4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Advertising about TM Net nightmare in newspapers, Community-funded ads in The Star

TSCed
post Jul 26 2007, 11:17 PM, updated 19y ago

21 posts

Following some proposals to run full-page advertisement in newspapers about TM Net deceiving services (throttling, high latency, packet-loss, terrible customer service, etc.), I contacted The Star to know about their pricing.

A full-page ad (37cm x 8cols) in The Star costs RM 15230 to RM 15540 depending on the day of publication.

This is very possible to finance. It would require a thousand people shelling out RM15 each. Only 500 persons @ RM31 each.

Comparatively to Streamyx's fees, that only represents 20 to 45% of a month's subscription fee. That's little money to bring public attention on the problems we are facing.

Reading through this forum, I can see people have been very angered by TM Net and are willing to put efforts in the balance to get their rights respected.

Well, this is a very good opportunity to put your money where your mouth is.

To get this started, we need to:

- choose a treasurer to collect and manage the funds
- designers to come up with advertisement mockups
- copywriters to work on the wordings. We need catchy text, easily comprehensible (no technical jargon), stay on focus), facts, no rumor.
- anyone help to review and discuss about the advertisement itself.

Anyone is welcome. If you have no free time, consider financial contribution. If you have no money, contribute to the design, text, reviews, etc.

Please give your opinion, thanks!

Ced
SUSzhiyung
post Jul 26 2007, 11:29 PM

133 posts

First of all... you will need a legal advisor...
Stormy001_M1A2
post Jul 26 2007, 11:32 PM

98 posts

What do you hope to accomplish by publishing that?
J-Slade

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Ced, I know you have much much effort in gathering this. But are you even certain that The Star will publish this? Bear in mind they will be responsible for the reaction from the whole Malaysia and TM themselves. Not to mention that they have government censorship.
Icehart

14,899 posts

I wonder if TheStar allow your advertisement?
TSCed
post Jul 26 2007, 11:36 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Jul 26 2007, 11:29 PM)
First of all... you will need a legal advisor...
Should I assume you're applying for the position? I'm happy to hear wink.gif

I think it's high time we get such a plan started. TM Net's bullshit has been lasting for too long. Anyone's help would be a step in the right direction.
maximsilentfoot
post Jul 26 2007, 11:37 PM

149 posts

i'm a final year LLB student. if u need a legal adviser let me know. libel and defamation are still fresh in my mind (kinda tongue.gif).
TSCed
post Jul 26 2007, 11:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jul 26 2007, 11:32 PM)
Ced, I know you have much much effort in gathering this. But are you even certain that The Star will publish this? Bear in mind they will be responsible for the reaction from the whole Malaysia and TM themselves. Not to mention that they have government censorship.
Yes, such a concerns are legitimate. That's why we need to be careful when designing our advertisement; present facts, no personal opinion or rumor. Each word is important. The purpose of the ad is to bring public awareness and media coverage about a problem affecting many people.

In no way this ad should be use to as a vendetta. This is pointless, wouldn't help our cause and, as you mentioned it, would cause legal problems.

Added on July 26, 2007, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(maximsilentfoot @ Jul 26 2007, 11:37 PM)
i'm a final year LLB student. if u need a legal adviser let me know. libel and defamation are still fresh in my mind (kinda tongue.gif).
That would be great! Thanks for your support.

This post has been edited by Ced: Jul 26 2007, 11:42 PM
CyberSetan
post Jul 27 2007, 12:50 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

I will gladly fork out RM15/week if this can somehow improve the damm service~ let the whole of Malaysia see including foreigners (or foreign media for that matter)~
Intrigue
post Jul 27 2007, 01:01 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

i don't think the star would published this ads. they will get sued by tm net, both of u
SUSsharkteef
post Jul 27 2007, 01:07 AM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

this is a very bad idea.

1 - we are after all malaysians.
2 - there is freedom of speech, but there is NO FREEDOM AFTER SPEECH
3 - The star will publicate anything as long as there is a valid contact person/number. details of yourself must be given, and if a case arises, would you be willing to stand for it even if there are 300 virtual people in here behind you ?
4 - this is what redesign malaysia is for. if you need a voice, join redesign malaysia. click on the search link for them.
5- LLB ???? you are not a member of the BAR council. you have almost no experience. understandably you have no right mind yet to aid someone who's attending to legal matters yet alone represent them in anything ? (not a mockery but sound advice)
6 - 15k may seem like a small amount, pertaining to an ad that would be seen by 20m people, noted by 200k people, understood by 20k people. an ad definitely not worth displaying for at the moment. arguably, whoever has streamyx most likely has complaints. but streamyx penetration in the market is relatively low.
7 - malaysians do not look down upon malaysians, even malaysian companies. we try to rectify what we can, resolve things as best we can. i for one, do not want foreigners to look into those ads. we are not incompetent. they (TMNet) may be stupid and dumb, but i rather they grow than to let someone foreign step in.

i understand your goodwill, all of you, but there are other better alternatives and i strongly encourage to join redesign malaysia. its a good option to share ideas and share your miseries of tmnet.

btw - streamyx sux and so does atlas one.
TSCed
post Jul 27 2007, 02:39 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jul 27 2007, 01:07 AM)
this is a very bad idea.

