122 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

dunsuntutmybuntut
post Jan 29 2009, 09:40 PM

223 posts

thanks Ir Lee for the advice. pooling our knowledge and experiences facing so called consultants is beneficial for all, the less pulled into deceit and failure, the better.

west wing, i am trying my best to get this 1st house right. thats how i stumbled onto this forum. it took me 1 year doing my own research BEFORE even considering to go to a so called 'kursus perusahaan sarang burung'... and finally now i've reached the documentation stage (design, draft SPA, application for connection of utilities). maybe later after finishing the structure we can share and compile a checklist of things required for a stand alone unit, might help others in the future.

about these bricks... i believe we still follow ASTM's standards (which SIRIM uses). However the minute differences between batches of bricks or even between pallets should be negligible... one c/o here is Kia Lim, they show the specs on their website http://www.kialim.com.my.

i still prefer the foam bricks/blocks. besides being load bearing, its light weight too. i still haven't got the detailed specs yet which is kinda pissing me off. will share the info. anyways, if anyone has reason to believe this sort of material as unsuitable, please share your opinion... i highly appreciate it.

about the roof... i was thinking of using slabs + waterproofing... plus additional shade from atap zink roughly slanting... one side 7ft one side 8ft. what do you think west wing? comment pls.

to me nows the right time to build. economy's slow, metals cheap... cement slowly (real slow) coming down... fuels cheap... contractors scrambling for jobs. despite the so called recession, the consumer has more power now. makkal sakhti!!! >.<

This post has been edited by dunsuntutmybuntut: Jan 29 2009, 10:02 PM
vegachia
post Jan 29 2009, 10:35 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Jan 29 2009, 09:40 PM)
thanks Ir Lee for the advice. pooling our knowledge and experiences facing so called consultants is beneficial for all, the less pulled into deceit and failure, the better.

west wing, i am trying my best to get this 1st house right. thats how i stumbled onto this forum. it took me 1 year doing my own research BEFORE even considering to go to a so called 'kursus perusahaan sarang burung'... and finally now i've reached the documentation stage (design, draft SPA, application for connection of utilities). maybe later after finishing the structure we can share and compile a checklist of things required for a stand alone unit, might help others in the future.

about these bricks... i believe we still follow ASTM's standards (which SIRIM uses). However the minute differences between batches of bricks or even between pallets should be negligible... one c/o here is Kia Lim, they show the specs on their website http://www.kialim.com.my.

i still prefer the foam bricks/blocks. besides being load bearing, its light weight too. i still haven't got the detailed specs yet which is kinda pissing me off. will share the info. anyways, if anyone has reason to believe this sort of material as unsuitable, please share your opinion... i highly appreciate it.

about the roof... i was thinking of using slabs + waterproofing... plus additional shade from atap zink roughly slanting... one side 7ft one side 8ft. what do you think west wing? comment pls.

to me nows the right time to build. economy's slow, metals cheap... cement slowly (real slow) coming down... fuels cheap... contractors scrambling for jobs. despite the so called recession, the consumer has more power now. makkal sakhti!!!  >.<
foam bricks/blocks???no good ,reallly....i dun cheat you

use clay brick is good.u go to search and find the information first ,or ask the expert here, i think all of them will use clay brick. i dun cheat you. for long term and the constant temperature BH, you must use clay brick.i have ask friend from fizik, he tell me one icon_rolleyes.gif
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Jan 29 2009, 11:07 PM

223 posts

okok... i'll some more digging.
chiongguo
post Jan 29 2009, 11:24 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(vegachia @ Jan 28 2009, 11:22 PM)
chiongguo, i have find a useful website about the clay brick

i think all the new farmer must take care about it, dun use sand brick ,sand brick hv big problem for BH

all must read this website , u will know it ,think  about it ,and share about ur opinion

http://www.claybrick.org.za/news.php?extend.9

thumbup.gif  ohmy.gif
all new farmer also can read this website about red brick ,it is really good material for BH...

http://southtile.co.nz/Bricks/Brickpage.htm

Clay bricks provide better thermal insulation keeping interiors warmer in winter and cooler in summer.  They are also more effective at insulating against sound so you enjoy the quiet comforts of home in peace and quiet.

i hope all sifu here can share their opinion,thanks alot......... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

I am going to be a bit technical here and will try to explain the technical terms as well. There are 2 terms to understand i.e. Specific heat capacity and Thermal conductivity. Specific heat capacity refers to the amount of heat needed to raise the temperature of a unit mass of the substance 1 degC. In this case you need more heat to raise a clay brick by 1 degree than a cement/sand brick (the figure I looked up was 900 J/kg degC for clay brick and 800 J/kg degC). This means clay bricks can absorb a lot more heat and store more heat for 1 degree rise in temperature.

