Honda Jazz Hybrid or Toyota Prius C, Small Car Choice

TSscsoo
post Mar 20 2012, 05:20 PM, updated 12y ago

426 posts

Just to see which one would be more prefer by LYN members.....
Me no Salesman.....
Jim.tan
post Mar 20 2012, 05:24 PM

63 posts

I'm guess the Prius will win ^.^
Kalist0
post Mar 20 2012, 05:30 PM

119 posts

whats the point of this comparison? we have enough in other threads.
TSscsoo
post Mar 20 2012, 07:45 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Mar 20 2012, 06:30 PM)
whats the point of this comparison? we have enough in other threads.
Not looking at comparison... That I can read in other threads..... I want to get a poll on which one more preferred by LYN member.. None is available therefore started one....

ethan99
post Mar 20 2012, 11:06 PM

225 posts

I vote Prius C... But if I will buy I think both car is definitely not in my list... Petrol price still cheap better spend 50k for Myvi and reserve 45k for petrol!
TripleJ104
post Mar 20 2012, 11:32 PM

I choose honda jazz hybrid becoz

1. Simple hybrid setup & make sense.
2. a bit better interior quality
3. spacious than prius C.

kahjye
post Mar 20 2012, 11:58 PM

4,453 posts

i dont know why the jazz hybrid is so expensive

i thought its tax free?

kevafk
post Mar 21 2012, 12:42 AM

209 posts

dont think is that ex, dont campare with oveaseas.. coz they have volume..

both car equally good.. slight towards jazz, for space, 8airbags n better interior.

toyota for its hybrid tech
Kiding
post Mar 21 2012, 12:52 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(kevafk @ Mar 21 2012, 12:42 AM)
dont think is that ex, dont campare with oveaseas..  coz they have volume..

both car equally good.. slight towards jazz, for space, 8airbags n better interior.

Jazz Hybrid only has 6 SRS Airbags....
kevafk
post Mar 21 2012, 01:04 AM

209 posts

well i counted 8 when i was thr..

2 front
2 side
4 curtain

This post has been edited by kevafk: Mar 21 2012, 01:06 AM
TripleJ104
post Mar 21 2012, 08:00 AM

QUOTE(kevafk @ Mar 21 2012, 01:04 AM)

2 front
2 side
4 curtain
Yeap...i also counted got 8 airbags becoz SA tell me the Jazz hybrid selling in Malaysia are Euro spec thus make the price a bit higher.
Antzfield
post Mar 21 2012, 08:08 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(kevafk @ Mar 21 2012, 12:42 AM)
dont think is that ex, dont campare with oveaseas..  coz they have volume..

agree with you in particular space and interior, Jazz is better. Looks also good.

As for C, it wins in tech (if it is the same as the elder bro Prius) and new and fresh look, but the interior ...........
azbro
post Mar 21 2012, 08:08 AM

4,319 posts

Go for Jazz looks

or

Go for Prius Technology

If can't decide on both....meaning either one is OK....so now it becomes which is more easier on the wallet.....check the FC, Maintenance cost....and do the batery last?.....ppl will say Toyota is real hybrid and battery can last 10 years and Honda technology not real hybrid....battery warranty is also a problem.

After you have done all this...then buy the car and never look back because you have picked the best car for yourself.

Cheers
turbocharged
post Mar 21 2012, 09:57 AM

250 posts

design i would take jazz.

hybrid tech i would take toyota.....

oh man.....
Kiding
post Mar 21 2012, 10:29 AM

1,063 posts

2 front
2 side
4 curtain
Honda Malaysia website said Jazz hybrid has 6 airbags, looks like Honda Malaysia doesn't even know their own product well.

TSscsoo
post Mar 21 2012, 02:01 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 21 2012, 11:29 AM)
Honda Malaysia website said Jazz hybrid has 6 airbags, looks like Honda Malaysia doesn't even know their own product well.
Maybe its the curtain Airbag.. its either 4 or 2.. the rest are the same... Maybe less 2 but not sure as some say 8 but website say 6 but not shown with proper picture. Also Specification did not also list out just say have curtain Airbag.. confusing....
calyxhybrid
post Mar 21 2012, 03:05 PM

2 front
2 side
4 curtain
Jazz Hybrid confirmed 6 airbags: 2 front, 2 side n curtain is only 2 on each sides, not 4 curtain airbags on each windows.
Curtain airbags will deploy fr A pillar to C pillar.

