Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
110 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> DELL VOSTRO CLUB, pm me to join the list!

sotong168
post Sep 26 2007, 08:27 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #41

PBBANK(1295) GO! GO! GO!

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(adventures18 @ Sep 24 2007, 11:29 PM)
hey all, finally my vostro 1500 reached my house evening...so happy can join all of you...but my true life screen seem like LCD light leakage...anyway glad to join all of you

mine is arrived too (on 9/24, 1-wk earlier) but until now dun have chance to have a look, maybe tonite gua... light leakage? how bad is it? minor is common to me lah
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adventures18
post Sep 26 2007, 11:08 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #42

Group: Junior Member

i dunno light leakage is minor or not, as this 1 1st time using dell true life screen. pls let me know how abt yours 1
+Quote Post
EpsilonStar
post Sep 26 2007, 06:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #43

all of u guys take the normal truelife, not the ultrasharp 1? i wonder is the ultrasharp suffers this o not...
+Quote Post
adventures18
post Sep 26 2007, 10:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #44

oh my god, they gv me hyundai ram,may i know if i change the kingston ram...will it void my warrenty??kindly advise.thankyou
+Quote Post
sotong168
post Sep 27 2007, 11:00 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #45

PBBANK(1295) GO! GO! GO!

QUOTE(adventures18 @ Sep 26 2007, 11:08 AM)
i dunno light leakage is minor or not, as this 1 1st time using dell true life screen. pls let me know how abt yours 1

checked last nite, the leakage is negligible i would say, frankly speaking u won't notice it (at least it's true for me), btw it is matte type

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Sep 26 2007, 06:47 PM)
all of u guys take the normal truelife, not the ultrasharp 1? i wonder is the ultrasharp suffers this o not...

all lcd suffer a certain degree of leakage, my 6400's truelife leakage is very minor, not noticeable too

QUOTE(adventures18 @ Sep 26 2007, 10:58 PM)
oh my god, they gv me hyundai ram,may i know if i change the kingston ram...will it void my warrenty??kindly advise.thankyou

i pair stock 1gb hyundai with 1gb kingston, working fine. to play safe; just make sure both of the latency & etc is the same (check with cpu-z)
+Quote Post
EpsilonStar
post Sep 27 2007, 07:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #46

sotong u get the non truelife for ya vostro? review a bit ur laptop le tongue.gif
+Quote Post
sotong168
post Sep 27 2007, 08:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #47

PBBANK(1295) GO! GO! GO!

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Sep 27 2007, 07:57 PM)
sotong u get the non truelife for ya vostro? review a bit ur laptop le tongue.gif

it's my bro unit, a vostro 1400, just a glimpse; first impression it looks plain and dull tongue.gif but solid, heavy too (b'coz of magnesium alloy chasis i suppose); due to whole unit is in black, the dust/debris/finger print is easily spotted. in general, it is value for $, with very decent spec @ rm2191 only (12-mth 0% installment); the matte screen is pretty impressive, much clearer & sharper than i expected, the light leakage is negligible to me (not noticeable actually). i would strongly recommend this unit to ppl who want a cheap with decent spec and dun want fancy looking laptop (but u could skin it right?).

the spec:
C2D T5470 (1.6GHz, 2MB Cache, 800 MHz FSB)
2x 512MB 667MHz
Vista Home
14.1" TFT
120GB Sata
8X DVD-RW
X3100
1-yr CompleteCover thumbup.gif
Nylon Case
+Quote Post
cyclone2k1
post Sep 29 2007, 11:49 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #48

Wohoo..Got my Vostro 1400 yesterday after less than 1 week ordering.
First impression:
Looks cool. A little lighter than expected. The black skin smears easily with fingerprints. Keyboard a little lower than expected leaving less space for my palms since my hands are big.
Touchpad sensitivity needs a little adjusting.
Too much crap loaded up in the OS. Need to slim it down.
Screen is ok. Minimal light leakage. Battery wobble is also minimal.
Other than those, haven't do much yet with my unit.

Here's my machine's specs:
C2D T7100
2 GB DDR2
160 GB
14.1" (1440x900) with TL
GeForce 8400M GS with 128 MB DDR3
DVD-RW Burner
Integrated 2.0MP camera
9-cell Li-ion Battery
Vista Business
+Quote Post
sotong168
post Sep 29 2007, 12:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #49

PBBANK(1295) GO! GO! GO!

QUOTE(cyclone2k1 @ Sep 29 2007, 11:49 AM)

how much is yours? seems like u customized a lot. actually dell is consider kind enuf in vostro, last time my inspiron was pre-installed even more bloated proggie.
+Quote Post
copadelrey
post Sep 29 2007, 04:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #50

hey guys...I'm planning to get this one - http://dellstore01.sg.dell.com/public/cart...=159235&sr_no=3

What you guys think? for a core2duo, I think it's cheap...but I is a computer newbie...laptop dum dum haiyo...pls advice me

I oso a bit worried about the screen...Some ppl say Dells got backlight or LCD leakage problem...
+Quote Post
EpsilonStar
post Sep 29 2007, 07:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #51

QUOTE(cyclone2k1 @ Sep 29 2007, 11:49 AM)
First impression:
Looks cool. A little lighter than expected. The black skin smears easily with fingerprints. Keyboard a little lower than expected leaving less space for my palms since my hands are big.
Touchpad sensitivity needs a little adjusting.
Too much crap loaded up in the OS. Need to slim it down.
Screen is ok. Minimal light leakage. Battery wobble is also minimal.
Other than those, haven't do much yet with my unit.

