
Shakugan no Shana Second (JOINT by Mami Kawada)
Bokusatsu Tenshi Dokuro-chan (Track of the same name by Saeko Chiba)
Seto no Hanayome (Romantic Summer by Haruko & Halko Momoi and Sakura Nogawa)
Sumomo momomo (Saikyou○Keikaku by Mosaic.wav)

Winner: Shakugan no Shana Second (JOINT by Mami Kawada)

Best Closing Music
Ichigo 100% (Ike Ike by Hinoi Team)
GreenGreen TV (Aozora by Yuria)
Elfen Lied (Be Your Girl by Chieko Kawabe)
Kanon 06 (Kaze no Tadori Tsuku Basho by Ayana)

Winner: Ichigo 100% (Ike Ike by Hinoi Team)

Mind you, it's his choice so don't expect it to be the same as yours.

This post has been edited by Aoshi_88: Jan 3 2008, 08:14 PM
+Quote Post
e-jump
post Jan 2 2008, 11:22 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌

BEST of 2007
- Mononoke : as expected, continuation from Bakeneko Arc, different style

WORST of 2007
- Lucky Shit (in before MASSIVE shitstorm)

- Code Geass : sunrise + clamp, no one expected this
- Darker than Black : it moved from someone dies every 2 eps, to plot

Up and downs of 2007
- Kaibutsu Oujo : well, it wasnt really that good, but it improved from shit
- Hayate no Gotoku : it went up when Hinagiku, Maria and Saki got screentime. Idiot teacher, Nom-Nom and stupid 3stooges are pure shit

UNEXPECTEDLY BAD of 2007
- Doujin Work : from potential to WTF??!! repetitive
- Xenologlasia : Mecha love?
- YUA full throttle : what the.....

--updated--

This post has been edited by e-jump: Jan 2 2008, 08:44 PM
+Quote Post
Fyonne
post Jan 2 2008, 11:28 AM

Anime Shrine

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Jan 2 2008, 11:10 AM)
Refer here: http://ayako.desudesu.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=687

Done by one of the Ayako forumer, IrishHaremOtaku.
Mind you, it's his choice so don't expect it to be the same as yours.

i dun really mind, n its his choice, but WHERE IS UR~!!!! tongue.gif
+Quote Post
kyon22
post Jan 2 2008, 11:35 AM

Group: Junior Member

The unexpected 0f 2007
- school days, with in gore ending and nice boat....

+Quote Post
wolfx
post Jan 2 2008, 11:45 AM

My list

for me, Da BEST of 2007
i.) Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann - OMFG Gainax has impressed me with this hot blooded masterpiece. LUB IT. Huge amounts of GAR in it. wub.gif
ii.) Code GEASS - Is this 2007? Can't remember....really nice story with plot twists.

da WORST of 2007
i.) I never watch the other non-mentionable crap...but if there's one piece of crap I regretted watching its Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun which was recommended by Linkinstreet based on his manga reading. OMFG what piece of crap anime is this. The fanservice isn't even serviceable and every week its silly/stupid adventures....dunno what to say.
ii.) idolM@ster - Urgh...fugly lolikon mechas.....convoluted plot.....contrived....need I say more?

i.) Hmmm....I guess I was pretty surprised by Minami-ke. I haven't laughed so hard since...since....hmmm Azumanga Daioh? LOL. laugh.gif
ii.) Dennou Coil - Pretty good IMHO. Feels like slice of life with some kid drama.
iii.) Sky Girls - I think some people will not agree with me about Sky Girls being good. But I liked it...so there. tongue.gif

UNEXPECTEDLY BAD of 2007
i.) Shakugan No Shana 2nd. This is seriously unexpectedly piece of sh*t anime. Till ep 11 now and there's barely any plot development. Shana is one of the anime which its plot is developed through its fights with the Tomogara. But ep 11 and there's almost no fights in it and thus no development. Instead its all about b****y whiny ppl talking about how jealous they are and how oblivious the stupid mystes main character is.
ii.) Zero No Tsukaima Season 2. Coincidentally voiced by the same seiyuu as Shana as well. Not as bad as Shana but still bad nonetheless. Someone died, someone re-died....plot was rushed....things happen....then things kinda went back to zero.....i dunno what else to comment.

NINJA EDITTED...... for greater truth thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by wolfx: Jan 2 2008, 01:55 PM
+Quote Post
herzeleid
post Jan 2 2008, 12:22 PM

Counter-Strike Mashimaro !!

DEATH NOTE FTW
+Quote Post
fujkenasai
post Jan 2 2008, 01:10 PM

QUOTE(herzeleid @ Jan 2 2008, 12:22 PM)
DEATH NOTE FTW

Death Note FTN.
+Quote Post
Aoshi_88
post Jan 2 2008, 01:11 PM

COMRADE!!!

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jan 2 2008, 11:28 AM)
i dun really mind, n its his choice, but WHERE IS UR~!!!! tongue.gif

Lazy to compile. laugh.gif

EDIT: Unlazied myself.

