Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> [WTS] NEW STOCKS 2/6/08!, Lots of guitars, bass, cymbals etc...... (Instruments)

freakfingers12
post Nov 24 2007, 11:01 PM

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Whaddya have for RM1400?Yup,very limited budget
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
opfish
post Nov 25 2007, 02:35 AM

Group: Junior Member

i assume u r talking about electric guitars rite? got a few, just look at the my listing. budget aside, its all boil down to ur preference. which genre do u fit in & what kinda guitar r u looking for? big brand name with so-so specs? not-so-popular-in-malaysia but well-known elsewhere? ugly with killer sound? versatile & good looking? to tell u the truth, i have guitars that meet each of the mentioned specs. nod.gif like this la bro (and all others who r interested), u come to my place & test for urself. STRICTLY ON A NO OBLIGATIONS BASIS. let the instruments do the talking......

+Quote Post
z3r0l33t
post Nov 25 2007, 03:52 PM

NOoooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The pgm!!!!!!! and just when i thought i could grab my hands on that....darn!!!!. how old is the gibson btw?
+Quote Post
opfish
post Nov 25 2007, 05:41 PM

hahaha... time & tide wait for no man tongue.gif

i've checked the serial no. on guitardaterproject, it was produced in 1996. shipped it directly from japan, so dunno the exact age. u can have a look & test it if u want. as usual, no obligations. thanks.
+Quote Post
freakfingers12
post Nov 26 2007, 12:55 PM

QUOTE(opfish @ Nov 25 2007, 02:35 AM)
i assume u r talking about electric guitars rite? got a few, just look at the my listing. budget aside, its all boil down to ur preference. which genre do u fit in & what kinda guitar r u looking for? big brand name with so-so specs? not-so-popular-in-malaysia but well-known elsewhere? ugly with killer sound? versatile & good looking?  to tell u the truth, i have guitars that meet each of the mentioned specs.  nod.gif  like this la bro (and all others who r interested), u come to my place & test for urself. STRICTLY ON A NO OBLIGATIONS BASIS. let the instruments do the talking......

I can't,I'm in malacca.What do you have for RM1400-RM1500 with looks(Doesn't necessarily needs to be pointy) and great for heavy metal?Lol,very hard,I know.Doesn't matter.If it's above the price range I've stated,just lemme know what model is it and how much does it go.I'll try to find a way to get me cash,haha
+Quote Post
opfish
post Nov 26 2007, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 26 2007, 12:55 PM)
I can't,I'm in malacca.What do you have for RM1400-RM1500 with looks(Doesn't necessarily needs to be pointy) and great for heavy metal?Lol,very hard,I know.Doesn't matter.If it's above the price range I've stated,just lemme know what model is it and how much does it go.I'll try to find a way to get me cash,haha

which hat should i wear now, seller or friend? hmm.gif

oklah, free advice to a friend. i'm giving my POV on this matter strictly within my limited knowledge and shall not be held responsible for any reason whatsoever (disclaimer kena ada.... tongue.gif ). as a regular forumer, i'm sure u know most about what i'm gonna write here. actually, to help u in finding the right guitar within ur budget, i require more info than just "heavy metal". i know ur quest is simple, just a guitar within RM1,400-1,500 but u should see beyond that. since i'm in the mood of writing, hopefully this piece of crap advice will help u & others to consider certain other pertinent factors in buying a guitar.

heavy metal huh.... like other styles or genre, the "quality" of the sound depends a lot on the gear combination (the rest goes to fingers bla bla bla....). assuming u just wanna start playing music & wanna make ur maiden purchase, or wanna go back to basic, or wanna analyse where do u go wrong for getting crappy sound from ur guitar, here are the things that u need to consider:

GUITAR:
main heavy metal, muzik ganas, gitar pun kena nampak ganassss!!! actually, no need to "nampak" ganas, but kena "sound" ganas. the shape & look depends on ur preference. LP, strat-like, V, X, pointy headstock like u mentioned, axe-shape, machine gun, fighter jet, u name it! that's just cosmetics anyway. the more important aspect is its spec. for body wood, i'd recommend a solid body guitar (have u seen any metal guitarist playing hollow body?) with harder wood like mahogany (thicker sound compared to other cheaper woods like alder, basswood etc. cheap & light wood cannot "cope" with my current p/u. see below). for neck, normally maple. most shredders & metal-alike love it when it is paired with rosewood fret/finger board. 24 frets FTW for shredders (but there r guitars with more frets than that). neck width & dimension, normally shredders go for thinner neck profile like ibanez's wizard necks etc. easier to shred. note also on other things like tone & vol knobs, switch selector & electronics.

