Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
11 Pages « < 9 10 11 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> [FAQ]Laptops for Linux

litnit
post Oct 6 2009, 05:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #201

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(aranur @ Oct 6 2009, 03:18 PM)
Karmic Koala is an update release of Ubuntu, which happens twice a year.

Kernel is the core of the OS, managing resource and device interaction. Latest kernel would probably has a more updated version of the device drivers, therefore better support for newer hardware.

OK. thanks. I'll look for the latest kernel..

QUOTE(grinner @ Oct 6 2009, 03:39 PM)
...don't get tied down with others suggestions mate... some would 'say' ubuntu is friendly this, friendly that but I start off my students/friends/clients with fedora and they have no problems with it... I am not saying one is better than the other (*coughFedorarockscough* biggrin.gif!!!), just saying you should do some more research yourself first... as long as you use the latest kernel, you should have no problems with hardware either... but saying that, it would be a good idea if you are a beginner to stay away from the more uh... exotic flavours, since support/forums won't be as extensive as with a more established flavour e.g. Fedora, Suse and uh... Ubuntu biggrin.gif

...have fun with the penguin mate!

Ok. there are too many type of OS, i dunno which to go. but u are right, i'll try to do some research on it 1st.. happy.gif

Thanks..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vexus
post Oct 17 2009, 09:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #202

Master Of Turntablist Legend

Group: Senior Member

just now tried kubuntu on my laptop. Installation smooth, but sourcing for driver is a big headache using kubuntu. Can't get my wifi activate. Give up and reinstall back win7.
+Quote Post
ArianneG
post Oct 28 2009, 11:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #203

Group: Junior Member

Anyone know how to get the multimedia keys and volume shortcut keys working on a laptop? Using MEPIS 8.0.10 on my Dell Inspiron 1420. I tried mapping manually in X after hotkeys and hotkeys-daemon (or whatever that program was called) failed but still tak jadi. Dunno whether I am mapping the keys wrong or something. I mapped and saved the config already and restarted X but nothing happens.
+Quote Post
oshiri
post Oct 29 2009, 03:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #204

Group: Senior Member

You probably do not enable kernel module dell-wmi or that module does not exist.
Try modprobe dell-wmi

CODE
$ modinfo dell-wmi
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.30-oshirix-spe/kernel/drivers/platform/x86/dell-wmi.ko
alias:          wmi:9DBB5994-A997-11DA-B012-B622A1EF5492
license:        GPL
description:    Dell laptop WMI hotkeys driver
author:         Matthew Garrett <mjg@redhat.com>
depends:        wmi
vermagic:       2.6.30-oshirix-spe SMP preempt mod_unload modversions 586

See the source code for what keys are supported:
http://lxr.free-electrons.com/source/drive.../x86/dell-wmi.c
+Quote Post

11 Pages « < 9 10 11
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 11:51 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)