Personal Financial Management, Are you always lacking $$$$?
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Personal Financial Management, Are you always lacking $$$$?
Nov 19 2009, 12:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post
$$$$$$$$$$ ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,767 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2008 From: KUCHING |
QUOTE(wankongyew @ Nov 19 2009, 12:39 PM) I'm just chiming in to agree that this is bullshit. Sadly, I've heard the same "You need one million per child in Malaysia" line for myself. I for one would like to know how it got started. My guess would e investment advisers or something. The real tragedy about this is that people who believe in the line will think of themselves as being failures if they don't manage to achieve that 1 million per child target, so they do everything they can to achieve it. They are unsatisfied with regular jobs and keep trying to look for opportunities to make fast money, borrow money to start all sorts of businesses and get ever deeper into debt. I have personally observed this in my life. They seem to believe that contenting oneself to just being an ordinary middle-class person is unacceptable. They are also the kind of people who look down on saving slowly but steadily and claim that this is the way of mediocre people. They believe that the truly talented and great can achieve fantastic wealth almost overnight and that accumulating debt while they are on the way doesn't matter because they can pay it back all at once when they strike it big. Needless to say, I strongly disagree with all that. Most people end up living fairly average lives, but as long as they are there for their families, they can still live perfectly happy and meaningful lives. But the people who pursue wealth at any cost end up spending very little time with their family and at the end of the road, most end up being poor. The sad truth is that only a rare few can truly achieve phenomenal wealth in this way. Saving your way, not to wealth but to financial security at least, may be slow but it is certain to work. Yup. RM 100k should be more than enough already i would say |
Nov 20 2009, 11:13 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 218 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2008 From: Cheras |
Is this thread still stick to PFM, or DADS' argue ? Cos I'm now in a deep situation.
I failed to apply Work, Save and Invest formula ! BTW, why Dreamer must send kids to US Public U, why not other countries ? This post has been edited by pokeat: Nov 20 2009, 11:17 PM |
Nov 21 2009, 02:06 AM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 193 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(pokeat @ Nov 20 2009, 11:13 PM) Is this thread still stick to PFM, or DADS' argue ? Cos I'm now in a deep situation. I failed to apply Work, Save and Invest formula ! BTW, why Dreamer must send kids to US Public U, why not other countries ? Yea, enough of raising kids. Topic seems to be not relevent. Why everybody wants to send their kids to study and live in the USA? They are so many countries in the world yet they still pick USA. I knew someone who actually paid a sum of money just to work in a McD at USA. Is the lure of US Dollars that attractive? Earn more? Get rich quicker? |
Nov 21 2009, 10:18 AM
$$$$$$$$$$ ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,767 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2008 From: KUCHING |
QUOTE(pokeat @ Nov 21 2009, 12:13 AM) Is this thread still stick to PFM, or DADS' argue ? Cos I'm now in a deep situation. I failed to apply Work, Save and Invest formula ! BTW, why Dreamer must send kids to US Public U, why not other countries ? What so difficult about PFM? 1. Don spend your money unless it is necessary. Think twice don just follow what ppl do and buy.... Always think 10 times before you spend that money!!! Becos after you spent you cannot get it back anymore. Same with investment. 2. Save until month end and see how much you got then decide to spend on how many % of that amount and how many % to save. I don understand why so difficult to manage your own finance? If you cun even manage your own finance what more to say manage a department or a company? Must have self dicipline mar Ask yourself do you need to buy a good car? What is the purpose? Doesn't its main purpose is for you to go from one place to another? Do you need a fancy handphone? My handphone don even have camera!!! The screen is blur somemore.... But i can call ppl and thats enuff for me already.... Do you need branded clothes? I only buy clothes with more than 50% discount or even 70% I use lux to wash my hair only i don see any necessary to use pantene shampoo.... This post has been edited by darkknight81: Nov 21 2009, 10:25 AM |
Nov 21 2009, 10:41 AM
Look at all my stars!! Real World Issues, Finance, Business and Investment House Group: Elite Posts: 8,235 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 21 2009, 10:18 AM) darkknight81, A Zen story... A student ask the master as to what is the secret of life. The master said do the RIGHT thing and do not do the WRONG thing. The student said everyone KNOW that. The master said yes, everyone KNOW that but how many can DO it. Knowledge is NEVER the problem. Doing is. We ALL know the RIGHT path. But, how many of us can DO it?? Now, if you can UNDERSTAND why some people can DO while others CANNOT, you would have UNDERSTAND 90+% of the problem in the world. Dreamer This post has been edited by dreamer101: Nov 21 2009, 10:42 AM |
