Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> DVD Online Store, Please list em'

Leong Dei Prince
post Nov 23 2006, 07:58 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

so far i haf no problem wif custom
i bought few dvds from amazon

- ice age cool edition
- hostel
- sin city extended edition
- LOTR 12 disc box set
- blow
- over the hedge
- eight below
- final fantasy VII advent children

all go sampai tongue.gif
and will get more in da future tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ronasdfghjklzxc
post Nov 24 2006, 01:20 AM

Try ordering a boxed set, definitely "tahan" hahahaha.
+Quote Post
AssKicker
post Nov 24 2006, 04:16 AM

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 20 2006, 02:16 AM)
That's the problem with them, for example, shipment A was taxed based on the value of the items, shipment B was taxed based on the value of the items plus shipping costs and when I asked why and even wanted to show the officer the previous customs form that DHL has cleared for me as evidence. You know what was his answer? Itu officer lain, I tak kisah, kalau you tak mau bayar cukai, aku rampas semua barang awak.  vmad.gif What the heck ....... this is too much. I just knew his name is Azhar but dunno whether that's his real name or not because that's the person DHL asked me to speak to. I just ordered car performance parts, not that I dun wanna pay the taxes, I got the right to ask him why he included the shipping costs this time. It's not consistent at all and because of this bloke, he affected my profit margin for all the stuff I have imported into Malaysia.  vmad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  flex.gif

Base on my understanding, there's only one customs office in penang which is the one located somewhere in the jeti area. U're talking about that customs office right? Anyway, the officers there seems pretty cool and honest to me. Anyway, about a month ago, I was there and i remember a guy asking the officer y his imported car performance/components parts got tax. Is that u?
+Quote Post
AssKicker
post Nov 24 2006, 04:21 AM

QUOTE(wiNd @ Nov 20 2006, 12:24 AM)
actually can tax for the actual value of the item only(not including shipping charges)..but since u said they clearly abusing power (wanna earn $$)....u will have to live with it (i hate to say this, cant beat them join them  wink.gif  sad.gif )

If ur DVDs get caught and for whatever reason it get tax. It should be 30% + 10% (duty + sales tax) or is it (sales + duty tax). Anyway,
for the 30%, it only calculate base on the actual value of the item whereas for the 10% it includes the value + shipping cost of the item.

This post has been edited by AssKicker: Nov 24 2006, 04:30 AM
+Quote Post
Leong Dei Prince
post Nov 24 2006, 10:08 AM

normally i will order few dvds and cds from amazon in a same time
and da cds din come in da same time...different shipment
so far i don haf any trouble wif da shipment and all da custom shitz
+Quote Post
Blackhart
post Nov 24 2006, 10:24 AM

The conmen there charged 30% including shipping also and the 10% includes value + shipping + the overvalued duty.Really cekik darah to the max vmad.gif
+Quote Post
sunauto
post Nov 24 2006, 01:39 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>

Group: Senior Member

No, it's the customs cargo complex in Batu Maung because they're shipped by DHL and sometimes by FedEx. Car performance stuff are taxable as they're not spare parts or reconditioned ones, I'm fine with the taxes but it affects my profit margin if they tax something at their fancy, sometimes their calculation includes the shipping fees.

For original dvds, they always reach me without being taxed if I use my gf's address, she's staying in KL so I direct all my dvds to her place for a peace of mind but for my car performance stuff I never tried using my gf's address before but I'll do so for the next shipment in January 2007. For testing purposes, if I can escape the 30% import duties, at least I can lower the price of my products to get more sales.

By the way, are used softwares or games taxable? I both a few second hand games from HK but they were taxed even though declared as used ones. The funny thing, last time when I bought an used Neo Geo Cart system from HK, the whole thing reached me without being taxed. This is confusing. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(AssKicker @ Nov 24 2006, 04:16 AM)
Base on my understanding, there's only one customs office in penang which is the one located somewhere in the jeti area. U're talking about that customs office right? Anyway, the officers there seems pretty cool and honest to me. Anyway, about a month ago, I was there and i remember a guy asking the officer y his imported car performance/components parts got tax. Is that u?

