Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
44 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> ~Camcorder Thread~, All Brands - DV, DVD or HDD

C-Fu
post Jul 14 2009, 10:06 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #701

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

got lah. camcorderinfo.com is a good one, videomaker also (although its more for professional camcorders) and cnet if you're that desperate biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Shoot@M3
post Jul 14 2009, 08:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #702

=|| elf ||=

Group: Senior Member

Hi all, I'm planning to get a camcorder and looking at the memory card ones. Are those good? I'm not really sure what's the use of HD but right now I'm confused with camcorder vs movie recording in the point and shoot camera. Which are better? Can someone give advice on this cos I'm new to movie recording and would like to learn more. I'm now looking at the panasonic SDR-26

TIA
+Quote Post
Masculine
post Jul 18 2009, 12:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #703

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jul 14 2009, 08:17 PM)
Hi all, I'm planning to get a camcorder and looking at the memory card ones. Are those good? I'm not really sure what's the use of HD but right now I'm confused with camcorder vs movie recording in the point and shoot camera. Which are better? Can someone give advice on this cos I'm new to movie recording and would like to learn more. I'm now looking at the panasonic SDR-26

TIA

I just bought Panasonic HDC-TM300. My main requirement was full HD and only solid state storage.

I'm a newbie myself so take my answer with caution. I like HD. I have LCD TV, and HD just blow away standard definition (SD) in term of video quality. There is so much detail. Bad things about HD is that it is a new format. So playback can become an issue. It uses mts file extension. Then, editing might become an issue too. mts file is soooo heavy... so need high powered PC. My Dell laptop with core2duo processor with 3GB RAM is also struggling using ulead x2 pro editing software. Rendering will take hours. For SD editing, it is just a breeze.

Reason I like memory card. SD card is too damn cheap nowadays. With 16GB only RM140. It can record 3 hours of HD recording if not mistaken. The most important thing for me is no moving mechanical parts. Without it, no extra power to move mechanical parts means better battery life and less wear and tear in the long run.

Happy hunting sweat.gif
+Quote Post
ozak
post Jul 18 2009, 12:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #704

QUOTE(Masculine @ Jul 18 2009, 12:35 PM)
I just bought Panasonic HDC-TM300.  My main requirement was full HD and only solid state storage.

I'm a newbie myself so take my answer with caution.  I like HD.  I have LCD TV, and HD just blow away standard definition (SD) in term of video quality.  There is so much detail.  Bad things about HD is that it is a new format.  So playback can become an issue. It uses mts file extension.  Then, editing might become an issue too.  mts file is soooo heavy... so need high powered PC.  My Dell laptop with core2duo processor with 3GB RAM is also struggling using ulead x2 pro editing software.  Rendering will take hours.  For SD editing, it is just a breeze.

Reason I like memory card.  SD card is too damn cheap nowadays.  With 16GB only RM140.  It can record 3 hours of HD recording if not mistaken.  The most important thing for me is no moving mechanical parts.  Without it, no extra power to move mechanical parts means better battery life and less wear and tear in the long run.

Happy hunting sweat.gif

How long the battery can last? 16gb 3hr recording and cost rm140 is not cheap. A similiar 1hr DV tape cost less than RM20. With rm140, DV tape can record 7hr with 7tape.
+Quote Post
C-Fu
post Jul 18 2009, 01:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #705

but one time only! or few times, if you're stingy biggrin.gif
dv cams are SD, unless you go for HDV lah. still the best HD format ever, IMO. software support is excellent, not heavy at all, colours dem good, and 5 6 years and running. my HDV cam also dah 4 tahun, still better than most new consumer cams biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by C-Fu: Jul 18 2009, 01:32 PM
+Quote Post
-kytz-
post Jul 18 2009, 01:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #706

Banned

I just bought Panasonic HDC-TM300.  My main requirement was full HD and only solid state storage.

