Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> S530D, Another great system from Edifier

davidmak
post Apr 26 2008, 02:00 PM

~ di di Android di di ~

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(dopp @ Apr 21 2008, 09:47 PM)
About 530D, if u look closely top first line of the LCD showing DTS, HDCD..etc..... What are they for? Is it sharing same LCD with other model which have DTS decoder built-in ?

I guess that makes sense instead of having different variants for different model which is very complicated. Having one standard platform: LCD panel, MCU architecture, industrial design, etc makes sound economical and business sense.

Anyway new S530D user here. Sound from the satellites are strong and very bright. The intermediate bass however got loss somewhere. The subwoofer only does the low frequencies which resulted into a very boomy and lack of detail bass. Tweaking with the cut-off frequency of my Audigy 2 ZS helps a bit but I am suspecting something wrong here. A block of frequencies particularly the bass is missing from the system. I am comparing with Creative Inspire T7700/7900 which has a good range of frequency responses. Any comments?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Edifier
post May 23 2008, 08:23 PM

Group: Store Representative

User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post
hydelai
post Jun 17 2008, 11:59 PM

Group: Junior Member

hi is S2.1 equal to S530D ?
because s2.1 look like the same S530D but S2.1 there is no optical input and coaxial input so is it S530D also dun have those input hmm.gif
+Quote Post
Edifier
post Jun 18 2008, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(hydelai @ Jun 17 2008, 11:59 PM)
hi is S2.1 equal to S530D ?
because s2.1 look like the same S530D but S2.1 there is no optical input and coaxial input so is it S530D also dun have those input  hmm.gif

No, S2.1 = S530. The D means digital.
+Quote Post
vignaroli
post Jun 18 2008, 02:00 PM

Group: New Member

Anyone can help me out? i recently bought this S530d and pair it with my creative X-FI Xtreme Music sound card. But the sound i get wasn't that nice as what i expected...considering over 1000++ i spent for getting this combination, it has not done much than my previous combination R401 + creative audigy value......wondering if there is anyway to tune it betterly sound.....maybe becoz i'm not good in tuning....anyone can share their experience how to make this speaker sound better? would be muchly appreciated..

FYI, my configuration now is bal 0, treble -2, bass +2, sub +4.
and my sound card is in entertainment mode, bass at 60%, treble 40 & X-fi crystalization off....equalizer set at FLAT.....the problem is i think the sound very ' tajam' if u guys can know wat i mean....not that comfort my ear.....and the bass especially sound of drum just like "in box" cannot released out the sound....it is better if u stand far from the sat....but if sit in front of the pc and listening to the sat the sound was too crispy i would say.....

Added on June 21, 2008, 2:36 pmi solved my problem.....with the edifier speaker burning tools....the sound getting better now....hoo....really great sound....hehe

This post has been edited by vignaroli: Jun 21 2008, 02:36 PM
+Quote Post
Edifier
post Jun 23 2008, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(vignaroli @ Jun 18 2008, 02:00 PM)
Anyone can help me out? i recently bought this S530d and pair it with my creative X-FI Xtreme Music sound card. But the sound i get wasn't that nice as what i expected...considering over 1000++ i spent for getting this combination, it has not done much than my previous combination R401 + creative audigy value......wondering if there is anyway to tune it betterly sound.....maybe becoz i'm not good in tuning....anyone can share their experience how to make this speaker sound better? would be muchly appreciated..

FYI, my configuration now is bal 0, treble -2, bass +2, sub +4.
and my sound card is in entertainment mode, bass at 60%, treble 40 & X-fi crystalization off....equalizer set at FLAT.....the problem is i think the sound very ' tajam' if u guys can know wat i mean....not that comfort my ear.....and the bass especially sound of drum just like "in box" cannot released out the sound....it is better if u stand far from the sat....but if sit in front of the pc and listening to the sat the sound was too crispy i would say.....

