Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
110 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > 
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> DELL VOSTRO CLUB, pm me to join the list!

KeV
post Oct 14 2008, 11:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2141

www.kampar.net

Group: VIP
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 14 2008, 11:13 PM)
Woah, that 1200 spec costs RM3842 from Dell's website shocking.gif  shocking.gif

havent told u about the freebies, lol, ms office 2007 sbe biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 14 2008, 11:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2142

ilovekyx

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(KeV @ Oct 14 2008, 11:18 PM)
havent told u about the freebies, lol, ms office 2007 sbe biggrin.gif

Crap. If only my 1500 came with that sad.gif Now using ph34r.gif version sad.gif
+Quote Post
KeV
post Oct 14 2008, 11:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2143

www.kampar.net

lol they have really good deals from DFO

i always keep a lookout, lol. (and some people in lowyat profiteer it by selling it at marked up prices)
+Quote Post
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 15 2008, 08:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2144

ilovekyx

QUOTE(KeV @ Oct 14 2008, 11:57 PM)
lol they have really good deals from DFO

i always keep a lookout, lol. (and some people in lowyat profiteer it by selling it at marked up prices)

But how do you get the info from DFO?

On a side note.. I did a CHKDSK and...

4 KB in bad sectors.

Gotta ask for another replacement doh.gif and I've just spent hours setting up and updating this doh.gif
+Quote Post
KeV
post Oct 15 2008, 10:58 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2145

www.kampar.net

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/default.as...en&s=dfo&~ck=bt

got this from dell inspiron 6400 thread
+Quote Post
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 15 2008, 12:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2146

ilovekyx

Oh, that means your units are refurbished?
+Quote Post
KeV
post Oct 15 2008, 01:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2147

www.kampar.net

yes they are, lol, but still worth it what, 1 year warranty from dell
+Quote Post
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 15 2008, 04:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2148

ilovekyx

QUOTE(KeV @ Oct 15 2008, 01:03 PM)
yes they are, lol, but still worth it what, 1 year warranty from dell

Ah cool. That's quite a bargain there. Possible to extend the warranty period with that?

Side note, Dell asked me to run their own custom test for my HDD. All tests passed (took 3.5 bloody hours shakehead.gif ), but then Windows' CHKDSK reports 4kb in bad sector. DTS told me CHKDSK's result could probably be a false alarm and Dell's test is much more thorough, any bad sectors would've been picked up; but I don't want to wait till I fill up my HDD before problems come to haunt me. Who to trust now? sad.gif
+Quote Post
KeV
post Oct 15 2008, 05:41 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2149

www.kampar.net

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 15 2008, 04:44 PM)
Ah cool. That's quite a bargain there. Possible to extend the warranty period with that?

Side note, Dell asked me to run their own custom test for my HDD. All tests passed (took 3.5 bloody hours shakehead.gif ), but then Windows' CHKDSK reports 4kb in bad sector. DTS told me CHKDSK's result could probably be a false alarm and Dell's test is much more thorough, any bad sectors would've been picked up; but I don't want to wait till I fill up my HDD before problems come to haunt me. Who to trust now? sad.gif

you can extend the warranty when its closer to expiry.

well, cant help u on the hdd part, but as a consumer, if u dont feel happy, voice out ur dissatisfaction and just try to complain to your SA
+Quote Post
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 15 2008, 06:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2150

ilovekyx

QUOTE(KeV @ Oct 15 2008, 05:41 PM)
you can extend the warranty when its closer to expiry.

well, cant help u on the hdd part, but as a consumer, if u dont feel happy, voice out ur dissatisfaction and just try to complain to your SA

Ah, I see. Well, then I guess it's very much worth it to get the refurb.

Bah, I'm pretty undecided right now. Probably will run Hitachi's own test and see how it goes. Thing is, I'm having problem with getting their test utility to boot via CD laugh.gif Maybe should try to have it boot via my USB flash drive =.= Gotta do some reading on how-tos for that after my bloody economics test tomorrow doh.gif
+Quote Post
chika138
post Oct 15 2008, 09:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2151

Happy-No-Lucky

i'm the latest to have graphic card problem here
called them last nite, and the faulty graphic card replaced with a whole new motherboard today
but i guess perhaps they're just using refurbished motherboard with a new nvidia card on it
+Quote Post
raul
post Oct 16 2008, 12:58 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2152

R----L

I have been using my vostro 1500 since aug last year, still serve me perfectly until now. smile.gif

Recently just bought another 2 units vostro 1310 for my company use. I found that the built quality of 1500-1400 is better than newer models such as 1310-1510.
+Quote Post
KeV
post Oct 16 2008, 07:14 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2153

www.kampar.net

the old 1400 and 1500 were inspiron 1420 and 1520 derivatives. the 1310-1510 is its own unit itself and it was aimed to for the budget concerned
+Quote Post
saladin7
post Oct 16 2008, 09:45 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2154

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(chika138 @ Oct 15 2008, 09:57 PM)
i'm the latest to have graphic card problem here
called them last nite, and the faulty graphic card replaced with a whole new motherboard today
but i guess perhaps they're just using refurbished motherboard with a new nvidia card on it

u use the 8400gs graphic card?
+Quote Post
chika138
post Oct 16 2008, 11:18 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2155

Happy-No-Lucky

QUOTE(saladin7 @ Oct 16 2008, 09:45 AM)
u use the 8400gs graphic card?