Here's my machine's specs:
C2D T7100
2 GB DDR2
160 GB
14.1" (1440x900) with TL
GeForce 8400M GS with 128 MB DDR3
DVD-RW Burner
Integrated 2.0MP camera
9-cell Li-ion Battery
Vista Business

ah finally some1 with ultrasharp screen... so it's minimal leakage? what brand is the lcd? i wonder y the wireless-n card is so exp in vostro...

Added on September 29, 2007, 7:44 pmah 1 thing... does the vostro in malaysia comes with card reader?

This post has been edited by EpsilonStar: Sep 29 2007, 07:44 PM
+Quote Post
sotong168
post Sep 29 2007, 08:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #52

PBBANK(1295) GO! GO! GO!

QUOTE(copadelrey @ Sep 29 2007, 04:31 PM)
hey guys...I'm planning to get this one - http://dellstore01.sg.dell.com/public/cart...=159235&sr_no=3

What you guys think? for a core2duo, I think it's cheap...but I is a computer newbie...laptop dum dum haiyo...pls advice me

I oso a bit worried about the screen...Some ppl say Dells got backlight or LCD leakage problem...

the link is invalid

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Sep 29 2007, 07:40 PM)
ah finally some1 with ultrasharp screen... so it's minimal leakage? what brand is the lcd? i wonder y the wireless-n card is so exp in vostro...

Added on September 29, 2007, 7:44 pmah 1 thing... does the vostro in malaysia comes with card reader?

yes, got built-in card reader
+Quote Post
copadelrey
post Sep 30 2007, 01:15 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #53

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/f...bsd1&l=en&s=bsd

ok, look at the one on the extreme right
+Quote Post
sotong168
post Sep 30 2007, 07:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #54

PBBANK(1295) GO! GO! GO!

QUOTE(copadelrey @ Sep 30 2007, 01:15 AM)
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/f...bsd1&l=en&s=bsd

ok, look at the one on the extreme right

the one priced @ rm2049 right? same package as i ordered mine wks ago, just that during my that time got additional rm100 rebate (1-unit only instead of 2-unit now) on top of rm350 redemption + free delivery. the price among the packages won't vary so much lah, sometimes they offer 2GB free upgrade instead of free delivery, just grab it should u decided to get one.
+Quote Post
Gen-X
post Sep 30 2007, 10:45 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #55

Lifetime LYN Member

Hi guys, i am seriously thinking of getting a Vostro 1400 since can get C2D with OS for less then RM2.5K. Besides the price, what attracts me is the Mylar(R) -sealed keyboard helps guard against dust and spills. My present compaq keyboard is damaged because i spilled coffee onto it!

Noted so far for Vostro 1400 users/owners:

cyclone2k1's ultrasharp TL - minimal light leakage
sotongg168's TFT matte - negligible light leakage

Got a question for 1400 owners - how many RAM slots are there? If i get the Vostro with 512MB RAM from DELL and then goto LYP to purchase additional RAM, what is the cheapest option to upgrade to 2GB RAM?

TS- is he still around? Suggest you have a Vostro user list a 1st post.
+Quote Post
wtm0325
post Sep 30 2007, 03:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #56

ME™

Gen-X,

upgrading ram is as cheap as RM105 for Kingston 1GB DDR2 667, thus 2 stick will cost u RM210, and with the extra of original 512mb tht u might sell it off

reference:
http://www.thundermatch.com.my/pricelist1.htm

i hv seen inspiron 1420 for both ultrasharp n matte type 1280x800, and i appreciate matte screen where the viewing angel is a lot lot better, and contrast is similar though
+Quote Post
death_nite
post Sep 30 2007, 04:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #57

Lossless Land...

i wont recommend u to sell the original ram from dell smile.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
copadelrey
post Sep 30 2007, 04:29 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #58

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Sep 30 2007, 03:02 PM)
Gen-X,

upgrading ram is as cheap as RM105 for Kingston 1GB DDR2 667, thus 2 stick will cost u RM210, and with the extra of original 512mb tht u might sell it off

reference:
http://www.thundermatch.com.my/pricelist1.htm

i hv seen inspiron 1420 for both ultrasharp n matte type 1280x800, and i appreciate matte screen where the viewing angel is a lot lot better, and contrast is similar though

upgrading ram outside of dell will void the warranty right? I think you MUST only upgrade from dell sad.gif
+Quote Post
death_nite
post Sep 30 2007, 05:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #59

Lossless Land...

QUOTE(copadelrey @ Sep 30 2007, 04:29 PM)
upgrading ram outside of dell will void the warranty right? I think you MUST only upgrade from dell sad.gif

upgrading ram outside dell wont void warranty.

but, if u sell ur original ram, then later u try to claim warranty, might void ur warranty. especially if ur mobo burnt due to the new ram, dell wont change it under warranty.

as safety, do not sell ur original ram. in case anythg happen, just put back the old ram. smile.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
sotong168
post Sep 30 2007, 07:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #60

PBBANK(1295) GO! GO! GO!

death_nite is rite, keep the original for warranty claim purpose (just in case lar). 1400 has 2-ram slot, one is at the back and another one is under keyboard, sounds complicated but nothing gimmick there, the manual teach u how to assemble it.
+Quote Post

110 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2009 - 07:12 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)