The second quantity that affects the insulation is Thermal conductivity. This is the amount of heat TRANSFERRED for every 1 degC drop in temperature over 1 unit area. In this regard clay brick is 2 times more efficient in transferring the heat (I think it was 1.3 for clay brick and 0.69 for sand/cement brick). But the picture isn't so simple as cement brick heats up faster so the temperature gradient could be created faster.

You must understand also that the rate of transfer also depend on the brick itself. The 1.3 figure I picked up was for one with high alumina i.e. those really red bricks.

If we look at the data given in the clay brick association's website it said that it takes 8 hours to transfer 15degC. If we take a linear rate then in 4 hours the temperature rise would be 7.5 degC. Let's say in the afternoon at 2 o'clock the temperature inside the BH is 27 degC. In 4 hours when the birds are returning the inside temperature of the wall facing the evening sun would be 34.5 degC. Because it could store more heat it will release the heat into the BH longer. And 27 degC is actually quite low. Most places without air cond would be touching the 30s.

In the west they had tried replacing clay bricks with other materials over the years mainly because clay bricks do not give them enough insulation. This is why also you could see in the picture that they have now added air-gaps in the bricks.

I think clay brick is a wonderful buidling material to be used. If you are using a double wall then it doesn't really matter which bricks you are using.

A good research or perhaps competition to be given to institutes of higher learning students would be for them to design a wall with the best insulation at the lowest cost. The result can be used to help BH developers choose between functionality and cost.

dunsuntutmybuntut
post Jan 29 2009, 11:52 PM

223 posts

i'm reading some stuff from USM & UTM...

Ceramic Foam (core) Sandwich for Lightweight Building Material (Zainal Arifin Hj. Ahmad, Prof. Hj. School of Material & Mineral Resources Engineering USM)...

Development of Lightweight Ferro-Cement Cellular Panel for Modular Housing and Industrialised Building System (USM)

RESPONSE OF CERAMIC FOAMS CORE SANDWICH
COMPOSITES UNDER FLEXURAL LOADING (UMT)

THE BEHAVIOUR OF SQUARE SANDWICH PANEL
PART I: UNDER STATIC LOADING (Part 2 is for Circular) (UTM)

interesting stuff. possibly this is what the consultant referred to?
chiongguo
post Jan 30 2009, 12:03 AM

114 posts

The information I got was from a company in rawang. The term weight bearing is misleading. Light weight concrete has very little weight bearing capacity. It's compressive strength is low compared with clay bricks. What they do to make it weight bearing is to have holes in the middle of their quite large bricks. These bricks are to be aligned and every 2 feet or more you have a re-bar and you are supposed to pour in concret(1 cement, 2 sand and 4 stone). This makes the wall weight bearing and from their lab test such a construction could go 4 floors without problem. And they also have some projects using this technology.

By using this method of construction you also don't need to have the typical frame structure. It is just walls with a rebar every 2 feet or so. The foundation is normal and it seems you can do with less if you like because the overall structure is lighter.

Floor slab can be constructed as normal or with light weight concrete.

The walls built up using light weight concrete has to be capped , made water-proof and a layer of plaster applied to it.

If I were to buid a BH I would not use this material.

I am not rich and don't have a stable income so my strategy would be to use a normal structure and concrete slab for the ground floor. The other floors I would use wood and plywood and then placed on top of it cement board - 1/2" or 1" and then apply a screeding layer of perhaps 1/2". Will mix in bitumix to screeding layer to make it water proof.

The walls I will use cement board on the inside - the thin type. Held together by wood or metal frame whichever is cheaper. I will also build a concrete room to store all the equipment. The external wall I will use plastic sheeting. Plastic sheeting normally can last 2 to 3 years before it becomes brittle.

When birds start to stay in the house I will then put in the external walls. Clay or sand brick or even light weight concrete bricks can be used. If there is really a lot of birds and security is an issue I may even pour pre-mix concret grade 25 or 30 to build the wall. As all these construction is outside it will have little impact on the inside.

This will save cost and the savings can be used to do whatever modification that is necessary.

