130 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

Termibait
post Aug 22 2012, 06:32 PM

71 posts

Never mention the reason of cause of breaking down. Totally stalled or what.
Really need to know why.
SKYjack
post Aug 22 2012, 06:37 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 22 2012, 06:13 PM)
I can only say its all depends on luck. Ever heard some other brands also have certain bad luck customer that have got a low quality check.
Just a lucky one is that so far those 408 users in this forum have not been experienced that bad so far~
No matter what brand of car you are buying, its all depends on luck!
I agree with bro fcheong this guy was unlucky to endup with a lemon. This is possible with any manufacture. Don't judge the 408 by this one owner. What about the 25 owners in this forum. None of us, turbo or NA, have complained of any engine problem. All of us have only praise for it.
Another point is that he does not say what the problem is.After so many visits to the SC he still does not seem to know the nature of his problem. This story does not sit well with me! I would take this message with a pinch of salt!
HaszAhmad
post Aug 22 2012, 06:41 PM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

Today, I went to Glenmarie Shah Alam Showroom to test the 408 2 litre model which i have drooled about for quite some time. I came with high hopes. And as i stepped into the showroom, I was truly amazed at the stunning beauty of the 408. Of course its pretty subjective but i think its more classy then the 308 turbo and u really need to be close to the 408 to realise what a beautiful car it is. Nevertheless I got a chance to test drive the 2 litre car. I wasnt interested in the turbo 1.6 since all i was interested was booking the 2 litre there and then.

20 minutes later. I completed the test drive and came out pretty satisfied with MIXED feelings.

Here is why

The good
The insulation is excellent. The interior is enough to make you feel luxurious. The seating position, arm rest and for a 1.8m , 90kg man, I felt pretty comfortable with lots of space left for legroom and rear seats as well. Boot space is really really impressive. The drive, I can say is pretty much comparable if not better then VW Jetta . Even the accords, sonatas and camry I'm used to driving won't hold a candle to this (But then again thats my point of view). The handling, the ride, its responsive. The engine I don't feel underpowered. The pickup is ample, not too heavy but not too spirited perhaps like the 1.6 turbo. The pocket space like glove box and compartments are not huge but practical and plenty. Trust me although the model i tested was a 2 litre model with fabric interior, it does feel plush and luxurious with clean interior and not too over the top gadgets, whistle and bells on the dashboard.

The Bad
Although the sterring is responsive, i think it is TOO light. In fact, i think it is very light. I can only imagine long distance drive and/or slippery roads where u can doze off for a mere second, you mite lose course over your sterring and mite end up either in the gutters or the dividers. I dont find the sterring very reassuring nor steady when gripping it. The audio has enough bass but the treble is too shrilling. Maybe can be redone via its radio settings, but perhaps this is due to the 4speakers + 2twitters. But it sorely lacks the mid level range. No bodykits nor additional HU units available for add ons. It takes quite a while to understand its reverse sensor thingy system on the display unit with its 1-2-3-4 bar indicators..PFFTTTT...i mite just crash and the bar might be too late to appear!. But here are some major points why i came out with mixed feelings (or maybe my expectations were too high icon_question.gif ).....

1) Timing Belt is used instead of timing chain.

2) The maintainence cost intervals, estimated are as follows (as per quoted by sales person) :-
10,000km = 400rm
20,000km = 400rm
30,000km = 400rm
40,000km = 600rm
50,000km = 400rm
60,000km = 1500rm
subsequent 10,000km = 400rm
100,000km = 600rm
120,000km = 1500rm
And u need to maintain this maintainence within Peugeot service center to enjoy its 5yrs warranty.

I've looked at the service warranty items being done for every interval. But I won't comment on the charges. That i leave it up to the readers to evaluate smile.gif

What does the 5 year warranty cover? Engine, Aircon, Electronics (which means dont mod your HU or it'll void), anything that is not wear and tear.
Suspension is of limited 1 year warranty.

3) Although peugeot is of local assembly (with its QC intact done by PEugeot themselves), the parts are imported. The price may vary due to the exchange rate conversion. And parts availability may vary as well!! (And i thought my aunt was joking when she said her 308ti had to wait 4 months to get her ravaged bumper replaced!!)

