Upgrade or Build New Rig

TSGenDevil
post Apr 16 2018, 02:43 PM, updated 6y ago

99 posts

Hi Sifus,

I've some dilemma regarding upgrading my current rig or getting brand new rig for myself.

Old Spec,

i7 - 2600K
gigabyte G1.sniper 2
HD 4850
8gb ddr3 - crossair vengennce 8gb ram
120gb intel SSD
1tb x2 hdd
seasonic s12ii 620w

When my friend give me his GTX 780 i upgrade the psu to support the card, but lately i think the card is faulty my pc always hang or cant detect the card when i boot my pc.

i7 - 2600K
gigabyte G1.sniper 2
Asus GTX780
8gb ddr3 - crossair vengennce 8gb ram
120gb intel SSD
1tb x2 hdd
Evga supernova 750 G+

is my pc still upgradable or build a new rig better? 1 of my 1TB also having some problem probably gonna be replace lol.

Budget around 6-8k? Mostly gaming and a lot of tab in chrome/ firefox. would like to go for at least i7 and 1070.

Please advise me Thank you

This post has been edited by GenDevil: Apr 16 2018, 02:57 PM
Duckies
post Apr 16 2018, 02:50 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,543 posts

Budget, purpose of usage and expectations?

Budget as in RM xxx
Purpose of usage as in for light/heavy gaming or movie/photo editing
Expectations as in okay with medium to high graphic settings for games or you demand ultra settings
TSGenDevil
post Apr 16 2018, 02:58 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 16 2018, 02:50 PM)
Budget, purpose of usage and expectations?

Budget as in RM xxx
Purpose of usage as in for light/heavy gaming or movie/photo editing
Expectations as in okay with medium to high graphic settings for games or you demand ultra settings
Sorry, Budget and purpose of usage updated rclxms.gif
popopi
post Apr 16 2018, 03:00 PM

1,194 posts

Too old. not worth the upgrade...

I will recommend you to build new rig. All your hdd relegate to backup drive... buy new ssd for OS. do not use back old device as primary system.

The only thing i allow u to use back is the casing and the new PSU... other then that change everything.
Duckies
post Apr 16 2018, 03:05 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,543 posts

QUOTE(GenDevil @ Apr 16 2018, 02:58 PM)
Sorry, Budget and purpose of usage updated  rclxms.gif
Wew with that budget you can just sell off your old rig and rebuild from scratch. Or you can upgrade some of the major parts but keep the power supply, HDD and SSD.
TSGenDevil
post Apr 16 2018, 03:07 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 16 2018, 03:05 PM)
Wew with that budget you can just sell off your old rig and rebuild from scratch. Or you can upgrade some of the major parts but keep the power supply, HDD and SSD.
wondering how much my old rig is worth ? confused.gif

any suggestion on new rig with that budget ? rclxms.gif
RViN
post Apr 16 2018, 03:07 PM

There Is Only One United
5,779 posts

Looks like the only reusable items are the PSU and SSD. Your motherboard is using the Z68 chipset which to my knowledge only supports up to the i7-37xx series.

For 6-8K looks like budget isn't a problem for getting a capable new system.

Since Ryzen2 is coming soon and is better performance wise than Intel's current offerings you can consider that. Or if you want to save more, can look for people who are letting go of their first gen Ryzens as they upgrade (some good deals might be had there) later this month.

GPU prices are on a downward trend currently (but are still very inflated) so you might want to hold off on buying a GPU first unless you spot a good deal.
TristanX
post Apr 16 2018, 03:22 PM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

Just switch to these parts and you are good.

Core i7-8700K - 1514
Noctua NH-U14S - 289
MSI Z370 Tomahawk - 810

or

Wait for Ryzen 2 CPU and motherboard

The rest:
Crucial 8GB DDR4-2400 X2 - 778
Zotac GTX 1080 8GB DDR5X AMP! - 2949

Duckies
post Apr 16 2018, 03:34 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,543 posts

QUOTE(GenDevil @ Apr 16 2018, 03:07 PM)
wondering how much my old rig is worth ? confused.gif

any suggestion on new rig with that budget ? rclxms.gif
QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 16 2018, 03:22 PM)