1 - we are after all malaysians.
2 - there is freedom of speech, but there is NO FREEDOM AFTER SPEECH
3 - The star will publicate anything as long as there is a valid contact person/number. details of yourself must be given, and if a case arises, would you be willing to stand for it even if there are 300 virtual people in here behind you ?
4 - this is what redesign malaysia is for. if you need a voice, join redesign malaysia. click on the search link for them.
5- LLB ???? you are not a member of the BAR council. you have almost no experience. understandably you have no right mind yet to aid someone who's attending to legal matters yet alone represent them in anything ? (not a mockery but sound advice)
6 - 15k may seem like a small amount, pertaining to an ad that would be seen by 20m people, noted by 200k people, understood by 20k people. an ad definitely not worth displaying for at the moment. arguably, whoever has streamyx most likely has complaints. but streamyx penetration in the market is relatively low.
7 - malaysians do not look down upon malaysians, even malaysian companies. we try to rectify what we can, resolve things as best we can. i for one, do not want foreigners to look into those ads. we are not incompetent. they (TMNet) may be stupid and dumb, but i rather they grow than to let someone foreign step in.

i understand your goodwill, all of you, but there are other better alternatives and i strongly encourage to join redesign malaysia. its a good option to share ideas and share your miseries of tmnet.

btw - streamyx sux and so does atlas one.
Well, the bottom line of such an action is bring publicity to a matter that is not considered as important enough by relevant authorities and simply dismissed by TM Net (we all got their denial bullshit, didn't we?).

It's not the best solution and I do not put this forward as mean to fix all our problems. It is just one option to put pressure on TM Net and bring wider attention on the matter in the HOPE (and I insist on that word) that it will spark interest by relevant authorities to enforce customers' rights.

Because beyond the technical problems we face with TM Net (latency, packet-loss, slow connection..), the worse is their handling of our complaints. It can be sum up in one word: denial. As a customer, we cannot accept this.

Back to the ad itself, we do not have to mention TM Net. It is entirely possible design the advertisement without naming them (if that is the concern). With appropriate wording, we can still deliver the same message, and stay on target, without mentioning any company's name.

The advertisement doesn't need to look like an ad either. It's perfectly fine to run an article in an ad placeholder. However, there must be a clear mention that the article is itself an advertisement.

I agree with you about Redesign Malaysia and I support their efforts. This however doesn't mean any side action cannot be undertaken.

This post was primarily to test water, to know is enough support can be gathered for an community-funded advertisement campaign.

Many people, you included, have mentioned legal hazards that may arise from such a proposal. I take good notice of these. But it is important to understand that the purpose is not to bash TM Net or anyone. It's to inform people of the reality of broadband access in Malaysia, its shortcomings and the lack of good willing from ISPs to improve their service. If we stay focused on our goal, there's no more legal concerns to have than any journalist would have by writing on any subject.

Now this bring me to my last point: I do not know the level of freedom the press has in this country, for the simple fact that I am not malaysian and haven't lived in the country long enough to tell.

I spent my life in various countries around the world. And while I'm still young (at least I like to think I am), I've been able to get broad experience working in the IT industry in europe, south america, australia and, before arriving here, in Hong Kong. The conclusion I can draw on Malaysia, as far as business is concerned, is not that malaysians are any less competent than the next guy, but is a lack of good and efficient management. Too often I have seen people wasting their time following non-optimal procedures, working with inadequate tools. This is where Malaysia needs to improve. This is why the country is not as advanced as it could have been. Singapore's success is not just because of their reduced size. To end on a personal note, I think you should not decline foreign help or advice. I, myself, learned a lot from foreign experience and there is no shame to have about it.
ed0gawa
post Jul 27 2007, 02:51 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

I am willing to pay........

so... just let me know when to pay biggrin.gif
tong1774
post Jul 27 2007, 03:12 AM

1,065 posts

I will be willing to pay as well. Count me in!
slacker
post Jul 27 2007, 04:26 AM

404 posts

You too. Me three.
gildan2020
post Jul 27 2007, 04:46 AM

149 posts

here's the question: how can we avoid fraud in-between?

someone could run away with our money, scammers would love to see this thread thrive.
SeeD
post Jul 27 2007, 07:29 AM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

No sacrifice, no victory.
No action, no reaction.

This is why many of us here are failures smile.gif
WE. JUST. DON'T. TAKE. ACTION.

If Ced is trustable. I might eat cheap stuff for 15 days to help you smile.gif

It's not like tmnet has the right to sue you if all the contents in the advertisement is very accurate and doesn't show any immaturity actions like screamyx, steemyx, and etc.

1 more thing though. If problem occurs, LYN might be responsible for this action as well.
So be professional if you really want to do this.

This post has been edited by SeeD: Jul 27 2007, 07:31 AM
kur8cobain
post Jul 27 2007, 08:19 AM

27 posts

Of course this ad will be 'eye-opener' for everyone out there. But seems that TmNut giving internet for Newspapers companies.So, it maybe hard to this ad to be printed...

how about we team up with TMnut enemies? well, Tmnut is not THE ONLY ONE ISP in Malaysia..

get it? biggrin.gif

MX510
post Jul 27 2007, 08:45 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

It's not a wise action to do so smile.gif
temptation1314
post Jul 27 2007, 09:28 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Just a question Ced,

Are you ready for the consequences after you done all the things?
I might said, Malaysia do have law, but if something do happen to your close relatives, or friends, or even parents, that's too late to regret whatever things that you've made.

Think before you act.

Money is not a problem, but the consequences is the matter that you need to solve out first. If you do have so many monies to do this, I rather beg you to donate this money to the poor, to those unluckies ones.

"Malaysian's Unofficial Policies"
You tak suka, Jangan Buat lah!!!
Kalau Mahal, Jangan Beli!!

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0199sec    1.07    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:12 PM