If I have a lot of money - I will enjoy my life and not build bH biggrin.gif

vegachia
post Jan 30 2009, 10:25 AM

22 posts

i want to share my friend's research to all new farmer here,take a look, about the clay brick...compare with light weight brick

clay brick is good material for BH..

hope all sifu here can give some opinion about this research notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by vegachia: Jan 30 2009, 10:42 AM
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Jan 30 2009, 04:25 PM

223 posts

thanks chiongguo & vegachia... you opinion & info is highly appreciated, will consider these facts. i do hope somewhat that the IBS system can provide good cheap material suitable for BH's. sure would save a bunch... and many more will afford to go into the industry.

chiongguo's plans sounds practical. i am not aware of plastic sheeting though... but i have heard of the so called heat repelling paint (i don't think it repels, maybe more of reduce heat absorption?).

went to Kedai Tenaga... took the Borang A mentioned i wanted it for electricity on an agri land... they gave me a commercial A form. Form G & H is to be done by the M&E guys registered with TNB. I totally forgot that commercial rates and domestic rates were different and called up a friend in tenaga. he just said apply under individual/domestic... make a pondok or something (that looks like it can be lived in) than tarik the power lines to the BH. its safer than to be caught bluffing. JBA was unreachable, somehow the number was no longer in service. lousy gov departments i tell you. maybe digging a well instead... unless the waqter is toooo murky.

commercial rates apply to agriculture activities. dammit. doesn't the government know agriculture based people have it tough? they should make a special rate for agri based activities.
chiongguo
post Jan 30 2009, 09:34 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(vegachia @ Jan 30 2009, 10:25 AM)
i want to share my friend's research to all new farmer here,take a look, about the clay brick...compare with light weight brick

clay brick is good material for BH..

hope all sifu here can give some opinion about this research notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
I think we have to be careful with the statement that CLAY BRICK is best. The study that you had posted here refered to CAVITY CLAY BRICK. I did make a reference to this in my earlier post that cavity clay brick was devised to overcome the poor thermal properties of clay bricks.

If you are using CAVITY CLAY BRICK it is like having a double wall. So if you are using a double wall it really doesn't matter what material you use.

Light weight concrete also has many specification. From very high compressive strength (high cement/sand content) to very low compressive strength(low cement/sand content but with high foaming agent). The paper you had highlighted above did not give the specification. I believe that if the amount of air trapped in light weight concrete is similar to the cavity space in the cavity clay brick the light weight concrete will demonstrate better insulation properties and not only that it will not store heat like the clay brick(as evident from the slow release until it peaked at 10:00 pm).

The key again is the amount of air you can trap. Air is the best insulator in nature (vacuum is best but we can't create it). A ventilated air gap is even better.

chiongguo
post Jan 30 2009, 09:50 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Jan 30 2009, 04:25 PM)
thanks chiongguo & vegachia... you opinion & info is highly appreciated, will consider these facts. i do hope somewhat that the IBS system can provide good cheap material suitable for BH's. sure would save a bunch... and many more will afford to go into the industry.
What is IBS system ?

chiongguo's plans sounds practical. i am not aware of plastic sheeting though... but i have heard of the so called heat repelling paint (i don't think it repels, maybe more of reduce heat absorption?).

I went off a tangent tongue.gif . I have a farm here in kuantan and I was thinking of having a joint venture with others but somehow that did not play out well. So I thought of building a cheap one with minimum capital input and let the BH expand on its own dictated by the success of the BH itself. So I had been thinking of ways to see how this could be done. The BH could also be an experimental and learning BH to try out different approaches. I presented it so that hopefully someone could critic it i.e. find fault with it. I already know some of weakness of the design such as termites eating the wood or plywood. Plywood can be made waterproof by painting it with a layer of fibre glass glue. This is used by those making speed boat with plywood.

Plastic sheeting is just normal plastic. The real insulation would still be the air gap. The 1/2" cement board makes a very good wall and it is much cheaper than having a real wall. When birds start to stay in the house a brick wall could be constructed outside without upsetting anything inside. So essentially it is still a double wall.

I had also thought of using second-hand container. Found a place that sells it for RM3000/= for a 20 footer here in kuantan. We have to provide the transport.

BH's shouldn't be expensive as there is hardly any weight bearing requirement.

dunsuntutmybuntut
post Jan 31 2009, 01:20 AM

223 posts

Look up CIDB's website, it'll explain much better than i can since i am not from any construction background. seems like the gov will implement IBS within these next few years. i think it has something to do with ready made building components to reduce labor and duration of construction.

yes, i do know that there are a lot of mixtures regarding light weight bricks... and it isn't easy getting our hands on the information, what more people capable of designing and using these material.

