6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Taylor's college, School of hospitality

TSthom_chai
post May 5 2006, 06:37 PM, updated 20y ago

1,830 posts

Can anyone describe what's hospitality? What's the course about? And the future job after graduation? Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
cody99
post May 5 2006, 06:55 PM

734 posts

go Taylor for consultation... i think they will provide u with what u want to know now
TSthom_chai
post May 5 2006, 07:05 PM

1,830 posts

I'm in Sarawak now, so i can't go taylor for consultation. Does anyone have the official website for taylor? I can't seems to find it with google huh.gif
pohchan
post May 5 2006, 07:16 PM

QUOTE(thom_chai @ May 5 2006, 07:05 PM)
I'm in Sarawak now, so i can't go taylor for consultation. Does anyone have the official website for taylor? I can't seems to find it with google huh.gif
http://www.taylors.edu.my/main.php
kyan :)
post May 5 2006, 10:12 PM

SOH
637 posts

go jobstreet find u'll get the better picture of the job scope. hospitality is like hotel job lu. pr must be good. greet customers, serve, carry begs? basicly its service industry. pretty hetic gotta work on weekends n public holis no life. but this job got high demand graduates almost certain to get a job. pay is ok ok lo. depends to ur post. in tis industry experiance is more important than ur degree. for example a person work 5 years in hotel industry with a certificate only is more wanted than a fresh graduate with a hospitality bac degree.
TSthom_chai
post May 6 2006, 07:33 PM

1,830 posts

smile.gif+May 5 2006, 10:12 PM-->
QUOTE(kyan smile.gif @ May 5 2006, 10:12 PM)
go jobstreet find u'll get the better picture of the job scope. hospitality is like hotel job lu. pr must be good. greet customers, serve, carry begs? basicly its service industry. pretty hetic gotta work on weekends n public holis no life. but this job got high demand graduates almost certain to get a job. pay is ok ok lo. depends to ur post. in tis industry experiance is more important than ur degree. for example a person work 5 years in hotel industry with a certificate only is more wanted than a fresh graduate with a hospitality bac degree.
Thanks for the info... thumbup.gif
inotqiqi
post May 7 2006, 11:31 PM

241 posts

Well, currently I'm in TCHT which stands for Taylor's College Of Hospitality and Tourism smile.gif This is my first term, I've learned how to handle 2plates by 1 hand, how to cut vegetables..etc.. quite interesting and quite free actually, no homeworks and so on, but when term 2 u will have A LOT A LOT MORE of assignments and assesments to do :/ u wont regret entering this college because the lecturers are very funny biggrin.gif
juichuan
post Jun 27 2006, 09:42 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ May 5 2006, 06:37 PM)
Can anyone describe what's hospitality? What's the course about? And the future job after graduation? Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
hospitality-tourism, travel, hotel, servicing.

in hotel management-you learn food and beverage (kitchen and restaurant), Housekeeping and front office (Room division).

in tourism management-the world is your class room. You learn about airlines, computer reservation system, bookings for hotels and transportation, doing itinerary and organizing REAL tour (domestic and international). You also learn geography and history & Arts

This two courses have similar subjects- MANAGEMENT (Maths, accountings, management, business, hospitality Law, negotiation)

after graduate, you work in hotel, travel agency, tourism sites, create your own company, event management.. etc
genie
post Jun 28 2006, 04:25 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ May 5 2006, 07:05 PM)
which part of sarawak r u from? taylors has a rep office in Kuching. You may like to give them a call.
ØSK
post Nov 7 2006, 09:53 AM

178 posts

kinda interested in this programme,
bt dunno y when i open d taylors website
only d main page can be displayed....the rest kenot...
anyone encounter this prob?
help me plz...
thx..
orangecake
post Nov 8 2006, 04:06 PM