Prius C got 7 airbags, the extra one is for the driver's knee protection.

Malaysia is selling 6 hybrid cars, 3 fr Toyota & 3 fr Honda: Prius 1.8, Prius C, Lexus CT200H, Insight, CRZ & Jazz Hybrid.
Jazz Hybrid presence in Europe is quite weak. Prius is gaining momentum strongly bcos of their popular proven HSD system.

For US market, all the above models is selling there except Jazz Hybrid. Jazz Hybrid still can't penetrate their market yet, as
we all know US is very strict on the safety n quality issues (other reason is protecting their GM interest) by giving a lot of rules
n regulations. So now.. can judge for yourself which one is better.. Jazz Hybrid or Priius C...
dingdangdong
post Mar 22 2012, 08:31 AM

I am having the same dilemma. Last weekend, test drove BOTH the Jazz Hybrid and the Prius C.
Still not sure which car to buy, will decide by the end of April the latest. So hard to choose as both has its pros and cons.

PROS
Jazz:
-Really light steering, straightforward CVT gear shift
-Spacious interior, "magic seats"
-IMA battery 5 years warranty, cheaper replacement ~RM7K
-Car can still go with dead battery.

Prius C:
-much more electronics (eg touch start, keyless entry, MFD etc)
-Save more $ on gas
-Continuous air cond when car is stopped.
-Currently #1 best selling hybrid in US & Japan
-HSD battery higher millage, better quality and built to last longer
-Full sized spare tyre

CONS
Jazz:
-Less gas saved on IMA hybrid system
-less electronics
-IMA battery more prone to failure (according to some news articles)
-no spare tyres, IMA battery located @ tyre bay, also noticed "cheap" white foam insulation surrounding IMA battery

Prius C:
-Only 3 years warranty on battery, and more expensive to change ~RM12K
-interior size, width and length is same as Jazz, except for height, which is 8 cm less.
-ancient gear shift box sad.gif, no CVT
-stiffer steering and more abrupt braking
-need to tow the car if battery failure, cannot use petrol as back up.

Another CON for both:
-No option to upgrade to leather seats, I am really hesitant to install them outside for fears of quality/warranty.
-Although Prius C offers upgrade to the 2DIN multi media screen, its NOT the same one as used in the USA market. It doesn't have Entune software, which hooks to your phone for internet for Bing, internet radio, etc

FYI I read somewhere that during launching, Jazz was expected to sell 3000 cars a year in msia, and Prius C is ~4000.
Right now, in north america, Prius C sales are 6000 A MONTH blink.gif Although 2012 Jazz Hybrid skips the american market, they
will launch the 2013 Full EV Plug in Honda Fit

This post has been edited by dingdangdong: Mar 22 2012, 08:55 AM
conqu3ror
post Mar 22 2012, 09:56 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(ethan99 @ Mar 20 2012, 11:06 PM)
I vote Prius C... But if I will buy I think both car is definitely not in my list... Petrol price still cheap better spend 50k for Myvi and reserve 45k for petrol!
Myvi safety & technology is no match with Jazz & Prius C, that is consider as other category of car.

QUOTE(dingdangdong @ Mar 22 2012, 08:31 AM)
I am having the same dilemma. Last weekend, test drove BOTH the Jazz Hybrid and the Prius C.
Still not sure which car to buy, will decide by the end of April the latest. So hard to choose as both has its pros and cons.

PROS
Jazz:

Prius C:
-Save more $ on gas
-Full sized spare tyre

CONS
Jazz:
-less electronics
-no spare tyres, IMA battery located @ tyre bay, also noticed "cheap" white foam insulation surrounding IMA battery

Prius C:
-interior size, width and length is same as Jazz, except for height, which is 8 cm less.

