Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
139 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> All About Hong Kong, Info moved to Facebook Page now!! (Travel)

Anyla
post Aug 11 2009, 03:51 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

came back from hongkong, i feel in HK u must know where to eat, i think this T provide a lot of info.
or else the normal one taste ok, but expensive
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Blue_Diamond
post Aug 11 2009, 05:25 PM

Dear all,

I'm planning for a HK trip on 31 Dec 09 and i just checked airasia website for the air tickets. It's about RM650 including tax but it's not the final price.

However, next month there will be Matta Fair. I'm thinking to hold on my purchase to get a lower price there. Is the price a lot cheaper based on the previous Matta Fair? Easily sold out?

Should i buy now or wait for Matta Fair? i'm worried that if i did not manage to get the tickets next month at Matta Fair, the price aldy increase compared to now.

hmm.gif
+Quote Post
eXTaTine
post Aug 11 2009, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(Blue_Diamond @ Aug 11 2009, 05:25 PM)
Dear all,

I'm planning for a HK trip on 31 Dec 09 and i just checked airasia website for the air tickets. It's about RM650 including tax but it's not the final price.

However, next month there will be Matta Fair. I'm thinking to hold on my purchase to get a lower price there. Is the price a lot cheaper based on the previous Matta Fair? Easily sold out?

Should i buy now or wait for Matta Fair? i'm worried that if i did not manage to get the tickets next month at Matta Fair, the price aldy increase compared to now.

hmm.gif

At those prices you might wanna consider Cathay Pacific or MAS? You might get cheaper tickets if you wait, however its no guarantee. Maybe you can try your luck....
+Quote Post
honkit
post Aug 12 2009, 01:00 AM

Airbus-er.

Group: Senior Member

try singapore airlines. Rm 1100++ inc transit in singapore. got the chance to fly A380
+Quote Post
danmooncake
post Aug 12 2009, 05:11 AM

QUOTE(Blue_Diamond @ Aug 11 2009, 05:25 PM)
Dear all,

hmm.gif

RM650 for roundtrip to HK is a good deal besides it is new year day. That's usually more expensive.

When exactly is the Matta Fair?

+Quote Post
Blue_Diamond
post Aug 12 2009, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Aug 11 2009, 11:45 PM)
At those prices you might wanna consider Cathay Pacific or MAS? You might get cheaper tickets if you wait, however its no guarantee. Maybe you can try your luck....

Hmm..tried Cathay Pacific and MAS aldy, both required at least RM1k. Out of my budget aldy. Yup, you are right. I'm also worried that i may not get cheaper price if i wait longer. So, i think i will book at the current price. Might not wait for Matta Fair and lazy to go through the hassle as well. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(honkit @ Aug 12 2009, 01:00 AM)
try singapore airlines. Rm 1100++ inc transit in singapore. got the chance to fly A380

I would love too but out of my budget aldy. tongue.gif

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 12 2009, 05:11 AM)
RM650 for roundtrip to HK is a good deal besides it is new year day. That's usually more expensive.

When exactly is the Matta Fair?

Yeah, i'm thinking the same too since it's a peak period. Most probably will book at the current price. Btw, Matta Fair will be held on 4 - 6 Sept 09 at PWTC.
+Quote Post
GiNgEr^fIsH
post Aug 12 2009, 12:37 PM

**got STImulation?**

hi peeps, just wanted to check with those who have visited HK before. if its reasonable to buy designer stuff.. like Coach handbags, Ted bakers clothes, etc
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Pisaro
post Aug 12 2009, 02:04 PM

Group: New Member

Im a huge fans of Leo Ku. I wondering where I can get his old old album and Leo Ku comic books???

appreciate your help here. Thanks alot
+Quote Post
emily_123
post Aug 12 2009, 02:09 PM

My friend who has just come back from HK is saying that the Disney Land will be renovated soon to expand. Anyone know when will it start?

food -> http://yummysay.blogspot.com/
+Quote Post
jessyca_loh
post Aug 12 2009, 07:41 PM

I would like to ask if anyone has use the Octopus card while in Hong Kong ? Want to get opinion n see if it is worth it to get it or not..
+Quote Post
jye'n
post Aug 13 2009, 08:58 AM

Hi guys, i will be going to HK next Thursday (20/08/2009). Wondering how's the condition of the H1N1 there. A bit worried...
+Quote Post
tpleong
post Aug 13 2009, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(jessyca_loh @ Aug 12 2009, 07:41 PM)
I would like to ask if anyone has use the Octopus card while in Hong Kong ? Want to get opinion n see if it is worth it to get it or not..