I'm a newbie myself so take my answer with caution.  I like HD.  I have LCD TV, and HD just blow away standard definition (SD) in term of video quality.  There is so much detail.  Bad things about HD is that it is a new format.  So playback can become an issue. It uses mts file extension.  Then, editing might become an issue too.  mts file is soooo heavy... so need high powered PC.  My Dell laptop with core2duo processor with 3GB RAM is also struggling using ulead x2 pro editing software.  Rendering will take hours.  For SD editing, it is just a breeze.

Reason I like memory card.  SD card is too damn cheap nowadays.  With 16GB only RM140.  It can record 3 hours of HD recording if not mistaken.  The most important thing for me is no moving mechanical parts.  Without it, no extra power to move mechanical parts means better battery life and less wear and tear in the long run.

Happy hunting sweat.gif

Yours definitely AVCHD right?I guess HDV's getting old huh but still widely supported and editable by many pcs.

Added on July 18, 2009, 1:42 pm
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jul 18 2009, 01:27 PM)
dv cams are SD, unless you go for HDV lah. still the best HD format ever, IMO. software support is excellent, not heavy at all, colours dem good, and 5 6 years and running. my HDV cam also dah 4 tahun, still better than most new consumer cams biggrin.gif

How much ur cam? brows.gif Btw, are you a pro-videographer?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 18 2009, 01:42 PM
+Quote Post
ozak
post Jul 18 2009, 02:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #707

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jul 18 2009, 01:27 PM)

Yes, I mean HDV. Still the best. I using DV tape about 4-5x. stingy abit. He...
+Quote Post
Masculine
post Jul 18 2009, 02:41 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #708

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 18 2009, 02:37 PM)
Yes, I mean HDV. Still the best. I using DV tape about 4-5x. stingy abit. He...

My previous cam of 9 years is Digital8 cam. Uses 8mm tape. Problem is I hate uploading video (capture) from tape to PC... as a result, still got uncaptured videos in tapes....

You are stingy... I'm lazy doh.gif
+Quote Post
ozak
post Jul 18 2009, 02:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #709

QUOTE(Masculine @ Jul 18 2009, 02:41 PM)
My previous cam of 9 years is Digital8 cam.  Uses 8mm tape.  Problem is I hate uploading video (capture) from tape to PC... as a result, still got uncaptured videos in tapes.... 

You are stingy... I'm lazy doh.gif

I m more worst than you. My Hi8 cam spoil long long time liau. But I still got Hi8 tape video haven't transfer out. And now alot of DV tape lying around still haven't transfer. stingy + lazy.
+Quote Post
Masculine
post Jul 18 2009, 09:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #710

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 18 2009, 02:48 PM)
I m more worst than you. My Hi8 cam spoil long long time liau. But I still got Hi8 tape video haven't transfer out. And now alot of DV tape lying around still haven't transfer. stingy + lazy.

as the technology pushes us forward, we embrace it with the thought of making our task easier... but why am I keep buying more hardisk to store my clips doh.gif
next year, there will be many hardisk laying around... laugh.gif laugh.gif
+Quote Post
vertigoblack
post Jul 19 2009, 01:04 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #711

hey everyone.
was thinking of getting me a camcorder, mainly for use for some major video editing & visual effects. plan to experiment on shaky shots, maybe green screen, and slow motion (like the Transformers shot where Ironhide somersaults over the screaming gal in slow mo, epic!!)

so i probably need a cam with a high frame rate capture function too. 60fps boleh ah? i'm a noob in video shooting, more into post-production. and my budget, no more than 2.5k.
+Quote Post
Vazart
post Jul 20 2009, 03:31 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #712

Group: New Member

wow..GREAT now that i found this thread i totally forgot my camcoder's name.
+Quote Post
C-Fu
post Jul 20 2009, 09:37 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #713

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 18 2009, 03:39 PM)
How much ur cam? brows.gif Btw, are you a pro-videographer?

i buat tv production tongue.gif
+Quote Post
gaijin
post Jul 20 2009, 11:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #714

Congrats on new toy.

Regarding your file extension... mts. That's bluray files isn't it? So if got a bluray player (hardware/software), can just play directly right? No need conversion or rendering etc?

Why are you rendering?