Another CON for both:
-No option to upgrade to leather seats, I am really hesitant to install them outside for fears of quality/warranty.
-Although Prius C offers upgrade to the 2DIN multi media screen, its NOT the same one as used in the USA market. It doesn't have Entune software, which hooks to your phone for internet for Bing, internet radio, etc

FYI I read somewhere that during launching, Jazz was expected to sell 3000 cars a year in msia, and Prius C is ~4000.
Right now, in north america, Prius C sales are 6000 A MONTH  blink.gif Although 2012 Jazz Hybrid skips the american market, they
Wow.. you had done most of the research by comparing it. But it all depends what is your priority. I could said Jazz is more enjoyable as it come with paddle shifts & much better dashboard. Prius C with a bit boring but more practical car as save petrol & better technology.

This post has been edited by conqu3ror: Mar 22 2012, 09:57 AM
TripleJ104
post Mar 22 2012, 10:14 AM

Nice findings...

My choice is still leaning towards to Honda Jazz hybrid. Becoz of it built quality, refine driving experience & a tad bigger than prius C.

Kiding
post Mar 22 2012, 10:15 AM

1,063 posts

Prius C:

Another CON for both:
Prius C is using ECVT, which is actually Power Split Device, personally I think its technology is better than CVT, less moving parts and elegant design.

If you plan to use phone for internet during driving, you will be disappointed, the actual internet experience during fast moving is like a nightmare, slow slow slow!!! better waiting for LTE to address it.
dingdangdong
post Mar 22 2012, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 22 2012, 10:15 AM)
Prius C is using ECVT, which is actually Power Split Device, personally I think its technology is better than CVT, less moving parts and elegant design.

If you plan to use phone for internet during driving, you will be disappointed, the actual internet experience during fast moving is like a nightmare, slow slow slow!!! better waiting for LTE to address it.
I also didn't like the gear shift in the Prius C, where you have to push left/right in addition to up/down. For the Jazz, its straightforward up/down.

Internet is more for passenger usage, and I think will mostly be used only when stuck in slow moving traffic, or massive jams. Its hard to focus texts in a fast moving vehicle.

This post has been edited by dingdangdong: Mar 22 2012, 10:19 AM
ahboon76
post Mar 22 2012, 07:13 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(dingdangdong @ Mar 22 2012, 10:17 AM)
I also didn't like the gear shift in the Prius C, where you have to push left/right in addition to up/down. For the Jazz, its straightforward up/down.

Internet is more for passenger usage, and I think will mostly be used only when stuck in slow moving traffic, or massive jams. Its hard to focus texts in a fast moving vehicle.
Well Prius C gear box same like my dad Mercedes Benz C220 Gear box
while Jazz Hybrid same with my Kelisa Gear box which is straight forward...

I choose Prius C becos of tech...

Anyway hybrid = mean toward of technology instead of look. For those buying for look i believe 94K there are many car who have better look the Jazz while 97K there not much hybrid technology can compare with prius c.
Kiding
post Mar 22 2012, 08:39 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(ahboon76 @ Mar 22 2012, 07:13 PM)
Well Prius C gear box same like my dad Mercedes Benz C220 Gear box
while Jazz Hybrid same with my Kelisa Gear box which is straight forward...

Are you sure or not? Prius C gear box same as Benz C220? since when Benz C220 use PSD?
ar188
post Mar 22 2012, 08:57 PM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 22 2012, 08:39 PM)
Are you sure or not? Prius C gear box same as Benz C220? since when Benz C220 use PSD?
maybe he's describing the gear lever ?
TSscsoo
post Mar 23 2012, 08:38 AM

426 posts

Getting a Prius C... will be dropping by a showroom soon....
calvin_ng
post Mar 23 2012, 09:00 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,576 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 22 2012, 08:57 PM)
maybe he's describing the gear lever ?
Gate Shifter (PriusC) and Straight shifter laaa
tonyteow
post Mar 24 2012, 12:01 PM