on the bridge, u need to decide whether to have a fixed one (string-thru, tune-o-matic etc) or locking tremolo (together with locking nuts). if u choose the latter, make sure u go for better ones like the original Floyd Rose. whammy bar r fun to play, but be forewarned on the troubles u r likely to face when changing strings!

with limited budget (even with higher budget actually), its hard to find a super guitar that plays all. thats why most guitarists have more than one guitar. as a start, it is a good move if u could do some research (my lead info comes from wikipedia, google, youtube & of coz forums!) especially on the guitars used by ur favourite guitarist and i'm sure u'll end up paying for a good heavy metal guitar. if i were u, i'd get a decent used guitar like the mid-end stock jackson or ibanez and spend some money to change the p/u & electronics. u can get good used guitar for around rm700-1,000. the rest, spare for other things listed below.

PICK-UP:
humbucker is a must (some ppl would argue that single coils also can produce heavy sound, but humbucker is more versatile... u can coil split/tap most of them to get single coil-like sound). HSH, HSS, HH or even single H is entirely up to u. for bridge p/u (many ppl stay with their stock neck p/u, except if u r looking for a specific tone), i recommend u to get either EMG 81 (active), DiMarzio's X2N or Seymour Duncan Invader. Currently my Schecter C-1 is installed with the Invader and i'm very satisfied with the "heaviness", on your face sound cool2.gif . Since u r quite tight on budget, u can stay with ur stock p/u first & upgrade later. expect to pay rm200-rm300 for each of the above p/u (used - installation x masuk lagi).

FX & AMP:
decide what kinda FX that u wanna use first, then only amp. why? to get the true sound of your rigs & to prevent redundancy. on the first reason, take my case as an example. i'm a proud owner of the Boss GT-8 for various reasons. sound wise, i'm sure u've read our musician's thread. to get the best out of GT8 & all other MFX that have amp sim, u need to pair it with either an FRFR amp (full range, flat response. e.g. PA, headphones, keyboard amp), or do the 4CM connection (4-cable method) on amps with FX loops (send & return) or get urself an Atomic Reactor (tube) or Tech 21 Power Engine (solid state) amp. if not, u'll end up like most of the ppl who ditched & cursed their MFX as "sucks" but actually they r the one who suck big time! i've tried connecting the GT8 directly into various guitar amps & as expected, the sound sucks! since i'm a retired performer & now just a bedroom player (don't wanna disturb my neighbours during late nite practice), at the moment i'm very satisfied with a good headphone.

on the redundancy issue, if u wanna get separate FX stompboxes, don't go for amp with heavily built-in FX. why should u buy an amp with built-in FX if u wanna use separate pedals? basic fx like gain & reverb ok la, but not too much. better save ur money for something else. anyway, some smaller amps nowadays do equipped with built-in FXs like roland cubes (recommended) & marshall dfx series (personal advise - don't go for lower end marshalls). expect to pay another rm300-rm600 used depending on the model.

for separate FX pedals, there tonnes out there that cater for heavy metal-ish sound. EHX Metal Muff, Boss Metalzone, Sansamp GT2 (my next purchase nod.gif ), DOD Death Metal and Landmine just to name a few. google & youtube it! that's just for basic heavy sound. need to consider other optional pedals like compressor, delay, wah-wah, chorus & whatnot. expect to add another rm100-rm600 for each of those (used). if u r a bedroom player like me & most others, a 15w amp would do just fine.

CONCLUSION:
beauty is in the eye of the beholder. one man's meat is another's poison. u guys know what i mean icon_rolleyes.gif

anything else? i think thats about it. will update if any. thanks for your time.

