125 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

danmooncake
post Dec 1 2009, 12:43 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

Enter 200 ERX 38.50 again.. biggrin.gif

mH3nG
post Dec 1 2009, 12:46 AM

534 posts

I think AIG fell because the target price was downgraded to USD12.

AIG Price Target Cut 40% by Bernstein on Reserves
danmooncake
post Dec 1 2009, 12:56 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 1 2009, 12:43 AM)
Enter 200 ERX 38.50 again..   biggrin.gif
Opps.. stop out at 38.40 sad.gif
Bad trade. Should have set lower.. oh well. Win some, lose some.

Update 2:55am: Re-enter again ERX 38.25
Update 3:28am: Out ERX 39.08. Small profit only. I'm done for this session. tongue.gif

Closing update 5:11am:

Dow 10344.84 +34.92 +0.34%
Nasdaq 2144.60 +4.14 +0.38%
S&P 500 1095.63 +4.14 +0.38%

Look at that! Dubai? What Dubai? whistling.gif

Let face it, anything outside US hardly affects this market at all.
Bernanke is King, US Fed is King, Warren is still the Richest Dude.

Let's continue to make money. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 1 2009, 05:16 AM
zamans98
post Dec 1 2009, 08:31 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(honglun @ Dec 1 2009, 12:41 AM)
Do you guys know how does the margin work in US brokerage? I'm using speedtrader now and recently received a fed call. cry.gif  It seems if I get 2 strikes, my account will be suspended for 90 days. I have a few questions:

a) How do they calculate the margin maintenance?
b) How do I prevent a strike if stocks plunge in value other than by wiring in more money? My broker says if I sold some of my position I'm liable for a strike. I'm very confused now. If I sell my position to retain the margin maintenance, I thought it will prevent a strike?

If anyone can answer, I'd be most thankful!
it does not matter what broker u use, you need to keep an eye on your trade. If you want to be a day trader, ensure min $25,000 in your account.

epalbee3
post Dec 1 2009, 08:34 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Dec 1 2009, 08:31 AM)
it does not matter what broker u use, you need to keep an eye on your trade. If you want to be a day trader, ensure min $25,000 in your account.
I can do four day trades in a week..

I am using margin account.
sulifeisgreat
post Dec 1 2009, 09:51 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(honglun @ Dec 1 2009, 12:41 AM)
Do you guys know how does the margin work in US brokerage? I'm using speedtrader now and recently received a fed call. cry.gif  It seems if I get 2 strikes, my account will be suspended for 90 days. I have a few questions:

a) How do they calculate the margin maintenance?
b) How do I prevent a strike if stocks plunge in value other than by wiring in more money? My broker says if I sold some of my position I'm liable for a strike. I'm very confused now. If I sell my position to retain the margin maintenance, I thought it will prevent a strike?

If anyone can answer, I'd be most thankful!
if u wanna follow daytrade silat style, but only got a handfull of stock on your list
better ensure have $25k in your ac nod.gif

http://www.investopedia.com/exam-guide/ser...gin-account.asp

Can you buy stock and sell the stock on the same day? ?
what are the laws about daytrading?

Yes.

However one cannot rebuy that stock using the same cash proceeds unless they have a margin account.

"Summary of the Day-Trading Margin Requirements

The rules adopt a new term "pattern day trader," which includes any margin customer that day trades (buys then sells or sells short then buys the same security on the same day) four or more times in five business days, provided the number of day trades are more than six percent of the customer's total trading activity for that same five-day period. Under the rules, a pattern day trader must maintain minimum equity of $25,000 on any day that the customer day trades. The required minimum equity must be in the account prior to any day-trading activities. If the account falls below the $25,000 requirement, the pattern day trader will not be permitted to day trade until the account is restored to the $25,000 minimum equity level.

The rules permit a pattern day trader to trade up to four times the maintenance margin excess in the account as of the close of business of the previous day. If a pattern day trader exceeds the day-trading buying power limitation, the firm will issue a day-trading margin call to the pattern day trader. The pattern day trader will then have, at most, five business days to deposit funds to meet this day-trading margin call. Until the margin call is met, the day-trading account will be restricted to day-trading buying power of only two times maintenance margin excess based on the customer's daily total trading commitment. If the day-trading margin call is not met by the fifth business day, the account will be further restricted to trading only on a cash available basis for 90 days or until the call is met."

as usual, below for livermore, speculator & gamble lovers onli, categories other than tat, dun click it & spoil ur day bruce.gif

mynewuser
post Dec 1 2009, 07:24 PM

2,549 posts

Plan to buy more AIG. Any one with me?
danmooncake
post Dec 1 2009, 09:13 PM

10,123 posts

Bears and shorts are getting squeezed today. nod.gif

zamans98
post Dec 1 2009, 09:54 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 1 2009, 07:24 PM)
nope. AIG is like 4x ETF... but not a bad idea, if you have cash, just in case the market U turned.

