PS2 Slim problem cannot read disc, cannot read, the disc doesn't even spin!
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
PS2 Slim problem cannot read disc, cannot read, the disc doesn't even spin!
Nov 17 2007, 12:29 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 7 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Sep 2006 |
Hello there wiseguys..
I'm using PS2 Slim. Dunno whether its Japanese or UK, Dunno what's the version. I'll tell you guys later. Been using it for 2 years now and suddenly all break loose. the lens cannot read the damn disc, and it doesn't even spinning! I sent it to repair at Subang Square (costs RM250) for replacement of lens and chip. The shopgirl politely advised me not to play games for more then 6 hours otherwise its kong. I took the advice. 2 weeks later it broke again! The damn same problem. Note that this time the lens really "burnt". It became a different color already. So patiently i send it, again, to the shop. the girl asks me "how long u play aa?" I said "4 hours onnee.." "oh how can play for 4 hours? you should play 1 hours onlee!!!" Immediately i realize there sumthing wrong with this shop.. But i repair it anyway.. (cost another 160 for ANOTHER lens). Bring back home, played Winning Eleven then the next day.. THE SAME CRAPPING PROBLEM OCCURED!! Now it just been 2 days, i send it back for repair, since i assume there's a warranty. the same girl said "waaa where got warrantee!! this lens rosak no warranty loo.. if others rosak then ok laa. ok ok i can repair but u hav to pay a hundled." So i just ask her to hold my console for a while. While i rethink what the hell is going on. Well, my PS2 has broke three times. Now, the question. 1.WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY PS2?? 2.CAN I REPAIR IT MYSELF? 3.WHERE CAN I LOOK FOR A LENS/CHIPS AND ASSEMBLE IT MYSELF? 4.IF I HAVE TO SEND IT TO ANOTHER CRAPPY REPAIRMAN, WHERE CAN I LOOK FOR THE LEAST-CRAPPY GUY? 5.REALIZED THERE'S A REPAIR GUIDE FOR PS2 FAT, WOULD IT WORK ON THE SLIM? x.CAN I KILL THE GIRL? Save me guys! |
Nov 17 2007, 11:27 AM
ISA or HELGHAST ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 4,949 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: May 2007 From: HELGHAN |
QUOTE(Gabantarung @ Nov 17 2007, 12:29 AM) Hello there wiseguys.. I'm using PS2 Slim. Dunno whether its Japanese or UK, Dunno what's the version. I'll tell you guys later. Been using it for 2 years now and suddenly all break loose. the lens cannot read the damn disc, and it doesn't even spinning! I sent it to repair at Subang Square (costs RM250) for replacement of lens and chip. The shopgirl politely advised me not to play games for more then 6 hours otherwise its kong. I took the advice. 2 weeks later it broke again! The damn same problem. Note that this time the lens really "burnt". It became a different color already. So patiently i send it, again, to the shop. the girl asks me "how long u play aa?" I said "4 hours onnee.." "oh how can play for 4 hours? you should play 1 hours onlee!!!" Immediately i realize there sumthing wrong with this shop.. But i repair it anyway.. (cost another 160 for ANOTHER lens). Bring back home, played Winning Eleven then the next day.. THE SAME CRAPPING PROBLEM OCCURED!! Now it just been 2 days, i send it back for repair, since i assume there's a warranty. the same girl said "waaa where got warrantee!! this lens rosak no warranty loo.. if others rosak then ok laa. ok ok i can repair but u hav to pay a hundled." So i just ask her to hold my console for a while. While i rethink what the hell is going on. Well, my PS2 has broke three times. Now, the question. 1.WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY PS2?? 2.CAN I REPAIR IT MYSELF? 3.WHERE CAN I LOOK FOR A LENS/CHIPS AND ASSEMBLE IT MYSELF? 4.IF I HAVE TO SEND IT TO ANOTHER CRAPPY REPAIRMAN, WHERE CAN I LOOK FOR THE LEAST-CRAPPY GUY? 5.REALIZED THERE'S A REPAIR GUIDE FOR PS2 FAT, WOULD IT WORK ON THE SLIM? x.CAN I KILL THE GIRL? Save me guys! i think u better find bro bernard!! maybe he can help u!! |
Nov 17 2007, 11:51 AM
Acrimonious Young Man ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,359 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2005 From: world above you |
i tell u thy use cheap lense ler.. the amount u pay for repairs di can buy new ps2..