4) Oh this may be insignificant. insurance renewal and road tax for this car once it expires may cost around 3150rm. But I guess its parallel to the car you drive smile.gif

Verdict : Sure the spaciousness, luxury, continental-machismo, french romantic gut or whatever u call it comes together in the package, ribboned nicely under the 110,000rm pricetag. Sure you gonna get heads turned and u'll feel good about yourself driving the 408. But in my most frank opinion, you need to derive at the big picture and properly calculate the ownership cost of owning this beauty as it's not cheap to maintain nor service(not to mention, if you can bypass this french logo, you're probably better off getting better value elsewhere of you dont mind going oriental instead of continental). Think of this as a classy, beautiful, sultry, submissive girlfriend...as long as you feed her a Gucci / Louis Vuitton handbag every month...hehehehehehe..Just my 2 cents tho. Apologies if this frank review is offensive. Trust me, I love this car too...... cry.gif

This post has been edited by HaszAhmad: Aug 22 2012, 06:59 PM
jessyeo
post Aug 22 2012, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(HaszAhmad @ Aug 22 2012, 06:41 PM)
Today, I went to Glenmarie Shah Alam Showroom to test the 408 2 litre model which i have drooled about for quite some time. I came with high hopes. And as i stepped into the showroom, I was truly amazed at the stunning beauty of the 408. Of course its pretty subjective but i think its more classy then the 308 turbo and u really need to be close to the 408 to realise what a beautiful car it is. Nevertheless I got  a chance to test drive the 2 litre car. I wasnt interested in the turbo 1.6 since all i was interested was booking the 2 litre there and then.

20 minutes later. I completed the test drive and came out pretty satisfied with MIXED feelings.

Here is why

The good
The insulation is excellent. The interior is enough to make you feel luxurious. The seating position, arm rest and for a 1.8m , 90kg man, I felt pretty comfortable with lots of space left for legroom and rear seats as well. Boot space is really really impressive. The drive, I can say is pretty much comparable if not better then VW Jetta . Even the accords, sonatas and camry I'm used to driving won't hold a candle to this (But then again thats my point of view). The handling, the ride, its responsive. The engine I don't feel underpowered. The pickup is ample, not too heavy but not too spirited perhaps like the 1.6 turbo. The pocket space like glove box and compartments are not huge but practical and plenty. Trust me although the model i tested was a 2 litre model with fabric interior, it does feel plush and luxurious with clean interior and not too over the top gadgets, whistle and bells on the dashboard.

The Bad
Although the sterring is responsive, i think it is TOO light. In fact, i think it is very light. I can only imagine long distance drive and/or slippery roads where u can doze off for a mere second, you mite lose course over your sterring and mite end up either in the gutters or the dividers. I dont find the sterring very reassuring nor steady when gripping it. The audio has enough bass but the treble is too shrilling. Maybe can be redone via its radio settings, but perhaps this is due to the 4speakers + 2twitters. But it sorely lacks the mid level range. No bodykits nor additional HU units available for add ons. It takes quite a while to understand its reverse sensor thingy system on the display unit with its 1-2-3-4 bar indicators..PFFTTTT...i mite just crash and the bar might be too late to appear!. But here are some major points why i came out with mixed feelings (or maybe my expectations were too high icon_question.gif ).....

1) Timing Belt is used instead of timing chain.

2) The maintainence cost intervals, estimated are as follows (as per quoted by sales person) :-
10,000km = 400rm
20,000km = 400rm
30,000km = 400rm
40,000km = 600rm
50,000km = 400rm
60,000km = 1500rm
subsequent 10,000km = 400rm
100,000km = 600rm
120,000km = 1500rm
And u need to maintain this maintainence within Peugeot service center to enjoy its 5yrs warranty.

I've looked at the service warranty items being done for every interval. But I won't comment on the charges. That i leave it up to the readers to evaluate smile.gif

What does the 5 year warranty cover? Engine, Aircon, Electronics (which means dont mod your HU or it'll void), anything that is not wear and tear.
Suspension is of limited 1 year warranty.

