Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
137 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Recommendation Thread v2, Performance/Compatibility related issues

goldfries
post Jun 25 2007, 07:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

not so clever but got 26k++ post!!!

Group: Forum Admin
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Dear forumers of LYN, we're sorry to notify you that the monthly recommendation thread has been closed, and so is the team, since everyone seems to be really busy, but this thread will be kept alive, for discussion, and many other things....as for those who are new, plz read the 1st post.

These are some rules I've laid down. Please Read It.

1. This thread is strictly for questions regarding performance/compatability related issues. The thread is also available for asking questions about what to recommend.

2. If u are to ask us to recommend you a rig:
a) Please State Your Budget
b) Please state the usage of the system
c) Please tell us what system u prefer, AMD or Intel

3. No Flaming is allowed in here, we are here to help each another, and not to put each another down, so if you wanna flame, bring it elsewhere.

4. All topics will be replied to ASAP, further questions can be asked through PM

The team here is not to be blamed for any compatibility issues. If it is the manufacturers fault for manufacturing a faulty part, argue with them. If it is your own fault for not being able to asseble or plug ur parts in properly, you and you alone have damaged your hardware, and you are not allowed to blame the team for your own faults.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 26 2007, 12:21 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zhou
post Jun 25 2007, 08:29 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Jun 25 2007, 05:40 PM)
cpu, mobo, gc and ram buy last....
tat's practically a whole pc liao those items u wanna buy last....
if like tat, the only thing u could get with ur money now would be hdd, casing, psu, mouse, keyboard, and monitor....
probably would be slightly more than 2k only.....

So...i think i'll go fo monitor 1st....Dell 2407WFP 24" LCD, any comment on it?
Casing, Mouse, n keyboard i'll buy it in august. anyone c razer tarantula keyboard in penang?
+Quote Post
afosz
post Jun 25 2007, 09:55 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

Justice, My Foot!

Group: Senior Member

That's depends on the brand tongue.gif

More expensives LCDs can be viewed even at less than 45 degrees compared to the cheaper ones laugh.gif I think
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jun 25 2007, 10:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

QUOTE(sayang_awak @ Jun 25 2007, 09:49 PM)
why most LCD got blindspot? cannot see less than 45 degree from beside. with normal CRT can what?

different technology la. smile.gif
+Quote Post
alwizbthere
post Jun 26 2007, 12:43 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

QUOTE(Zhou @ Jun 25 2007, 08:29 PM)
So...i think i'll go fo monitor 1st....Dell 2407WFP 24" LCD, any comment on it?
Casing, Mouse, n keyboard i'll buy it in august. anyone c razer tarantula keyboard in penang?

with ur budget, go for higher end 1 la, like samsung or lg
their design seems better compared to dell
and i still stick to my earlier comments, ur planning kinda sucks
leaving a monitor to gather dust for half a year????

QUOTE(sayang_awak @ Jun 25 2007, 09:49 PM)
why most LCD got blindspot? cannot see less than 45 degree from beside. with normal CRT can what?

u can read up more on the tech in google
it has something to do about how lcd technology works
+Quote Post
NekoRacing
post Jun 26 2007, 02:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

Requirements:
- Basic usage includes watching movie on 20" Viewsonic display, Internet surfing, & games such as Dota.
- Budget 1k - 1.5k
- Salvaging DVD-ROM, AcBel 400W (2yrs old) PSU, PATA Seagate Hdd
- Preferably SFF - Any idea? (Willing to fork up to 1.8k)

I have decided to opt for
- ATHLON AM2 X2 3800+
- CORSAIR PC667 DDR2 VS 1GB x2

What Mobo and GC, should i go for?
- Prefer to have dedicated GC for slight gaming.
- Not overclocking
+Quote Post
kalakatu
post Jun 26 2007, 03:16 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Insanely Addictive

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Jun 26 2007, 02:56 AM)
Requirements:
- Basic usage includes watching movie on 20" Viewsonic display, Internet surfing, & games such as Dota.
- Budget 1k - 1.5k
- Salvaging DVD-ROM, AcBel 400W (2yrs old) PSU, PATA Seagate Hdd
- Preferably SFF - Any idea? (Willing to fork up to 1.8k)
I have decided to opt for
- ATHLON AM2 X2 3800+
- CORSAIR PC667 DDR2 VS 1GB x2
What Mobo and GC, should i go for?
- Prefer to have dedicated GC for slight gaming.
- Not overclocking

better take the X2 3600 Brisbane dude..lower power consumption and very overclockable too (even if u dont want, i bet someday later u would like to try it)..

anyway since u plan on building the SFF rig, i recommend u the Biostar TForce T690G, or just take Biostar 6100..both are mATX size mobo..the price is below than RM300, for me its a good price for the features offered.. smile.gif
+Quote Post
NekoRacing
post Jun 26 2007, 03:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

- I am curious to, why you are suggesting me to get X2 3600+. Lower power consumption sounds good, but I have no plans for overclocking at all. I chose X2 3800+ because it has a higher cache at an extra of RM30, since the price difference of both processors are RM240 & RM270.

- Not necessarily that i have to build SFF, but it would be an advantage if I could. I notice that SFF barebone rigs are quite expensive.
+Quote Post
awh85
post Jun 26 2007, 03:29 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

the brisbane core x2 3600+ (not the windsor)has the same cache as the x2 3800+ at 2 x 512kb
+Quote Post
kalakatu
post Jun 26 2007, 03:32 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

Insanely Addictive

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Jun 26 2007, 03:21 AM)
- I am curious to, why you are suggesting me to get X2 3600+. Lower power consumption sounds good, but I have no plans for overclocking at all. I chose X2 3800+ because it has a higher cache at an extra of RM30, since the price difference of both processors are RM240 & RM270.

