Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
26 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Apple iPhone

quintessential
post Jan 10 2007, 02:06 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #41

reek of awesomeness

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 10 2007, 03:02 PM)
is iPhone = PDA Phone killer?  sweat.gif

or should i say iphone = nokia killer?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
limchee
post Jan 10 2007, 02:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #42

or should i say iphone=nokia N95 KILLER
+Quote Post
SimonsayZ
post Jan 10 2007, 02:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #43

This one looks amazingly cool and elegant. The huge screen is to die for. biggrin.gif

+Quote Post
allvin
post Jan 10 2007, 02:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #44

**Look everyone, my stars increasing**

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jan 10 2007, 03:26 PM)
This one looks amazingly cool and elegant. The huge screen is to die for.  biggrin.gif

ya... by judging from the picture is not enough. Should watch how Jobs demo it at the keynote. It's a whole new technology, including 3 advance sensor.. blah blah. I'm really speechless while watching the keynote video blush.gif
+Quote Post
youngkies
post Jan 10 2007, 02:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #45

Monday <--> Friday

Group: Staff

most of u just hv a look at the spec and pic..

try to watch the video below (select 'watch iphone introduction'), you will get more of it..

- how ipod gonna work in it, so as ipod video works
- how u will get text rich html browsing via safari
- how it work as a normal phones
- how the wifi and edge works to provide continuous connection to internet
- how the files browsing is diff (looks quite close to symbian 3rd ed and os x)
- how the multi-touch (w/o stylus) works
- how the phone os x and interface looks like
- how simple to use, compare to wm pda phone where u need to go to memory setting to end task properly after opening each task
- how iphone change the telephony technology
- and best how they compare to few smartphones
- and etc etc

http://events.apple.com.edgesuite.net/j47d52oo/event/

but other side.. camera is worst.. however the ipod sides of the phone is cool too (a direct blow to SE walkman)

+Quote Post
sniper on the roof
post Jan 10 2007, 02:41 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #46

need to ride

Group: VIP

For me its a compromise over the pda phones but still gonna get one...Iphone's main sell point:

- Big screen
- Sexy

Just like a Hot Hot chick that has big... can't cook, high maintenance, perangai buruk... but WTF.. Sexxxxy sial...how to resist? tongue.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
sonic_cd
post Jan 10 2007, 02:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #47

-----Emma Watson^----- 11k Spam Club(R)(C)Mac user

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 10 2007, 01:39 PM)
Totally agree with you.  cheers.gif  No 3G???? 2.0 megapixel camera and only launched in Asia in 2008  shocking.gif Good luck Apple, you'll probably face more stiff competition next year especially in Asia because by then, I'm sure the all the phones in the market will satay the iPhone kaw kaw for sure.

The only saving grave is probably the screen, it looks kinda decent but the rest of the features are a little lacking, could it be Motorola jointly developed this phone with Apple, if I'm not mistaken, Motorola is a strong supporter of iTunes. Hmmmm ....  hmm.gif

then again , if its like alll apple products , it tends to get outdated fast (ipods anyone? ). still it should prove interesting ... i will get it regardless of whatever drawbacks it has . tongue.gif
+Quote Post
wizardboy
post Jan 10 2007, 02:55 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #48

Group: Junior Member

anyway,
i dont mind getting this phone. the only non-3g phone i would invest. especially during travelling!
+Quote Post
youngkies
post Jan 10 2007, 02:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #49

Monday <--> Friday

i am very tempted to how u can do everything on ur phone using finger.. instead of stylus.. and the IPOD side just pawn se walkman 2.0 at the moment.. and not to say the OS X interface, plus ease of use..
+Quote Post
wizardboy
post Jan 10 2007, 03:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #50

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jan 10 2007, 02:57 PM)
i am very tempted to how u can do everything on ur phone using finger.. instead of stylus.. and the IPOD side just pawn se walkman 2.0 at the moment.. and not to say the OS X interface, plus ease of use..

no double using fingers much ezier and faster. that's how i'm using my p990i and all my previous pda/pda phone. (well u need a good screen protector) at least apple marketing or rnd team has done a good job implementing this features thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
lailaikatong
post Jan 10 2007, 03:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #51

u guys have to watch the keynote video.... listen carefully on the 24th minute... jobs did mention that they're planning to include 3g in the future...
+Quote Post
allvin
post Jan 10 2007, 04:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #52

**Look everyone, my stars increasing**

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Jan 10 2007, 04:17 PM)
u guys have to watch the keynote video.... listen carefully on the 24th minute... jobs did mention that they're planning to include 3g in the future...

ya. now they kinda like testing this product. How smooth it goes in the market. So basically, it will be similar like ipod, 1st gen den 2nd gen and so on... Marketing strategy brows.gif
+Quote Post
akxj
post Jan 10 2007, 05:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #53

QUOTE(limchee @ Jan 10 2007, 03:07 PM)

actually .. in what way you wanna compare iphone with n95 ..?

n95 has the 5mp af .. double sliding technology .. 3g ..

iphone has its own good ..

it will not fight each other .. and definately, iphone is not a n95 killer ..

plus, iphone will only be out in early 2008 here ... so maybe n97 will be something like iphone? biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
limchee
post Jan 10 2007, 05:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #54

Top 5 Worst Things About The iPhone
At the risk of sounding churlish-we love the iPhone, we truly do, and will sacrifice our children to get our hands on one-not all is perfect behind the pearly white gates of heaven. Here are the top five worst things about the phone, media player, computer and news frenzy:

1) Cingular. They're North America's largest cellular network, so it makes sense for Apple to deal with them. But it would have been far better if Apple had taken on the carriers' chokehold on handset provisioning wholesale, and simply sold unlocked phones.