+Quote Post
nabelon
post Nov 25 2006, 02:49 AM

My Fight, My Freedom, My Desire

i have a limited amount of money that was set aside so that i could get LOTR:EE,the full pack...but after hearing scary and horrendous things from you guys about the custom i guess i'll pass and just get one from speedy or sumthing...furthermore i dont even have a credit card.What a corrupted hellhole..sigh..

p/s : LOTR thats available at our local retailer aint censored rite ? its not that its full of gore or something..

This post has been edited by nabelon: Nov 25 2006, 02:50 AM
+Quote Post
wiNd
post Nov 25 2006, 02:00 PM

Enough To Fly With You~

Group: VIP

QUOTE(nabelon @ Nov 25 2006, 02:49 AM)
i have a limited amount of money that was set aside so that i could get LOTR:EE,the full pack...but after hearing scary and horrendous things from you guys about the custom i guess i'll pass and just get one from speedy or sumthing...furthermore i dont even have a credit card.What a corrupted hellhole..sigh..

p/s : LOTR thats available at our local retailer aint censored rite ? its not that its full of gore or something..

just make sure u get the Region 1 LOTR EE (should be RM169.90)

no censors...
+Quote Post
nabelon
post Nov 25 2006, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(wiNd @ Nov 25 2006, 02:00 PM)
just make sure u get the Region 1 LOTR EE (should be RM169.90)

no censors...

RM 169.90 for the full trilogy ? or only per movie ?
+Quote Post
sunauto
post Nov 25 2006, 06:50 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>

The LOTR one sold at all Speedy outlets are not censored (100% confirmed) but you if you want to buy it at 11% discount, you can order it through Artist Gallery, Penang or CD Rama (10% discount only). Don't buy from Speedy Videos, they don't give a single discount to you. Just my 2 cents. thumbup.gif

The calculations made by the customs were so badly printed, I dun even know how they have calculated it but I have compared with previous forms, they didn't include shipping fees, some did. I guess they call the shots, you argue with them, they will rampas your stuff. I told DHL and FedEx before but they couldn't do anything, they asked me to go there by myself and talk to the officer after I have fixed every single forms to DHL and FedEx for their reference. Sigh ...... wasting my time, after doing all this and they told they couldn't do anything about it. doh.gif

Anyway, latest updates, I ordered 3 units of my car performance stuff from Japan, street value around RM2600 but didn't get taxed, direct release, there's a direct release sticker on the parcel, shipped by FedEx. I sent it to my friend's place. Everything the same, from the amount ordered, courier used, just that the receiver's name and address is different. My friend stays in Batu Uban and he's a Malay but don't get me wrong here, he is no government official or have any lubang with the customs department, he's just my former colleague. I'm not sure whether the customs are selective in imposing import duties based on the details on the airwaybill or I just got lucky which I think is highly unlikely because I paid taxes all the while for my car performance stuff. Of course, I'll make a second attempt next month, we'll see how it goes. I hope it is not because of what I have in mind or I'll be very disappointed because I'm a Malaysian too like the rest of you here, I hate being treated unfairly. Will keep you guys updated. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(AssKicker @ Nov 24 2006, 04:21 AM)
If ur DVDs get caught and for whatever reason it get tax. It should be 30% + 10% (duty + sales tax) or is it (sales + duty tax). Anyway,
for the 30%, it only calculate base on the actual value of the item whereas for the 10% it includes the value + shipping cost of the item.

It's only per movie, for the whole trilogy, it will be RM169.90 X 3 but if you bought it from CD Rama or other places that give discounts if you're a member, you can expect to save around 10% or 11% the most. tongue.gif

QUOTE(nabelon @ Nov 25 2006, 03:32 PM)
RM 169.90 for the full trilogy ? or only per movie ?

+Quote Post
Leong Dei Prince
post Nov 25 2006, 07:24 PM

i bought da 12 discs DVD LOTR: EE from amazon for just 45 us dollar
and after convert to rm plus da shipment it only cost me around rm190++...btw i bought it last year december 2005 thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
sunauto
post Nov 25 2006, 07:30 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>

Huh so cheap, ar? Christmas sale, izzit?

