Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Which cinema you all prefer most?, Please vote

Which cinema you all prefer most?

GSC [ 175 ] ** [67.05%]
TGV [ 31 ] ** [11.88%]
Cathay [ 42 ] ** [16.09%]
MBO [ 13 ] ** [4.98%]
Total Votes: 261
Guests cannot vote 
toby.c13
post Jan 7 2008, 01:19 AM

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

i support mbo. smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
funnyTONE
post Jan 8 2008, 01:54 AM

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 6 2008, 06:36 PM)
I heard GSC in Malacca is moving to another location. Basically across the road smile.gif
Hope we will have two classy cineplexes in malacca soon smile.gif

Oh really? You mean dataran pahlawan? Thats good news, I wouldnt mind trying out the new outlet. I just hope it'll be a good big hall cinemas, not like miniplexes ones. Anyways, I'll still prefer MBO at the moment since its the nearest driving distance to my place. Furthermore, MBO have a really good crowd...most of them are students, so I get to enjoy the movies with happening lot (yea, the loud ones too), not the couple lovey dovey types.
+Quote Post
SihamZhai
post Jan 8 2008, 10:57 PM

Group: Junior Member

TGV for good class seats ( only KLCC) GSC for good popcorn and sound system
+Quote Post
biebie
post Jan 8 2008, 11:08 PM

i choose TGV !!!
+Quote Post
demio121
post Jan 8 2008, 11:42 PM

the newer GSC are top notch. the once king of cineplex, TGV is like some garbage can now.
+Quote Post
putramon
post Jan 9 2008, 01:31 AM

i only go gsc1u or cathay cineplex...although i live in subang..
+Quote Post
~berry~
post Jan 9 2008, 11:59 AM

mbo tongue.gif more choices than gsc (sometimes)
+Quote Post
PyanZ
post Jan 9 2008, 12:11 PM

"Naruto..Iam ur father"

i vote for tgv klcc ..
cos im working there o.O
+Quote Post
avantgardeo
post Jan 17 2008, 12:42 AM

If I'm catching a movie on any weekday besides wednesday, I'd prefer GSC 1 Utama. It has the best balance of service quality, comfort level, sound quality, pricing and convenience.

If I'm catching a movie on a wednesday, I'd prefer to go to Cathay Cineleisure. It still offers RM6 tickets on Wednesdays and it's relatively empty (hence more chances of getting nice seats). However I wouldn't go there on other days as they don't offer student price, and the shows always start late. Still much room for improvement for Cathay, but I hope they'll do well and give GSC and TGV some serious competition. Start with opening more outlets in the Klang Valley.

If I'm catching a movie on weekends or public holidays, I'd go to TGV 1 Utama or TGV Kepong to catch their morning shows cause the early bird prices DO apply on those days. GSC rarely has early shows (most of the shows start from 12pm) and I'm not sure if their early bird prices apply on weekends/public holidays.

In a nutshell: GSC for best balance/all-round experience. Cathay on Wednesdays and when other cinemas are crowded. TGV on weekends and public holidays.

Another note: I feel for TGV. More than ten years ago it was TGV who popularized the convenient cineplex concept with the 1 Utama outlet. They started it all. But GSC's emergence and rapid improvement has really hurt them. TGV 1 Utama remains a special place and I hope it won't be closed down.
+Quote Post
darthbaboon
post Jan 17 2008, 10:39 AM

Dark Lord of the Sith

At a time and age where everything is moving forward or improving, TGV's stuck in the bottom of a well and seems happy to stay there.

Went to watch a movie (Warlords) in the *newly renovated* TGV Sunway Pyramid. All throughout the movie the sound system was oscillating between coming from ONLY the front and from the sides+front. The seats were small and uncomfortable, steep and because of the height differences between seats halfway through you're likely to get a foot stuck between you and your seatmate's face.

The main ticketing hall was terribly lit... I kept looking up to see if there were any more lights to be switched on. It just gives such a dark and gloomy atmosphere as opposed to the high ceilings, brightly lit and enjoyable experience of the GSC ones.

Did I mention that the TGV online ticket booking system is always down/offline/cannot connect to server?

Had a look at the NEW TGV Bukit Tinggi too... just as bad if not worse than the Pyramid one.

All this crap for a RM 11 - RM 12 ticketing price which is the same as what others are charging.

I go to cinemas to enjoy the entire movie-going experience from booking till getting out of the hall. TGV cinemas are definitely a PASS for me. shakehead.gif
+Quote Post
Inspire4x
post Jul 4 2009, 03:45 PM

I know this thread quite old but i want to ask you guys, bcoz i want to feel the best to watch tranformers2

which cinema have THE BEST SURROUND SOUND SYSTEM ?
+Quote Post
Princess90
post Jul 4 2009, 04:32 PM

GSC... 1U and Mid Valley..
Just love the twin seats in GSC smile.gif And yeah. Agree wit their annoying ads.

TGV Pyramid sux big time...
Havent been to cathay. Looking foward for it. tongue.gif

Btw, does cathay have couple seats?? If yes, I'll go there one day. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Princess90: Jul 4 2009, 04:36 PM
+Quote Post
defaultname365
post Jul 4 2009, 04:37 PM

Windows 7 and Ubuntu !

GSC definitely.

But too bad, I'm stuck with TGV.

Miss the caramel popcorn from GSC, TGV popcorn not nice.

+Quote Post
gajah91
post Jul 4 2009, 05:10 PM

usually go to gsc mid valley......wanna ask..student price only available on weekdays?thx.
+Quote Post
Milky b0Y
post Jul 5 2009, 02:23 AM

have anyone tried out the gsc in tropicana city mall yet??...

any comments??...
+Quote Post
baoz
post Jul 5 2009, 04:03 PM

I'm for GSC Mid Valley all the way. But can never get tickets for blockbuster movies. sad.gif

I like Cathay too but it's very far for me.

TGV Sunway Pyramid is the worst but I'm stuck to that cinema because nearest to my uni. Paid RM17 per ticket to watch Bolt 3D and had to sit through 3 glitches. Sound system poor. Sometimes the air-conditioning not working well too sit in side can sweat and suffocate the whole movie throughout (big theater hall, mind you).
+Quote Post
ifer
post Jul 5 2009, 04:06 PM

i love the GSC Signature. lesser people means lesser idiots in the cinema
+Quote Post
nimrod323
post Jul 5 2009, 04:09 PM

Macster/Gunner/Autobot

gsc way better,sound systems the seats are more comfortable hehe,the signatures are good too but pricey but less people means less idiots talking on the phone etc etc. Wait i thought imax closed down? how come people can watch it still the only imax in Malaysia is the Imax Dome in Planetarium KL thats for the jurassic and space shows.
+Quote Post
jason991
post Jul 5 2009, 06:07 PM

dreamless dude

Pavillion GSC FTW...even garden gsc signature is more poor than pavillion n much more expensive!!!.....mayb the seat dun suits me...

This post has been edited by jason991: Jul 5 2009, 06:08 PM
+Quote Post
azbro
post Jul 5 2009, 06:27 PM

After 15min footage was cut from TGV version of Transformer 2...I'm never going there again.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2009 - 10:40 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)