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 1 2009, 09:13 PM)
Bears and shorts are getting squeezed today.  nod.gif
Oh yeah, but not for long. Remember, 2 mega news today at 11.
epalbee3
post Dec 1 2009, 11:11 PM

1,345 posts

I am thinking whether I should keep my LVS which is already earning..

now is bear, how high it can climb?

my target price is USD16.45.
zamans98
post Dec 1 2009, 11:15 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

SOLD LVS Long @ 15.90 x 500. My biggest gain so far.
Avg price 15.35
epalbee3
post Dec 1 2009, 11:24 PM

1,345 posts

Ok.. I will wait until 16.45.. smile.gif for LVS

Added on December 1, 2009, 11:25 pmBy the way, lazy to sell..

average price 15.45.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Dec 1 2009, 11:25 PM
zamans98
post Dec 1 2009, 11:31 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 1 2009, 11:24 PM)
Ok.. I will wait until 16.45.. smile.gif for LVS

Added on December 1, 2009, 11:25 pmBy the way, lazy to sell..

average price 15.45.
was u scared when it hit 14.95/15? I was happy, managed to scoop 200 @ 15.

Sell, more mega news coming...
sulifeisgreat
post Dec 1 2009, 11:47 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 1 2009, 11:11 PM)
I am thinking whether I should keep my LVS which is already earning..

now is bear, how high it can climb?

my target price is USD16.45.
stick to ur own plan as it is base on ur own experience wave.gif
my swing trade vclk, kppc, epax & lqdt still puny gain & not yet even reach half length of the longest black candle yet brows.gif
my roket stock caas & clf, roket fuel not even warm up yet rclxm9.gif
my short position is moneyflies.gif innocent.gif
dreams_achiever
post Dec 2 2009, 12:16 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 1 2009, 07:24 PM)
AIG climb 10% today.
It's rebounding..but i still reluctant to long options. cool2.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 2 2009, 06:01 AM

10,123 posts

Closing update:
Dow 10471.58 +126.74 +1.23%
Nasdaq 2175.81 +31.21 +1.46%
S&P 500 1108.86 +13.23 +1.21%

Bought some DRV 15.40 since no shares available to short for DRN.
Feeling toppy... tongue.gif

Just watch my longs went higher.. Dow hit new highs and bounced off 10500. tongue.gif

epalbee3
post Dec 2 2009, 09:10 AM

1,345 posts

ok.. LVS reached 16.12.

Still a little from my target price of 16.45, just another rally will do.. smile.gif

Tonight should be green.. smile.gif

Added on December 2, 2009, 9:11 amBelieve me, next stock to fry is C... wink.gif

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Dec 2 2009, 09:11 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Dec 2 2009, 10:27 AM

1,121 posts

swing trade success, the long white candle stick sighted & to makan when market opens later
nyum... nyum, hav to share some kampachi buffet with others too

will epax & vclk giv kampachi buffet? wub.gif
is caas & clf able to roket to moon? no idea, i not a fortune teller, riding till got signs to exit bruce.gif

should i short fxy instead? bgz, mwn, tza, dpk & edz still holding bye.gif
Wow! gold stocks & gold etf was a classic roket case study, too bad i hop off to early cool2.gif haha

as usual, below for livermore, speculator & gamble lovers onli, categories other than tat, dun click it & spoil ur day

SKY 1809
post Dec 2 2009, 10:48 AM

23,851 posts

I thought this topic is all about Investing In USA.

Now, more or less , " Speculating " In USA.

Some more, soon all the FA got chased away.

Anyway, happy trading to all.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Dec 2 2009, 10:49 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Dec 2 2009, 11:02 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 2 2009, 10:48 AM)
I thought this topic is all about Investing In USA.

Now, more or less , " Speculating " In USA.

Some more, soon all the FA got chased away.

Anyway, happy trading to all.
thanx & klse should be doing fine too rolleyes.gif
i m TA, dunno abt FA point of view

heard before, someone says FA knows usa is overvalue
guess they waiting to enter undervalue
the time will come, but dunno when rclxub.gif

this usa thread is 99% FA supporters
got earlier post says, there r some invest for long term
seems got 2 camps of FA laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top