Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
3 Pages < 1 2 3 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> 1% of users using 30% bandwidth ..., Here are some statistics

amdpsycho
post Feb 14 2007, 06:05 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Yeah, let's see the proof.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mohamadfazli
post Feb 14 2007, 08:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

wait till the next episode comes out.. i'll do some screen capture...

Added on February 14, 2007, 8:27 am
QUOTE(mohamadfazli @ Feb 14 2007, 08:19 AM)
wait till the next episode comes out.. i'll do some screen capture...

Decided to just downlaod some stupid stuffs..

This is the activity monitor on the console..

This is the downloading application

This post has been edited by mohamadfazli: Feb 14 2007, 08:27 AM
+Quote Post
beelzebob13
post Feb 14 2007, 10:16 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

Group: Senior Member

so. few the lucky few. i've heard from a few people that their connection/speed have improved since "the fix" to the taiwan undersea cables. but what about the rest? unsure.gif
+Quote Post
Crazyboyrs
post Feb 14 2007, 10:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

streamyx onli gimme 300Kbps on 512mbps plan
+Quote Post
goonjat
post Feb 14 2007, 10:51 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

QUOTE(zaqplm @ Feb 11 2007, 06:42 PM)
They said: "1% of users using 30% bandwidth".

So how much is Tmnet's total bandwidth and how many users can it handle?

Correct me if I'm wrong...

1. What is their total bandwidth?
Population in malaysia: 27 mil
Broadband penetration rate: 2.5%
So number of broadband users: 675,000

1% of users: 6,750
Assuming they download at: 800 kbit/s (1MB package)
1% of users using 30% bandwidth = 5.15 Gbit/s

In other words, TMnet's total bandwidth is about: 17.16 Gbit/s
2. How many users does it take to fully utilize their bandwidth?
3.35% of users: 22,612 users
3.35% of users is using 100% bandwidth: 17.252 Gbit/s (!)

So only 22,612 users can fully get what they paid for (1MB package).

Looking at the current number of broadband users we have, we have oversubscription ratio of (675,000 / 22,612) = 29.85.

That means TMnet's available bandwidth can support each user with 26.8 kbit/s.

Any other ideas?

notworthy.gif

I think your calculation is flawed. Internet is not a point to point connection where the bandwitdth is dedicated. Futhermore, not all people download from the same source or surf the same website at a particular time. You need statictical study over a period of time to determine the bandwidth usage of internet traffic.
+Quote Post
beelzebob13
post Feb 14 2007, 11:30 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

QUOTE(goonjat @ Feb 14 2007, 10:51 AM)
I think your calculation is flawed. Internet is not a point to point connection where the bandwitdth is dedicated. Futhermore, not all people download from the same source or surf the same website at a particular time. You need statictical study over a period of time to determine the bandwidth usage of internet traffic.

of course the calculation is not definitive. it is demonstrative of the statement "1% uses 30%". if that isn't true as you say then how come connectivity is at times poor? why p2p is blocked/shaped? why tracert traces nowhere [edit: nowhere, PERIOD] way beyond 30 hops (if you trace say www.tm.net.my from outside malaysia, the trace is completed around 21 hops) ?

This post has been edited by beelzebob13: Feb 14 2007, 12:52 PM
+Quote Post
ukiya
post Jul 10 2007, 04:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(Crazyboyrs @ Feb 14 2007, 10:17 AM)
streamyx onli gimme 300Kbps on 512mbps plan

i m thought is only 512KBps plan... wonder when Malaysia suddenly so advance got 512mbps!
+Quote Post
kels83
post Jul 10 2007, 04:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

+Quote Post
morphware
post Jul 11 2007, 12:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

funny thing about Streamyx is that if you use a HTTP-tunnel or VPN you get full speed, so the network isn't always at 100% but I do believe it is being crippled in some way.
+Quote Post
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 11 2007, 12:38 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

PeACe~~

QUOTE(kels83 @ Jul 10 2007, 04:39 PM)
they restore taiwan link@@?  blink.gif

Geez are u living in the cave?

QUOTE(morphware @ Jul 11 2007, 12:35 AM)
funny thing about Streamyx is that if you use a HTTP-tunnel or VPN you get full speed, so the network isn't always at 100% but I do believe it is being crippled in some way.

I dont get what u meant, but its becoz TMnet is doing "traffic shaping aka throttling" thats why u get sucky download rate...

And dont dig up old threads !

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Jul 11 2007, 12:39 AM
+Quote Post
[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Jul 11 2007, 09:48 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

Q( ^^)-O \(o_O)/

new package is coming out soon to cater all users

FASTEST BROADBAND IN MALAYSIA
INTRODUCING THE NEW FASTEST PACKAGE

64Kbps ONLY AT RM66 (UNLIMITED)

PROS:
- 1.14X FASTER THAN DIAL-UP*
- 2% FASTER WEBSITE SURFING*
- 1.5% IMPROVEMENT IN ONLINE GAMING*
- EXTRA 2Kb/s IN P2P EITHER LOCAL OR INTERNATIONAL*
- DOWNLOAD YOUR FAVOURITE SONGS, MOVIES AND MUSIC VIDEOS 1.14X FASTER THAN DIAL UP*

* all terms stated above are on best effort service. Terms and conditions applied.