my thoughts about plywood usage... how long can it last... treated, painted and the sorts? it is a permanent structure... as long as the building stands with good management of the BH, the product remains. one reason why i refused the consultants design of including kolam in each floor or kolam overall is... if they can guarantee the waterproofing will last forever... then i'lll consider. i have seen with my own eyes how terrible a leaked water container's effect has on a BH... its a nightmare. imagine the uncle already had 500++ nests per 45 days ... the planks became moldy and the nests black... the birds flew away... it wasn't mine but i almost shed tears!!! i strongly believe the usage of mist system is better (and a bit costlier) with pumps, specific valves and tubings. the reason why is it is 100% human controlled and humidity can be easily regulated. besides, if a leak did happen it wont be as damaging as a kolam.

another experience from a good family friend was regarding gradual reduction of entry hole size... they added 4 layer of bricks in one day and wallah!!! from 2000+- birds, only 200 stayed. it took 7 months before the population grew back to its original size. a valuable experience.

regarding turbulence and ventilation holes... i'm still a bit in the dark. what i do know is the accepted position is 2 feet below ceiling level. whether or not two sets (one near the floor, one near the ceiling) is recommended i do not know. someone mentioned that cool air enters the lower ones and hot air exits the higher one... but what about the inter floor holes? shouldn't that be enough for hot air to exit? even the location of the vent holes is debatable... some say most holes should be facing walls more exposed to wind and it is not necessary for each face of the building to have them... but how the hell do we control the wind??? its not like every day the wind hammers just one side of the building.

its stuff like this that needs transparent discussion. if everyone can pinch in ideas and opinion it sure would help us all build an almost perfect BH.

owh... just watched this clip.... sooo cooool!!! you think we can do this for local birds? >.<
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6sFihrAvIl8
arong
post Jan 31 2009, 07:33 AM

30 posts

All sifus please help! Recently I notice that some of my bird’s nest having blood stain outside the nest in dark red color. Luckily the bird, eggs and the baby still there. Not able to attach picture after try for so many times. Any ideas what cause this? icon_question.gif rclxub.gif
Engineer Lee
post Jan 31 2009, 11:29 AM

98 posts

to me nows the right time to build. economy's slow, metals cheap... cement slowly (real slow) coming down... fuels cheap... contractors scrambling for jobs. despite the so called recession, the consumer has more power now. makkal sakhti!!!  >.<
Just something to share with u.

There is another type of wall which is quite commonly used in the construction industry. It is "Acotec" panel. May be u will like it if u can accept new technology and new thing.

Acotec = Advanced Construction Technology, is a hollow-core-precast concrete wall system.

The advantages includes:

1) Faster construction speed
Installation speed 16 m2/manday, half brick wall(4") laying speed only = 4 m2/manday

2) Low thermal Conductivity - 0.25 W/ mK as compared to brick around 1.38 W/mK
& higher thermal resistance - 0.3 m2K/W as compared to brick 0.1 m2K/W

3) Low wastage, cause it do not break easily like brick. As it is made of concrete, for 3" thick section, its sectional compressive strength is 15 N/mm2 (equivalent to Grade 15 concrete) and can withstand 2 N/mm2 of bending stress.

4) Minimal wet trade at site, which means that it involves less cement-sand mortar mixing work (not like common bricklaying work). Less cement means less cleaning, less construction cost indirectly.

5) It is lighter than brick. (3" section - 110 kg/m2 vs brick - 260 kg/m2). Total wall weight is reduced by approximately 45%. This may save substantially on structure & foundation cost, if u build high rise building.

6) The moisture absorption is also lower than brick - 5 % compared to brick (40%)

7) The external surface is fair & neat finished. U can choose not to do any external plastering for the BH. Just need to seal up properly the joint area.

The material cost is more or less same as 4" clay brick, but u can complete faster and u can save labour cost. Besides, given that it is lighter, fairly finished, less wet trade, indirectly u can save structure, finishes & construction cost. 1 stone hit so many birds. U should consider using this material.

dunsuntutmybuntut
post Jan 31 2009, 06:45 PM

223 posts

Thanks Ir Lee!!! i thinks its part of IBS too... i was trying to remember that word... 'precast'!!! i don't think theres anyone using that system yet for BH. hope someone will do it soon, than all can afford to make standalone BH.

would it be necessary to use conventional frames or can we tone down on the footing & piling and if so to what degree?