Nov 21 2009, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 21 2009, 11:41 AM) darkknight81, A Zen story... A student ask the master as to what is the secret of life. The master said do the RIGHT thing and do not do the WRONG thing. The student said everyone KNOW that. The master said yes, everyone KNOW that but how many can DO it. Knowledge is NEVER the problem. Doing is. We ALL know the RIGHT path. But, how many of us can DO it?? Now, if you can UNDERSTAND why some people can DO while others CANNOT, you would have UNDERSTAND 90+% of the problem in the world. Dreamer Agree I think most ppl cannot manage their own money is that they are kiasu in the sense of they want to show to ppl that they can afford to but in actual fact is they really cannot... How pathetic.... What is so difficult to tell ppl that you cannot afford? I always did that This post has been edited by darkknight81: Nov 21 2009, 10:57 AM |
Nov 21 2009, 11:13 AM
Look at all my stars!! Real World Issues, Finance, Business and Investment House Group: Elite Posts: 8,235 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 21 2009, 10:53 AM) Agree I think most ppl cannot manage their own money is that they are kiasu in the sense of they want to show to ppl that they can afford to but in actual fact is they really cannot... How pathetic.... What is so difficult to tell ppl that you cannot afford? I always did that darkknight81, << I think most ppl cannot manage their own money is that they are kiasu in the sense of they want to show to ppl that they can afford to but in actual fact is they really cannot... How pathetic.... That is NORMAL. Most people live by the OPINION of others. No many people can handle the PEER PRESSURE. That is WHY Average people are not rich. Rich people are not average. But, what is WRONG to live a normal life anyhow?? I have NOTHING against it. People should live whatever the way that they choose. Just DO NOT WHINE.. If a person do not save at least 10% of their gross income, they live in an unsustainable life style. But, that is THEIR LIVES and THEIR CHOICE. Dreamer |
Nov 21 2009, 04:24 PM
Casual ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 378 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Dec 2005 From: The Inside Out |
Dreamer101,
After going through your post it seems you have high regards on the USA. Mind is we know why? Currently they are having a major economical setback and don't you think it's pretty unwise to focus on them? Thanks |
Nov 21 2009, 08:29 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 218 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2008 From: Cheras |
My case is I'm a kid in col and only a part timer. Barely to save up what I have earned.
Can anyone answer my irrelevant question ? Are food firms like Nestle and Kraft under perfect competition or monopolistic ? This post has been edited by pokeat: Nov 21 2009, 08:32 PM |
Nov 21 2009, 09:41 PM
Casual ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 422 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(gsdfan @ Nov 21 2009, 04:24 PM) Dreamer101, After going through your post it seems you have high regards on the USA. Mind is we know why? Currently they are having a major economical setback and don't you think it's pretty unwise to focus on them? Thanks Someone feel that moon is always brighter at the other side of the world. Investment Guru Jim Rogers have chosen to live in Singapore and ensure that her 2 daughters to learn Mandarin Chinese. Now his 2 daughters speak very fluent Mandarin. As he feels that both English and Chinese are the most important language in the coming future. Many Malay parents that think ahead, send their children to Chinese Primary school to learn up the additional language. For me, if i were to have children, i will not send them far away, Singapore/Taiwan or even China will be the ground of their learning. They should learn how to compete with others. These countries have better educational system compare to our country. I am a "product" of a local Uni and i dont think the system is good. |
Nov 21 2009, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(gsdfan @ Nov 21 2009, 04:24 PM) Dreamer101, After going through your post it seems you have high regards on the USA. Mind is we know why? Currently they are having a major economical setback and don't you think it's pretty unwise to focus on them? Thanks gsdfan, At my level, I do not focus in ANY SINGLE country. I am investing in 2000 largest companies in USA and 2000 largest companies outside of USA. QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Nov 21 2009, 09:41 PM) Someone feel that moon is always brighter at the other side of the world. Investment Guru Jim Rogers have chosen to live in Singapore and ensure that her 2 daughters to learn Mandarin Chinese. Now his 2 daughters speak very fluent Mandarin. As he feels that both English and Chinese are the most important language in the coming future. Many Malay parents that think ahead, send their children to Chinese Primary school to learn up the additional language. For me, if i were