Lowyat.NET Forums

125 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > 
RSS feedClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Nikon D80 thread V2! D Force is stronger now..., Calling all Lords of Darth80..... (Gatherings)

calvin_gsc
post Jul 6 2008, 05:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2441

Pato

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(neoxz @ Jul 6 2008, 11:42 AM)
Add me in the list.

This shot is really good, but too much compression was used in resizing it.

What did you use? Loss quite a bit in detail.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neoxz
post Jul 6 2008, 05:41 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2442

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 6 2008, 05:30 PM)
This shot is really good, but too much compression was used in resizing it.

What did you use? Loss quite a bit in detail.

er... used photobucket's resize blush.gif
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 6 2008, 05:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2443

Pato

QUOTE(neoxz @ Jul 6 2008, 05:41 PM)
er... used photobucket's resize  blush.gif

Don't use those resizer, they will compress your photo.

I use a free image resizer called VSO Image Resizer.

You can select 100% quality and resize it to the resolution you want.

You can also use it to watermark your photos.

http://www.vso-software.fr/products/image_resizer/
+Quote Post
neoxz
post Jul 6 2008, 06:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2444

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 6 2008, 05:44 PM)
Don't use those resizer, they will compress your photo.

I use a free image resizer called VSO Image Resizer.

You can select 100% quality and resize it to the resolution you want.

You can also use it to watermark your photos.

http://www.vso-software.fr/products/image_resizer/

Ah~ thanks for the feedback. I'm just a newbie, whom just got the camera last friday night smile.gif
+Quote Post
sir_impesto
post Jul 8 2008, 07:44 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2445

hey guys, wut colour u usually used to shoot wedding? is it vivid or normal or potrait?
+Quote Post
metalz
post Jul 8 2008, 09:45 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2446

Group: Junior Member

Hello guys,
D80 new owner from Kota Kinabau reporting in. Have 0 knowledge on this photography thing. hehehe. Hopefully I can gain some knowledge about this D80 and about taking photograph from this thread.
+Quote Post
undazztood
post Jul 8 2008, 03:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2447

Catch the moment before its gone

QUOTE(sir_impesto @ Jul 8 2008, 07:44 AM)
hey guys, wut colour u usually used to shoot wedding? is it vivid or normal or potrait?

depend on situation.
if shoot pengantin alone i use portrait mode to get the right skin tone.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 8 2008, 03:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2448

im in ur kamera stealin ur megapixlulz

Portrait or normal la. Vivid the skin won't look so good.
+Quote Post
metalz
post Jul 8 2008, 04:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2449

Interesting quote,

"Avoid the friend, neighbor or co-worker who works in computers, science or engineering and always talks about cameras. These people's passion is usually just for the cameras or computers themselves, not about photography itself or art or expressing their imagination visually. Watch out for people who prefer to talk about tools instead of actually making photos. There are thousands of people who watch sports on TV and can talk endlessly about sports stats for every one athlete who actually plays professional sports."
+Quote Post
bsm
post Jul 9 2008, 07:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2450

hi....just wondering if anyone is selling cheap or willing to borrow battery grip+battery for a couple of days. dont mind paying deposit. need urgently.

thanks.
+Quote Post
damadi
post Jul 13 2008, 12:32 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2451

Group: New Member

Hey guys,

I've been toying with the idea of getting a D80 for the longest time (owned G7, time for higher level tongue.gif ), and had almost made the leap last week, until a chat with a friend in taiwan put a halt to it.

He told me that D80 is going to be phased out soon. I don't know if this is related in anyway to the D90 rumours, though highly posible. I was advised to wait a little longer, then only make my choice, especially with the predicted price drop.

Of course, one of the perils of a product phased out is that support for it will diminish as well. The same goes for its resale value (as perhaps happened to D40 when D40x came out, and now D60), as my friend warned me that I will definitely feel the urge for an upgrade in the future and would be good to recoup some of my initial costs.

My personal opinion is that D80 in itself is an excellent camera and would last many years with relatively no major problems, in which case anyway there's always the nikon service center in PKNS. I believe, regardless of whether D90 is superior or not, D80 will still produce superb results. However, I trust my friend's words as he has alot more experience than me. Therefore, I would like to ask, what do you guys think?

Sorry if this is not the proper thread to pose a question like this, but I just thought since most people here are D80 enthusiasts ... >_<

Also, In the event I do get a D80, said friend also advised to forget the kit (the one with nikkor 18-135mm lens). He said better to get body, and then a good lens like Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 and that the whole setup should not exceed RM4k. So far, cheapest combo I can find is RM2550 (body) + RM1550 (Sigma lens) excluding filters (UV + CPL) sad.gif ... also asked him about nikkor 50mm 1.8D but he said sigma still better quality ...

