Lowyat.NET Forums

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Microsoft WGA Notifications, Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications (FAQ)

Vironia
post Apr 26 2006, 04:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

-- edited. also had to take out my e-mail to avoid being spammed, hope you understand --

Dear LYN members,

Thanks for all your replies! Some of you will be quoted while some not, depending on the space available. I must say, very interesting comments overall. Again, thanks for your effort. And good job finding a workaround to the WGA Notifications in less than a day. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Vironia: Apr 28 2006, 05:59 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shockw@ve
post Apr 28 2006, 04:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

d[-_-]b

Group: VIP

Credit to fariz.

Description of the Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications application
Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications notifies you if a copy of Microsoft Windows XP is not genuine. The notification messages only appear on computers that have failed the Windows Genuine Advantage validation process and that are running a copy of Windows XP that is not genuine. If you are running a validated, genuine copy of Windows XP, you will not receive notification messages.

How to uninstall Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications
You can temporarily disable Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications. To do this, right-click the Notifier icon in the notification area and select Change Notifications Settings. Then, follow the prompts. This will disable the Notification Prompts until a new release of the Notification Update is released.

Taken from Microsoft's Knowledge Base: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/905474/

This post has been edited by shockw@ve: Apr 28 2006, 04:52 PM
+Quote Post
nVidiaFX
post May 3 2006, 08:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

s0hailord WEI YUE MENG!

Group: Senior Member

I've finally able to remove the tag at the startup screen what about the small lil icon at the taskbar? near teh clock?
+Quote Post
techno_fanatics
post May 4 2006, 12:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

-Retired OCers-

the "tapak sulaiman" thingy??
+Quote Post
datto
post May 5 2006, 07:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

a.k.a. datsun turbo

damn i'm identified!!!
what happen if i juz ignore about the genuine thingy?
will they come to my house and shoot me down?

afaik, oem windows cost about RM3XX while the retail version about RM1XXX.
oem is not transferable. once u install and activate in a particular pc, it'll be legal only for that pc. if u uninstall it and install in another pc, it's illegal.
but for retail version, it's transferable. if u dun wan to use in pc A, uninstall it and install it in pc B.
+Quote Post
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
post May 5 2006, 07:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

Just ignore it...all it does is just nag the shit out of you to buy genuine Windows anyways.

Besides shockw@ve above already posted how to disable it "until a new release of the Notification Update is released"
+Quote Post
mervyn
post May 5 2006, 08:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(nVidiaFX @ May 3 2006, 08:36 PM)
I've finally able to remove the tag at the startup screen what about the small lil icon at the taskbar? near teh clock?

u have to change the option by right click the icon, change the settings..HOWEVER chang will onli have it's effect during the next update..be patient lo.. sweat.gif
+Quote Post
joylay83
post May 6 2006, 05:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

erm... does this thing come through windows update??? i haven't receive anything...
+Quote Post
loki
post May 6 2006, 08:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

QUOTE(datto @ May 5 2006, 07:05 PM)
damn i'm identified!!!
what happen if i juz ignore about the genuine thingy?
will they come to my house and shoot me down?

oem is not transferable. once u install and activate in a particular pc, it'll be legal only for that pc. if u uninstall it and install in another pc, it's illegal.
but for retail version, it's transferable. if u dun wan to use in pc A, uninstall it and install it in pc B.

It's transferable as long as its not those from those BIG PC makers eg dell, acer etc etc coz the copy will have their name on it...
+Quote Post
X.E.D
post May 7 2006, 10:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

this will f*ck you up

Geez, MS has to make those people enjoy paying.
I'm grateful that they didn't force you to use dongles.

And TBH, noone uses linux for everyday computing. RM300 is a SMALL price to pay for ease of use. Suckers that can't pay, move on. Use Linux and tell me that XMMS is enjoyable as Winamp 5. biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
montell81
post May 11 2006, 05:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

Hello guys,

I have a question to ask regarding the XP pro product key. If let say i got a new product key and i would like to re-enter onto my eixisting window, do i need to reinstall my window?

