Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.2, - Size doesn't matter.
| Kopitiam Ops in progress - Trolls be warned. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.2, - Size doesn't matter.
Jul 5 2006, 10:31 AM
kelab kereta banyak raksasa Group: VIP Posts: 14,487 Joined: January 2003 |
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 4 2006, 04:28 PM) Dood...they all use normal ATX psu di..hence the bigger size. The way I look at it, the only downside for cases like these is the comparitive airflow vs a tower and the lack of HDD bays (though a theoratical 3 bays are enough for most folks). So....would you get one? ps: Aopen gaming cube's b1tch fugly. THEY DOO??!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!!?!!!! shite...... QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 4 2006, 06:03 PM) even the SN25P can fit two SATA disks and an optical, why settle with one? |
Jul 5 2006, 11:36 AM
Doom"s here >_<" ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 3,895 Joined: April 2005 From: UK - Coventry |
size does not matter .... but what about performance ??
i had my barebone from Shuttle last time for sc 478...... it served me well until the day i had switch to higher end graphic card.... the mobo and PSU gone after 3 months of using it without much intensive gaming... the same goes for my brother's shuttle ... he had the same problem by running X850XTPE the time... ever since that i would said mATX has better securement as compared to those SFF with custom mobo..... which u can't get any replacement after warranty is due... |
Jul 5 2006, 11:41 AM
nahh shuttles have better performance than the rest of the SFF barebone packages.
in fact, if you don't try to OC it to the max (which is a hard thing to do since they have great OC features and the boards are mighty stable) and basically if you cram lots of hot stuff in, i wouldn't be surprised why it died so quickly. |
Jul 6 2006, 01:23 AM
got hit by a chick, now i can see stars ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,649 Joined: March 2005 |
cut a big hole and chuck a nice 200cfm fan inside. that should solve the heat problem
Jul 6 2006, 09:44 AM
Riding Maria... HARD Group: VIP Posts: 13,147 Joined: January 2003 From: Taipei |
QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 5 2006, 11:36 AM) size does not matter .... but what about performance ?? i had my barebone from Shuttle last time for sc 478...... it served me well until the day i had switch to higher end graphic card.... the mobo and PSU gone after 3 months of using it without much intensive gaming... the same goes for my brother's shuttle ... he had the same problem by running X850XTPE the time... ever since that i would said mATX has better securement as compared to those SFF with custom mobo..... which u can't get any replacement after warranty is due... Yeah buddy... its like matx boards these days are abundant, there's nice cases for it (which in most cases, look better than their ATX counterparts) but reading around the LYN, it still seems that the form factor can't shake off its budget image. Silverstone SG01 Evolution http://www.silverstonetek.com/products-sg01Evolution.htm Silverstone TJ08 <-- Best matx case around I think. http://www.silverstonetek.com/products-tj08.htm Coolermaster Centurion 540 http://www.coolermaster.com/index.php?LT=e...cro%20ATX%20540 QUOTE(kev da man @ Jul 5 2006, 11:41 AM) nahh shuttles have better performance than the rest of the SFF barebone packages. in fact, if you don't try to OC it to the max (which is a hard thing to do since they have great OC features and the boards are mighty stable) and basically if you cram lots of hot stuff in, i wouldn't be surprised why it died so quickly. As you know, Shuttle was doing motherboards and almost went out of business until they started the XPC business... and we used to laugh when ppl use shuttle boards...hahahahha. Of course with XPC, their image is different but did their product actually improve, this part I dunno. |
Jul 6 2006, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 6 2006, 09:44 AM) Yeah buddy... its like matx boards these days are abundant, there's nice cases for it (which in most cases, look better than their ATX counterparts) but reading around the LYN, it still seems that the form factor can't shake off its budget image. As you know, Shuttle was doing motherboards and almost went out of business until they started the XPC business... and we used to laugh when ppl use shuttle boards...hahahahha. Of course with XPC, their image is different but did their product actually improve, this part I dunno. lol even low end shuttles are priced sky high nowadays...the sn25p is still 1.8k and as for their quality - better now, with reliability issues lessening with each model |
Jul 6 2006, 10:06 AM
Riding Maria... HARD Group: VIP Posts: 13,147 Joined: January 2003 From: Taipei |
QUOTE(kev da man @ Jul 6 2006, 09:57 AM) lol even low end shuttles are priced sky high nowadays...the sn25p is still 1.8k and as for their quality - better now, with reliability issues lessening with each model Gua kata matx ler... seems like ppl still think of it as mobos for boring companies and budget systems. Back on Shuttles, they're really killing themselves like that cos they no longer have the market to themselves. There's the mac mini's and Aopen mini's (along with the many others that hasn't launched yet) that's smaller than them..... and the more flexible mATX form factor. They did try to have an entry level product though... SS59G and SK21G selling for around RM600 but the chipsets are just pathetic. |
Jul 6 2006, 06:23 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 15 Joined: September 2005 From: Bangsar, KL |
actually it is more of an expandibility issue
Jul 6 2006, 06:56 PM
- Evil by Nature - ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 4,923 Joined: January 2003 From: Taman Tun, KL |
QUOTE(kev da man @ Jul 5 2006, 10:31 AM) Lol well hey I never found the need for many HDDs since I rarely use up a lot of disk space. Anything I download is burned to DVD except for music which I use daily, so it's fine by me. The HDD is the loudest thing in my rig anyway, so adding another would be a drastic difference. |
Jul 6 2006, 10:20 PM
got hit by a chick, now i can see stars ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,649 Joined: March 2005 |
why is there a need for 2 hard disk? just to play safe if the primary one goes down. you dun want the data to get loss don't you?