This post has been edited by dunsuntutmybuntut: Jan 31 2009, 06:47 PM
West Wing
post Jan 31 2009, 07:26 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(chiongguo @ Jan 30 2009, 09:50 PM)
What is IBS system ?
   I went off a tangent  tongue.gif .  I have a farm here in kuantan and I was thinking of having a joint venture with others but somehow that did not play out well. So I thought of building a cheap one with minimum capital input and let the BH expand on its own dictated by the success of the BH itself. So I had been thinking of ways to see how this could be done.   The BH could also be an experimental and learning BH to try out different approaches.  I presented it so that hopefully someone could critic it i.e. find fault with it.  I already know some of weakness of the design such as termites eating the wood or plywood.  Plywood can be made waterproof by painting it with a layer of fibre glass glue. This is used by those making speed boat with plywood.

Plastic sheeting is just normal plastic. The real insulation would still be the air gap. The 1/2" cement board makes a very good wall and it is much cheaper than having a real wall.  When birds start to stay in the house a brick wall could be constructed outside without upsetting anything inside. So essentially it is still a double wall.

I had also thought of using second-hand container. Found a place that sells it for RM3000/= for a 20 footer here in kuantan. We have to provide the transport.

BH's shouldn't be expensive as there is hardly any weight bearing requirement.
One thing for sure, don't use container and you end up having KFC instead of BN...... Cheap, yes and I always build my BHs the cheapest possible as I believe that when my BH is successful, I can either sell my BH for at least 3 times the price I paid and leave the problem to the new buyer or I can do renovation then as my BH is paying for it and I still have plenty more to spend. That's when we are taking about shop house.

Give you an example, when I did my first BH, I used back the ceiling in the floors but added thick plywood over the ceiling to cool the ceiling top and for security as alot of nails were used.

The reason because it is the cheapest form of cooling the ceiling as I did not required to remove the ceiling and I just nail the planks under the ceiling....the whole renovation of the 2 floors cost less than 20K which the plank took about half the cost of renovation. As for the smell of the plywood, it was blocked by the ceiling top so there is no problem at all and if any termites problems later......then 3 years later, my BH was already sucessful..........another 60K from the sale of BN to renovate is very cheap.

The reason for shop converted to BH is not to spend too much initially but when the BH is successfully, spend because the BN is paying for all. You can add sophisticated alarm system, double roofs or adding planks. No use planing for 20K birds when you just have one in your pant..............

Again, the above are my own opinions and other do have t heir's and I have heard that one guy build one so big like a football field.....how stupid can you get........having money to show off is not that way lah. Rather build 10 BHs at different locations and you have 10 chances. Build one of moderate size and expend later when the hotel got congested....how, build one next to it and then knock one wall down .

That's a case history to all and I didn't tell you to follow my way..........

Added on January 31, 2009, 8:31 pm
QUOTE(arong @ Jan 31 2009, 07:33 AM)
All sifus please help! Recently I notice that some of my bird’s nest having blood stain outside the nest in dark red color.  Luckily the bird, eggs and the baby still there. Not able to attach picture after try for so many times. Any ideas what cause this? icon_question.gif  rclxub.gif
I guess that it is due to the tick and if you have these problem, you need to eradicate the ticks by spraying pesticide in the BH....must take precaution when using the pesticide......as most BHs are not so well ventilated.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jan 31 2009, 08:31 PM
chiongguo
post Jan 31 2009, 09:53 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Engineer Lee @ Jan 31 2009, 11:29 AM)
Just something to share with u.

There is another type of wall which is quite commonly used in the construction industry. It is "Acotec" panel. May be u will like it if u can accept new technology and new thing.

Acotec = Advanced Construction Technology, is a hollow-core-precast concrete wall system.

Roughly what is the cost of a single panel ?

chiongguo
post Jan 31 2009, 10:46 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Jan 31 2009, 01:20 AM)

my thoughts about plywood usage... how long can it last... treated, painted and the sorts? it is a permanent structure... as long as the building stands with good management of the BH, the product remains. one reason why i refused the consultants design of including kolam in each floor or kolam overall is... if they can guarantee the waterproofing will last forever... then i'lll consider. i have seen with my own eyes how terrible a leaked water container's effect has on a BH... its a nightmare. imagine the uncle already had 500++ nests per 45 days ... the planks became moldy and the nests black... the birds flew away... it wasn't mine but i almost shed tears!!!
There are wood buildings that are still standing more than 50 years on. Plywood if it is treated and embedded I believe it will last. I was thinking of using plywood for the floor and laying on top of it cement board. On top of this will be another thin layer. In australia this method is used a lot even in toilets and kitchen.

i strongly believe the usage of mist system is better (and a bit costlier) with pumps, specific valves and tubings. the reason why is it is 100% human controlled and humidity can be easily regulated. besides, if a leak did happen it wont be as damaging as a kolam.
I think misting system doesn't work well and often resulted in mould. Even with a hygrostat the control is very bad.

