12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Asus F9S, 12.1" thin and light, first impressions.

TSgenotypic
post Aug 6 2007, 02:33 PM, updated 19y ago

18 posts

I bought a Asus F9S during pcfair, with the T7300 2.0GHz processor, 2GB DDR2 RAM, 160GB HDD, Nvidia GeForce 8400 G, 12.1 inch lcd, dvd burner and 2 year international warranty. It's a new model replacing the F9J. Specs and price are comparable to the dell xps m1330. The reason why I bought this was because I got tired of waiting for the dell, and would be going overseas soon.

It's nice that it came with a free targus notebook bag that fits well, plus a usb travel mouse. It came with loads of freebies in pcfair, which are mostly pretty useless to me, things like a usb hub, another mouse (wth?), cooler pad a headset, kensington lock, screen cleaner and a sleeve that's too big for it. From the brochure, it seems like it came originally with 1GB ram, (single 1gb chip), with a free upgrade to 2gb.

Have been using it for 2 days now and here's a quick review. Sorry for the messy writing..

Build

Overall build quality is quite good, but definitely not as good as the thinkpads. There is slight flex over the if you press hard in a few areas, especially on the right of the keyboard, but wouldn't be a problem. The hinges are tight, and the screen feels quite sturdy. The lcd does flex a little, but there are no ripples on the screen when I tried applying pressure on the centre of the screen, which is impressive.. The full size keyboard is comfortable to use with a generous amount of travel. My only complain is that the few keys on the upper right hand side of the keyboard, mainly Del, Backspace, Home, PageUp, etc, are a bit mushy. The surrounding keys sink a tiny bit when u press it. The rest of the keyboard feels solid.

The size is quite large for a 12 incher. Take an A4 paper, add 1cm to its length and 1cm to it's with, and that's roughly the size of it. It's uniformly 3.6cm thick with the lid closed, and the lid itself it about 1cm thick. Not really an ultraportable, i'd say. The frame around the LCD is very thick, and i think could accomodate a 13.3" screen. Reminds me of the old Dell XPS M1330. But hey, it's almost a good RM1.5k cheaper than the W7S with the 13.3 inch screen. One thing that i'm quite unhappy about is that the supplied 6 cell's battery sticks out about 2.7cm at the rear. There's also a bulge at the top of the lcd for the 1.3 megapixel swivel camera. When closed, the battery sticking out at the rear, and the camera in front makes it somehow awkward to carry if you move around alot. It's also a bit on the heavy side, approaching nearly 2kgs with the 6 cell battery.

The matte black finish looks stylish, without being too striking or plasticky. Though to some might think it looks a little boring. I think they have silver too but it's out of stock at the moment. It comes with loads of stickers all over the palm rest. I immediately peeled them off when I reached home. I mean what's the whole purpose of advertising something you've already bought?

Unlike most other notebooks out there, it doesn't come with any media buttons. In fact, there's just a power on button, a Power4Gear button to switch between performance, power saving modes, etc, and a wireless on off switch. No fancy touch sensitive glow in the dark flashy buttons. That's good enough for me, though a dedicated volume button would be a great addition. There's also a fingerprint scanner on the right of the palm rest. On the left, there's a VGA port, HDMI port, a USB port, a card reader and an express card slot. The main air vent is also located here. The rear is dominated by the battery jutting out like a sore thumb, with the power input and lock port on the left, two USB ports on the right. On the right hand side there's the DVD burner tray, the ethernet port and modem port, and the audio in / audio out jacks. The speakers are located beside the hinge below the LCD screen. 3 USB ports is the minimum for any notebook, in my opinion. On the other hand, the touchpad is at the same level with the body of the notebook, and have the same colour and texture. The size is pretty standard, but the buttons depress very slightly when pressed, providing little feedback.

Screen

Light leakage is quite evident, but not as bad as some other notebooks. The LCD display is very bright and if it weren't for the reflections, would be very usable under sunlight. The glare is unavoidable in all glossy screens. The screen itself is vibrant and sharp, no complains about it so far. As expected, there were no dead pixels. Side viewing angles are very good, maybe even too good if privacy is important to you. Vertical viewing angles aren't that great though, but still pretty acceptable. My only wish is, well, if only it's a 13.3"...

Usage

After 20 minutes of usage, the notebook warms up considerably. Depending on the usage, the air vent on the left hand side may get very hot, with hot air blowing out as the fans kick in. The rest of the notebook remains slightly warm, which is quite acceptable. The base does get warm, but not uncomfortably so. I guess all the heat is effectively channeled out through the vents. I haven't tested the processor and GPU temp yet. Under normal operations, it's reasonably silent and barely audible in normal indoor conditions. In a silent room though, the fan and hard drive can be heard, but not too distracting.