Jul 7 2006, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Jul 6 2006, 06:56 PM) Lol well hey I never found the need for many HDDs since I rarely use up a lot of disk space. Anything I download is burned to DVD except for music which I use daily, so it's fine by me. The HDD is the loudest thing in my rig anyway, so adding another would be a drastic difference. I know lar....u got GF di...that's why don't need so many HDD QUOTE(Vervain @ Jul 6 2006, 10:20 PM) why is there a need for 2 hard disk? just to play safe if the primary one goes down. you dun want the data to get loss don't you? Nope.... "media" |
Jul 7 2006, 04:44 PM
- Evil by Nature - ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 4,923 Joined: January 2003 From: Taman Tun, KL |
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 7 2006, 09:53 AM) Bwa ha ha ha! I've been telling this old n00b too much. Back on topic though, I just realized the SN27P2 only uses USB mice/keyboards, which sucks a lil since that will force me to change my keyboard and possibly my MX1000 as well since it has jumping issues on USB which is why I'm using it on PS2. However, the low price of the AM2 mobos are also such that I might just stick to my LianLi. After all, RM410 for a M2N-E is irresistable for someone who doesn't need SLI. |
Jul 9 2006, 07:06 PM
All.night.long. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 656 Joined: January 2003 From: Miri,Sarawak |
guys..where do you get shuttle xpc`s?i cant seem to find a place that sells them..im looking at the sn21g5 in particular
Jul 9 2006, 07:07 PM
Look at all my stars!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 3,361 Joined: January 2003 |
Jul 12 2006, 10:12 AM
Check this out.. Nexus psile.
4mm thick aluminum, mini-itx based case Veli veli high end stuff. http://www.psile.com/index.php?ID=2 ![]() ![]() |
Jul 12 2006, 11:00 AM
Level of Noobness ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,018 Joined: November 2004 From: Equine Park |
OMG!!! this is definitely the nicest SFF casing i eva seen period!!!
er, gez not then. ![]() dem, i like this casing man, This post has been edited by r4ydc24: Jul 12 2006, 11:02 AM |
Jul 12 2006, 12:28 PM
Goodness sniper! That looks sexy!
But.. it's from Nexus, which means it will never see the light of day here in M'sia. Ey dinster/moderno, if you're reading this, it's time to expand your business and pick up more companies to play distributor! |
Jul 12 2006, 01:17 PM
Look at all my stars!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 3,361 Joined: January 2003 |
Damn, interested to get sff casing for m-atx. Nice casing.
Jul 13 2006, 12:41 AM
blah Group: Trade Enforcers Posts: 1,926 Joined: January 2003 From: i miss goatse :( |
any lubangs for slimline slot loading optical drives in taiwan, sniper?
Jul 13 2006, 07:45 AM
Look at me... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,135 Joined: January 2003 From: In front of my LCD |
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 12 2006, 11:12 AM) Check this out.. Nexus psile. 4mm thick aluminum, mini-itx based case Veli veli high end stuff. wonder how much it cost I wanna get one (only if I have money) |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 30th August 2008 - 10:40 AM |