Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
2 Pages  1 2 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Dreamscene for vista basic/premium, even xp!

randoll
post May 17 2007, 04:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

don't know if this has been posted before or not. it's not actually dreamscene, but this trick gives us exactly what we want.

1. download VLC media player, play any video file that you want to make into desktop background.

2. right click on the player and select wallpaper. you get the movie to actually played on your desktop!!

3. in setting -> preference, select playlist, then click repeat all.

4. go into preference again, select interface -> main interface -> wxWidgets. uncheck Taskbar and check Systray.

there you go. a nice little dreamscene and it doesn't need much resources to run. enjoy. smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
X.E.D
post May 17 2007, 09:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

this will f*ck you up

Group: Senior Member

The 75% CPU usage version. biggrin.gif No offense, but it's just that.

VLC/XP's DXVA 1.0 is pretty much petty acceleration compared to what DXVA 2.0 and good drivers in Vista can do. So there's no hope of actually getting a HD-res video to run nicely with minimal resources.
+Quote Post
akkmutd0711
post May 17 2007, 10:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

TS, i tried on my XP machine, unfortunately it doesnt work.. sad.gif

Added on May 17, 2007, 10:23 pmUPDATE: get it to work eventually BUT the application will hang sooner or later... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by akkmutd0711: May 17 2007, 10:23 PM
+Quote Post
Phoenixwunin
post May 17 2007, 10:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

it's not practical... consume too much memory and not stable too...
+Quote Post
randoll
post May 18 2007, 12:07 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

well, it doesn't consume too much resources on my pc. i don't notice any performance decrease though.
+Quote Post
sweetiojj
post May 18 2007, 12:13 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

what s VLC media player? where can i find it?
+Quote Post
Kuntau
post May 18 2007, 08:45 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Please Respect Our Rules

QUOTE(sweetiojj @ May 18 2007, 12:13 AM)
what s VLC media player? where can i find it?

VLC

BS Player can do that also.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Uzumaki NaruTo
post May 19 2007, 09:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

oro?

well to me the idea of animated desktop is useless. 90% of the time my desktop will be populated with windows. Heck even if im playing xbox/ps2 on my pc (thru dscaler) i still switch windows to ym or browse for prawns. so its safe to say the only time i see a clean desktop is when im back from office laugh.gif
+Quote Post
Virago
post May 22 2007, 09:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

How about vista ultimate... can i do this trick too????
+Quote Post
Ryo
post May 22 2007, 10:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

.:: Rise Lord Vader ::.

it uses too much CPU usage...not practical for me

This post has been edited by Ryo: May 22 2007, 10:09 PM
+Quote Post
ne3ro
post May 22 2007, 11:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

QUOTE(Virago @ May 22 2007, 09:25 PM)
How about vista ultimate... can i do this trick too????

Can. but vista ultimate already can have the animated wallpaper thru dreamscene features. why bother.. smile.gif
+Quote Post
Virago
post May 24 2007, 08:23 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

QUOTE(ne3ro @ May 22 2007, 11:36 PM)
Can. but vista ultimate already can have the animated wallpaper thru dreamscene features. why bother.. smile.gif

Really?... my bad.. smile.gif
+Quote Post
pornstar
post Jun 3 2007, 02:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

All.night.long.

this is for those NOT on vista ultimate.i can play it no problems
+Quote Post
Hackezkk
post Jun 3 2007, 11:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

~::CiPan'S LovEr::~

how to enable it in vista???
huhuuh

anyway
vlc juz take 15mb of my ram..
using win xp with 2 gigs ram
+Quote Post
cyew86
post Jun 4 2007, 12:10 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

dude, where's my tube?

i dun think it will be practical for those using old pc wif 256 or 512mb ram,like mine =.="
+Quote Post
KucingKelabu
post Jun 7 2007, 11:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ Jun 3 2007, 11:44 PM)
how to enable it in vista???
huhuuh

anyway
vlc juz take 15mb of my ram..
using win xp with 2 gigs ram

To enable it in Vista Ultimate, first install the Ultimate Extras Dreamscene from the Windows Update, then you can change wallpaper and choose to use animated desktop (or simply right click on any supported video file and choose set as background)

Cheers!
+Quote Post
xAmdx
post Jun 10 2007, 08:08 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

I am using vista business and i can enable dreamscene. The trick is you need to edit 2 .dll file in system32 folder and add in 1 registry key to enable dreamscene.
+Quote Post
greatgreedyguts
post Jun 14 2007, 06:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

Too bad there is only 1 Dreamscene wallpaper, through
+Quote Post
razzac
post Jun 14 2007, 07:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Jun 14 2007, 06:18 PM)
Too bad there is only 1 Dreamscene wallpaper, through

i have 1 software to make ur dream come true
+Quote Post
Liuteva
post Jun 16 2007, 09:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

Empty.

QUOTE(razzac @ Jun 14 2007, 07:28 PM)
i have 1 software to make ur dream come true

can share the software ? interested ..

This post has been edited by Liuteva: Jun 16 2007, 09:40 PM
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2009 - 06:49 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)