Jin
+Quote Post
lukeboone
post Jul 13 2008, 06:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2452

i'm planning to join the D80 family soon.... any1 knows where to get cheap D80 kit ? new 1

i might be looking for 2nd hand AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D too.... any1 knows the 2nd hand price for this ?
+Quote Post
teddie
post Jul 13 2008, 07:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2453

^neoxz, u are plane spotter too ?! nice shot at runway 04!

well, sorry for my ignorance guys, d70 can fit with d80 lenses?
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 13 2008, 09:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2454

Pato

QUOTE(damadi @ Jul 13 2008, 12:32 AM)
Hey guys,

I've been toying with the idea of getting a D80 for the longest time (owned G7, time for higher level  tongue.gif ), and had almost made the leap last week, until a chat with a friend in taiwan put a halt to it.

He told me that D80 is going to be phased out soon. I don't know if this is related in anyway to the D90 rumours, though highly posible. I was advised to wait a little longer, then only make my choice, especially with the predicted price drop.

Of course, one of the perils of a product phased out is that support for it will diminish as well. The same goes for its resale value (as perhaps happened to D40 when D40x came out, and now D60), as my friend warned me that I will definitely feel the urge for an upgrade in the future and would be good to recoup some of my initial costs.

My personal opinion is that D80 in itself is an excellent camera and would last many years with relatively no major problems, in which case anyway there's always the nikon service center in PKNS. I believe, regardless of whether D90 is superior or not, D80 will still produce superb results. However, I trust my friend's words as he has alot more experience than me. Therefore, I would like to ask, what do you guys think?

Sorry if this is not the proper thread to pose a question like this, but I just thought since most people here are D80 enthusiasts ... >_<

Also, In the event I do get a D80, said friend also advised to forget the kit (the one with nikkor 18-135mm lens). He said better to get body, and then a good lens like Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 and that the whole setup should not exceed RM4k. So far, cheapest combo I can find is RM2550 (body) + RM1550 (Sigma lens) excluding filters (UV + CPL)  sad.gif ... also asked him about nikkor 50mm 1.8D but he said sigma still better quality ...
Jin

Well, there is no doubt D80 has been a great camera for me. I have just upgraded to D300 recently and I do miss the colors produced from the D80.

There will definitely be a D80 replacement. The matter is when... Most likely is during Photokina at the end of september.

But if you're gonna wait for the replacement, it's definitely going to cost more since it has just been released. You need to give it a couple of months before the price starts dropping.

If you can wait, by all means wait. But you'd be missing out so long you don't have a dslr with you.

I'd never had experience with the sigma lens. Most nikon users are pretty familiar with the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 which has been said to be the closest competitor to Nikon's 17-55mm f/2.8. I've got a Tamron myself and loving it.

One of my first lens was the 50mm 1.8 AF-D as it was an affordable and sharp lens. However I hardly mount it on my camera due to the fact that I prefer zooms than primes. I prefer myself being able to control zoom on the lens rather than me moving back and forth to compose my shot.

QUOTE(lukeboone @ Jul 13 2008, 06:40 PM)
i'm planning to join the D80 family soon.... any1 knows where to get cheap D80 kit ? new 1

i might be looking for 2nd hand AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D too.... any1 knows the 2nd hand price for this ?

Try checking out YL Camera in Pudu Plaza, KL and J-One camera in Amcorp Mall, PJ

QUOTE(teddie @ Jul 13 2008, 07:30 PM)
^neoxz, u are plane spotter too ?! nice shot at runway 04!
well, sorry for my ignorance guys, d70 can fit with d80 lenses?

All nikon mount lenses can work with all nikon bodies. However D40/D40x/D60 can't use lenses without motor. You will lose autofocus abilities.

So, to answer your question, if the lens works on the D70, it will work with D80.
+Quote Post
NSkyline
post Jul 14 2008, 09:46 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2455

me too like bro damadi.....thinking whether to wait or just get it.....sigh....why so troublin?
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 14 2008, 09:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2456

Pato

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Jul 14 2008, 09:46 AM)
me too like bro damadi.....thinking whether to wait or just get it.....sigh....why so troublin?

It's definitely a hard decision cause it's not a cheap hobby.
+Quote Post
oracle
post Jul 14 2008, 10:00 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2457

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 14 2008, 09:54 AM)
It's definitely a hard decision cause it's not a cheap hobby.

Actually any hobby is expensive when you're serious about it.
+Quote Post
NSkyline
post Jul 14 2008, 10:53 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2458

yea totally agree.....other than photography...me into car mod...damn....nowaday slow down by few notch...cant really bear the petrol cost.... more powerful = more petrol
+Quote Post
shinchan^^
post Jul 14 2008, 10:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2459

Hataraki Man

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 13 2008, 09:22 PM)
Well, there is no doubt D80 has been a great camera for me. I have just upgraded to D300 recently and I do miss the colors produced from the D80.

the color reproduction difference right
+Quote Post
greggs
post Jul 14 2008, 02:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2460

hey guys, not sure if i'm in da right thread but i'm actually seeking opinion from all the pro's here..

i've been using D40 for about a year, and i think its time for me to upgrade..

what i have in my mind is a D80 + SB800, but my fren told me that with that money, i might as well save abit more n opt for a D300 instead, upgrade once

so what do u guys think?

+Quote Post

125 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 >
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th September 2008 - 11:09 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~why so serious?~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company