to have children, i will not send them far away, Singapore/Taiwan or even China will be the ground of their learning. They should learn how to compete with others. These countries have better educational system compare to our country. I am a "product" of a local Uni and i dont think the system is good. cheahcw2003, My children are going to SRJK© and Chinese Independent school. After that, they are going to USA for their college education. They are multilingual and multicultural. My niece is studying International Business. She is in a special student exchange program. Her first year is in Arizona. Her second year is in Spain. Her third year is in France. She is finishing out her final year in Beijing. Now, that is REALLY a good college education. And, it is FREE. She got full scholarship on doing this. Dreamer |
Nov 23 2009, 06:11 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 35 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2009 |
IMHO,
Education is not what you can learn, but what you can learn and teach others. Going EVERYWHERE to study is good for you academically I must admit, but if you do not have the personality and character to carry you around, then yeah, you'll just end up thinking that YOU who studied in the US or UK or wherever is GREATER than everyone else. And others is not comparable to you, coz you had your education in the US, while we all rot in schools in Malaysia. So yeah, while you sit there hailing the Lord of the US and overseas education system, you have just turned yourself into a stuck up ignorant selfish *female dog*. I myself studied in the local university, never proud of the education system. But in adversity, it teaches you alot of things. It taught me that I should help to change the education system in Malaysia, rather than to sit here and complain about how bad it is and do nothing. It taught me to improve myself and equip myself with the necessary skills, knowing that I do not come from a notable university, and it taught me that in diversity, we learn to bring the best out of people. I know many overseas graduates, some whom are very close friends and all. They might have the benefit in education, but they are not necessarily above me. If a person do not have good character to go with his qualifications, then seriously, put him anywhere and he will still be the same person no matter where. So yes dreamer101, I admire the fact that you wanted the best education for your kids. But along the line, remember to teach them these as well. Humility, Discipline and Integrity. Cause without these, no good education can bring you success in the world. And I hope your children will turn out to be good people, taught by a good parent to bring change to their home nation. -Local student graduate, and proud of it- |
Nov 24 2009, 12:06 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 32 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2008 |
Tell me guyz, how u gona help to change the education system in Malaysia? Im interestin to know.
This post has been edited by freestyler_jg: Nov 24 2009, 12:07 PM |
Nov 24 2009, 04:26 PM
Bento Mad ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,607 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(freestyler_jg @ Nov 24 2009, 12:06 PM) That sounds like a tall order due to time and resources. The other thing that can be done is change the way you think about education. It doesn't have to be something that you deserve as a Malaysian citizen to get rich but perhaps another way is to look at what education is available to you or within your reach. On another note guys, do any of you know of a personal financial management software that is similar to Quicken that is available in Malaysia? |
Nov 24 2009, 07:54 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 39 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(ArSe-SeNG @ Nov 23 2009, 06:11 PM) IMHO, Education is not what you can learn, but what you can learn and teach others. Going EVERYWHERE to study is good for you academically I must admit, but if you do not have the personality and character to carry you around, then yeah, you'll just end up thinking that YOU who studied in the US or UK or wherever is GREATER than everyone else. And others is not comparable to you, coz you had your education in the US, while we all rot in schools in Malaysia. So yeah, while you sit there hailing the Lord of the US and overseas education system, you have just turned yourself into a stuck up ignorant selfish *female dog*. I myself studied in the local university, never proud of the education system. But in adversity, it teaches you alot of things. It taught me that I should help to change the education system in Malaysia, rather than to sit here and complain about how bad it is and do nothing. It taught me to improve myself and equip myself with the necessary skills, knowing that I do not come from a notable university, and it taught me that in diversity, we learn to bring the best out of people. I know many overseas graduates, some whom are very close friends and all. They might have the benefit in education, but they are not necessarily above me. If a person do not have good character to go with his qualifications, then seriously, put him anywhere and he will still be the same person no matter where. So yes dreamer101, I admire the fact that you wanted the best education for your kids. But along the line, remember to teach them these as well. Humility, Discipline and Integrity. Cause without these, no good education can bring you success in the world. And I hope your children will turn out to be good people, taught by a good parent to bring change to their home nation. -Local student graduate, and proud of it- +1 OMG very nice post, and so true |