ya but it also may occur to 8600m gt
luckily my graphic card spoilt before my warranty ends in 2 weeks time
+Quote Post
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 16 2008, 11:43 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2156

ilovekyx

QUOTE(chika138 @ Oct 16 2008, 11:18 AM)
ya but it also may occur to 8600m gt
luckily my graphic card spoilt before my warranty ends in 2 weeks time

How old is your unit? unsure.gif
+Quote Post
chika138
post Oct 16 2008, 08:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2157

Happy-No-Lucky

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 16 2008, 11:43 AM)
How old is your unit? unsure.gif

1 yr
i'm planning to extend my warranty
+Quote Post
driftmeister
post Oct 17 2008, 05:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2158

THIS IZ ENFIELDZ

wah...8400M got graphic card issue ke?
damn lo... just purchased 1 recently (monday) sweat.gif
+Quote Post
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 17 2008, 07:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2159

ilovekyx

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Oct 17 2008, 05:35 PM)
wah...8400M got graphic card issue ke?
damn lo... just purchased 1 recently (monday) sweat.gif

Yup.

And they finally responded:
Chip failures: Nvidia responds at last
by Cyril Kowaliski — 8:15 PM on October 16, 2008

After almost two weeks of wrangling with its legal department, Nvidia has finally answered some of our questions about its GPU and chipset failure problems. First, the company sent us a statement addressing the allegations of AMD's Packaging and Interconnect Director, Neil McLellan. As we wrote earlier this week, McLellan claims AMD has a superior chip package design because it uses a specific set of materials, including eutectic solder bumps. In his view, Nvidia chips have failed because they use (supposedly) more fatigue-prone high-lead bumps and because, he asserted, Nvidia cares less about packaging technologies.

Here's Nvidia's written response:

NVIDIA has a world class chip operations team, and has delivered over 1 Billion devices (and over 1 trillion bumps) over 14 years, in the most advanced processes, to the most demanding customers. NVIDIA is the leader in the graphics industry in innovation and has delivered technology over the years that companies like ATI and Intel have benefited from.

In his recent commentary on chip packaging, Mr. McLellan makes a number of speculative assertions about NVIDIA's people, products and philosophy. In his interview McLellan asserts that High lead bumps are more prone to fatigue. What he fails to note is that AMD currently uses High lead bumps on their CPU line -- a device well known to undergo high thermal stress, and also go through lots of power cycling.

The choice between High Lead and Eutectic is complex. There are trade-offs in using one vs. the other, as even Mr. McLellan points out. The electromigration issues associated with printed eutectic bumps can affect long term reliability of a high current device. Electromigration is when a high current causes metal to separate over time, and creates an open circuit. This is one of the main reasons why so many devices are still manufactured with High lead bumps today.

In fact, 10s of billions of semiconductor devices have been shipped with High Lead bumps by world class companies including AMD, Intel, IBM, Motorola and TI.

While McLellan implies that AMD is unique in its use of a "power redistribution layer," this isn't true. In fact use of a power redistribution layer is industry practice, and has been used in every flip chip GPU NVIDIA has shipped.

NVIDIA is committed to delivering lead free devices by the 2010 requirement. Our engineering team has been working on this important initiative for the past 18 months, and is fully engaged in this effort with our manufacturing partners.

NVIDIA uses industry standard packaging material and we have passed all industry standard (JEDEC) component package qualifications. We stand behind our products and we will continue to work with our partners to ensure the best visual experience.

After looking over the statement, we got on the phone with GeForce General Manager Ujesh Desai and GeForce Senior VP Jeff Fisher to ask some follow-up questions. What exactly causes Nvidia chips to fail in the first place? Can the same failures occur in desktops, and is that what we're seeing in the HP systems we talked about earlier this week? What of the GeForce 9400M "motherboard GPU" in Apple's new notebooks?

Predictably, we couldn't get a more concrete answer on the specifics of the failures. Desai was, however, willing to point out that the failures only affect a "small percentage" of notebooks, and the problems depend on a combination of factors, so "you can't just . . . point back to our chip."

Fisher was notably chattier on the topic of potential desktop failures:

There is no evidence that this issue exists in desktops as we know them. And in fact, Mr. McLellan has no evidence to even imply that. The fact is that lead bumps—he's saying that lead bumps will fail, and therefore you should expect to see failures on everything, and that's completely out of balance from an educated operations guy like he is. . . . I think most industry people would say lead bumps are not a cause of failure and are in fact very reliable. And his soda-can analogy and attempt to drag in desktops is irresponsible from our view and a huge reach.

About the failing HP systems, Desai specified, "It's not 38 different systems, it's actually a single design, and the model numbers that were reported . . . are actually model numbers that refer to different configurations of the same product." He went on to say Nvidia is "working closely with HP to determine if or how the Nvidia chips are even involved in the failures."

So, looking forward, what can we expect from the GeForce 9400M chipset in Apple's new MacBooks? Fisher stated plainly, "You can rest assured that Apple has been aware of all of the science that we've developed around this issue and would not be launching the most important product in their history with a product they felt was at risk." Desai later added that Nvidia is "taking the necessary steps to ensure that all the Nvidia chips currently in production don't exhibit this problem."

http://techreport.com/discussions.x/15720
+Quote Post
meoo
post Oct 17 2008, 07:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2160

Group: Junior Member

Apple also kena this one
+Quote Post

110 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 >
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 02:11 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)