37 posts

i'm in taylor's studying hospitality too..
what is it that you wanna know about it?
ØSK
post Nov 9 2006, 03:11 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(orangecake @ Nov 8 2006, 04:06 PM)
i'm in taylor's studying hospitality too..
what is it that you wanna know about it?
erm...
wad do u actually study 4 hospitality programme?
study management 1 or sumthin' like tidy up rooms/being a waiter like dat?
ya...
after completing diploma,must study degree in france arr?
den last thing...
fun or not?
haha
thx..
orangecake
post Nov 9 2006, 05:02 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(ØSK @ Nov 9 2006, 03:11 PM)
erm...
wad do u actually study 4 hospitality programme?
study management 1 or sumthin' like tidy up rooms/being a waiter like dat?
ya...
after completing diploma,must study degree in france arr?
den last thing...
fun or not?
haha
thx..
for my first year i studied the basic knowledge of hotel and stuff then my 2nd year i specialized into Food and Beverage (there's 2 specialization now, Rooms/ FnB) there used to be kitchen as well,but now the college has kitchen course on it's own. if you take rooms,you'll learn how to check-in guests,handling complains,tidy room,etc.. then if you take FnB,you'll learn about liquors,beverages and many more lah..
after diploma it's up to you whether you wanna continue higher diploma or not then after that then only you can do your degree.
higher diploma is management la..there's 2 options actually..either you take A or B...A is more towards mangement stuff like marketing,etc...but B is more towards kitchen/restaurant stuff ...
no no no...you don't have to study degree in france..if you study degree,there will be 2 weeks study week in france..it's something like a holiday like dat lah..
ØSK
post Nov 9 2006, 08:08 PM

178 posts

thx so much....
sounds fun...
how long is the duration frm diploma-higher diploma-degree?
n also about how much is d fees....

orangecake
post Nov 9 2006, 10:58 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(ØSK @ Nov 9 2006, 08:08 PM)
thx so much....
sounds fun...
how long is the duration frm diploma-higher diploma-degree?
n also about how much is d fees....
hahaha...it is fun..it's even more fun if you're interested in this course..! icon_rolleyes.gif
all together it takes 4 years..2 years for diploma,1 year higher dip and 1 year degree..

err,the fees ar..for my diploma,i paid around rm 27 k? i'm not sure..i can't remember d... then if you continue higher dip,you'll get discount...cheaper around 1k?i think..i'm not sure lah...
but for degree,i really have no idea..coz i'm in my higher diploma only..hehe.. cool.gif
NIckLJF
post Nov 10 2006, 02:26 PM

Lost Stars
923 posts

Taylor's hopsitality studies seems to be quite fun. I work in LCS (where TCHT) is located and always see the students around there. You should see how they were struggling in the kitchen smile.gif

Hospitality covers a wide area, notlimited to just hotel management and food services. Travel and tourism management is another example of a course. I believe if you are a person who likes to interact and communicate with others, this could be a very suitable field of study for you.

Try to call their number and get more information, although I know phone bills will cost a bomb.

If you have any questions, keep asking. I am sure TCHT students would be glad to help, I am too.(currently working for Taylor's Corp)

Good Luck smile.gif
jones007
post Nov 10 2006, 05:54 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

taylor's hospitallity roxor! thumbup.gif more pratical than theory if u choose F&B.

right orange cake? biggrin.gif
orangecake
post Nov 10 2006, 07:23 PM

37 posts

hahahaha...yes..!!!...
it's really really fun if you take fnb..very challenging at the same time..! rclxm9.gif
Garfie
post Nov 11 2006, 07:57 AM

= Teh Retired Buaya Master =
3,951 posts

just would like to add a OT point here...
from now on we'll be known as TUC

Taylors University College

how i know? been working on my newsletter, the new TUC logo is out already...

NIckLJF
post Nov 11 2006, 02:29 PM

Lost Stars
923 posts

QUOTE(Garfie @ Nov 11 2006, 07:57 AM)
just would like to add a OT point here...
from now on we'll be known as TUC

Taylors University College

how i know? been working on my newsletter, the new TUC logo is out already...

TUC was officially launched during the Annual Dinner last Friday smile.gif

So we are a Uni now!

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:52 PM