While Honda brand is like "Sony", having their own mission, market target, styles etc. Whereby Toyota brand is like "Nokia/Motorola", could a bit more tradition, more in durability, old stylish etc. However @today, VW / Hyundai should be the ones like "Apple / Samsung" synergies. There is not right / wrong, good/bad, but the preferring is depend to us what we want? Anyway i like Sony Video Cam, TV, Camera & their brand standards, therefore i choose "HONDA JAZZ". biggrin.gif
limkj
post Mar 24 2012, 09:16 PM

236 posts

Test drove the Honda jazz hybrid today and am impressed with the overall experience

The interior of the jazz puts the Prius c to shame. After testing the jazz hybrid, immediately went over to Toyota to compare the Prius c. The test drive car already showed very bad wear and tear. The console arm rest already in bad shape. The car interior do not look very durable. In generally looks very cheap
crocky
post Apr 10 2012, 10:40 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Mar 24 2012, 09:16 PM)
Test drove the Honda jazz hybrid today and am impressed with the overall experience

The interior of the jazz puts the Prius c to shame. After testing the jazz hybrid, immediately went over to Toyota to compare the Prius c. The test drive car already showed very bad wear and tear. The console arm rest already in bad shape. The car interior do not look very durable. In generally looks very cheap
Ya Jazz interior is better
JLPS
post Apr 10 2012, 11:00 PM

PROS
Jazz:

Prius C:
-Save more $ on gas
-Full sized spare tyre

CONS
Jazz:
-less electronics

Prius C:

Another CON for both:

Right now, in north america, Prius C sales are 6000 A MONTH  blink.gif Although 2012 Jazz Hybrid skips the american market, they
My Toyota SA said Prius c battery is same size like Honda not like the brother Prius cos small sized car ... So the battery price oso lower ! He said the H company bought the battery from T .. So it's the same price w H

This post has been edited by JLPS: Apr 10 2012, 11:02 PM
sequid
post Apr 12 2012, 08:53 PM

23 posts

Just proceed the loan with mybank for this car...
Cant wait till next month...,
Jazz... He,he,he...

BuFung
post Apr 12 2012, 09:54 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(JLPS @ Apr 10 2012, 11:00 PM)
My Toyota SA said Prius c battery is same size like Honda not like the brother Prius cos small sized car ... So the battery price oso lower ! He said the H company bought the battery from T .. So it's the same price w H
Yaya right... T sell to H in very cheap price so H can sell to customer @ even cheaper price... Next time if u got a Prius c.. U can go to H and order ur battery... Save ur money... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
kennytkg
post Apr 16 2012, 05:56 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(sequid @ Apr 12 2012, 08:53 PM)
Jazz... He,he,he...
rclxms.gif
TSscsoo
post Apr 16 2012, 07:43 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(sequid @ Apr 12 2012, 09:53 PM)
Jazz... He,he,he...
Wow, fast.... What colour?????
SkyGig
post Apr 30 2012, 10:02 PM

127 posts

I do agree Jazz interior,magic seat,etc is better than Prius C, I still prefer P C because it is full hybrid.The first version Prius hybrid's battery back 1997 is still usable until today(at least it has proven evidence in it's claim,for brand H? I'm not really sure).In terms of mileage T is better.An additional of RM 2K I can get 1.5 CC rather than 1.3CC.Prius C booking need to wait at least 7 mths and Jazz Hybrid have to wait only 2 mths,I guess Prius C demand is higher in terms of people waiting in que.I have test drove both cars and found out that they are good cars.Definately quiet and comfortable ride.

I found out that Jazz and Prius C has its pros and cons.Maybe people likes to compare between these two cars is probably they want to stretch their dollar to the max.For me,I like to keep things simple....The future is Hybrid cars. I'm not even worried about the resell value of these cars bcoz I do know the cost of battery replacement will become more and more affordable.
kenso77
post May 5 2012, 07:40 AM

179 posts

Hmmm, almost equal amout of votes for each car. Here's what I think when I tested both back to back:

http://www.kensomuse.com/2012/05/toyota-pr...azz-hybrid.html
calvinchin
post May 7 2012, 01:33 PM

64 posts

PROS
Jazz:

Prius C:
-Save more $ on gas
-Full sized spare tyre

CONS
Jazz:
-less electronics

Prius C:

Another CON for both:

Very detailed comparison smile.gif

We already know the technology and mileage comparison between both models.
Prius is on the upper hand on this.
But personally, I feel that the Jazz has a much better design.