This post has been edited by [W]HIT3_@NG3L: Jul 11 2007, 09:56 AM
+Quote Post
lionheart23
post Jul 13 2007, 08:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

In oversea, they don't even borther about this.
They only care to provide the best service for the customer.

In Malaysia?
Where comes the customer service?
Always blaming ppl and never improve.
Never come with a solution, sux
+Quote Post
Aoshi_88
post Jul 13 2007, 10:55 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

COMRADE!!!

Where did that RM600,000,000 go anyway?To develop 4mbit ADSL when they should've increased the bandwidth. Bloody rocket scientists!
+Quote Post
gundamseedw
post Jul 14 2007, 12:27 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

all money masuk pocket liao lor still got where ?

tak to ka ? MsiaL kenal coz of kes rasuah. Top 10 country in rasuah ..
+Quote Post
Parrot
post Jul 14 2007, 04:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

QUOTE([W]HIT3_@NG3L @ Jul 10 2007, 08:48 PM)
new package is coming out soon to cater all users

FASTEST BROADBAND IN MALAYSIA
INTRODUCING THE NEW FASTEST PACKAGE

64Kbps ONLY AT RM66 (UNLIMITED)

PROS:
- 1.14X FASTER THAN DIAL-UP*
- 2% FASTER WEBSITE SURFING*
- 1.5% IMPROVEMENT IN ONLINE GAMING*
- EXTRA 2Kb/s IN P2P EITHER LOCAL OR INTERNATIONAL*
- DOWNLOAD YOUR FAVOURITE SONGS, MOVIES AND MUSIC VIDEOS 1.14X FASTER THAN DIAL UP*

* all terms stated above are on best effort service. Terms and conditions applied.

Wait a second, is this a joke?
+Quote Post
amirsubhi
post Jul 14 2007, 07:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

The Power Is IN Your Hand!

hurm..juz an update..streamyx now is 1 million subscriber officialy..nyway this few weeks..i got almost constant 80kbps on http download..i must say its quite an improvement!

This post has been edited by amirsubhi: Jul 14 2007, 07:57 AM
+Quote Post
Ch4o5
post Jul 14 2007, 08:16 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

They said restored TW link, but i still getting 500ms ping to US sites :\
+Quote Post
chua
post Jul 15 2007, 12:03 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

QUOTE(mohamadfazli @ Feb 14 2007, 06:01 AM)
i've been getting a constant 180 kps to 200kbps constantly for my downloads on streamyx.

Been getting it since they restored the taiwan link..

What plan are you on? Nice speed. smile.gif

Added on July 15, 2007, 12:06 am
QUOTE(morphware @ Jul 11 2007, 12:35 AM)

that is the reason why i subscribe to vpn services. surfing without vpn is just unbareable. shakehead.gif

Added on July 15, 2007, 12:10 am
QUOTE(Ch4o5 @ Jul 14 2007, 08:16 AM)
They said restored TW link, but i still getting 500ms ping to US sites :\

For me depending on my IP range. Sometimes, I get about 200-300ms to ping yahoo.com

This post has been edited by chua: Jul 15 2007, 12:10 AM
+Quote Post
xpresside
post Jul 16 2007, 07:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

lolroflmao

QUOTE(zaqplm @ Feb 11 2007, 06:42 PM)
They said: "1% of users using 30% bandwidth".

So how much is Tmnet's total bandwidth and how many users can it handle?

Correct me if I'm wrong...

1. What is their total bandwidth?
Population in malaysia: 27 mil
Broadband penetration rate: 2.5%
So number of broadband users: 675,000

1% of users: 6,750
1% of users using 30% bandwidth = 5.15 Gbit/s

In other words, TMnet's total bandwidth is about: 17.16 Gbit/s
2. How many users does it take to fully utilize their bandwidth?
3.35% of users: 22,612 users
3.35% of users is using 100% bandwidth: 17.252 Gbit/s (!)

So only 22,612 users can fully get what they paid for (1MB package).

Looking at the current number of broadband users we have, we have oversubscription ratio of (675,000 / 22,612) = 29.85.

That means TMnet's available bandwidth can support each user with 26.8 kbit/s.

Any other ideas?

notworthy.gif

where u get your source hmm.gif
+Quote Post
TheXxBestxX
post Jul 16 2007, 11:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

...sPEeDinG t0 HeaVeN...

i think i also lucky....getting full speed on rapidshare with free acc after the fix:

+Quote Post

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 04:02 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)