Core i7-8700K - 1514
Noctua NH-U14S - 289
MSI Z370 Tomahawk - 810

or

The rest: 
You could go with TristanX's suggestion and slap in a 1080 since you do have the budget for it laugh.gif
TSGenDevil
post Apr 16 2018, 03:36 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 16 2018, 03:22 PM)

Core i7-8700K - 1514
Noctua NH-U14S - 289
MSI Z370 Tomahawk - 810

or

The rest: 
So i can get :

Core i7-8700K - 1514
Noctua NH-U14S - 289
MSI Z370 Tomahawk - 810

Possible to add add 2 monitor for due screen? + 500gb ssd for me to install my game and use back the old intel 120gb for windows? and use back my existing psu?
TristanX
post Apr 16 2018, 03:56 PM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

QUOTE(GenDevil @ Apr 16 2018, 03:36 PM)
So i can get :

Core i7-8700K - 1514
Noctua NH-U14S - 289
MSI Z370 Tomahawk - 810

Possible to add add 2 monitor for due screen? + 500gb ssd for me to install my game and use back the old intel 120gb for windows? and use back my existing psu?
Yup. You can plug in 2 monitors for any graphic cards today.

Samsung 960 Evo 500GB M.2 is RM1168 though. Unless you wanna go SATA like Samsung 850 Evo 500GB at RM724.

EVGA 750W is plentiful for GTX 1080.

TSGenDevil
post Apr 16 2018, 04:22 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 16 2018, 03:56 PM)
Yup. You can plug in 2 monitors for any graphic cards today.

Samsung 960 Evo 500GB M.2 is RM1168 though. Unless you wanna go SATA like Samsung 850 Evo 500GB at RM724.

EVGA 750W is plentiful for GTX 1080.
thanks for the suggestion TristanX, samsung SSD are expensive hmm.gif, any nice and cheap casing ? and is Noctua NH-U14S - 289 necessary? dunno whats that i've google and looks like a huge fans laugh.gif
TristanX
post Apr 16 2018, 04:34 PM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

QUOTE(GenDevil @ Apr 16 2018, 04:22 PM)
thanks for the suggestion TristanX, samsung SSD are expensive  hmm.gif, any nice and cheap casing ? and is Noctua NH-U14S - 289 necessary? dunno whats that i've google and looks like a huge fans  laugh.gif
Samsung has the performance crown for budget SSD. If you don't OC, Coolermaster Hyper 212 LED at RM169 should do.

Should not go cheap casing since you are going high end. Maybe RM300ish case will do.
mrdokok
post Apr 16 2018, 04:59 PM

219 posts

i7 3770k rm650
+8gb vengeance rm250
gtx 1070 or 1080ti rm2000-rm4000

and u good to go i guess
TSGenDevil
post Apr 16 2018, 05:05 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 16 2018, 04:34 PM)
Samsung has the performance crown for budget SSD. If you don't OC, Coolermaster Hyper 212 LED at RM169 should do.

Should not go cheap casing since you are going high end. Maybe RM300ish case will do.
thank you, should i get better ram rather then value ram? scouting for nice casing now
TristanX
post Apr 16 2018, 05:14 PM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

QUOTE(GenDevil @ Apr 16 2018, 05:05 PM)
thank you, should i get better ram rather then value ram? scouting for nice casing now
RAM is the last for upgrade when it comes to speed. That's up to you.
TSGenDevil
post Apr 16 2018, 08:17 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 16 2018, 05:14 PM)
Thanks rclxms.gif may i know which shop should i go to with the price you have listed above?
TristanX
post Apr 17 2018, 12:49 AM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

QUOTE(GenDevil @ Apr 16 2018, 08:17 PM)
Thanks  rclxms.gif  may i know which shop should i go to with the price you have listed above?
C-Zone. You might wanna haggle to reduce the price further.
TSGenDevil
post Apr 20 2018, 10:56 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Baesuji @ Apr 20 2018, 05:22 PM)
Any preference in casing? Some popular mid tower choices are NZXT S340 Elite, Phanteks P400, Corsairs 460x/570x

P.S if you have the budget, the Corsairs case would be pretty sick.
thanks for the recommendation, i think i will go for corsair casing.. looks nice rclxms.gif
TSGenDevil
post Apr 21 2018, 11:52 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 16 2018, 05:14 PM)
if i replace noctua with IDCooling DashFlow 240 is it ok? performance wise? because dashflow looks much cooler haha biggrin.gif

0.0166sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:23 PM