2) 8GB Flash drive. For many, it will be more than enough, but the iPhone won't kill the iPod until drive sizes start matching the needs of MP3-era music libraries. My fear is that Apple will stick to its guns and stick with Flash media as it grows to 16GB and beyond, but a second-gen iPhone with magnetic storage is an obvious upgrade path.

3) Built-in battery. Apple's bothersome tradition of non-user-servicable batteries continues. There's no reason to do this, frankly, aside from the kind of implied "we're aesthetic obsessives" claim that Apple still gets away with.

4) No 3G. Fast internet is the horse, 3G is one hind leg.

5) With all those features, a QWERTY keyboard stashed within (somehow) would be the perfect way to turn this little beast into Apple's answer to the UMPC: a cheap, fully-featured computing device in addition to a phone and music player. Even a clamshell...

(Courtesy of Wired)
+Quote Post
StratOS
post Jan 10 2007, 06:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #55

Piu Piu~!

QUOTE(limchee @ Jan 10 2007, 05:20 PM)
Top 5 Worst Things About The iPhone
At the risk of sounding churlish-we love the iPhone, we truly do, and will sacrifice our children to get our hands on one-not all is perfect behind the pearly white gates of heaven. Here are the top five worst things about the phone, media player, computer and news frenzy:

1) Cingular. They're North America's largest cellular network, so it makes sense for Apple to deal with them. But it would have been far better if Apple had taken on the carriers' chokehold on handset provisioning wholesale, and simply sold unlocked phones.

2) 8GB Flash drive. For many, it will be more than enough, but the iPhone won't kill the iPod until drive sizes start matching the needs of MP3-era music libraries. My fear is that Apple will stick to its guns and stick with Flash media as it grows to 16GB and beyond, but a second-gen iPhone with magnetic storage is an obvious upgrade path.

3) Built-in battery. Apple's bothersome tradition of non-user-servicable batteries continues. There's no reason to do this, frankly, aside from the kind of implied "we're aesthetic obsessives" claim that Apple still gets away with.

4) No 3G. Fast internet is the horse, 3G is one hind leg.

5) With all those features, a QWERTY keyboard stashed within (somehow) would be the perfect way to turn this little beast into Apple's answer to the UMPC: a cheap, fully-featured computing device in addition to a phone and music player. Even a clamshell...

(Courtesy of Wired)

wow... contract with Cingular.. hope the rate of the contract dun increase.. if not the phone price will also rise..
+Quote Post
youngkies
post Jan 10 2007, 06:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #56

Monday <--> Friday

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jan 10 2007, 07:30 PM)
wow... contract with Cingular.. hope the rate of the contract dun increase.. if not the phone price will also rise..

wat does tat mean? the contract/price wont change much, but the minutes, services provided or tariff tat will change. diff plan hv diff rate and we dont know yet which plan does the usd499 applied to. maybe monthly plan abt usd 30 carry the phone at cost of usd 499 while other cheaper plan for example usd 15 monthly will need u to pay more for the iphone.. so tis is quite hard to estimate the unit price without any plan..

i believe the price without any contract for this phone is quite expensive..

in the keynote: it is quoted tat blackberry pearl cost abt usd 299 with 2 yr contract and 4gb model of iPhone at usd 499.. so u can see tat the price for contract free iphone shud be more than rm3k, but tat could be only confirmed after released of iphone in us and particularly to other part of world..
+Quote Post
StratOS
post Jan 10 2007, 06:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #57

Piu Piu~!

well.. i see many type of price plans b4 lor.. sumtimes some package they will give free phone but the monthly payment quite high.. then not worth lor..

actually also depends on the package u choose also la.. i also now bur liau.. laugh.gif
+Quote Post
unknowndevices
post Jan 10 2007, 07:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #58

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***

QUOTE(limchee @ Jan 10 2007, 02:07 PM)

better not to mention it to smashpOp? sweat.gif
anyway...liked the design... thumbup.gif
still wondering of how to make use of this phone... unsure.gif
+Quote Post
youngkies
post Jan 10 2007, 07:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #59

Monday <--> Friday

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Jan 10 2007, 08:21 PM)
better not to mention it to smashpOp? sweat.gif
anyway...liked the design... thumbup.gif
still wondering of how to make use of this phone... unsure.gif

have a lot at the keynote, the apple introductory talk to iphone.. well introduction and features demonstrated in the talk..
+Quote Post
europology
post Jan 10 2007, 07:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #60

Pantheon of Goddesses

jz watch the video presentation.

woah gr8 fon! i love the scrolling, pic resizing.... all done with a snap of ur fingertips! the album cover scrolling is gr8!!! like flipping a music collection...

and the google maps! omg... lovin it!!!
+Quote Post

26 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2009 - 09:40 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)