Added on June 21, 2008, 2:36 pmi solved my problem.....with the edifier speaker burning tools....the sound getting better now....hoo....really great sound....hehe

Welcome to the club rclxms.gif
+Quote Post
vignaroli
post Jun 24 2008, 01:57 PM

Group: New Member

what is the different between optical inputs & coxial inputs?
think to try connect it to my dvd-player but don know which cable to choose.....optical cable cost me RM85 while coxial cable i can get RM55..
anybody got use the digital facility of the speaker? can share some experience here?
+Quote Post
Oxburg
post Jun 27 2008, 12:22 AM

Hi how doest this compare to FX6021?
+Quote Post
WhiteMouse
post Jul 2 2008, 01:49 PM

how the sound compare with MX5021?

thinking to buy 1 S530D or S730D

This post has been edited by WhiteMouse: Jul 2 2008, 01:58 PM
+Quote Post
kylinlee
post Oct 30 2008, 03:17 PM

Ready? 1, 2, 3. The warranty card and manual is in front after un-box

Each parts including speaker, cable, remotes etc all are wrap with plastic cover

After take out the upper part, what's inside?

Ho... Ho.. 20kgs heavy

This post has been edited by kylinlee: Nov 1 2008, 07:47 AM
+Quote Post
Dinghydoggy
post Jan 12 2009, 06:42 PM

Proud owner of a 530D here. rclxms.gif

By the way, S530D owners here, what settings do you use? I realize there's no perfect setting, since it's all relative to our own ears, but what's the optimal setup in your opinion?

Currently I have my sub on the floor at my feet, and the tweeters on the bookshelf above me on either side. As a result, I have to stand further away from my desk before the sound has time to develop. But I find when I do stand further away, the sub seems a little lacking. I listen both at my desk and away from my desk so gotta compromise I guess.

What's your recommended settings for SW, Bas, and Tre?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by Dinghydoggy: Jan 13 2009, 12:54 PM
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Mar 1 2009, 03:58 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~

QUOTE(WhiteMouse @ Jul 2 2008, 01:49 PM)
how the sound compare with MX5021?

thinking to buy 1 S530D or S730D

I suggest you go for audition at the showroom nearby, yet what i can say is that both Edifier S530D and S730D is definitely superior than MX5021 in term of clarity. It's balance in for musics, videos and gaming respectively. The MX5021 has more bass yet i felt uncomfortable after hearing it for more than 30 mins. Well, if your budget allows, i would definitely suggest you to go for S730 coz the satellite speakers of it are sharper and i 'think" the subwoofer is better as well, also don't forget to buy a soundcard bcoz it's very important and it really boost up the performance:)
+Quote Post
ZzZzz...
post Mar 2 2009, 07:17 PM

may i know hat the price now for the edifier s530d and s730d????need to buy it....where got offer cheap?

ty for reply~~~^^
+Quote Post
Edifier
post Mar 4 2009, 10:07 AM

RM759
+Quote Post
stormaker
post Mar 12 2009, 08:17 AM

Just bought S530D also. Haven't found the Sw, Bas, and Tre setting that I like.
+Quote Post
Reve
post Mar 12 2009, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(stormaker @ Mar 12 2009, 08:17 AM)
Just bought S530D also. Haven't found the Sw, Bas, and Tre setting that I like.

put as bass for 4 and treble as 4 also sw for 6 or 8 ~~
+Quote Post
stormaker
post Mar 12 2009, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(Reve @ Mar 12 2009, 02:13 PM)
put as bass for 4 and treble as 4 also sw for 6 or 8 ~~

Thanks Reve, will try that setting tonight. If can, will try it with optical cable.
+Quote Post
alvinX
post Mar 13 2009, 08:59 AM

tHe l0SeR

QUOTE(Edifier @ Jun 18 2008, 09:23 AM)
No, S2.1 = S530. The D means digital.

digital mean ? better sound quality ?
+Quote Post
Reve
post Mar 13 2009, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(alvinX @ Mar 13 2009, 08:59 AM)
digital mean ? better sound quality ?

is mean digital input ~~
+Quote Post
zeustronic
post Mar 28 2009, 10:30 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles

530D is rattle everthings near you, even ur balls can feel the vibrations.
+Quote Post

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 02:21 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)