I always used it , what do u want to know ? very convenient. Been going to HK annually for the last few years, mainly for makan & shopping.
+Quote Post
ahjames
post Aug 13 2009, 10:20 AM

My Name James

i go HK oni take teksi one. nvr take others.
+Quote Post
Ami Tsun
post Aug 13 2009, 11:11 AM

Get one if you planned to get around HK by public transport, can use on MTR, buses (incl mini bus), tram, ferries. And can use as a cash card to buy things from participate outlets, eg 7-11. Keep the Octopus card for future visit or refund the balance, with HKD 7 admin fee.
+Quote Post
eXTaTine
post Aug 13 2009, 02:00 PM

QUOTE(jye'n @ Aug 13 2009, 08:58 AM)
Hi guys, i will be going to HK next Thursday (20/08/2009). Wondering how's the condition of the H1N1 there. A bit worried...

Haven't you read the news? 44 cases of death in Malaysia. Pretty much anywhere is safer than Malaysia now. You'll be safer in Hong Kong.
+Quote Post
emilypipi
post Aug 13 2009, 02:38 PM

My hubby just back from Hong kong last week , he said everything is okay there, just remember to wear mask!
+Quote Post
Lis000
post Aug 13 2009, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Aug 13 2009, 11:11 AM)
Get one if you planned to get around HK by public transport, can use on MTR, buses (incl mini bus), tram, ferries.  And can use as a cash card to buy things from participate outlets, eg 7-11.  Keep the Octopus card for future visit or refund the balance, with HKD 7 admin fee.

Yups, agree. Very convenient, saves alot of hassle. Besides, any amount not used can be refunded fully.

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH Posted Yesterday @ 12:37 PM )
  hi peeps, just wanted to check with those who have visited HK before. if its reasonable to buy designer stuff.. like Coach handbags, Ted bakers clothes, etc

If it's on sale, then it should be reasonable. My sis bought a Coach handbag there during the summer sale(mid-July), and it was cheaper in HK compared to a few places. Furthermore, she couldn't find that particular model here in KL.

QUOTE(emilypipi Posted Today @ 02:38 PM )
  My hubby just back from Hong kong last week , he said everything is okay there, just remember to wear mask!

Yah, best of all, their airport provide free masks!
+Quote Post
beauwest
post Aug 13 2009, 09:58 PM

Hi, can someone review my draft itinerary to see if it is realistic and if there is any suggestion to amend:-

1-Sep-09
11:05 AM Arrived at Hong Kong

1:00 PM Check in hotel –Dorsett Seaview

Mongkok Street Markets

3 hours Fa Yuen Street (aka Sportshoes street)
Ladies Street

2-Sep-09
Half day city tour (package free by tour agent)
AM The Peak
Golden Bauhinia Square by the HK Conventions & Exhibitions
Repulse Bay Beach
Tsing Ma Bridge Visitor Centre
Aberdeen Fishing Village, Jewelry Shop , Chinese Herbs Shop

8 - 10 PM Symphony of Lights Harbour Cruise

3-Sep-09
am Wong Dai Shin - Kowloon
pm Disneyland

4-Sep-09
Lantau Island
9:00 AM Ngong Ping 360 Skyrail
11:00 AM Po Lin + Giant Buddha
12:00 PM Wisdom Path
1:00 PM Citygate Outlet Mall

Temple Street 庙街大排档 (源记)(4pm - midnight)

5-Sep-09

11.35 am Flight

+Quote Post
Ami Tsun
post Aug 15 2009, 02:37 PM

@beauwest

What are the places included in the half day city tour?

As per your itinerary, on 2 Sept, The Peak, Golden Bauhinia Sq, Repulse Bay and Aberdeen are in Hong Kong Island but Tsing Ma Bridge is way out!

If you are flying into HK, from the airport to town, you'll cross the Lantau Link, part of Tsing Ma Bridge anyway. So, IMHO, best to combine your visit to Tsing Ma Bridge Visitor Centre, either on the day going to Lantau Island or Disneyland.

+Quote Post
beauwest
post Aug 15 2009, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Aug 15 2009, 02:37 PM)
@beauwest

What are the places included in the half day city tour?

As per your itinerary, on 2 Sept, The Peak, Golden Bauhinia Sq, Repulse Bay and Aberdeen are in Hong Kong Island but Tsing Ma Bridge is way out!

If you are flying into HK, from the airport to town, you'll cross the Lantau Link, part of Tsing Ma Bridge anyway.  So, IMHO, best to combine your visit to Tsing Ma Bridge Visitor Centre, either on the day going to Lantau Island or Disneyland.

Ami Tsun,

Hi. The places included in the half day city tour as listed in the itinerary. I am not sure how long it will take us for the half day tour, even the tour agent in Msia cant confirm, as they said it is depend on the tour agent in the HK.

I am not sure where else I can go after the half day city tour on the 2 Sept. Any suggestions?

How long will it take from Citygate Outlet Mall to Dorsett Seaview?

Thank you very much.
+Quote Post

139 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 11:24 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)