This post has been edited by munak991: Dec 26 2024, 09:23 PM
Closing thread.
Dec 10 2007, 01:57 AM, updated 12 months ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,746 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: 21st century |
Closing this thread
This post has been edited by munak991: Dec 26 2024, 09:23 PM |
Dec 10 2007, 02:35 PM
72,804 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KUL |
I think culinary art is the better description.
A few colleges do offer this course, these are some of them, hope this information is helpful to you. However, it seems these colleges only offer up to Diploma level, you might need to study overseas for higher level of education. In my opinion, this course has quite good of job prospect, you will get nice salary too. If you are interested in this course and you are going for it, this will definitely lead you to success, for a better future career. It is because with generated interest, you will learn things easier. I can't give you more opinion as I am not studying in this course. This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 10 2007, 02:37 PM |
Dec 10 2007, 03:00 PM
1,711 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Watch Hell's Kitchen every Tuesday night, 8:30pm NTV7. You could learn something from it.
Dec 10 2007, 05:21 PM
93 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
or 703 and 707 if you have astro..preferably 707
actually im interested in what they teach..i doubt they teach you everything about cooking..but they dont tell much..oh yea..kdu offers culinary arts too |
Dec 10 2007, 05:24 PM
2,775 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I'm gonna try to attend a course interview offered by Taylor's college this Thursday..the course if sponsored by the HRDF if I'm not mistaken..anyone seen the advert?
Any comments on that? I'm thinking of Kitchen practice =X EDIT: It's teh Hotel Industry Apprenticeship Scheme (HIAS) This post has been edited by madman20: Dec 10 2007, 07:05 PM |
Dec 10 2007, 08:25 PM
777 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
I heard that "Cooking" is one of the subjects of "Hotel Management".
I also heard that "Hotel Management" have lots of good job prospects out there + highly paid. (You will be managing entire hotels.) |
Dec 10 2007, 10:24 PM
72,804 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KUL |
QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Dec 10 2007, 08:25 PM) I heard that "Cooking" is one of the subjects of "Hotel Management". Yes, but TS wants to specialise only in culinary art. I also heard that "Hotel Management" have lots of good job prospects out there + highly paid. (You will be managing entire hotels.) My sister is a graduate for Hotel Management and their pay is always based on the hotel's sales for that particular month, they called that service point. High pay or not, it is actually determined by the hotel's sales. edit: typo This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 10 2007, 10:33 PM |
Dec 11 2007, 12:16 PM
522 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
i should have joined the course rather than joining engineering..
good luck to the next JAMIE oliver... if u open your own restaurant, please do not forget to invite us all.. good luck.. |
Dec 11 2007, 09:48 PM
111 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Dec 12 2007, 06:46 PM
156 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
A friend of mine graduated with Diploma of Culinary Arts from KDU. He's currently working(as an assistant chef or something) at the Shangri-La KL. I think it's been around 1 year and he earns RM2000 a month.
Well nothing much can be said. Like you, he enjoys cooking. The work hours are probably exhausting but hey, it's his passion. |
Dec 27 2007, 06:37 PM
Thanks guys, sorry for late reply.
im just wondering around thinking about hows culinary arts. but its my choice, tml im go to school take my trial result and register for this course. thanks guys Added on December 27, 2007, 6:40 pm QUOTE(biebie @ Dec 11 2007, 09:48 PM) In Culinary Arts its all base on France Cooking.so its was kind of western. other college offer different type, like sunway they offer Hotel Management , if u interested on Chef then u specialise on chef course. But i feel that Taylors is more base on chef. This post has been edited by munak991: Dec 27 2007, 06:40 PM |
Dec 27 2007, 07:43 PM
2,234 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
if you really become a chef later, u must expect urself to be working during festive seasons like cny or hari raya.
Jan 6 2008, 11:27 PM
139 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Made In Gombak |
Working as chef means not working from 9 to 5. Catch the drift?
Might apply for Diploma of Culinary Arts in UiTM. |
Jan 6 2008, 11:46 PM
1,189 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
i admire the fact that you have identified your passion and interest early. its good to know your ambition, learning things related to it will come easier. i totally back you to pursue culinary arts. work your way up. become a head chef at a 5-star restaraunt can earn you 5k/month easily. but yea, working hours will be til late night. but that is part and parcel with the job IMO. plus, chicks dig guys who can cook!
Jan 7 2008, 12:41 AM
Have the Passion of study this course.
I love cooking enjoying it,feel joy when cooking |
Jan 7 2008, 01:48 PM
3,141 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
i dun really think u need a course in cooking.. cooking is all about experience.. go find a mentor.. and learn .. dont limit yourself to only a specific genre of dish eg: western/italian.. learn others also
Jan 7 2008, 08:11 PM
6,437 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -Destiny Island- Status:Online |
[
QUOTE i dun really think u need a course in cooking.. cooking is all about experience.. go find a mentor.. and learn .. dont limit yourself to only a specific genre of dish eg: western/italian.. learn others also yes but how high can u go?My sister is a graduate for Hotel Management and their pay is always based on the hotel's sales for that particular month, they called that service point. High pay or not, it is actually determined by the hotel's sales a chef in one hotel didnt apply for a higher chef position due to the fact that he learnt from another chef and didnt have any qualifications n its not easy to find a chef who is willing to guide u from the start.. certainly they wont tell u their secrets.... but ur basic salary is high service point is just additional pay This post has been edited by kueks: Jan 7 2008, 08:16 PM |
Jan 7 2008, 10:27 PM
139 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Made In Gombak |
Nowadays, you need certificates to prove that you can work.
Jan 9 2008, 06:19 PM
LOL...
I have to take injection for next week because of food disease these days. all the Hospitality Student have to take the injection including me and College is much more different than ur Primary and secondary(prison/some of them call "HELL") |
Jan 9 2008, 06:45 PM
6,437 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -Destiny Island- Status:Online |
QUOTE(munak991 @ Jan 9 2008, 06:19 PM) LOL... better enjoy ur college life while u still can I have to take injection for next week because of food disease these days. all the Hospitality Student have to take the injection including me and College is much more different than ur Primary and secondary(prison/some of them call "HELL") now in industrial training i rather study at college 12 hours a day btw u in taylors right whos ur chef lecturer |
| Change to: | 0.0266sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:22 PM |