+Quote Post
Namqul
post Nov 26 2007, 11:13 PM

fish, quote me all rides ur selling. im looking for one, used or new. wanna see my options. thanx.
+Quote Post
opfish
post Nov 26 2007, 11:24 PM

mr luqman, for the time being, all my cymbal stocks are as listed. i'll update their prices tomorrow. thanks.
+Quote Post
metal_sam666
post Dec 3 2007, 05:12 PM

hey mr. fish
im interested in ure AA Metal-x crash..
but i was wondering if u did trades.. so i cud give u brand new crash + sum cash for the AA crash.. is dat possible?
+Quote Post
xOx
post Dec 3 2007, 08:44 PM

bro pm me ur fly v price.. firebird atau explorer tadak? thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
opfish
post Dec 3 2007, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(metal_sam666 @ Dec 3 2007, 05:12 PM)
hey mr. fish
im interested in ure AA Metal-x crash..
but i was wondering if u did trades.. so i cud give u brand new crash + sum cash for the AA crash.. is dat possible?

for the time being i don't accept trades. sorry bro blush.gif
+Quote Post
opfish
post Dec 3 2007, 08:53 PM

QUOTE(xOx @ Dec 3 2007, 08:44 PM)
bro pm me ur fly v price.. firebird atau explorer tadak?  thumbup.gif

UGPM. ramai gak yg tanya psl firebird & explorer. setakat ni, tu je yg pakcik ade...
+Quote Post
wyman1991
post Dec 3 2007, 11:44 PM

hey there,

got picture of this?

Pearl Checker, white, 1 bass drum, 1 floor tom, 2 tom-toms, 1 snare (Tama Roadstar DX), BRAND NEW. RM2,000
+Quote Post
opfish
post Dec 4 2007, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(wyman1991 @ Dec 3 2007, 11:44 PM)
hey there,

got picture of this?

Pearl Checker, white, 1 bass drum, 1 floor tom, 2 tom-toms, 1 snare (Tama Roadstar DX), BRAND NEW. RM2,000

bro, pls check ur PM. thanks.

This post has been edited by opfish: Dec 4 2007, 03:25 AM
+Quote Post
opfish
post Dec 4 2007, 03:26 AM

NEW ARRIVALS!!!

These are not the actual photos of my stocks but u'll get the general idea of they look like (colour etc). Will replace with the real pics once I got the camera.

STEINBERGER (Spirit by Steinberger)

EDWARDS (model E-CL-90I)

EPIPHONE CASINO

WASHBURN N4 ESAuser posted image

GROVER JACKSON
+Quote Post
opfish
post Dec 4 2007, 03:27 AM

FX PEDALS

- Boss Bass Chorus CE-2B
- Boss Bass Equalizer GE-7B
- Boss Dynamic Wah AW-3
- Boss Tremolo TR-2
- Boss Phase Shifter PH-3
- Boss Blues Driver BD-2
- Boss Acoustic Simulator AC-2
- Boss Metal Zone MT-2 (3 units)
- Boss Noise Suppressor NS-3
- Boss Overdrive OD-3
- Boss Graphic Equalizer GE-7
- Boss Fuzz FZ-5
- Boss Compression Sustainer CS-3
- Boss Bass Overdrive ODB-3
- Boss Flanger BF-2
- Boss Graphic Equalizer (Advanced EQ) EQ-20
- Ibanez Tube Screamer TS-9
- Marshall Guv'nor Plus GV-2
- Marshall the Jackhammer JH-1
- Jim Dunlop Cry Baby wah
+Quote Post
erlewine
post Dec 4 2007, 02:59 PM

STEINBERGER (Spirit by Steinberger)

>HOw much is the steinberger?thx
+Quote Post
opfish
post Dec 4 2007, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(erlewine @ Dec 4 2007, 02:59 PM)
>HOw much is the steinberger?thx

pls check ur PM bro.
+Quote Post
mamet
post Dec 4 2007, 05:07 PM

hi there fish..
got any tele for sale?
+Quote Post
opfish
post Dec 4 2007, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(mamet @ Dec 4 2007, 05:07 PM)
hi there fish..
got any tele for sale?

for the time being i don't have. sorry bro. i think there's someone here selling one but unsure la.
+Quote Post

18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 07:09 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)