Y580/Y480/N56 Battlefield, Y480 3630QM+GT650m=2599, Y580 FHD 3630QM+GTX660m=2999,white, Win8

bashlyner
post Jul 11 2012, 11:53 PM

200 posts

Borrowed my friend's HDD caddy case and move my HDD to DVD rom there, after one hour of programming the temperature still 40 C rclxms.gif

Added on July 12, 2012, 12:25 am
QUOTE(BlueBaby @ Jul 11 2012, 02:38 PM)
Core i7-3610QM
4GB RAM
Nvidia GT650M
Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD
was gonna get the crucial M4 but the corsair was all that's left in where i stay.
Booting time is about 15-17sec
Your boot time is awesome notworthy.gif , notice any other significant improvement when using SSD?

I plan to get a SSD soon as well, since I've already move my HDD to DVD rom slot

This post has been edited by bashlyner: Jul 12 2012, 12:26 AM
deepcool0922
post Jul 12 2012, 12:37 AM

705 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Jul 11 2012, 11:53 PM)
Borrowed my friend's HDD caddy case and move my HDD to DVD rom there, after one hour of programming the temperature still 40 C  rclxms.gif

Added on July 12, 2012, 12:25 am

Your boot time is awesome  notworthy.gif , notice any other significant improvement when using SSD?

I plan to get a SSD soon as well, since I've already move my HDD to DVD rom slot
Awesome!! so ur HDD base is empty now? Any benchmark decrease after u move ur HDD to DVD?
bashlyner
post Jul 12 2012, 12:42 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 12 2012, 12:37 AM)
Awesome!! so ur HDD base is empty now? Any benchmark decrease after u move ur HDD to DVD?
Yea is currently empty, plan to get a SSD soon. After get it only will do the benchmark, currently no difference in term of normal usage

This post has been edited by bashlyner: Jul 12 2012, 12:45 AM
deepcool0922
post Jul 12 2012, 12:45 AM

705 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Jul 12 2012, 12:42 AM)
Yea is currently empty, plan to get a SSD soon. After get it only will do the benchmark
see whether got affect your windows experience index score, while ur HDD at DVD.
bashlyner
post Jul 12 2012, 01:00 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 12 2012, 12:45 AM)
see whether got affect your windows experience index score, while ur HDD at DVD.
still the same

deepcool0922
post Jul 12 2012, 01:03 AM

705 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Jul 12 2012, 01:00 AM)
still the same

alright. if not using dvd drive and not going to upgrade SSD. move to DVD base also not bad.
yewMP5
post Jul 12 2012, 01:31 AM

499 posts

I just saw the fullhd version is selling at garrage sell d? Is it truth it's realeased?
lwtw
post Jul 12 2012, 04:45 PM

30 posts

[quote=deepcool0922,Jul 1 2012, 04:21 PM]
dude! you can OC it to be same like GTX660M without any problem. But risk on your own.

Could I ask for help please? Was trying to do some benchmarks and overclocking on the Lenovo 480 but all of them games including FUrmark keeps running off the Intel HD instead of the Nvidia gpu. The only thing that can run on nvidia is the windows experience index.
Have tried using the nvidia control panel (3D settings) to set global settings to use 'high performance nvidia processor'. Also added furmark in the nvidia program settings to use nvidia processor. Also right clicked mouse to launch furmark using nvidia. But it still kept using the HD integrated graphics. gets 7fps in 720p! it says "Open GL renderer Intel HD graphics". Confirmed by GPUz
I am using nvidia driver ver 295.93. If not for this problem the Y480 is a lovely machine.

Help from anyone here greatly appreciated!!
deepcool0922
post Jul 12 2012, 04:58 PM

705 posts

[quote=lwtw,Jul 12 2012, 04:45 PM]
[quote=deepcool0922,Jul 1 2012, 04:21 PM]
dude! you can OC it to be same like GTX660M without any problem. But risk on your own.

Could I ask for help please? Was trying to do some benchmarks and overclocking on the Lenovo 480 but all of them games including FUrmark keeps running off the Intel HD instead of the Nvidia gpu. The only thing that can run on nvidia is the windows experience index.
Have tried using the nvidia control panel (3D settings) to set global settings to use 'high performance nvidia processor'. Also added furmark in the nvidia program settings to use nvidia processor. Also right clicked mouse to launch furmark using nvidia. But it still kept using the HD integrated graphics. gets 7fps in 720p! it says "Open GL renderer Intel HD graphics". Confirmed by GPUz
I am using nvidia driver ver 295.93. If not for this problem the Y480 is a lovely machine.

Help from anyone here greatly appreciated!!

