Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Home Networking Guide [REVISED]

Xybirium
post Nov 27 2006, 06:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Nov 27 2006, 10:39 AM)
Thanks for the information!  BTW is it only available to Celcom users? I have a Digi number.

Another question:  Is there a forum concerning printers?  I need to research on which is a good printer to buy.  Any help appreciated. Thanks

Only availabale for Celcom at the moment as they are under TM.

If you plan to buy a printer, it depends on what you mostly use it for. I would go for HP laser printer if I print mostly correspondence.

If most of your printing requires colour, then go ahead with the colour printer but you have to keep the running cost in mind as it is quite high. The colour cartridge for inkjet printers are sometimes more than the actual printer itself.

Maybe other forumers can give their opinion.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cynthusc
post Nov 28 2006, 08:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

Group: Junior Member

Thanks Xybirium. I print mostly black and white docs and in pretty high volume. Can I use recyclable catridges for the HP printer? Can it print A3 paper?

I would really appreciate anyone else's feedback as well as Im planning to buy the printer during the PC fair. Oh yeah I know this is off topic, so perhaps someone could be kind enough to direct me to the correct forum. Many thanks!

+Quote Post
goldfries
post Nov 30 2006, 03:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

not so clever but got 25k++ post!!!

Group: Forum Admin

guys. try to stick with the topic.

this is guide to setup home-networking. smile.gif
+Quote Post
Xybirium
post Nov 30 2006, 09:45 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 30 2006, 03:42 PM)
guys. try to stick with the topic.

this is guide to setup home-networking. smile.gif

Sorry... we just got a little off track. biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
Renovatio
post Dec 3 2006, 06:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

~ Enthusiast low on cash ~

Hi, I am noob in wireless stuff tongue.gif Just bought a WRT54G from PC fair, don't know how to set it up with my original DSL500-G that's a single port modem router.

Any streamyx + WRT54G user, can you paste a general settings for your WRT54G at the setup page, 192.168.1.1, can also email me at myooi@hotmail.com.

Sifu, please help, or show me the settings I should do. Thanks!
+Quote Post
PacManV12
post Dec 3 2006, 08:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

Hi, wondering if this is the right place to post my question. I just setup my wireless connection to streamyx, both my pc & notebook work well. Now, I wish to share the printer (connected to PC via usb, not networking laser printer) among the pc & notebook, is it possible?
+Quote Post
Xybirium
post Dec 3 2006, 11:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(PacManV12 @ Dec 3 2006, 08:57 PM)
Hi, wondering if this is the right place to post my question. I just setup my wireless connection to streamyx, both my pc & notebook work well. Now, I wish to share the printer (connected to PC via usb, not networking laser printer) among the pc & notebook, is it possible?

Please try the website for a good guideline...

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lansrouters...to_xp_share_fix

Hope that is what you are looking for.
+Quote Post
PacManV12
post Dec 5 2006, 05:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

Thanks Xybirium, I'm reading on the article.
+Quote Post
cofin
post Dec 7 2006, 04:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

ok i tried all that i could have done......now my problem is that i can connect to the internet while all my computer is connected to a switch but i cant view others PC in My Network Area. The weird thing is that others can view my PC in My Network Area...how do i fix this problem?? I already try to do the setup but it still doesnt show anything and an error pop up everytime when i click the view workgroup computer (MSHOME is not accessible. The network path is not found)
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
cofin
post Dec 7 2006, 09:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

nevermind on the above problem. I figure it out finally. Its the firewall install in the network.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
hotdog
post Dec 12 2006, 09:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

i need some advise here guys, im staying in a apartment with 6 people. i just wanna connect all our pc together and play LAN games like counterstrike, duwan internet conection just to play LAN games
+Quote Post
Xefron
post Dec 13 2006, 02:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

challenge !!!

u just need a 8 port switch.that's all.
+Quote Post
ekcheah
post Dec 19 2006, 04:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

Dear Sifus,

I am a newbie and need your help on how to configure a basic home networking. My knowledge on networking is still in the infancy stage so please be patient with me. The current situation:

3 desktop PCs and 1 notebook (with wifi) (me, wife and two kids)
Using Streamyx with one line. Currently if we are using internet, we will fight with each other by plugging in one's cable in the modem. So hard to dislodge the user who is using the modem. No choice but to use the internet in odd hours when no one is using damn mahuan.

Proposed project: 2 desktop PCs in the living room, one desktop PC in one of the children's room and my notebook to use in my bedroom or hall.

Present equipment: (1) Aztech ADSL2+4 Port Router and just bought (as advised by sales person (1) Planex 2.4Ghz IEEE 802.11g 108Mbps WLan Broadband Router ( BLW-54SG) and one PCi 2.4GHz IEEE 802.11g 54 Mbps Wireless LAN USB 2.0 Mini Adapter - supposedly for the desktop PC in one of the children's room.