QUOTE(Leong Dei Prince @ Nov 25 2006, 07:24 PM)
i bought da 12 discs DVD LOTR: EE from amazon for just 45 us dollar
and after convert to rm plus da shipment it only cost me around rm190++...btw i bought it last year december 2005  thumbup.gif

+Quote Post
Leong Dei Prince
post Nov 25 2006, 08:45 PM

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 25 2006, 07:30 PM)
Huh so cheap, ar? Christmas sale, izzit?

i guess so rclxm9.gif
+Quote Post
nabelon
post Nov 25 2006, 09:29 PM

Hmm..is there any way i can order thru amazon without using credit card ? what if i contact my pal who is in the UK to buy it for me using paypal and ship it to me..are they okay with that ? And what would the custom charge for friendly gift such as that ? thanks smile.gif

even though im a malay i would never put an iota of trust on the custom.

This post has been edited by nabelon: Nov 25 2006, 09:30 PM
+Quote Post
sunauto
post Nov 26 2006, 10:08 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>

If you want to use a credit card, you can use bank transfer or cash via insured mail, the only place accepting such payment methods will be Lasersedge, an online store in the US. I bought from them all the time, the owner is Marc Daege. Very reliable but of course, Amazon is selling their dvds a tad cheaper than here. It depends entirely on you. smile.gif

QUOTE(nabelon @ Nov 25 2006, 09:29 PM)
Hmm..is there any way i can order thru amazon without using credit card ? what if i contact my pal who is in the UK to buy it for me using paypal and ship it to me..are they okay with that ? And what would the custom charge for friendly gift such as that ? thanks smile.gif

+Quote Post
AssKicker
post Nov 28 2006, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 25 2006, 06:50 PM)

Anyway, latest updates, I ordered 3 units of my car performance stuff from Japan, street value around RM2600 but didn't get taxed, direct release, there's a direct release sticker on the parcel, shipped by FedEx. I sent it to my friend's place. Everything the same, from the amount ordered, courier used, just that the receiver's name and address is different. My friend stays in Batu Uban and he's a Malay but don't get me wrong here, he is no government official or have any lubang with the customs department, he's just my former colleague.

RM2.6k and no tax?!?! Lucky b@st@rd. Did u actually declare the value of item as RM2.6K?

QUOTE(nabelon @ Nov 25 2006, 09:29 PM)

It doesn't matter who send u the item whether ur friend or directly from amazon. U'll be tax, unless the item is less than RM500 including shipping and the shipping method must be either DHL or FedEx. If u're thinking of buying books, then u're save, if I'm not mistaken, books, application s/w and computer parts r tax exempted (I might be wrong though, but I'm 80% books r tax free). Anyway, as far as I know, Penang customs office r pretty honest, would say u're pretty safe.

This post has been edited by AssKicker: Nov 28 2006, 10:19 PM
+Quote Post
noisetrigger
post Nov 28 2006, 10:39 PM

Items marked as gift will not be taxed.
+Quote Post
sunauto
post Nov 28 2006, 11:30 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>

Hi Bro,

It's RM2600K, the Japanese doesn't under declare for us here, it's against their law. If I'm luck the second time, then I'll use my friend's address. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(AssKicker @ Nov 28 2006, 10:19 PM)
RM2.6k and no tax?!?! Lucky b@st@rd. Did u actually declare the value of item as RM2.6K?
It doesn't matter who send u the item whether ur friend or directly from amazon. U'll be tax, unless the item is less than RM500 including shipping and the shipping method must be either DHL or FedEx. If u're thinking of buying books, then u're save, if I'm not mistaken, books, application s/w and computer parts r tax exempted (I might be wrong though, but I'm 80% books r tax free). Anyway, as far as I know, Penang customs office r pretty honest, would say u're pretty safe.

+Quote Post
netfan
post Dec 5 2006, 09:51 AM

Group: Elite

FYI. I am in US and have sent several DVDs packages to relatives and friends in Malaysia using regular US Postal Airmail. I've marked as Gifts and I have included receipts as well (for which I have already paid local GST where it came from). None of them are taxed what so ever. All my items are under US$100. Hopefully, this info helps!

This post has been edited by netfan: Dec 5 2006, 09:52 AM
+Quote Post

18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 09:40 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)