Power / Battery

The size and weight of the power brick is unacceptable. For a notebook that weighs 4 pounds, the power brick weighs a freaking pound! If I'm not mistaken, it's the same one that ASUS is using for their larger 15.4 inch notebooks. Battery life is about average on this notebook. A full charge will lasted about 2 and a half hours with wifi on, bluetooth off, in power saving mode and about 25% brightness, doing normal web browsing. A 3-4 hour battery life would be much better, but it's a sacrifice that has to be paid for the dedicated graphics. Salespeople who claim a 4 hour battery life have no idea what they're talking about.

Performance

Vista took about a minute to boot, and continues loading stuff for another minute or so. I wanted a fresh installation, so I popped in the recovery DVD, and manually reinstalled windows, and repartitioned the hard drive. This removed all the bloat and trial software, which frankly isn't that much to begin with. Booting up to the login screen takes a little more than 40secs with a clean installation, and another 30 secs after that to load everything else. I had a bit of trouble with the fingerprint scanner in the beginning, sometimes needing two or three swipes before it could be recognized. So far, everything seemed quite responsive even when multitasking, but I haven't tried other processor intensive tasks like encoding video while running a virus scan that kinda thing.

The great thing about this notebook is that it comes with a dedicated Dx10 Nvidia GeForce 8400M G graphics card though it's the slowest version of the 8400 series. I haven't tested out any games on this notebook yet, but judging from reviews of other similarly specced notebooks, it should be slightly faster than the previous generation 7400 card. Older games like HL2, WoW, should run well at high settings. Games like Civilization IV, Rome: Total War should run fine too. Newer games like NFS:C, Oblivion, FEAR, C&C should run in low / med settings. Forget about Crysis, Lost Planet, etc..Get a 8700gt or a desktop instead. But hopefully it can run starcraft 2 when it hits the shelves.

I haven't run any benchmarks yet, probably later if anyone's interested.. But I think the T7300 2.0GHz processor coupled with 2 gigs of ram should be more than enough for daily tasks.

Multimedia

The videos taken using ASUS's LifeFrame software didn't seem that clear, certainly not as clear as Macbook's. It appears to be slightly choppy. Might require some tweaking and I'll work on that. There's a LED flash thingy on the camera beside the lens, and I couldn't seem to get it to fire. I thought it would be great if I could somehow get it to light up at night to illuminate the keyboard. Swivelling the webcam can be useful to record lectures, but otherwise, a cheap digicam can take much better video. In a quiet room, the speakers were quite loud, but very lacking in bass. A decent pair of headphones (not the free ones) or a pair of speakers are a must for gaming / movies / audio playback.

Networking

No problems connecting to my wireless G network, but I haven't really tested out the range yet. Bluetooth worked and I had no trouble connecting to my axim.

Overall, I'm quite satisfied with the notebook. I don't think there's any other notebook out there that can pack so much in so little space and deliver so much at this price range.

Pros:
1. Nice free bag
2. Great price for its specs
3. Dedicated graphics
4. Great display
5. HDMI port
6. 2 year international warranty
7. Spacious HDD

Cons:
1. Big, heavy, ugly, bulky charger
2. 6-cell battery that sticks out
3. Thick frame around LCD
4. 2.5 hr battery life
5. Poor webcam quality (??will confirm this)

This post has been edited by genotypic: Aug 6 2007, 02:36 PM
changfui
post Aug 6 2007, 07:17 PM

535 posts

very nice
grats on your new lappy dude
mind posting more shots?
kinda interested with this model as well
TSgenotypic
post Aug 6 2007, 09:16 PM

18 posts

Here you go..more pics are up!

Vga, hdmi, airvent, usb, card reader, expresscard slot

DVD burner, audio in, audio out, modem, ethernet

Good ol' keyboard and fingerprint scanner

Note the 6 cell battery sticking out its rear

Webcam swivelled backwards

Rear view - i erased the serial numbers thus the black boxes

Free usb mouse

The huge power brick

Free tagus bag

Slight light leakage, might be a bit distracting when watching widescreen movies in the dark..