[/quote]

Got this on fire??

ck.chunkeat
post Jul 12 2012, 06:29 PM

Change.
1,322 posts

QUOTE(Noobdao @ Jul 11 2012, 11:38 AM)
Quite fast le....Now i struggling which i want, Y480 or Y580, for me, both are same processor but Y580 has higher graphic card and larger screen size, but the price +++....Dunno which one more affordable le...
y480 cheaper but no fhd,but can get ssd with the cheaper price..
y580 alot more expensive,plus got a blu ray which i definitely will not use but theres fhd..
sweat.gif duno how to choose... rclxub.gif
But looking at how things are,probably will go for the cheaper y480+ssd.

QUOTE(yewMP5 @ Jul 12 2012, 01:31 AM)
I just saw the fullhd version is selling at garrage sell d? Is it truth it's realeased?
Its confirmed by lenovo malaysia in their fb page that they will release y580 fhd around mid july..

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Jul 12 2012, 06:32 PM
skycrawler
post Jul 12 2012, 06:37 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Jul 12 2012, 12:42 AM)
Yea is currently empty, plan to get a SSD soon. After get it only will do the benchmark, currently no difference in term of normal usage
Go for Crucial M4 SSD bro thumbup.gif
lwtw
post Jul 12 2012, 06:43 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 12 2012, 04:58 PM)
Got this on fire??

Yeah, definitely have the rocket symbol there.
all on direct socket power and power plan = lenovo dynamic graphics
But GPU load for nvidia always 0%
deepcool0922
post Jul 12 2012, 06:46 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(lwtw @ Jul 12 2012, 06:43 PM)
Yeah, definitely have the rocket symbol there.
all on direct socket power and power plan = lenovo dynamic graphics
But GPU load for nvidia always 0%
bios setting. switchable graphic.
Sethmaster
post Jul 12 2012, 06:50 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 12 2012, 06:46 PM)
I thought need to press the olympus button onli to change graphics hmm.gif
BlueBaby
post Jul 12 2012, 07:49 PM

187 posts

Question,how do i change from Intel HD4000 to my nvidia GT650M manually?
jonathan_k
post Jul 12 2012, 08:24 PM

224 posts

any idea how to use the webcam? i dl lenovo youcam driver but still cant use.
and does Y480 have ambient light sensor? how to setup?
lwtw
post Jul 12 2012, 10:07 PM

30 posts

[quote=deepcool0922,Jul 12 2012, 06:46 PM]

OK found the problem.
Lenovo Y users kindly take note not to use nvidia 295.93 drivers on the lenovo CD. It disables graphics switching. Use the one on Lenovo website (295.5x)

Added on July 12, 2012, 10:12 pm[quote=BlueBaby,Jul 12 2012, 07:49 PM]
Question,how do i change from Intel HD4000 to my nvidia GT650M manually?

[/quote]

enable switching graphics in BIOS
install nvidia drivers (but NOT 295.93 on the Lenovo CD)
GO to nvidia control settings and set global setting to run high performance nvidia
go to energy managment and set to max (the rocket)
NOTE: this will suck the battery.

Njoy! Really kick ass. Can run ultra settings in Battlefield 3 with no lag and no throttle.

This post has been edited by lwtw: Jul 12 2012, 10:12 PM
TSytlay
post Jul 12 2012, 10:39 PM

1,086 posts

QUOTE(lwtw @ Jul 12 2012, 10:07 PM)
enable switching graphics in BIOS
install nvidia drivers (but NOT 295.93 on the Lenovo CD)
GO to nvidia control settings and set global setting to run high performance nvidia
go to energy managment and set to max (the rocket)
NOTE: this will suck the battery.

Njoy! Really kick ass. Can run ultra settings in Battlefield 3 with no lag and no throttle.
can u post some BF3 screenshot with fps & ur setting, CPUID temp reading. Thanks.
Waiting to see how GT650m OCed to GTX660m... brows.gif

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jul 12 2012, 10:47 PM
Noobdao
post Jul 13 2012, 07:55 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jul 12 2012, 06:29 PM)
y480 cheaper but no fhd,but can get ssd with the cheaper price..
y580 alot more expensive,plus got a blu ray which i definitely will not use but theres fhd..
sweat.gif duno how to choose... rclxub.gif
But looking at how things are,probably will go for the cheaper y480+ssd.
Its confirmed by lenovo malaysia in their fb page that they will release y580 fhd around mid july..
I want to ask is if I buy Y480 with DOS, and if u added with SSD, how would u config with it?Is it just like what u do previous which is format desktop, the step is it the same???
ck.chunkeat
post Jul 13 2012, 12:33 PM

Change.
1,322 posts

QUOTE(Noobdao @ Jul 13 2012, 07:55 AM)
I want to ask is if I buy Y480 with DOS, and if u added with SSD, how would u config with it?Is it just like what u do previous which is format desktop, the step is it the same???
that im not sure..gona ask the sifus here.. tongue.gif

52 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:24 PM