Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Home Networking Guide [REVISED]

petrading
post Mar 20 2007, 03:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #81

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

I just wanna ask, should my router default gateway the same as in TCP/IP???
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lencent
post Mar 23 2007, 07:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #82

weee... A300 FTW :P

Group: Senior Member

when i plug in my PCI network card(unknown age), it shows tat it has limited connectivity... wat should i do to solve this problem??
+Quote Post
azmieza
post Mar 31 2007, 08:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #83

hallu... actually i just bought router from lowyat.... 4 port.... netgear.. just router...

so the problem here is.. the instruction here so complicated la.. i dont understand.. hehe

ok la.. for now, i'll do wat i know la.... if anything goes wrong, i'll ask the expert here....

Added on April 1, 2007, 1:21 amu all know wat? i take about 3 hours to install n setup the router to connect to the internet.. but the second problem here is, how other computer to connect the internet using this router? i confuse la... gieve me just a simple instruction la... please.....

This post has been edited by azmieza: Apr 1 2007, 01:21 AM
+Quote Post
afs
post Apr 8 2007, 12:03 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #84

I just bought the level one wireless router today to connect with my maxis wbb. I have hook up everything but still cud not connect to the internet. Can anyone help me on this?
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
sk41
post Apr 8 2007, 09:13 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #85

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=439235

This post has been edited by sk41: Apr 9 2007, 09:45 AM
+Quote Post
locomotion
post Apr 14 2007, 05:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #86

i try make LAN connect to 3 pcs as clients.. 1 server connect to internet... imagine i hve modem combo router with 3 ports.. do server still need one more Network Card and switch to make LAN so client can connect to internet?

This post has been edited by locomotion: Apr 14 2007, 05:27 PM
+Quote Post
scorps
post Apr 14 2007, 05:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #87

So Close No Matter How Far !!!

QUOTE(locomotion @ Apr 14 2007, 06:26 PM)
i try make LAN connect to 3 pcs as clients.. 1 server connect to internet... imagine i hve modem combo router with 3 ports.. do server still need one more Network Card and switch to make LAN so client can connect to internet?

if u have the modem combo router with 3 ports,
make it to autoconnect,
and then connect all pc to router,

sorry if i'm not understand what do you want to do
+Quote Post
locomotion
post Apr 16 2007, 01:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #88

QUOTE(scorps @ Apr 14 2007, 06:40 PM)
if u have the modem combo router with 3 ports,
make it to autoconnect,
and then connect all pc to router,

sorry if i'm not understand what do you want to do

just trying make small Home LAN.. but no need "switch" and no need another NIC for server.. mean they connect together..

another but different question:
can laptop be a server? my laptop got 1 NIC, and Wireless..
how to setup LAN connect with 2 PC's(client)
+Quote Post
calvin
post Apr 16 2007, 02:12 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #89

Tech Enthusiast

QUOTE(locomotion @ Apr 16 2007, 01:43 PM)
just trying make small Home LAN.. but no need "switch" and no need another NIC for server.. mean they connect together..
another but different question:
can laptop be a server? my laptop got 1 NIC, and Wireless..
how to setup LAN connect with 2 PC's(client)

it can be a server... but do u want to leave ur laptop there forever?
+Quote Post
locomotion
post Apr 16 2007, 11:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #90

QUOTE(calvin @ Apr 16 2007, 03:12 PM)
it can be a server... but do u want to leave ur laptop there forever?

yap.. i got another laptop for travelling..
how to setup small home LAN? tq
+Quote Post
Skylinestar
post Apr 19 2007, 10:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #91

Mega Duck

my friend just bought a LAN network card. after plug into the pci slot and installed the default microsoft driver, there's no light when LAN cable is connected to it from the ADSL modem or router (use straight cable). pc to pc also no light (use cross cable). what's the problem?
+Quote Post
matkereta
post Apr 20 2007, 11:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #92