This post has been edited by genotypic: Aug 6 2007, 09:18 PM
changfui
post Aug 7 2007, 01:09 AM

535 posts

very nice
would be nice if they provide a smaller adapter though
and the battery is that a 6 cell?
its bulging out o.O
TSgenotypic
post Aug 7 2007, 08:03 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(changfui @ Aug 7 2007, 01:09 AM)
very nice
would be nice if they provide a smaller adapter though
and the battery is that a 6 cell?
its bulging out o.O
Yup, that's the bundled 6 cell battery stickin out an inch. The 3 cell batt doesn't stick out but won't give you much juice. The 9 cell sticks out even more I assume..
el.primero
post Aug 11 2007, 10:35 PM

175 posts

oh u reformatted to winxp, where did u get the drivers then?
hypercrazyd
post Aug 12 2007, 01:56 AM

237 posts

Mind to share how much u bought? lazy to read it all... too long... haha
the size and spec is what i want... and the brand as well... hehehe
derred
post Aug 12 2007, 02:11 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

Cool laptop. Nicely built and design. I like it. The only drawback I saw is it's look thick. How thick is that thing? Is it more than 1 inch thick? or less?
TSgenotypic
post Aug 12 2007, 02:40 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(el.primero @ Aug 11 2007, 10:35 PM)
oh u reformatted to winxp, where did u get the drivers then?
Haha..actually i reformatted and installed vista again without the bloat. Basically just norton, nero, office trial version and other stuff that I won't be needing.. I prefer working with a new OS.. Wasn't hard though, pop in the recovery disc and let it load by itself and it's ready in half an hr..

QUOTE(hypercrazyd @ Aug 12 2007, 01:56 AM)
Mind to share how much u bought? lazy to read it all... too long... haha
the size and spec is what i want... and the brand as well... hehehe
RM4599 during last week's pc fair...a week old now. It sold out pretty early and I wonder how the other owners are doing..
Right now, it's available at Evernew in lyp i think.

QUOTE(derred @ Aug 12 2007, 02:11 AM)
Cool laptop. Nicely built and design. I like it. The only drawback I saw is it's look thick. How thick is that thing? Is it more than 1 inch thick? or less?
True it's kinda thick.. around 1.4 inch thick..weighs about 2kgs. Frankly, i'm more bothered with the battery sticking out than the thickness, but then for its price, not forgetting the free bag, warranty and stuff, i can't complain! smile.gif

el.primero
post Aug 12 2007, 07:08 PM

175 posts

Haha..actually i reformatted and installed vista again without the bloat. Basically just norton, nero, office trial version and other stuff that I won't be needing.. I prefer working with a new OS.. Wasn't hard though, pop in the recovery disc and let it load by itself and it's ready in half an hr..
ic......i thougt u reformatted to xp, just wondering cos i found no xp drivers on asus support site for f9s, kinda curious wil santa rosa cause any problem if runnin on xp as i wil be gettin my 1330 nx month n i plan to reformat into xp, anyway thanks for ur extensive review..... smile.gif

cryil
post Aug 13 2007, 09:01 AM

194 posts

geno, how long ur battery can stand for ar??? after full charge. my lappy look like juz around 2 hours oni wif juz open normal power point slide n i changed it to the battery saving mode. is it got prob???

and can i know how to test the webcam??? dunno how to use the vista.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by cryil: Aug 13 2007, 09:02 AM
TSgenotypic
post Aug 13 2007, 06:22 PM

18 posts

Battery life, as I mentioned above, wasn't one of the notebook's strong points.

I quote from my review "A full charge will lasted about 2 and a half hours with wifi on, bluetooth off, in power saving mode and about 25% brightness, doing normal web browsing."

For my notebook, I reckon it could probably hit 3 hours with all wireless off, minimum brightness, vista aero off doing some basic office stuff. 2 hours seem a little short to me.

Have you calibrated your battery? Charge it up to the maximum and run it down, repeat maybe once more and see what happens..

As for the webcam, just open a program called 'asus lifeframe'. Or else just install msn or skype, and just start a video conversation..You should see your face soon..
cryil
post Aug 13 2007, 07:26 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(genotypic @ Aug 13 2007, 06:22 PM)
Battery life, as I mentioned above, wasn't one of the notebook's strong points.

I quote from my review "A full charge will lasted about 2 and a half hours with wifi on, bluetooth off, in power saving mode and about 25% brightness, doing normal web browsing."

For my notebook, I reckon it could probably hit 3 hours with all wireless off, minimum brightness, vista aero off doing some basic office stuff. 2 hours seem a little short to me.

Have you calibrated your battery? Charge it up to the maximum and run it down, repeat maybe once more and see what happens..

As for the webcam, just open a program called 'asus lifeframe'. Or else just install msn or skype, and just start a video conversation..You should see your face soon..
oh the asus life frame not so good... .coz juz like a video clip oni. mayb i try msn later.

i havent calibrate my battery... but how to calibrate it??? in the bios screen??? when calibrate, do i need to plug in the power supply cable???
TSgenotypic
post Aug 13 2007, 08:43 PM

18 posts

Check out this link -

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=91846
y_owez
post Aug 14 2007, 09:49 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(genotypic @ Aug 13 2007, 08:43 PM)
hey....cool that ya got a new asus...was planning to get it..but hmm......would you recommend it????i mean with the battery sticking out and all.....my dell 710m also sticks so hmmm...
TSgenotypic
post Aug 14 2007, 01:42 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 14 2007, 09:49 AM)
hey....cool that ya got a new asus...was planning to get it..but hmm......would you recommend it????i mean with the battery sticking out and all.....my dell 710m also sticks so hmmm...
Haha..thanks! Well, to me it depends how important battery life is to you, and whether you play games on it.