I am now designing my first BH and had considered a number of systems and misting system definitely, in my considered opinion, to be the worst approach to use. Let me explain a bit about the physics of relative humidity and from this we can get some understanding of the various systems that can be designed.

Humidity means basically the amount of water vapour in the air. At any one temperature the air can hold a certain maximum of such water vapour. As an eg. at 30 degC the air can hold AT MOST 30 g/m^3. If there is only 15 g/m^3 of water vapour than the relative humidity is 50%.

If this air is in an enclosed box and inside this box is a pool of water. The water in the enclosed box will evaporate until it reaches 30 g/m^3. The relative humidity now will be 100%.

If you now poke a hole in the box the relative humdity will start to drop until the amount of water vapour evaporated is equal to those lost through the hole. So in order to ensure that you get 80% relative humidity we could make the hole smaller or increase the rate of evaporation. Rate of evaporation can be achieved by increasing the surface area of the water exposed to the air.

Blowing water into the air will increase the relative humidity and often to saturation (100%) and even with a hygrostat it will always over compensate due to what engineers called transport lag. As the water vapour blown into the air is quite large droplets it will not remain in the air for long. If you want water vapour to remain much longer an ultrasonic misting/humidifier has to be used. This can be quite expensive.

I read in a indon book that what they do in indonesia was to lay on the floor jude cloth that is wet by pools of water. But as bird pooh will drop onto the jude, over time it can be a stinking mess that is almost impossible to clean. Finally I came up with a design, just completed the installation yesterday, where a small channel of water is placed along the wall (about 4 feet off the ground). I use the rain drainage channel to hold the water. And over the sides I will drape cheap dish washing cloth. The water will soak the cloth and the water will evaporate from the surface of the cloth. The water in the channel is controlled by a float valve.

I had tested the system in my kitchen and it worked. I recorded an evaporative rate of 200g of water over a 12 hour period(morning till evening) for a 2 sq.ft of cloth area.

We can control the surface area to control the relative humidity. Once this is established the relative humidity will remain quite stable over a temperature range. It is all natural and everything is self-adjusting. Environmentally friendly just like in natural caves.

Air entering into the BH is often quite dry and to ensure that the fluctuation is not too drastic I bought a water tank and placed it at the roving area.

regarding turbulence and ventilation holes... i'm still a bit in the dark. what i do know is the accepted position is 2 feet below ceiling level. whether or not two sets (one near the floor, one near the ceiling) is recommended i do not know. someone mentioned that cool air enters the lower ones and hot air exits the higher one... but what about the inter floor holes? shouldn't that be enough for hot air to exit? even the location of the vent holes is debatable... some say most holes should be facing walls more exposed to wind and it is not necessary for each face of the building to have them... but how the hell do we control the wind??? its not like every day the wind hammers just one side of the building.

its stuff like this that needs transparent discussion. if everyone can pinch in ideas and opinion it sure would help us all build an almost perfect BH.

I notice and had seen a number of designs of ventilation holes and the reason for ventilation holes was for heat ventilation. If you have more holes than your relative humidity will drop. I think Harry often suggested closing those holes and he was actually right but I read in other places a lot of these consultants were insulting his advice. Actually what he adviced was correct.

If you are using these holes for getting rid of heat from WITHIN the BH than the strategy will not work. The solution will cause more problems than solve.

Heat MUST BE PREVENTED from reaching the BH at all cost - this means insulation.

Now if you have a double wall than the ventilation holes will reduce the heat from reaching into the BH and turbulence and lost of relative humidity will not be a problem.

A very strange design was to have a long pipe from the inside wall to the outside wall and the person explained to me it was to get rid of the heat inside. More often than not the heat outside is higher and it will flow inwards rather than outwards.

For maintaining temperature below 31 degC , HEAT MUST BE PREVENTED FROM ENTERING THE BH.

Air-conditioning etc. are a waste and in the long term expensive.

chiongguo
post Jan 31 2009, 10:53 PM

114 posts

Sorry guys, I double posted. I had non-responsive message, I went back one url and reposted.

Btw. how do I delete this ?

This post has been edited by chiongguo: Feb 1 2009, 07:19 PM
rysher
post Jan 31 2009, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(chiongguo @ Jan 28 2009, 09:03 PM)
Saya tak tahu apakah kontrak yang anda akan menanda-tangani.  Jika tanah adalah anda punya saya tak percaya dia akan membina sebuah RBW di atas tanah anda dengan wang dia sendiri. Wang pembinaan itu mesti datang dari seorang.  Dalam kes ini saya pasti bank adalah yang akan membayar. 

