> W32.Rontokbro Worm, updated : removal tools

eggy
post Mar 19 2006, 10:07 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Question authority; but, raise your hand 1st

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Here are two tools that might help you in cleanning and removing the worm.
All credit goes to sUBs. smile.gif

Newer and updated version of CleanX-II

QUOTE(sUBs @ Apr 2 2006, 07:31 AM)
As promised earlier, here's the removal tool for Brontok. It's usage is pretty straightforward. Please take note of the following points.

• Download the attachment I placed with this post - CleanX
  • Save it on Desktop.
  • Disconnect/unplug the computer from the internet.
  • Save any work which you're doing & close all other programs.
  • If Brontok hasn't totally disabled your security programs yet, kindly disable them now. They might intefere with the tool's working.
  • For Window's XP, please create a new system restore point.

• Go to Start >> Run - type control sysdm.cpl,,4 & press Enter

• Tick on the checkbox - Turn off System Restore on all drives
      • Click Apply

• Turn it back 'On' by unticking the same checkbox & click OK

• Once you have done that, double-click on the file you downloaded & double click the executable within - CleanX.exe (It doesn't require to be run in Safe Mode)
  • You should be greeted by the following message (refer to pic below)
  • Read the message carefully before clicking OK
  • The tool will begin scanning your machine. Because this worm names it's files randomly, I have to place a series of cross-checks/verification processes to ensure that the tool does not remove legitimate files. Depending on the size of your drives, this scan may take several minutes. Please be patient during this period & allow it to complete it's task. 
  • Once it has finished scanning, it will provide a post mortem of it's actions. This is in the form of a log file

This is a sample of what the logfile would look like. It's made up of 2 parts - BEFORE / AFTER.
In the lower portion,  POST RUN ANALYSIS, make sure that no files appear there.

If it looks something like below you will need to run the tool a 2nd time.

If the files remain after a 2nd run, there's no need to run it a 3rd time. We're probably dealing with a variant of Brontok that I didn't have a sample of. In such circumstances, I will require a sample file from the afflicted machine for reseach.
Note:
It has been brought to my attention that some people may experience an error message like the one below. If that happens to you, you shall need to visit this website to download additional files > http://www.tech-forums.net/computer/topic/29806.html

Edit: Updated to ver 6.04.02
Edit: Ver 6.04.03 - discovered a scripting error which caused the removal engine to fail.
Edit: Ver 6.04.04. - This version scans faster & does a better job removing all the files in one go. Does away with the need to reboot.
Edit: Ver 6.04.09 - Updated with more viral signatures & added heuristic scanning to the tool. This ensures that it detects a wider range of Brontok variants. Unless it's creator decides to do a major overhaul of the worm, this tool should disinfect almost all Brontok cases.
Edit: Ver 6.04.11 - Improved heuristics. Less leftover files. Also fixed some bugs

QUOTE(sUBs @ Jun 8 2006, 01:22 AM)
Download this... It works !!

* Download Dr.Web CureIt to the desktop:
ftp://ftp.drweb.com/pub/drweb/cureit/drweb-cureit.exe

• Doubleclick the drweb-cureit.exe file and Allow to run the express scan
  • This will scan the files currently running in memory and when something is found, click the yes button when it asks you if you want to cure it. This is only a short scan.
  • Once the short scan has finished, mark the drives that you want to scan.
  • Select all drives. A red dot shows which drives have been chosen.
  • Click the green arrow at the right, and the scan will start.
  • Click 'Yes to all' if it asks if you want to cure/move the file.
  • When the scan has finished, look if you can click next icon next to the files found: user posted image
  • If so, click it and then click the next icon right below and select Move incurable as you'll see in next image:
    This will move it to the %userprofile%\DoctorWeb\quarantaine-folder if it can't be cured.
  • After selecting, in the Dr.Web CureIt menu on top, click file and choose save report list
  • Save the report to your desktop. The report will be called DrWeb.csv
  • Close Dr.Web Cureit.
  • Reboot your computer!! Because it could be possible that files in use will be moved/deleted during reboot.

