> Recommendation Thread v2, Performance/Compatibility related issues

kerollowyat
post Jun 19 2008, 08:16 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #561

Group: Junior Member

That's why I recommend you to find the as many answer you can, using Google. laugh.gif
Will definitely help you a lot.
What particular answer you're looking.
There are lots of sites doing reviews, and give their personal expression. They're also experts.

It's hard if you ask in term of performance and price.
Thermaltake is cheaper than other cooler solution. But if you see the trend here in lyn (see their sig or review), it's hard to find anyone using Thermaltake product. So, you get a point, right?

It's also depends on your liking. You like the design or not?. Suit for you?. Prefer less noise or cooling performance (dont care much about noise) ? Within your budget?

If I'm not mistaken, TT V1 price at RM220. If you spend a bit, maybe 240-280, you might get Thermalright. Many good reviews and recommendation for the unit. You can have your own fan based on your liking. There is also Xigmatek, and many more.
All depends on you.

I'll take 2 x 500GB if it is cheaper (not so much different in price) than 750GB. Simple reason. If fail, only either one fail.
icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kerollowyat: Jun 19 2008, 08:18 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dan137
post Jun 19 2008, 11:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #562

bout the HDD, is the any diff if i buy 500GB 16MB SATA2 or 500GB 32MB SATA2.
+Quote Post
kerollowyat
post Jun 20 2008, 12:12 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #563

QUOTE(dan137 @ Jun 19 2008, 11:26 PM)

bout the HDD, is the any diff if i buy 500GB 16MB SATA2 or 500GB 32MB SATA2.

Yep, there is difference. 32MB sata2 is suppose to allow for shorter time in retrieving data from the HD, compared to 16MB.
In practical, I'm not sure. It's very hard to judge.

If you want to use large HD, like 500GB, you must accept that, the HD, might take long time retrieve date (by saying long, not too long that, it is easily noticeable). That's why there are difference cache. ie 32MB and 16MB to help for faster time.

If both do not different much in term of price, then why not go for the best. If talking about processor of GC, then only it's worth talking about best performance relative to price. Then, certainly the best performance, doesnt mean the best for everything. Must look also the price, cause the price and performance of proc / GC different a lot.

Just my view. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kerollowyat: Jun 20 2008, 12:14 AM
+Quote Post
nkkhong84
post Jun 21 2008, 11:23 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #564

just got rm250-300 on hand.
any high quality brand GPU yet it's is affordable price?
i yet not playing direct x 10 game.
wat i heard is XFX and evga is good.but i cant find any thread is talking about the quality of GPU....
any sifu can recoomend me?
i only know one of the factor is solid capasitor to determine the quality for GPU.
+Quote Post
kerollowyat
post Jun 21 2008, 12:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #565

QUOTE(nkkhong84 @ Jun 21 2008, 11:23 AM)
just got rm250-300 on hand.
any high quality brand GPU yet it's is affordable price?
i yet not playing direct x 10 game.
wat i heard is XFX and evga is good.but i cant find any thread is talking about the quality of GPU....
any sifu can recoomend me?
i only know one of the factor is solid capasitor to determine the quality for GPU.

PCIe or AGP?
+Quote Post
nkkhong84
post Jun 21 2008, 01:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #566

PCI-e

Added on June 21, 2008, 1:05 pmany1 can recommend?

Added on June 21, 2008, 1:07 pmso far stil not playing direct x 10 game.
so any1 can suggest me?support till direct x9 is enough for me.
i wan good n reliable brand after the forsa issue

This post has been edited by nkkhong84: Jun 21 2008, 01:07 PM
+Quote Post
ysh_kobe
post Jun 21 2008, 03:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #567

Group: Senior Member

Nice alum cooling pad, any recommendations? budget around 100-150. pm me, thx..........
+Quote Post
yudishtra
post Jun 21 2008, 04:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #568

Hey guys,
im considering buying a new mobo , and im confused wether to go for Asus or Gigabyte :
Mybudget is rm8xx
Purpose for Gaming
Im using Intel Quad Core

pls recommend me a good one and the psu W needed , thank you
+Quote Post
sleepy987
post Jun 23 2008, 06:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #569

hey y'all!! planning to get a new pc soon with a budget of rm2.5k
for gaming n assignment purpose
amd or intel, any of them will do
thx
+Quote Post
studwo
post Jun 23 2008, 06:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #570

i would like to buy a good fan available in "low yat"... 120 mm 1.. but i don't know how to check the thickness of the fan.. do all thickness(pc standard) of fan can fit in all slots??

This post has been edited by studwo: Jun 23 2008, 06:51 PM
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
k!nex
post Jul 1 2008, 09:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #571

QUOTE(dan137 @ Jun 12 2008, 11:41 AM)
i have a question and would like to get some recommendation from yall.
i want to buy HDD but dunno which one to chose:

what i've plan is either to get:

1) WD/Seagate 500GB x 2 or
2) WD/Seagate 750GB x 1 or
3) WD 640 GB x 1

and what the difference between SATA2 16MB and 32MB?
Which one would be a better choice?

another question, is thermaltake V1 CPU cooler good? in term of performence to price?
any recommendation?

if u wan pure speed, WD 640 is one of the best around.its well known in overseas tht dis HDD is fast although wif only 16MB cache. if u wan pure capacity,den by all means, 2X 500GB seagate.seagate has 5 years warranty. WD only 3 years if i not mistaken. i also forgotten.

