Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
27 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> W32.Rontokbro Worm, updated : removal tools

liyen
post Mar 24 2006, 06:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(eggy @ Mar 24 2006, 05:47 PM)
have u try restart ur pc in the safe mode and runs system restore?  unsure.gif

oh, just restart pc in the safe mode and runs system restore ???

glad to know tat this is working!!

hope it also work for me as well... so many assignment n projects... sad.gif

This post has been edited by liyen: Mar 24 2006, 06:25 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 24 2006, 07:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

Question authority; but, raise your hand 1st

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 24 2006, 06:13 PM)
oh, just restart pc in the safe mode and runs system restore ???

glad to know tat this is working!!

hope it also work for me as well... so many assignment n projects...  sad.gif

im not saying its 100% will worked...
jst give it a try...
after restored ur pc run the full system scan of ur pc... with the updated virus definition of coz...

gud luck thumbup.gif

btw.. what antivirus software ur using?
+Quote Post
liyen
post Mar 24 2006, 08:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

QUOTE(eggy @ Mar 24 2006, 07:42 PM)
im not saying its 100% will worked...
jst give it a try...
after restored ur pc run the full system scan of ur pc... with the updated virus definition of coz...

gud luck  thumbup.gif

btw.. what antivirus software ur using?

i tried to do system restore in safe mode just now..
not working for me...
it said fail to restore...

oh goshhhh... what can i do now?
is there any other solution?

what will happen if i leave it there?
cox planning to format it only after handing up all my projects in April..
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 24 2006, 08:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 24 2006, 08:10 PM)
i tried to do system restore in safe mode just now..
not working for me...
it said fail to restore...

oh goshhhh... what can i do now?
is there any other solution?

what will happen if i leave it there?
cox planning to format it only after handing up all my projects in April..

try with some of the restore point available..
if still failed try plugging ur hd to another computer which has the newest virus definition...
n do a full scan on ur drive.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by eggy: Mar 24 2006, 08:18 PM
+Quote Post
liyen
post Mar 24 2006, 08:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

QUOTE(eggy @ Mar 24 2006, 08:17 PM)
try with some of the restore point available..
if still failed try plugging ur hd to another computer which has the newest virus definition...
n do a full scan on ur drive..  smile.gif

ok... i'll try...

hope either 1 will work la!

thank you!

mmm... i'm using norton antivirus 2006 also~

thinking to change after my problem solved...
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 24 2006, 08:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 24 2006, 08:21 PM)
mmm... i'm using norton antivirus 2006 also~

thinking to change after my problem solved...

i think the 19 th March virus definition from norton can detect and clean the virus...
gud luck anyways thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
liyen
post Mar 24 2006, 10:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(eggy @ Mar 24 2006, 08:38 PM)
i think the 19 th March virus definition from norton can detect and clean the virus...
gud luck anyways  thumbup.gif

hey hey, finally i get to restore to a point!
now in the scanning... using norton 22/03/06 definition...
so far havent detected anything yet...
if after the whole scanning also didnt detected anything, is it ok?
am i safe???

well, i think my pc should ok ddi gua...
cox can go into regedit... launch those programs tat were lock b4 tat..

thanks for ur help!!!!!!!!!!!

thank you so much!!! laugh.gif

mmm... are u going to switch to another antivirus???
wish to listen to ur opinion... laugh.gif
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 24 2006, 11:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 24 2006, 10:21 PM)
hey hey, finally i get to restore to a point!
now in the scanning... using norton 22/03/06 definition...
so far havent detected anything yet...
if after the whole scanning also didnt detected anything, is it ok?
am i safe???

well, i think my pc should ok ddi gua...
cox can go into regedit... launch those programs tat were lock b4 tat..

thanks for ur help!!!!!!!!!!!

thank you so much!!! laugh.gif

u shud search any files left by the virus...
go to document and settings folder..
and search for any application files...
jst type in *.exe at the search area and delete any application files that has the folder icon...