Are you sure 16gb can record 3 hours HD ? Maybe you are referring to <1080p?

Happy hunting sweat.gif

+Quote Post
lonetitans
post Jul 21 2009, 01:38 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #715

considering between panasonic sdr-s26 and sanyo vpc-cg10.. any advice? only have that budget range. thx
+Quote Post
C-Fu
post Jul 22 2009, 01:04 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #716

sanyo tarak optical zoom, pana ada 70x. bateri lagi kicik, audio kureng cun. but sanyo ada HD lah.

i would get the pana. AND 2nd BIGGER BATTERY PLEASE.

QUOTE(gaijin @ Jul 20 2009, 01:25 PM)
Regarding your file extension... mts. That's bluray files isn't it? So if got a bluray player (hardware/software), can just play directly right? No need conversion or rendering etc?

mts, m2ts, m2t (i think), modd, moff, are all bluray player readable straight away, no need to render if u burn it as data into dvd disc or bluray disc. unless of course u do editing, in which case u need to render/combine the clips lah.

+Quote Post
SpaceBeast
post Jul 22 2009, 11:20 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #717

Hi guys, I need a camcorder price ranging from 1k to 2.5k, it doesnt have to be full hd but i want crystal clear pics and the lcd which is displaying must not be affected by the sunlights while outdoors, preferably hdd storage that comes with an sd slot or memory stick, GUI friendly, for research/expedition/going into the wild purposes .

Thank you very much in advance notworthy.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Blast_Cyrus
post Jul 22 2009, 05:45 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #718

am thinking to get a sanyo cg10 camcorder, any user here can give suggestion?
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
flight
post Jul 22 2009, 07:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #719

gone through www.camcorderinfo.com and checked out some of the camcorders over there, one of the issues im worried about is whether i can actually get the camcorder that i choose in Malaysia.

can anyone point me somewhere? My budget is about 2k and its for family outings.
+Quote Post
C-Fu
post Jul 23 2009, 01:14 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #720

an excellent guide for buying/choosing a new camera. among the points:
http://www.videomaker.com/article/14222/3/

1. Why upgrade?

Possibly the most important question you must ask yourself is, "What's wrong with my current camcorder?" Unless you can answer this question, with specifics, you might be wasting your money. Sit down and list the specific limitations of your current setup - is it low-light performance? Is the lens not wide enough? Is the autofocus too slow? Is it difficult to edit? Be wary of marketing hype -- "my current camcorder doesn't have image stabilization" isn't a reason to upgrade, while "my video suffers from camera shake" is a reason, and a camera with image stabilization might be the answer.

6. How's the battery life? How much are extra batteries?

You don't ever want to be at a critical point in shooting and have the Battery Low indicator flash - it creates a dreadful feeling in the pit of your stomach. Likewise, you don't want to be an electrical socket nomad, moving from outlet to outlet, eyes always alert for a new source of power like a shivering drug user trying to dry out. Be sure to compare battery life on your camcorders and see how much extra batteries cost. At the very least, you should have one extra battery; if you'll often be far from home, you'll want more.
7. What recording media should I be using?

Camcorders record to lots of different media types: Mini DV, DVD, hard drives, CompactFlash, SD and SDHC. While Mini DV is still popular in high-end cameras, lower-end units seem to be trending towards non-volatile media, solid-state cards and built-in memory that will then be transferred to some other media for storage. This is the way digital still cameras have worked for years now. On the one hand, it's convenient not to have to worry about tapes, but, on the other, it's easy enough to duck into an electronics store and buy a bunch of videotapes on vacation, while it's more difficult to find a way to dump your built-in memory to a big hard drive to free up space.

9. What resolution is right for me?

Do you want to make movies or upload things to YouTube? Buying and using an HD camera requires some significant resources, from storage space for your video to an editing system that can edit the video to a television that can play it back. Don't buy a camera that's going to sit in a drawer because you don't have the resources to operate it. At the same time, don't buy a camera that's underpowered for your needs. Think ahead of time if you'll be editing and distributing video in HD.
+Quote Post

44 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 12:51 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)