Best of 2007
Lucky Star
Clannad(sp far, it's not complete yet)
Tenggen Toppa Gurren Lagann
Minami-ke

Worst of 2007
Shakugan no Shana Second

Code Geass
Heroic Age
Sketchbook~Full Colors`~

UNEXPECTEDLY BAD of 2007
Shakugan no Shana Second
Seto no Hanayome

Best longest running GAG in an anime:
Ninomiya in Minami-ke.

Best Romance Anime of 2007
Myself Yourself

Somewhere in between of it all
Lucky Star
Sky Girls
Gundam 00

Not Very Good of 2007
Night Wizards

This post has been edited by Aoshi_88: Jan 2 2008, 07:12 PM
+Quote Post
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 2 2008, 01:17 PM

ς(◕ ω ◕ς)

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jan 2 2008, 11:22 AM)
Da BEST of 2007
Mononoke or Baccano!

da WORST of 2007
Lucky Shit (in before MASSIVE shitstorm) f*** YES

SUPER-BAD of 2007

Code GeassKaiji

UNEXPECTEDLY BAD of 2007
YUA full throttleDragonboobs/Boobanaut

Here's mine.
I didn't expect much from GONZO, but Boobanaut was horrible.

This post has been edited by Zephyr_Mage: Jan 2 2008, 02:00 PM
+Quote Post
herzeleid
post Jan 2 2008, 01:41 PM

Counter-Strike Mashimaro !!

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jan 2 2008, 01:10 PM)
Death Note FTN.

whats wrong with Death Note ? cry.gif
+Quote Post
wolfx
post Jan 2 2008, 01:57 PM

Edited my post for greater truth!
+Quote Post
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 2 2008, 01:59 PM

ς(◕ ω ◕ς)

Hmm... I guess I'm gonna add ninomiya-kun under SUPER-BAD of 2007.
+Quote Post
Stormy001_M1A2
post Jan 2 2008, 02:01 PM

The best of 2007?

1. The Girl Who Leaped Thru Time
2. Claymore ( ep 1 - 19 is grade A+ anime but lamentable ending)
3. Darker than Black (Studio Bones rocks)
4. Denno Coil ( Very innovative)
5. FLAG (Realistic and creative mix of world politics and mecha).
6. Gedo Senki (not bad)
7. Moonlight Mile ( Awesome geopolitics, sex and sci fi real anime)
8. Seirei No Moribito (Awesome story, character and plot.)

The Worst?

1. Lucky Star (meaningless story,no character and plot, over hyped)
2. Romeo X Juliet (Interesting start but went stupid afterthat)
3. Toppa Gurren Lagaan (my penis is bigger syndrome, kiddy anime)

Unexpected?

1. Minami - ke ( Looks cliched but charming enough to snag me)
2. Zetsubo Sensei (Very dark and cynical anime, me like)
3. Heroic Age (Very grand, somewhat plodding but great ending)

Still watching 2007 animes of

1. Shakugan no Shana II (just how the novel would put it, I like it)
2. Ghost Hound (Very thematic, atmospheric anime)
+Quote Post
kyon22
post Jan 2 2008, 02:09 PM

3cm per second. Don't forget....
+Quote Post
syazwanreno
post Jan 2 2008, 02:10 PM

卍 SIEG HEIL!!! 卍

The best of 2007?

Clannad (remind me of Kanon 2007)

The Worst?

Unexpected?

Minami-ke

Still watching 2007 animes of

1) minami-ke
2) clannad
(both are 1 more episode)

Well, mine is so few coz this is the only 2007 anime that i download sweat.gif
+Quote Post
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 2 2008, 02:11 PM

ς(◕ ω ◕ς)

I would have included TokiKake as my top animu of the year, if it wasn't a 2006 movie.

I've only watched 2 episodes of TTGL, but I found it even more childish than Potemayo, which was unexpectedly good. So too was Moyashimon. It wasn't animu of the year material, but at least it has trap of the year biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Zephyr_Mage: Jan 2 2008, 02:11 PM
+Quote Post
Aurora Boreali
post Jan 2 2008, 02:19 PM

The BEST of 2007
Byousoku 5cm. Simple storyline, but nevertheless I was very touched by it. Breathtaking art and animation. Last but not least, good choice of One More Time, One More Chance as part of its soundtrack.
(Wanted to put Bamboo Blade but it's still on-going, still too early to draw a conclusion.)
(Also, maybe after I watch Code Geass and Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo, they'd be in the list.)
(Darker than Black, Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann didn't quite cut it although I think they're good, overall.)

The WORST of 2007
Seto no Hanayome. I think that the plot is damn hollow, not to mention it became boring and not funny anymore after a few episodes.

Bamboo Blade. I thought this was going to be another comedy with so-so plot but it blew me away with it's humour, storyline, character development and a few surprises here and there in that anime (Eg: Special appearance by the director of Code Geass -Taniguchi Gorou)
I have a feeling it's gonna get better and better. Tama-chan kawaii!

UNEXPECTEDLY BAD of 2007
None. Didn't watch that many animes la.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Jan 2 2008, 02:29 PM
+Quote Post
Fyonne
post Jan 2 2008, 02:29 PM

Anime Shrine

due to Aoshi's emm... reference, i update some, n u feel like nominate best <anything is fine> (example Best Crazy Hairdo Character of 2007) or nething, feel free tongue.gif
+Quote Post

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 03:02 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)