3) Although peugeot is of local assembly (with its QC intact done by PEugeot themselves), the parts are imported. The price may vary due to the exchange rate conversion. And parts availability may vary as well!! (And i thought my aunt was joking when she said her 308ti had to wait 4 months to get her ravaged bumper replaced!!)

4) Oh this may be insignificant. insurance renewal and road tax for this car once it expires may cost around 3150rm. But I guess its parallel to the car you drive smile.gif

Verdict : Sure the spaciousness, luxury, continental-machismo, french romantic gut or whatever u call it comes together in the package, ribboned nicely under the 110,000rm pricetag. Sure you gonna get heads turned and u'll feel good about yourself driving the 408. But in my most frank opinion, you need to derive at the big picture and properly calculate the ownership cost of owning this beauty as it's not cheap to maintain nor service(not to mention, if you can bypass this french logo, you're probably better off getting better value elsewhere of you dont mind going oriental instead of continental). Think of this as a classy, beautiful, sultry, submissive girlfriend...as long as you feed her a Gucci / Louis Vuitton handbag every month...hehehehehehe..Just my 2 cents tho. Apologies if this frank review is offensive. Trust me, I love this car too...... cry.gif
Only RM 400 service per 10,000km ( or 3 months which ever come first ). Where got Gucci/LV handbag cost that little. Hehe..Maintainence cost are worth paying vs the luxury moments on ride. The only thing that cost me headache is service appointment within mileage without voiding warranty. Feel worse than my own body check-up.
HaszAhmad
post Aug 22 2012, 07:13 PM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Aug 22 2012, 07:07 PM)
Only RM 400 service per 10,000km ( or 3 months which ever come first ). Where got Gucci/LV handbag cost that little. Hehe..Maintainence cost are worth paying vs the luxury moments on ride. The only thing that cost me headache is service appointment within mileage without voiding warranty. Feel worse than my own body check-up.
Oops apologies..something like that...perhaps i should edit. A gucci/LV handbag annually..hehehe...Thx for pointing that out buddy. ..Oh yeah body checkup thingy, must diligently follow skedule if not warranty void...but ever since i got back from test drive session, I couldnt forget that feeling..that strange feeling..like i dont know what u call, i just can't forget bout it..and its irresistable sad.gif
sbd
post Aug 22 2012, 07:34 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 22 2012, 06:13 PM)
I can only say its all depends on luck. Ever heard some other brands also have certain bad luck customer that have got a low quality check.
Just a lucky one is that so far those 408 users in this forum have not been experienced that bad so far~
No matter what brand of car you are buying, its all depends on luck!
write a nice complaint to nasim ceo datuk samson anand george.

This post has been edited by sbd: Aug 22 2012, 07:37 PM
jessyeo
post Aug 22 2012, 07:43 PM