However, apart from the above, it's important to know how the Air-cond compressor in both Hybrid cars actually work when the car is idle, or when battery charge is low.
I do not want to find myself baking under the hot sun during afternoon traffic jams !

Equally important is to know the long term maintenance cost.
On this point, I believe Prius' much higher sales volume should lead to availability of parts and hopefully lower maintenance costs.

Regards,
Calvin
hAnn
post May 12 2012, 10:33 AM

329 posts

hi guys, it is said that, hybrid cars tax exemption will not be thr for long, apparently untill 2013. so by nature, resale value of hybrid cars is already high, plus after 2013 without exemption, logically, selling it above tax-free price can make profit!
Powzhaai
post May 14 2012, 01:38 PM

Test Drive the Jazz yesterday... Love it!

But a few queries:

1) Lack of spare tyre - an issue if travel outstation?
2) Air con - if stuck in non moving jam in KL, means air con off? If put on Nuetral and handbrake, air con on?
3) Going on highway 110,120..... will it feel underpowered?
ppcbunny
post May 20 2012, 10:32 PM

QUOTE(Powzhaai @ May 14 2012, 01:38 PM)
Test Drive the Jazz yesterday... Love it!

But a few queries:

1) Lack of spare tyre - an issue if travel outstation?
2) Air con - if stuck in non moving jam in KL, means air con off? If put on Nuetral and handbrake, air con on?
3) Going on highway 110,120..... will it feel underpowered?
1) Spare Tyre: not a big issue, after all who care to use the spare when there is 24hrs on call service offered by insurance companies. Also the spare tyre is meaningless for ladies. hmm.gif

2) Air cond: if u need the air cond, just off the Econ mode, then the engine will re-start back very fast. But with air cond mean consume more fuel. sweat.gif

3) 120km/h? sure no problem, this car can speed from 90 to 130 real fast. over take at high speed no problem! in addition, I done that with ECON On for my Insight...

I drove my Insight for 1 year plus, felt happy. No after tested Prius C & Jass Hybrid, I decided to get the Jazz Hybrid for my wife. During test drive, I'm impress that Jazz can reach 100km/h with RPM at around 1000 plus! shocking.gif

Long term maintenance I not sure, but thinking of Toyota is having additional component called PSD and hybrid air-cond pump, really make me worried!
PSD unit still I don't known what the hack is that. But for air-cond compressor, normally will kapuk around 5-8 years. Normal compressor will cost RM800, recond mb RM400, but Prius using Hybrid type compressor which it not widely use & hard to find recond replace. Cost how much? just estimate yourself la... whistling.gif
SkyGig
post May 21 2012, 12:13 AM

127 posts

Prius C - got spare tyre .Jazz Hybrid - don't have.Prius C - service is cheaper than jazz hybrid.Prius C have better mileage than Jazz Hybrid.Prius C has lower CO2 emission than Jazz H.Prius C engine is 1.5 and Jazz H is 1.3.But Jazz wins over appearance and interior
Kiding
post May 21 2012, 12:14 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(ppcbunny @ May 20 2012, 10:32 PM)
Long term maintenance I not sure, but thinking of Toyota is having additional component called PSD and hybrid air-cond pump, really make me worried!
PSD unit still I don't known what the hack is that.  But for air-cond compressor, normally will kapuk around 5-8 years.  Normal compressor will cost RM800, recond mb RM400, but Prius using Hybrid type compressor which it not widely use & hard to find recond replace. Cost how much? just estimate yourself la... whistling.gif
PSD is Power Split Device, it is also act as electronic CVT, PSD has less moving part, hence longer lifespan.

Prius C uses DC inverter compressor, just like the household inverter air-cord compressor, it should be quite long lasting.
TSscsoo
post Jun 22 2012, 09:10 PM

426 posts

Closing off this thread/poll......

0.0506sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:45 PM