Nov 24 2009, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(ArSe-SeNG @ Nov 23 2009, 06:11 PM) ArSe-SeNG, 1) Without an oversea perspective, you lose sight of a lot of stuff. And, this has NOTHING to do with whether someone is studying in a good school oversea. 2) On the other hand, a person could spend many years in oversea and only mixed around Malaysians and learn no foreign culture. 3) My GOAL for my children to to make them multicultural. 4) Do you KNOW Mandarin, Tamil, or Arabic?? You could be multicultural too in Malaysia. Do you try to do that?? Aka, learn more cultures?? <<you'll just end up thinking that YOU who studied in the US or UK or wherever is GREATER than everyone else>> <<They might have the benefit in education, but they are not necessarily above me. >> 5) You should improve your Englsh. <<So yes dreamer101, I admire the fact that you wanted the best education for your kids.>> 6) It is much much more than that. I believe Malaysia is DOOM. They need an opportunity to get out of the country. And, anyone that could, they should. Dreamer |
Nov 24 2009, 09:03 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 32 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2008 |
At primary school, Bahasa Malaysia is being a compulsory subject, chinese is optional, while tamil no chance in hell.
But today when we are talking Mandarin when attending any meeting at work, Muslim wil commented that we ain't respect them enough. Well, if someone said proud of Malaysia education, mayb he/she is juz gettin graduate? And let's see wat happen in his/her working environment, jz accept the fact pal. |
Nov 24 2009, 09:35 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 37 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2009 |
Dreamer101's children are lucky as they have a rich father that can afford their tetiary education in overseas.
I am a local university graduate and currently work in an export based company, top management position. My work nature requires me to meet and deal with people all around the world, i am now able to understand and communicate few languages from my works such as arabic, hindi, cantonese, and also spanish (basic only not expert). so even i do not got the chance to study abroad (i am from poor family), i still can learn other cultural and mingle well with people all around the world. As i also invlove in job interview for recruitment of my company. i have come accross some overseas graduate that do not speak good english even they graduated from english native speaking countries like Aus/NZ/UK. The reason being that they only mix with Asian Circle when in overseas, especially the Msian/ Hongkies/singaporean. So it is actually depends on the individual character, if u stay in Malaysia, and do not want to learn other races culture, then how do u expect you yourself and your children to learn others' culture when they are in overseas? How many of us actually learn and know the culture of Iban? Kadazan-Dusun? baba & nyoya? Malaysian Portugese/ Msian Thai/Serani? even these people live together with us since we were born? i guess i should stop here, it is getting out of topic in this thread. This post has been edited by lonelyplanet92: Nov 24 2009, 09:37 PM |
Nov 25 2009, 12:55 AM
Regular ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,711 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(wu ming @ Nov 25 2009, 12:30 AM) Enough with the doom! What you care about is your precious children and hope that our country is getting doomed. Enough of this already! That is his opinion. He has his reasons to think the country is doomed. It's alright for people to express their opinion. Preventing them to do so doesn't change them. Proving them wrong with facts will. |
Nov 25 2009, 01:01 AM
delusional Group: Staff Posts: 6,990 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2007 From: Wouldn't be around much, pls PM other mods. |
Let's not get too much off topic here shall we.
If you guys wants to continue debate on Educations, pls proceed to RWI where there's a topic in regards to it. Anyway, not to say I side by dreamer but if one knows about his history; one would know that this uncle perfectly knows "Humility, Discipline and Integrity. " as he as most M'sian doesn't come from a well to do family and he certainly didn't "donate" his wealth to his children which he often advocate he made them "work" for it. If one is willing to read between the lines, one might actually learn something from this uncle. Basically doesn't even read between the line as his points is often so blatantly straightforward which I would admit a lot of time some can't stand it as it gets into one's nerve. However, read with open mind and one might actually benefit from it. So all, pls stop going astray and stick to this topic purpose. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 19th March 2010 - 01:42 AM |