Please assist me in setting up the configuration . Thanks.

ekcheah

+Quote Post
hosty
post Dec 29 2006, 02:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

HEllo,my parents are planning to share the streamyx between my desktop and their laptop.At the moment i'm connected to streamyx by ZTE ZXDSL 831.The laptop is a DELL Inspiron 6400.I would like to set up a wired + wireless network.The desktop is wired and laptop wirelessly.

Edit:
I found the the D-Link 604T thread,think i'll get that one since there's alot of helpful people there if there's any problem.

This post has been edited by hosty: Dec 30 2006, 10:10 AM
+Quote Post
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 9 2007, 11:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

Property of ♥BaBe_hImEsAn♥

a noob question here... sweat.gif
1) IF i got 1 24 port switch, a modem and more than 1 PC... how to share Internet Connection...? use the Proxy connection...?

2) If i want to add a wireless router to the switch... is there a way for the router to go o9...? set to bridge mode...?

sorry but when it comes to networking settings i'm 0.1/100... tongue.gif sweat.gif
+Quote Post
Xefron
post Jan 11 2007, 11:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

challenge !!!

QUOTE(ekcheah @ Dec 19 2006, 04:42 PM)
Dear Sifus,

I am a newbie and  need your help on how to configure a basic home networking. My knowledge on networking is still in the infancy stage so please be patient with me.  The current situation:

3 desktop PCs and 1 notebook (with wifi)  (me, wife and two kids)
Using Streamyx with one line.  Currently if we are using internet, we will fight with each other by plugging in one's cable in the modem. So hard to dislodge the user who is using the modem. No choice but to use the internet in odd hours when no one is using damn mahuan.

Proposed project: 2 desktop PCs in the living room, one desktop PC in one of the children's room and my notebook to use in my bedroom or hall.

Present equipment: (1) Aztech ADSL2+4 Port Router and just bought (as advised by sales person  (1) Planex 2.4Ghz IEEE 802.11g 108Mbps WLan Broadband Router ( BLW-54SG) and one PCi 2.4GHz IEEE 802.11g 54 Mbps Wireless LAN USB 2.0 Mini Adapter - supposedly for the desktop PC in one of the children's room.
Please assist me in setting up the configuration .  Thanks.
ekcheah

set your aztech to do the dialing,IP assigning to PC through DHCP (NAT) and disable the NAT/DHCP function on your Planex.Connect both devices through using the LAN Port,don't use the WAN port.Just configure the password for for your WIFI only.That's all.

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 9 2007, 11:33 AM)
a noob question here... sweat.gif
1) IF i got 1 24 port switch, a modem and more than 1 PC... how to share Internet Connection...? use the Proxy connection...?

2) If i want to add a wireless router to the switch... is there a way for the router to go o9...? set to bridge mode...?

sorry but when it comes to networking settings i'm 0.1/100... tongue.gif  sweat.gif

is your modem come with router function? if it has the router function then just connect it with your switch.to add a wireless access point just connect the a.p to the switch with bridge mode.no dhcp enabled on that device coz your modem has already did that task.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Jan 11 2007, 11:29 PM
+Quote Post
charliemah
post Jan 14 2007, 09:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

Kinda confuse..How do i exactly share 2 comp in 1 router modem?
I'm using Aztech DSL600EU.
+Quote Post
scorps
post Jan 14 2007, 09:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

So Close No Matter How Far !!!

QUOTE(charliemah @ Jan 14 2007, 10:35 AM)
Kinda confuse..How do i exactly share 2 comp in 1 router modem?
I'm using Aztech DSL600EU.

bro that modem have 2 port,
one port for usb connector
one port for ethernet port,

so u can share your bandwith to two computer or more,
if u want more share, u can get the switch
+Quote Post
charliemah
post Jan 14 2007, 09:57 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

QUOTE(scorps @ Jan 14 2007, 09:40 AM)
bro that modem have 2 port,
one port for usb connector
one port for ethernet port,

so u can share your bandwith to two computer or more,
if u want more share, u can get the switch

How much does it cost?
Is there other way to share without using switch?
+Quote Post
scorps
post Jan 14 2007, 10:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

So Close No Matter How Far !!!

QUOTE(charliemah @ Jan 14 2007, 10:57 AM)
How much does it cost?
Is there other way to share without using switch?

bro howw much pc u want to share your bandwidth??
if just two pc, no need to buy a new router or switch,
1 pc using ethernet port and one pc left using usb connector..
+Quote Post

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2009 - 09:26 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)