Dalam Pakej C yang mereka mahu pasarkan GEM kata bahawa tanah adalah di atas nama pelabur, rumah adalah dalam nama pelabur dan teknologi yang di gunakan akan menjadi kepunyaan pelabur.  Soalan yang anda mesti tanya jika RBW adalah dalam nama pelabur siapa akan memonhoni untuk pinjaman bank ? 

Mesti ingat GEM hanya ambil kommisen macam P.Ramli  tongue.gif
      Harga GEM dalam pembinaan RBW adalah mahal.  Harga membina sebuah RBW 4 bulan dulu adalah kira-kira RM52/= se kaki persegi. Ini termasuk semua benda yang boleh menjayakan RBW.

Lee khong heng di kuantan bagi saya satu quote kira2 se tahun dulu sebelum kenaikan barang binaan dalam RM35/= kaki per segi untuk bangunan sahaja dan RM45/= kaki persegi. Dinding adalah 9" dinding, termasuk siling slab, autogate, semua tweeter etc. Dan dia juga guarantee 10 sarang burung dalam 1 tahun dan dia juga ajar awak bagaimana nak mengendalikan RBW.  Jika mahu pekerja dia buat untuk awak dia hanya cas satu harga yang pada saya sangat berpatutan.

Lee khong heng di kuantan adalah amat berjaya dalam pembinaan RBW.

Sekarang harga barang binaan sudah naik terutama sekalinya semen tetapi besi sudah turun 50% ex-factory.

Buat kiraan sendiri jika anda bukan salah seorang perunding GEM yang menyamar sebagai pelabur.

Saya baru cari nota seminar mereka dan kiraan saya buat adalah tersebut.

RBW mereka adalah 30 ' x 40 ' - sebenarnya effective build-up adalah lebih kecil kerana mereka guna 15' x 10' sebagai terowong.  Katalah kita guna 30' x 40'. Dari sini kita dapat 1200 kaki persegi. Untuk 3 tingkat harga ini adalah 3600. 1/2 tingkat itu adalah dog house dan ini tak boleh di kira sebagai floor area dan ia adalah untuk burung masuk terowong.  Jika RBW itu adalah RM 300,000/= harga satu kaki persegi adalah

300,000 / 3600 =   RM 83.33 

Ini bukan mahal - INI SANGAT MAHAL.

Dan saya lihat kontrak mereka. Mereka hanya menguruskan RBW selama 6 bulan - tak kira ada burung atau tidak. Kalau anda mahu mereka mengurus jangka panjang mereka akan ambil kommisen 20%. 

Ini adalah situasi Win-win.  Bila RBW berjaya GEM win. Bila RBW tak berjaya GEM win.  Perniagaan ini saya pun mahu buat.
semalam sy telah meneliti semua maklumat yang ada pada website GEM, pd mula nya sy kurang faham, setelah sy menhubungi gem, baru la sy faham kos & perkhidmatan yg di nyatakan dalam laman gem ialah kos termasuk Harga TANAH (Tanah Pertanian) yang di sediakan yg akan menjadi milik pelabur sepenuhnya bukan dipajak atau disewa selain itu juga dinding bangunan yg di bina ialah 2 lapis dinding ( Bukan Ikat 9), sisipnya pula di reka untuk mendapatkan hasil maksimum pada setiap tingkat, itu sy kurang faham sikit - segala kos bangunan di tanggung oleh pelabur, cuma ia tidak mengambil yuran perundingan seperti lain-lain perunding. oh ya Gem tak ada pulak maklumkan berkenaan pinjaman untuk industri ini.

This post has been edited by rysher: Feb 1 2009, 12:20 AM
West Wing
post Feb 1 2009, 12:56 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(chiongguo @ Jan 31 2009, 10:53 PM)
There are wood buildings that are still standing more than 50 years on. Plywood if it is treated and embedded I believe it will last. I was thinking of using plywood for the floor and laying on top of it cement board. On top of this will be another thin layer.  In australia this method is used a lot even in toilets and kitchen.
      I think misting system doesn't work well and often resulted in mould.  Even with a hygrostat the control is very bad.

I am now designing my first BH and had considered a number of systems and misting system definitely, in my considered opinion, to be the worst approach to use. Let me explain a bit about the physics of relative humidity and from this we can get some understanding of the various systems that can be designed.

Humidity means basically the amount of water vapour in the air. At any one temperature the air can hold a certain maximum of such water vapour. As an eg. at 30 degC the air can hold AT MOST 30 g/m^3. If there is only 15 g/m^3 of water vapour in the air than the relative humidity is 50%.