- Not necessarily that i have to build SFF, but it would be an advantage if I could. I notice that SFF barebone rigs are quite expensive.

yes, u have no plans, but who knows, later u might wanna try it..after all, this brisbane can be overclocked up to 2.5GHz with stock vcore.. smile.gif

FYI X2 3600 Brisbane has same cache with X2 3800 Windsor, which is 512x2..
perhaps the one that u mentioned is X2 3600 Windsor, 256x2 cache..

and currently the price for X2 3600 Brisbane is only RM195..trust me, i just bought it 2 days ago.. wink.gif

edit: just in case if u dun believe us (me and awh85) about the cache part, u can take a closer look at my screenshot provided below smile.gif

This post has been edited by kalakatu: Jun 26 2007, 03:43 AM
+Quote Post
NekoRacing
post Jun 26 2007, 05:02 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

Can I get that from lowyat, or only through special bulks?
Btw, this might sound silly, how do you rate X2 3600+ compared to Barton 2500+

I didn't mean to sound, I don't trust you. I was refering to C-zone's pricelist. I haven't got to read all the posts about AMD procs.

This post has been edited by NekoRacing: Jun 26 2007, 05:04 AM
+Quote Post
ikan_semilang
post Jun 26 2007, 08:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jun 25 2007, 05:58 PM)
I'm interested playing RTS game like Medal Of Honour and Ghost Recoon. Isn't enough playing at high setting with 7300GT and also isn't enough if psu Cooler Master 430w Extreme Power running with this spec:

AMD AM2 X2 3800+
ASUS M2N-E
Kingston 512MB DDR2 667mhz x 2
WD Raptor 36GB

Anybody can help me? For gc, i will replacement with 6600GT...isn't enough?
+Quote Post
akachester
post Jun 26 2007, 08:27 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

Lets Rock!

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jun 26 2007, 08:17 AM)
Anybody can help me? For gc, i will replacement with 6600GT...isn't enough?

Wouldnt 7300GT DDR3 be better than the 6600GT or you are replacing the 6600GT with the 7300GT?

Anyway goldfries, i am getting broken links for the AMD VS INTEL thread. Maybe you can fix that.Thanks..
+Quote Post
ikan_semilang
post Jun 26 2007, 08:36 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 26 2007, 08:27 AM)
Wouldnt 7300GT DDR3 be better than the 6600GT or you are replacing the 6600GT with the 7300GT?

Anyway goldfries, i am getting broken links for the AMD VS INTEL thread. Maybe you can fix that.Thanks..

Yeah i know but suddenly money broken to take 7300GT....i'm looking 6600GT because i got it around RM100.. sweat.gif
+Quote Post
akachester
post Jun 26 2007, 08:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

Lets Rock!

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jun 26 2007, 08:36 AM)
Yeah i know but suddenly money broken to take 7300GT....i'm looking 6600GT because i got it around RM100.. sweat.gif

IC, in that case, 6600GT wouldnt be that bad either. Maybe you could look around in case a good deal in 2nd handed 7300GT pops out. AFAIK, its selling around RM200 and less in Garage Sales...
+Quote Post
ikan_semilang
post Jun 26 2007, 08:44 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 26 2007, 08:40 AM)
IC, in that case, 6600GT wouldnt be that bad either. Maybe you could look around in case a good deal in 2nd handed 7300GT pops out. AFAIK, its selling around RM200 and less in Garage Sales...

Thanks akachester. I will try keep searching... tongue.gif
+Quote Post
akachester
post Jun 26 2007, 08:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

Lets Rock!

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jun 26 2007, 08:44 AM)
Thanks akachester. I will try keep searching... tongue.gif

Well, the reason i am asking you to search is that i previously own the 7300GT and it really performs well. At least on my side for being such a cheap low level card. I am able to play most of the games on 1024 * 768 at HIGH to Max setting (with AA , AF off) and very satisfied with the gaming experience. Never owned the 6600GT before but considering the fact that so many jump the bandwagon from the 6600GT to 7300GT last time during the launching, i guess the latter should be the better one to choose. RM100 for a 6600GT is still a worthy buy but at best, look for the 7300GT (If lucky, you might even get the 256MB one..)..Just make sure its GDDR3 and you will be fine..
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jun 26 2007, 12:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 26 2007, 08:27 AM)

fixed. remove the link until someone can find that thread.
+Quote Post
kalakatu
post Jun 26 2007, 12:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

Insanely Addictive

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Jun 26 2007, 05:02 AM)
Can I get that from lowyat, or only through special bulks?
Btw, this might sound silly, how do you rate X2 3600+ compared to Barton 2500+

I didn't mean to sound, I don't trust you. I was refering to C-zone's pricelist. I haven't got to read all the posts about AMD procs.

Barton was a very hot processor, wasnt it? plus its default voltage is higher, thus cause the temperature to be rising drastically when full load..
so, X2 3600 is always cooler, better than Barton..

u can get it from lyp..check the cheapest price offered by PCZone and Viewnet..both of them offering lower than RM200..
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jun 26 2007, 12:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

different architecture.

the barton is 1.83 GHz

that's still lower than X2 3600+, regardless of whether windsor or brisbane core.
+Quote Post

137 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 11:21 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)