Added on July 1, 2008, 9:28 am
QUOTE(Bleed_X @ Jun 18 2008, 04:31 PM)
sorry, but i just wanna ask some n00b question here rclxm9.gif

right now im using coolermaster hyper 212 cpu cooler, n i want to change to thermaltake maxorb. my question is:

1) which is the better cooler, maxorb or hyper 212 in terms of cooling performance?
2) with such a small clearance between PSU and CPU, can maxorb fit in Lian Li PC-V600 and still get good enough air intake? im planning to change all the intake fan to high cfm fan (minimum 80+cfm).
3) can i use corsair dominator ram cooler with the maxorb? will it fit?
4) is there any clearance issues when using the maxorb with abit ip35e?

thank you.

actually hyper 212 is a very good cooler already.no point to change to maxorb if i were u.if u ask me, i prefer hyper 212.maxorb is blowing down type of cooler.nowadays tower series coolers are better.somemore hyper 212's fan is rated at 90cfm wif 2k rpm.oh yea, do u noe tht ur hyper 212 has an option of adding a 2nd fan?? when u buy hyper 212, it gives u a 2nd fan bracket, not installed by default only.ownself install.corsair dominator ram cooler is just sit on top of ur 4 ram slots only rite.shudn't be a problem wat.

the cooler master website states tht ur CM hyper 212's fan is doing 69.69 cfm but then if u look at this thread. it says its doing 90 cfm.someone selling dis fan http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/725402

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 1 2008, 09:51 AM
+Quote Post
dan137
post Jul 1 2008, 09:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #572

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jul 1 2008, 09:21 AM)
if u wan pure speed, WD 640 is one of the best around.its well known in overseas tht dis HDD is fast although wif only 16MB cache. if u wan pure capacity,den by all means, 2X 500GB seagate.seagate has 5 years warranty. WD only 3 years if i not mistaken. i also forgotten.

hope that u answer this earlier. sweat.gif

Added on July 2,2008, 11.20pm
which one CPU COOLER

Air Cooled
1- Thermaltake V1
2- Thermalright Ultra 120
3- Thermalright IFX-14

Water Cooled
1- Tt Big Water SE
2- Gigabyte 3D Galaxy

forget bout the budget. just need recommendation between this cooler.

This post has been edited by dan137: Jul 3 2008, 12:29 AM
+Quote Post
bunyani
post Jul 5 2008, 08:20 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #573

i have 2 old rig...using pentium 4 with 3.0E and 3.4c. i need recommendaton to pair this rig with my two gc ...which is 6800xt and x1650pro. the 6800xt is oc'ed by the prev user with DDR 128mb/256bit (16pp/6vp) colcked at 420/850. the other x1650pro is with DDR2 512mb/128bit (12pp/5vp) clocked at 500/1000. So i need help in pairing these component to meet the best performance. which proc is the best? 3.4C or 3.4E? which gc the best? 6800xt oc'ed or x1650pro?

This post has been edited by bunyani: Jul 5 2008, 08:30 AM
+Quote Post
EmperorMeng
post Jul 6 2008, 06:24 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #574

Nama Saya MAN

say i can get these 2 at about the same price
which should i get?
usage: movie/drama(normal) , web (lots and lots) , light gaming (fifa , CS)

BENQ G900W 19" LCD 1440x900 5ms
or
Dell SE198WFP 19" Widescreen LCD

i wanna use it for my vaioC13 13.3inch laptop (screen too small for long hr usage)

i have S-video and VGA output from my laptop
i wud prefer reliability (less chances of kena deadpixel) coz im buying online, if got problem, very inconvenient to send back as there is no shop.

tq

This post has been edited by EmperorMeng: Jul 6 2008, 06:25 PM
+Quote Post
dattebayo
post Jul 6 2008, 06:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #575

jangan...

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Jul 6 2008, 06:24 PM)
say i can get these 2 at about the same price
which should i get?
usage: movie/drama(normal) , web (lots and lots) , light gaming (fifa , CS)

BENQ G900W 19" LCD 1440x900 5ms
or
Dell SE198WFP 19" Widescreen LCD

i wanna use it for my vaioC13 13.3inch laptop (screen too small for long hr usage)

i have S-video and VGA output from my laptop
i wud prefer reliability (less chances of kena deadpixel) coz im buying online, if got problem, very inconvenient to send back as there is no shop.

tq

buying online, Dell is better, when claiming warranty you can call them to come too.
+Quote Post
kanabalize
post Jul 7 2008, 11:46 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #576

DELL -after sale service-
+Quote Post
walk
post Jul 8 2008, 11:27 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #577

Group: New Member

guys im somehow confuse, compare dis 2, which graphic card is better,
8800gt or 9600 gt?
+Quote Post
ktek
post Jul 8 2008, 08:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #578

round the twist~

if not talking about modding/overclocking, 8800GT win.
+Quote Post
uranuarur
post Jul 9 2008, 08:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #579

sori if this question had been asked before...
it is true that SLi is not so powerful. i mean if u know the right mobo and the right GPU, u can beat a rig with SLi? (wen playing game la usually u can c) wat about CrossFire? it's same with SLi?
+Quote Post
ObeLIsK
post Jul 15 2008, 07:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #580

Greetings all,

I'm looking to get a new rig and have come down with the following list after some googling.

Intel Q6600
Asus P5K-EPU (Gigabyte seems to be a more desirable brand for mobo?)
Team Xtreme 4-4-10 1GBx4 (multitask whore; is it over the top?)
Zotac Nvidia 9600 512MB (should I go ATi gpu for the crossfire in the Asus board?)
Seagate 500GB 32MB
Samsung LCD 22"
DVD-Writer (Prolly Pioneer)
CoolerMaster Casing (thinking of CM690)
400/450watt PSU (recommend a brand?)

Would appreciate any input in my choice of selections, be it suggestions or critics.

p/s: Those with PC bundle offer for the above set please PM me with your best price & recommendation should you have any.
+Quote Post

32 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th September 2008 - 07:32 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~why so serious?~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company