If this air is in an enclosed box and inside this box is a pool of water. The water in the enclosed box will evaporate until it reaches 30 g/m^3.  The relative humidity now will be 100%.

If you now poke a hole in the box the relative humdity will start to drop until the amount of water vapour evaporated is equal to those lost through the hole.  So in order to ensure that you get 80% relative humidity we could make the hole smaller or increase the rate of evaporation.  Rate of evaporation can be achieved by increasing the surface area of the water exposed to the air.

Blowing water into the air will increase the relative humidity and often to saturation (100%) and even with a hygrostat it will always over compensate due to what engineers called transport lag. As the water vapour blown into the air is quite large droplets it will not remain in the air for long.  If you want water vapour to remain much longer in the air than an ultrasonic misting/humidifier has to be used.  This can be quite expensive.

I read in a indon book that what they do in indonesia was to lay on the floor jude cloth that is wet by pools of water.  But as bird pooh will drop onto the jude, over time it can be a stinking mess that is almost impossible to clean.  Finally I came up with a design, just completed the installation yesterday, where a small channel of water is placed along the wall (about 4 feet off the ground). I use the rain drainage channel to hold the water. And over the sides I will drape cheap dish washing cloth. The water will soak the cloth and the water will evaporate from the surface of the cloth.  The water in the channel is controlled by a float valve.

I had tested the system in my kitchen and it worked. I recorded an evaporative rate of 200g of water over a 12 hour period(morning till evening) for a 2 sq.ft of cloth area.

We can control the surface area to control the relative humidity.  Once this is established the relative humidity will remain quite stable over a temperature range.  It is all natural and everything is self-adjusting.  Environmentally friendly just like in natural caves.

Air entering into the BH is often quite dry and to ensure that the fluctuation is not too drastic I bought a water tank and placed it at the roving area.
      I notice and had seen a number of designs of ventilation holes and the reason for ventilation holes was for heat ventilation.  If you have more holes than your relative humidity will drop. I think Harry often suggested closing those holes and he was actually right but I read in other places a lot of these consultants were insulting his advice. Actually what he adviced was correct.

If you are using these holes for getting rid of heat from WITHIN the BH than the strategy will not work.  The solution will cause more problems than solve.

Heat MUST BE PREVENTED from reaching the BH at all cost - this means insulation.

Now if you have a double wall than the ventilation holes will reduce the heat from reaching into the BH and turbulence and lost of relative humidity will not be a problem.

A very strange design was to have a long pipe from the inside wall to the outside wall and the person explained to me it was to get rid of the heat inside. More often than not the heat outside is higher and it will flow inwards rather than outwards.

For maintaining temperature below 31 degC , HEAT MUST BE PREVENTED FROM ENTERING THE BH.

Air-conditioning etc. are a waste and in the long term expensive.
We are not birds and never will we be birds....we just like to think like birds and feel like birds. then, we assume that we know all about birds but we really know very little about birds and with the little knowledge each of us have and combine together and that will be alot.

So, all the following are what I think of BH.

Let no one douth that insulation is good but then ventilation is good cos bird live in cave and those bird cave are never too congested and there are always very littler air flow or otherwise the BH will be filled with Gas or Foul smell ...all too dangerous to you and birds. Ventilation holes must but maybe not too many and I disagree with a lot of consultants having their V holes too high up as the top air cause insecurity to swiftlets ( To me, Harry was right but for a wrong reason and that my opinion only so Mr. Harry, my friend, pls. don't get unhappy as this open forum allow comments ).

Keep your V holes open but low as that will not disturb the bird flight, eggs temperature and no panic among birds and chicks. Don't give me the argument that warm air goes up and cool air goes down......we aren't concern about warm or cold air but if the insulation is good, the air inside is at the right temperature and we don't it to get too cold either. All we want it air ventilation in the BH for health reason more than temperature as the requirement for temperature is easily achieve with insulation alone although V holes do help. In my design of BH, I even have closed window in the BH which I only open when I harvest the nests as I believe that it is healthy for my family helping me to work in the BH.

Sometime, when we achieved some success with the birds, we assume the reason wrongly. That's why I maybe wrong so those Sifus who disagree with me, please post your comments here and I will read and also learn. If I am right, do also add some comments as then I know that what I experienced before was right and that we both learn today. Post your finding here and we all comment and learn together and that's why this forum is so successful and will be if we keep the spirit up.

As for most technical and scientifically aspects of BH, I will not comment and leave them to the young experts or the profesionals friends in the forum.........I just touch on the bird point of view as I only chippy chip chip.

122 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0347sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:41 AM