QUOTE(HaszAhmad @ Aug 22 2012, 07:13 PM)
Oops apologies..something like that...perhaps i should edit. A gucci/LV handbag annually..hehehe...Thx for pointing that out buddy. ..Oh yeah body checkup thingy, must diligently follow skedule if not warranty void...but ever since i got back from test drive session, I couldnt forget that feeling..that strange feeling..like i dont know what u call, i just can't forget bout it..and its irresistable sad.gif
I know what you mean, everybody who step into Peugeot 408 and test drive does have this feeling. Its called PAD (Peugeot Addiction Disorder). The only cure is buy a unit for yourself. Drive 3 times per day. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jessyeo: Aug 22 2012, 07:43 PM
HaszAhmad
post Aug 22 2012, 07:48 PM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Aug 22 2012, 07:43 PM)
I know what you mean, everybody who step into Peugeot 408 and test drive does have this feeling. Its called PAD (Peugeot Addiction Disorder). The only cure is buy a unit for yourself. Drive 3 times per day. smile.gif
Bloody hell! icon_question.gif I dont think getting a 2012 Civic would even remedy this PAD thingy..anyway i calculated the breakdown cost for 100,000km servicing..roughly break-even around 650rm for every 10,000km...which is not necessarily a bad thing... shakehead.gif
jfcheong
post Aug 22 2012, 07:59 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Aug 22 2012, 07:43 PM)
Yeap~ I agree with this. Initially, I was not intent to change my ride this year, was thinking to change only next year. But then only just happen to drop by to Honda show room to just have a view on the new Civic with my wife. Totally disappointed!! rclxub.gif My wife just said why not we go take a view on Elantra also. Then we go to Hyundai. (Please note we only just wanna free viewing whistling.gif without the mind to changing the ride).
There is a Peugeot show room beside Hyundai then we drop by to view on this beauty. Touch touch see see then we go home, and... I got poisoned.
After got home, I asked my wife like this car or not, she said yes. Then we did a test drive the next day. At then end, we made the decision to change my ride! flex.gif
HaszAhmad
post Aug 22 2012, 08:20 PM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 22 2012, 07:59 PM)
Yeap~ I agree with this. Initially, I was not intent to change my ride this year, was thinking to change only next year. But then only just happen to drop by to Honda show room to just have a view on the new Civic with my wife. Totally disappointed!!  rclxub.gif My wife just said why not we go take a view on Elantra also. Then we go to Hyundai. (Please note we only just wanna free viewing  whistling.gif without the mind to changing the ride).
There is a Peugeot show room beside Hyundai then we drop by to view on this beauty. Touch touch see see then we go home, and... I got poisoned.
After got home, I asked my wife like this car or not, she said yes. Then we did a test drive the next day. At then end, we made the decision to change my ride! flex.gif
How so far?..The fuel and ride...wife like it? smile.gif hehehe
jfcheong
post Aug 22 2012, 08:37 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(HaszAhmad @ Aug 22 2012, 08:20 PM)
How so far?..The fuel and ride...wife like it? smile.gif hehehe
The FC is not that good~ Compare to VW, my friend's Golf FC is much more better than 408. But the ride is awesome!!
1) Spacious - Which is the priority requirement for me to fetch my family.
2) Rear air-con vet - Good to have it
3) Responsive power - I agree some reviewer commented that 408 is much suitable with the 2.0NA, but I just love the THP!!
4) Handling is good compare to other Japanese makers

And I agree with you that I quite disappointed that 408 does not come with body kit nor LCD HU. I was offered a after market OME HU with a quote of Rm2K. And the quality is good enough and worth the price, however, I just worried about the 5 years warranty so I just give up.
HaszAhmad
post Aug 22 2012, 09:11 PM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 22 2012, 08:37 PM)
The FC is not that good~ Compare to VW, my friend's Golf FC is much more better than 408. But the ride is awesome!!
3) Responsive power - I agree some reviewer commented that 408 is much suitable with the 2.0NA, but I just love the THP!!

And I agree with you that I quite disappointed that 408 does not come with body kit nor LCD HU. I was offered a after market OME HU with a quote of Rm2K. And the quality is good enough and worth the price, however, I just worried about the 5 years warranty so I just give up.
Sigh....u make me kena the PAD syndrome even worse!
Termibait
post Aug 22 2012, 09:17 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 22 2012, 08:37 PM)

Anyone could verify with Peugeot about the warranty? And this oem comes with gps and reverse camera?
Btw, I always worry the car behind me kiss my butt everytime I look into rear view mirror as 408 butt is very high. Anybody experience the same syndrome?
jfcheong
post Aug 22 2012, 09:27 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Aug 22 2012, 09:17 PM)
Anyone could verify with Peugeot about the warranty? And this oem comes with gps and reverse camera?
Btw, I always worry the car behind me kiss my butt everytime I look into rear view mirror as 408 butt is very high. Anybody experience the same syndrome?
The OEM comes with built in GPS and reverse cam at a price of Rm2.2K. I had look the unit that installed on Sonata and Tucson, the quality of HD player and reverse cam is good. All original on wheel controller are functional with the OEM. Anyone could verify with Peugeot about the warranty?
HaszAhmad
post Aug 22 2012, 09:29 PM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 22 2012, 09:27 PM)
The OEM comes with built in GPS and reverse cam at a price of Rm2.2K. I had look the unit that installed on Sonata and Tucson, the quality of HD player and reverse cam is good. All original on wheel controller are functional with the OEM. Anyone could verify with Peugeot about the warranty?
I asked the salesman earlier. He told me, since electrical is covered 5 yrs, unless u dont mod any oem stuff. So if u really wanna pasang, gotta wait until peugeot brings in their own model.
Termibait
post Aug 22 2012, 09:37 PM