Group: New Member

dear sifus,
i have aztech 600eu with router, usb & lan connection. i bought new notebook with wifi so i plan to make the modem wireless. my question:
- should i buy new modem router with wifi to replace the 600eu modem or should i buy only wireless router and use with the current modem?if to buy wireless router, does it mean i have to "on" both power supplies for both part?

thanks for the help
+Quote Post
Skylinestar
post Apr 23 2007, 11:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #93

Mega Duck

QUOTE(matkereta @ Apr 20 2007, 11:39 PM)
if to buy wireless router, does it mean i have to "on" both power supplies for both part?

yes. u have to ON the power for both
+Quote Post
shirohamada
post May 4 2007, 04:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #94

so my router kinda suck when it comes to bittorrent connection. already punched holes on the necessary ports, ports are checked and is forwarded properly. but still, connection is kinda crappy.

so, here's the plan.
i got 2 notebooks and 1 desktop. get a pci wifi for desktop and set an adhoc/ICS connection. propably with my desktop as the server, its on and used most of the time.
maybe i could trade with my sister for her laptop and save some electricity, though i already built the machine with power consumption in mind.

and sell that stinking prolink brand router on ebay for cheap or con someone

should i get pci or a usb dongle? i heard some usb dongle heats up.

or should i get a new router? linksys with linux

the adhoc solution is way cheaper, and a sure solution. a router is still cheap but 2-3 times the cost of adhogging
don't want to spend unnecessarily, and use my ps3 funds

oh, speaking of ps3, does it do ad hoc? or i need a router?

the network is just simple web browsing, share videos

yes or no.
other solutions?

//edit

decided to get a nic card for Rm18 and ics it. just turn off router's dhcp server.
i win thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by shirohamada: May 8 2007, 02:13 AM
+Quote Post
Sphenix
post May 8 2007, 11:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #95

Hired........

My current setup:
One regular USB ADSL modem, Two Notebook(with wifi)

my Q is when my notebook-1 connect to the modem whereby the modem only has one USB port, can the notebook-1 share out the internet connection via wifi, so tat my notebook-2 can access internet?
+Quote Post
Skylinestar
post May 9 2007, 06:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #96

Mega Duck

what's the difference between router and switch? i search through the internet (can't remember the website) and the answer is Intelligence. but i still don't understand.
my friend's house has a modem & a switch. 4 PCs are connected to the switch and online to the internet. but no router involve. can any sifu explain?
+Quote Post
lencent
post May 12 2007, 12:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #97

weee... A300 FTW :P

wanan ask do hub(or is it called switch?) will affect BT dl speed anot... as i using a hub and all my BT cant move T.T
+Quote Post
Skylinestar
post May 12 2007, 11:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #98

Mega Duck

hub may seriously affect the speed. but is there any sifu can answer my question up there?

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: May 12 2007, 11:52 PM
+Quote Post
Xefron
post May 17 2007, 02:15 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #99

challenge !!!

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 9 2007, 06:04 PM)
what's the difference between router and switch? i search through the internet (can't remember the website) and the answer is Intelligence. but i still don't understand.
my friend's house has a modem & a switch. 4 PCs are connected to the switch and online to the internet. but no router involve. can any sifu explain?

let just say switch is an expandable or extra LAN port when you're running out on empty port and it provides full speed in theory 10/100/1000Mbps compared to hub where the bandwidth is divided among available port

where as for router,is kinda switch but more intelligent where it can interact more than 1 LAN.Normally it connect between the LAN and WAN.it knows where the data packets going to and from who and send back to its original sender.

your friends are using the ADSL Modem that came up with a routing function.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Skylinestar
post May 17 2007, 06:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #100

Mega Duck

Well, my friend is using he ZTE modem from the streamyx package.
Since a switch is just enough for ICS, then, why so many people buy router when they only have one network of PCs?
+Quote Post

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 03:33 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)