This post has been edited by eggy: Jul 28 2006, 06:26 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Turnip
post Mar 19 2006, 10:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

Group: Junior Member

dude...hahaha...same here happens at uitm sri iskandar...well wut i get is dat it disables da folder options where we can find under da tools menu...yea it made me restart when i click on certain objects....u have to end some processes to make it not to restart....wut i do is jus update da symantec anti virus....then scan throughly....(before dat disable some processes like eggy did) then scan troughly...dats all i did....hope it works... smile.gif
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 19 2006, 10:20 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

ahaha...
im from there also lol sweat.gif
what suprised me that my norton antivirus cannot detect it mad.gif

This post has been edited by sUBs: Apr 9 2006, 04:13 PM
+Quote Post
keyz
post Mar 19 2006, 10:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

Freak

Group: Moderator

Nowdays, virus or worm getting smarter la...It can disable AV, firewall, taskmanager, regedit and other program.

Few days back my task manager is disabled, I cannot terminate the process.My Kaspersky, ad-aware didn't detect it.

This post has been edited by sUBs: Apr 9 2006, 04:15 PM
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 19 2006, 10:42 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

QUOTE(keyz @ Mar 19 2006, 10:40 AM)
Nowdays, virus or worm getting smarter la...It can disable AV, firewall, taskmanager, regedit and other program.

Few days back my task manager is disabled, I cannot terminate the process.My Kaspersky, ad-aware didn't detect it.
yeah..
its getting smarter!! mad.gif
last nite it blocked me from xs-ing the internet... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sUBs: Apr 9 2006, 04:15 PM
+Quote Post
Turnip
post Mar 19 2006, 02:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

da virus sucks big time dude....da option folder m8 be disabled by da virus...after dat u cant view ya hidden files....dis are a few dat i found....''kesenjangansosial.exe''....''rakyatkelaparan.exe''.....''yangtercinta.exe''....brontok....blabla....
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 19 2006, 03:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

QUOTE(number8 @ Mar 19 2006, 02:36 PM)
this virus is detected by my panda platinum 2006... goshh, is that bad?
its bad of course...
the better brontok version i think...
like i mentioned, u cant use the hijackthis tool which is very useful in killing the processes.. it will automatically shut it down... sweat.gif
to make it worst ur internet connection became useless... u cant suft the internet..
n it also shuts down any content of the webpage related to the virus... sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 23 2006, 11:58 AM
+Quote Post
number8
post Mar 19 2006, 04:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

It's Not About The Number, It's About The Position...

eggy, when you remove the virus, did your NAV 2006 detect it if when you plug in your thumbdrive?
+Quote Post
ayiesz
post Mar 19 2006, 06:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

Ù©(â—̮̮̃•̃)Û¶ TOMOK Ù©(â—̮̮̃•̃)Û¶

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Mar 19 2006, 06:08 PM)
Any Faster Way To Clean That Virus?
update ur av engine and virus definition. definition only does not work. use the latest version of av. its already 2006, so if still using 2004 releases, there might be some problem.

those indons did this as protest, either to the gov or those who are not supporting their current gov. and now they are back with haze, coming to malaysia soon, like always. kewl neighbour we had.

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 23 2006, 11:56 AM
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 20 2006, 09:55 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

QUOTE(number8 @ Mar 19 2006, 04:27 PM)
eggy, when you remove the virus, did your NAV 2006 detect it if when you plug in your thumbdrive?
when i remove the virus the file that the virus left is the duplicated folder... which has the *.exe extension... i jst scan for the files and delete it all thumbup.gif

the nav 2006 didn detect it and that really suprised me.. since my pc always connected to the net to upadate the virus definition.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Mar 19 2006, 06:08 PM)
Any Faster Way To Clean That Virus?
haha..
yeah.. there is..
jst restart ur pc in safe mode n run the system restore..
i tried it last nyt and it works thumbup.gif

but u must remove the infected files eventho the virus gone already whistling.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 23 2006, 11:58 AM
+Quote Post
gerrard capashen
post Mar 20 2006, 11:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

Quarry Executive

Here, hope it can help..

my friend created it.. but it for var D..
hope it will work.