71 posts

Don't know we have to wait for how long....
I m thinking of lowered the body rather than upgrade to 18inch rim. Any good suggestion? Feel like doing the smoked front light also le...hand itchy itchy....
kejusan
post Aug 23 2012, 12:26 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(KLTEOH @ Aug 18 2012, 02:06 AM)
Just get my car, i observe in front brake is like "too more ketat" when every time push the brake to maximum and release it. it have sound come out.. do all of u have this problem during ur new car?? after back home, i look at the front rim. i fell front rim is hot but rear rim is like normal temp(cool). it mean my front brake system got problem?? pls share ur all exprience. just want to make sure is it normal or no.. thx.
Do you experience the 'too more ketat' thing while driving or while the engine turned off? If you experience it while driving, I suggest you get it checked.

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 20 2012, 09:19 PM)
3M quality not bad also, almost the same with V-Kool.
Just that the color not dark enough, thats why I didnt take that. If you don't really mind the darkness of the tinted. I would recommend to take 3M.
Light transmission of 3M -->> 70%
Light transmission of Huper Optic -->> 40%
I've heard that 3M doesn't come with tint+security film. You have to put another layer of security film after the tint film. Is it true?

QUOTE(net_mave @ Aug 22 2012, 04:18 PM)
I'm experiencing the rattling sound from right side of dashboard and front left window. The rattling is so noticeable and kind of annoying when I was cruising without the radio on normal federal road. Wondering if anyone is experiencing the same? Will complain to SC during my first inspection. Also, I must say the NASIM assembling work for 408 needs miles of improvement. I noticed that lots of flaws with the assembling work in and outside of the car. Will try to take some photo and post it here to share.

Added on August 22, 2012, 4:26 pmI noticed there are few complaints logged under http://www.facebook.com/peugeotmalaysia about 408 which pending for Peugeot's reply that we should be noticed of.
I've 'PM'ed on Peugeot's facebook with regards to rattling sound and they give me this email to lodge complain to ; clic@naza.com.my.

Please do share your observation with us. I also noticed that my 408 rear bumper is 'hanging' on the left, meaning that I could lift the bumper up and there're still room for it to move upwards around 3mm before it touches the rear brake light.
jfcheong
post Aug 23 2012, 07:06 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Aug 23 2012, 12:26 AM)
Do you experience the 'too more ketat' thing while driving or while the engine turned off? If you experience it while driving, I suggest you get it checked.
I've heard that 3M doesn't come with tint+security film. You have to put another layer of security film after the tint film. Is it true?
I've 'PM'ed on Peugeot's facebook with regards to rattling sound and they give me this email to lodge complain to ; clic@naza.com.my.

Please do share your observation with us. I also noticed that my 408 rear bumper is 'hanging' on the left, meaning that I could lift the bumper up and there're still room for it to move upwards around 3mm before it touches the rear brake light.
Yes, 3M doesn't come with security tint. For the 3 above recommendations don't come with that also. Security tint actually doesn't give high end heat protection, security tint normally provide lower quality of heat protection. And it's not recommended to put double layer of tint film.
SKYjack
post Aug 23 2012, 09:29 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 22 2012, 09:27 PM)
Our 408s are manufactured in China plant and assembled at Gurun. The China models have GPS. Therefore I believe no electrical mods are necessary. Most after market GPS units are plug and play. Get tech details with installation details for the unit. With these details sent to Peugeot,they can verify warranty validity.
I'm interested in the mentioned unit. Can you Post the name of unit and shop contact. Tq.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 23 2012, 09:31 AM
jfcheong
post Aug 23 2012, 10:49 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 23 2012, 09:29 AM)
Our 408s are manufactured in China plant and assembled at Gurun. The China models have GPS. Therefore I believe no electrical mods are necessary. Most after market GPS units are plug and play. Get tech details with installation details for the unit. With these details sent to Peugeot,they can verify warranty validity.
I'm interested in the mentioned unit. Can you Post the name of unit and shop contact. Tq.
PM-ed you

130 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:31 PM