Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
18 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Currency exchange (Travel)

stimix
post Sep 17 2009, 11:49 AM

GPS & MTB LIAO
Travel & Living

Group: Moderator
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Probably you need to be a money changer or a bank operator b4 u can deal direct wth Bank Negara...
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ldhong
post Sep 17 2009, 09:53 PM

Group: Junior Member

juz wanna ask if use Credit card in other countries...How it was calculated? The rate of the bank or what?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post
reef_d
post Sep 18 2009, 05:36 AM

exchange rate of the bank.. no other charges..
+Quote Post
fencheong
post Sep 21 2009, 01:35 PM

Group: New Member

recently korean won and singapore dollar increase many .. scary me ...
+Quote Post
prospeed_ballz
post Sep 27 2009, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(fencheong @ Sep 21 2009, 01:35 PM)
recently korean won and singapore dollar increase many .. scary me ...

the singapore dollar whats the rate now.......?.....and whats the lowest rate......?
might be going to singapore this december and need to know th rates........
+Quote Post
cchiuyi
post Oct 6 2009, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(reef_d @ Sep 18 2009, 05:36 AM)
exchange rate of the bank.. no other charges..

the rate is determined by via/master network not of the bank since the transaction is done in their network.
it was mentioned in the first few pages in this thread.
+Quote Post
joeylny
post Nov 6 2009, 11:39 AM

EXCHANGE RATES

Wawasan Sentosa Holdings (M) Sdn Bhd
Pengurup Wang Berlesen / Licensed Money Changer

DATE : 6 / 11 / 2009
Unit
Currency We Buy We Sell
1 US DOLLAR 3.400000 3.415000
1 GREAT BRITAIN POUND 5.640000 5.690000
1 SINGAPORE DOLLAR 2.440000 2.450000
1000 JAPANESE YEN 37.40000 37.90000
100 HONG KONG DOLLAR 44.00000 44.50000
1 AUSTRALIAN DOLLAR 3.080000 3.100000
100 THAI BHAT 10.30000 10.40000
1 Juta INDONESIAN RUPIAH 360.0000 363.0000
100 INDIAN RUPEES 7.300000 7.550000
100 PHILIPPINE PESO 7.200000 7.500000
1 NEW ZEALAND DOLLAR 2.450000 2.550000
100 CHINESE RMB 50.50000 50.80000
100 NEW TAIWAN DOLLAR 10.80000 10.95000
1 SWISS FRANC 3.320000 3.360000
100 SAUDI ARABIA RIYAL 90.0000 91.50000
1 EURO 5.040000 5.07000
1 CANADIAN DOLLAR 3.17 3.210000
1000 KOREAN WON 2.850000 2.990000
+Quote Post
erxier
post Nov 8 2009, 11:40 AM

Group: Senior Member

would like to ask which currency catch higher/better rate if i would like change my currency in sg? definitely not RM tongue.gif
+Quote Post
TryX
post Nov 8 2009, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(erxier @ Nov 8 2009, 11:40 AM)
would like to ask which currency catch higher/better rate if i would like change my currency in sg? definitely not RM  tongue.gif

What about RMB (China Money)
+Quote Post
arjunawong
post Nov 8 2009, 06:08 PM

normally i change my currency in KL plaza...marabakh...quite good rate
+Quote Post
f4tE
post Nov 9 2009, 11:57 AM

Im planning a trip to HK with my friends. Is it better to change my yen to HK dollar or RM to HK dollar? WHich way will i get better value?

+Quote Post
stimix
post Nov 9 2009, 12:41 PM

GPS & MTB LIAO
Travel & Living

Depending, just do some research by googling current market rate & comnpoare wth wawasasn sentosa mioney changer rate..(As posted by joeylyn)...if rate bad, just change in HK. using yen.

Just like Taiwan, vietnamese dong & peso Phillipine..Not worth changing in malaysia bcos rate so bad...easier to change 1st to US$ & thereafter change at the respective country...(Not all hor...)
+Quote Post
f4tE
post Nov 9 2009, 12:49 PM

but the rate shown in internet will not be same as the rate when i change at the mney changer right?

SHould i check the bank selling rate as reference?
+Quote Post
moody5
post Nov 9 2009, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(f4tE @ Nov 9 2009, 12:49 PM)
but the rate shown in internet will not be same as the rate when i change at the mney changer right?

SHould i check the bank selling rate as reference?

bank selling rates are always much higher than those money changer!
+Quote Post
stimix
post Nov 9 2009, 12:59 PM

GPS & MTB LIAO
Travel & Living

agak-agak only-lah..money changer for sure need to survive via commission but sometime dsue to lack of demand on certain currency, the commission here in Malaysia really siao-siao wan...normally i fthye rate too out from market, I will change a bulk of it to USD 1st & thereafter to the country currency when I reached. I only can a smalll amount of ~RM100 to that currency for emergency purposes only.

just do abit of homework...
+Quote Post
f4tE
post Nov 9 2009, 01:26 PM

but if agak agak not accurate then wont be much difference right?

cuz im sure the exchange rates between different country wont differ alot right? maybe rm1 or 2 like dat?
+Quote Post
stimix
post Nov 9 2009, 02:48 PM

GPS & MTB LIAO
Travel & Living

Added on November 9, 2009, 2:48 pmcertain currency that are badly traded in malaysia is not RM1 or RM2 diff.even at RM0.50 diff is also a lot dy if u are converting >RM1,000..for eg..let say avg RM1=USD3.5, but the money changer asking for RM4

if u change RM1000, u lost almost RM40 liao. well if u change RNM2000, u lost RM80 & so on...

so it's up to u, certain ppl dun mind the RM40/RM1000 but certainm ppl do...but when u face wth problem for eg...Vietnam dong not all changer wanted to change, and once u find one, the xchange rate diff between market is so huge...I remember RM1=8000 vietnamese dong early last year but getting from money changer here, RM1= 5000 dong..You lost 3000 dong straight away!!

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 9 2009, 02:48 PM
+Quote Post
f4tE
post Nov 9 2009, 03:35 PM

Oh lose so much I dont want. DO you have a trusted website I can look up at the country exchange rate?

I onyl know yahoo currency exchange and bank but I dont know if I really exchange there will be that rate or not. How to compare?

sorry i noob at this sad.gif
+Quote Post
moody5
post Nov 9 2009, 05:19 PM

walk around in sg wang and bb plaza.. bunches of money changers

hahaha then u can compare..

+Quote Post
f4tE
post Nov 9 2009, 05:21 PM

the problem is im in japan. Thats why i thought if change in japan from yen is better or ask my fren change in malaysia better?
+Quote Post

18 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 07:29 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)