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 23 2006, 11:57 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  PENAWAR_BRONTOK_VARD.zip ( 621.71k ) Number of downloads: 76388
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 20 2006, 11:37 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

QUOTE(gerrard capashen @ Mar 20 2006, 11:01 AM)
Here, hope it can help..
my friend created it.. but it for var D..
hope it will work.
im not sure if it will works...
i have some brontok cleaner oso n works jst fine b4 this..
but when i try to use it with this U@mm type brontok its jst useless sweat.gif

i dunno bout this one..
if someone had tried it with the U@mm pls share thumbup.gif

+Quote Post
aaronlbs
post Mar 20 2006, 01:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

just download the norton antivirus 2006 shareware
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Norton_AntiVirus_2006_d4697.html

Norton Virus Definitions - [2006-03-19]
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Norton_Virus_Def...ions_d3995.html

it can remove/detect W32.Rontokbro.U@mm with latest definitions

+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 20 2006, 03:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

QUOTE(aaronlbs @ Mar 20 2006, 01:03 PM)
just download the norton antivirus 2006 shareware
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Norton_AntiVirus_2006_d4697.html

Norton Virus Definitions - [2006-03-19]
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Norton_Virus_Def...ions_d3995.html

it can remove/detect  W32.Rontokbro.U@mm with latest definitions
nice thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 23 2006, 11:56 AM
+Quote Post
DjiNn
post Mar 24 2006, 03:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~

Group: Store Representative

I try to kill the process Csrss.exe in safe mode. but my computer restart itself in safe mode sweat.gif

now my firefox and internet explorer randomly crashes.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by DjiNn: Mar 24 2006, 04:00 PM
+Quote Post
liyen
post Mar 24 2006, 04:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

eggy,

i have brontok also~ cry.gif
have u found the solution for it?
+Quote Post
number8
post Mar 24 2006, 05:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

It's Not About The Number, It's About The Position...

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 24 2006, 04:34 PM)
eggy,

i have brontok also~  cry.gif
have u found the solution for it?

dudette, try reading the whole thread... whistling.gif
+Quote Post
louyeh
post Mar 24 2006, 05:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

AdAware should detect the following changes to the Registry:
HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System,DisableRegistryTools

HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System,DisableCMD

HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer,NoFolderOptions

from here one can easily remove the virus from the system completely.
+Quote Post
liyen
post Mar 24 2006, 05:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

QUOTE(number8 @ Mar 24 2006, 05:03 PM)
dudette, try reading the whole thread...  whistling.gif

oh, sure i read through...

but it seems no solution is working still...

cry.gif
+Quote Post
eggy
post Mar 24 2006, 05:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 24 2006, 05:16 PM)

but it seems no  solution is working still...

cry.gif

yeah..
i got it fixed thumbup.gif

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Mar 24 2006, 03:58 PM)
I try to kill the process Csrss.exe in safe mode. but my computer restart itself in safe mode sweat.gif

now my firefox and internet explorer randomly crashes.. sweat.gif

owh..
how did u xs the task manager?
or are u using any other tools to xs the processes thats ur pc runs?

sometimes the virus will auto-restart ur pc if u typed msconfig, regedit at the run prompt unsure.gif

QUOTE(liyen @ Mar 24 2006, 05:16 PM)

but it seems no  solution is working still...

cry.gif

have u try restart ur pc in the safe mode and runs system restore? unsure.gif
+Quote Post

27 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th July 2009 - 04:17 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~looking for Mikaela~)