i play ps2 on GOW 1 2 and other can reach 6 hours or more np.. the slim ps2 thy put on display to play demo can run 10 hours straight.. somthin really is wrong wit yr lense. or the whole machine. |
Nov 17 2007, 05:24 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 63 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kulim, Kedah |
Yo maybe you been trickedlah. Mine one play Tales Of The Abyss many hours, highest is 12 and no problem. Take your PS2 and find Bernard.
Added on November 17, 2007, 5:25 pmOr the shop has changed something on your slim PS2? This post has been edited by emiya_shin: Nov 17 2007, 05:25 PM |
Nov 17 2007, 10:41 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 7 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Sep 2006 |
True, true, they could've replaced something in there. But what can i do? I'm sure the lens is not the problem. Other problem causes the lens rosak.
This bernard guy, how can i reach him? (He's not the enemy, right? |
Nov 18 2007, 11:20 AM
What Goes Around Comes Around ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,644 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
Bro try pm ekai..His work's and service quite good too
This post has been edited by aliftaufiq: Nov 18 2007, 11:21 AM |
Nov 18 2007, 11:43 AM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 90 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2005 From: peejay |
wow... feel sorry for you la dude... better go to other more trusted shop. my old fat ps2 can play 3-4 days straight without shutting off the ps2 just the tv when I sleep cause I rarely save the game, I just play it straight... but that is long time ago, rarely play console games nowadays... good old days. . |
Nov 19 2007, 10:05 PM
here's some info of my PS2..
Sony PS2 Slim Version, Model SCPH-70002. PAL. Here's a pic of my lens. Is it OK? ![]() This post has been edited by Gabantarung: Nov 19 2007, 10:09 PM |
Nov 24 2007, 10:06 PM
If heaven is better why we still stay on Earth? ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 521 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kepong |
OMG, i have this model once, 70002 PAL, i bought it last CNY, then it broke down at the third day of CNY, malang betul!!!!
Then i go around searching the web for answer, the conclusion that is the 7000x PAL is not suitable for modding, the laser head will get burn super easy right after modding, maybe you are lucky for the first 2 years, but 7000x PAL definitely is not for modding, better get newer version ps2 NTSC code. So, my ps2 PAL went back to the shop on 9th day of CYN and i ask for newer version of ps2, definitely not PAL code. I have been using it for 2 months without any problem like the PAL version, after that i change to PS2 FAT, which is much better than the slim one. Buy a new ps2 cost only rm400-500 nowadays, just throw your d*** ps2 PAL and getting a new one. Hmm, regarding the playing time, its quite subjective sometimes, depends on your environment, if your place is cool and clean i think it can be use for 5 hours. But considering ps2 is not meant to use in Malaysia (engineered by Jap/USA), better play less for safe... BTW, you might consider to upgrade to PSP, you can say goodbye to PS2 alrady, you can still enjoy your favourite games in PSP, there are quite amount of same title in both of the console. Happy gaming! |
Nov 25 2007, 11:05 AM
.....kzzzzzzckkk!!!....... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,942 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2005 From: Sin Lor, B'worth,Pg. |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « err ts or anyone else that wanna throw their ps2 please throw it my way pm me for the address do remember this is a v12 pstwo with possibility to add HDConnect/HDCombo to play from hdd the newer one can't do that pm me for the address |
Nov 25 2007, 02:02 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 11 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Mar 2007 From: Wangsa Maju, KUL, MY |
Hey bro , you accidentally touch the lens isn't it. If not the lens wont spoilt, cause the type of lenses is very sensitive once u touch it your fingerprint is there and it cant remove even you use those lens cleaner. If you want to try repair yourself just go to youtube and search. As I know there are pretty much tutorial that been uploaded. The lens problem is very common for ps2 user anyway your ps2 is slim so it easily spoilt unlike the fat ps2 that the lens is hidden inside the CD-ROM. Thanks
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 21st March 2010 - 09:26 AM |