Is there a way to enter the new product key without re-installation? Coz i dont want my settings and previously installed application to be overlapped.

Thanks for advice.
+Quote Post
fariz
post May 11 2006, 08:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

Tan Sri F

Group: Staff

QUOTE(montell81 @ May 11 2006, 05:37 PM)
Is there a way to enter the new product key without re-installation? Coz i dont want my settings and previously installed application to be overlapped.

Thanks for advice.

look here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/328874#EZACAAA
+Quote Post
prasys
post May 12 2006, 09:31 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

<3 Bastila

Well if you're not the adventurous type

Check out this application as well. It does exactly the same as what fariz has posted [by Microsoft]. All you have to do is click and run...Thats it

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2745.html
+Quote Post
Ryuki
post May 12 2006, 03:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

Group: New Member

I don't use the auto updates anymore. So i went to disable it then delete the wga.exe(exe i think) from my system.

My question is, will if affect my system in any sort off way?
+Quote Post
epsilon99
post May 13 2006, 12:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

?????

This WGA, in my opinion, for the time being is just a test run to make all Windows user understand there is such thing.

Right now is just warning/warm up stage. That is why it does not do any thing, yet. And MS even tells you how to bypass it.

I believe later on, there will be something, the real one comes out. Like SP3 or new installer program that will check the genuinity of Windows.

Since there will be Vista coming out next year. So most likely there will be the SP3/update that will make XP compatible with Vista software.

And future realease of 3rd party software, will be Vista/Sp3 compatible. If still using SP1/SP2, then cannot upgrade.

This is how I look at Microsoft's strategy.
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post May 14 2006, 09:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

Damn you Anno! Asuka is not dead

Better buy Vista then. The way I see it, as long as Hackers can pirate the Os CD, they will include all the stuff that MS will not give now like IE7 and MS Defender. and for SP3, Pirates will release a windows with built in SP3 like they did with SP2, which by then will already be ignored by the masses of pirated XP users who already bought the pirated Vista Ultimate.

Anyways, even if ppl who use windows mass move to linux, there is no guarentee that this means the end of every problem. Like the article in Tuesdays The Star's InTech pointed out, freeware like FF is not more secure than IE, it's just that script kiddies like to target what the majority use.
+Quote Post
fariz
post May 14 2006, 09:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

Tan Sri F

The WGA has made it to other MS apps now. In the latest WMP11 beta, the installer do a check during the installation.
+Quote Post
Guinea^Pigs
post May 29 2006, 08:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

Group: New Member

QUOTE(datto @ May 5 2006, 08:05 PM)

if i'm using OEM windows and install it into my PC,then my HD spol.I get a new HD and i install the OEM windows in that new HD for my same PC,this count as illegal??and how can i active the windows in the new HD???some1 pls help me T.T
+Quote Post
samurai1337
post May 30 2006, 08:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

vintage

QUOTE(Guinea^Pigs @ May 29 2006, 08:51 PM)
if i'm using OEM windows and install it into my PC,then my HD spol.I get a new HD and i install the OEM windows in that new HD for my same PC,this count as illegal??and how can i active the windows in the new HD???some1 pls help me T.T

It should be considered legal

You can either activate it online or otherwise call Microsoft
+Quote Post
epsilon99
post May 30 2006, 12:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

?????

QUOTE(Guinea^Pigs @ May 29 2006, 08:51 PM)

Just if anyone can confirm.

The OEM XP follows mobo ? I know initially MS only allowed 3 items to be changed before need to be activated again. Then change to 6 items.

Now, only follow mobo ?

Also, I read somewhere that there is 1 file that has activation info in it. If I manage to copy that file out earlier before the hd die. And later on, after installing the new hd, if I copy back the activation file, will it still work ?

Or how about say we ghost the entire hd before hd die and then get an identical hd. Will XP continue or need to reactivate again ?
+Quote Post

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2009 - 04:01 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)