If you're planning to travel alot, my suggestion: get the Dell Latitude D630. It's 14 inch, and comes with the intel X3100 graphics or the quadro 135M..but what's remarkable is it's crazy battery life. CNet's test unit clocked 4hr 45 mins with the integrated card and 9 cell in the DVD battery drain test..6+ hours of normal usage is possible. It's slightly heavier than the asus, but with that kinda battery life, you won't have to bother bringing the notebook charger. Besides dell's spare batteries are cheaper compared to asus's. Also do check out the Vostro 1400 or Inspiron 1420. They have 4~5 hour battery life.

Battery life aside, the 8400M G card is pretty weak in terms of gaming performance, with nearly the same performance as last gen's 7400M. IMHO, notebooks just aren't meant for gaming..

Those thing's aside, the F9S is a solid performer.. I haven't really compared it with anything else, but for it's rm4999 price, it's really hard to beat.. I'd say go for it!

This post has been edited by genotypic: Aug 14 2007, 01:57 PM
y_owez
post Aug 14 2007, 05:24 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(genotypic @ Aug 14 2007, 01:42 PM)
Haha..thanks! Well, to me it depends how important battery life is to you, and whether you play games on it.

If you're planning to travel alot, my suggestion: get the Dell Latitude D630. It's 14 inch, and comes with the intel X3100 graphics or the quadro 135M..but what's remarkable is it's crazy battery life. CNet's test unit clocked 4hr 45 mins with the integrated card and 9 cell in the DVD battery drain test..6+ hours of normal usage is possible. It's slightly heavier than the asus, but with that kinda battery life, you won't have to bother bringing the notebook charger. Besides dell's spare batteries are cheaper compared to asus's. Also do check out the Vostro 1400 or Inspiron 1420. They have 4~5 hour battery life.

Battery life aside, the 8400M G card is pretty weak in terms of gaming performance, with nearly the same performance as last gen's 7400M. IMHO, notebooks just aren't meant for gaming..

Those thing's aside, the F9S is a solid performer.. I haven't really compared it with anything else, but for it's rm4999 price, it's really hard to beat.. I'd say go for it!
rclxub.gif

hahaha hey thanks for the reply....hmm im more into 12' notebook..cuz im a student and i do need to minimize the size...hmm..im currently using dell inpsiron 710m....hmm....welll... which would you prefer the asusf9s or asusfj?.....im not sure how much is the fj tho....but hmm........2 hours of battery life...yikes....tads like so lousy????sigh....hmmm how bout acer travelmate 6292...hmmm.....im such a newbie..hahahah...thanks

Added on August 14, 2007, 5:58 pmhmmm which is better...dell xps m1330 or asus f9s???

This post has been edited by y_owez: Aug 14 2007, 05:58 PM
dannytzh
post Aug 14 2007, 06:10 PM

Do no evil.
818 posts

Do you need good graphics? If yes then for 12.1" you only have Asus F9s to choose from. If 13.3" is okay, then Dell XPS M1330 is not bad.

IF good graphic option is not a necessity, then you can go for Macbook (13.1"), Acer TravelMate 6292-301G16 or Twinhead J12S/200 (both 12.1").

All these models are priced around 4k - 4.6k.
y_owez
post Aug 14 2007, 06:20 PM

1,745 posts

icon_question.gif rclxub.gif wink.gif

oh wel..im first year in computing..lol...hmmm..wanna get a good notebook... my choices was dell, that acer and this asus.....twinhead aint my option...found out tad del is 7 hours battery life...thats like wow..bout i compared if i wanna get dell's specs same as asus it will be more than 5k....which i dun tink i would wanna pay tad much....acer travelmate was also in my head....not sure...cuz some ppl says asus is much better than acer in everythinng...im not trying to be bias....
cryil
post Aug 14 2007, 07:04 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 14 2007, 06:20 PM)
icon_question.gif  rclxub.gif  wink.gif

oh wel..im first year in computing..lol...hmmm..wanna get a good notebook... my choices was dell, that acer and this asus.....twinhead aint my option...found out tad del is 7 hours battery life...thats like wow..bout i compared if i wanna get dell's specs same as asus it will be more than 5k....which i dun tink i would wanna pay tad much....acer travelmate was also in my head....not sure...cuz some ppl says asus is much better than acer in everythinng...im not trying to be bias....
err...i think acer is good for a budget notebook but i dun like tis brand blink.gif

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:05 AM