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 24 2006, 10:23 PM)
mmm... are u going to switch to another antivirus???
wish to listen to ur opinion...  laugh.gif

hmm..
im not sure which software is the best...
im currently using the AVG.. smile.gif
+Quote Post
smallz1907
post Mar 25 2006, 12:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

why my northon 2006 cannot detect one?? i'm using the 22/3/06 virus defination... already try doing full scan 3 times but still no virus... i followed the procedure in www.symantec.com for the virus also cannot ?? Why huh ??
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 25 2006, 12:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

QUOTE(smallz1907 @ Mar 25 2006, 12:56 AM)
why my northon 2006 cannot detect one?? i'm using the 22/3/06 virus defination... already try doing full scan 3 times but still no virus... i followed the procedure in www.symantec.com for the virus also cannot ?? Why huh ??

thats what bothering me too..
when my pc got infected my nav have the latest definition...
n after completely remove the virus and go to the symantec sites it shows that the virus had been detected earlier than the virus definition... so i think it shud detect the virus on the first place... but it doesnt sweat.gif

thats y i changed to AVG.. n it works fine until now thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
number8
post Mar 25 2006, 02:10 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

It's Not About The Number, It's About The Position...

i changed to Panda Platinum 2006... works ok... but quite lagging sometimes... maybe bcos of constant updates?
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 25 2006, 02:20 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

QUOTE(number8 @ Mar 25 2006, 02:10 AM)
i changed to Panda Platinum 2006... works ok... but quite lagging sometimes... maybe bcos of constant updates?

not quite sure..
but if it can detect most of the virus nowadays it shud be gud enuf biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
liyen
post Mar 25 2006, 10:42 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

QUOTE(eggy @ Mar 24 2006, 11:28 PM)
u shud search any files left by the virus...
go to document and settings folder..
and search for any application files...
jst type in *.exe at the search area and delete any application files that has the folder icon...
hmm..
im not sure which software is the best...
im currently using the AVG..  smile.gif

yup, i search ddi...
no folder is found in '.exe'

i also remove the schedule that created by brontok in schedule tasks in control panel.

i check the registry also...
all the infected paths disappear ddi...

i should be safe liao... i think...
kekeke...

thank you again...
thanks for being so helpful!!! thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
Nightfalls
post Mar 25 2006, 12:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

PWNED

Brontok Clearance: use some palia palia Antivirus such as BitDefender freeware... Full Scan... then use Antispyware Software such as TrendMicro or Microsoft Antispyware... DONE...

my shifu's experience..
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 25 2006, 01:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 25 2006, 10:42 AM)
yup, i search ddi...
no folder is found in '.exe'

i also remove the schedule that created by brontok in schedule tasks  in control panel.

i check the registry also...
all the infected paths disappear ddi...

i should be safe liao... i think...
kekeke...

thank you again...
thanks for being so helpful!!! thumbup.gif

great to hear that... thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
Imaizumi
post Mar 25 2006, 01:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

What do you think of AVG. Is it good enought to detect all Brontok's variants?
+Quote Post
smallz1907
post Mar 25 2006, 03:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

i changed to AVG form Nav... after i full scan with avg i found 86 infected file while whith Nav no virus detected.
+Quote Post
Kamling
post Mar 25 2006, 03:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

Not KambinG

in my office i use nav2006.. before i install i uninstall all antivirus (do not conect to internet) and i instal NVM2006.. all pc have detect the virus.. after install i run live updated(connect the internet) after finish i scan all driver.. then no more Brontoks on my boss and my staff pc.. that works.
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 25 2006, 05:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

QUOTE(smallz1907 @ Mar 25 2006, 03:35 PM)
i changed to AVG form Nav... after i full scan with avg i found 86 infected file while whith Nav no virus detected.

same here..
i used NAV b4 this and try scanning my friend pendryv which infected with brontok but it didnt detect anything.. eventho the virus definition is up to date but still..... sweat.gif

QUOTE(sheeeng @ Mar 25 2006, 04:02 PM)
Had you tried Avast Anti Virus? It is a very good Anti Virus, IMHO!  rclxms.gif

hmm..
havent try it yet..
some of my friends recommended me to use it... biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
Hungry_Wolf
post Mar 27 2006, 01:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

guys, need help...
my is brontok.N ur solution cant work in my laptop...
restart whenever a removal tool or antivirus run..
it disabled my AVG...
+Quote Post

27 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th November 2009 - 04:27 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)