RSS feedReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> :: Hyper Transport Technology ::, Everything Abt It, including o/c

winc87
post Sep 20 2005, 10:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #21

w|Nc

Group: Senior Member

As processor micro architecture capabilities have advanced, one of the greatest performance limitations has become the system architecture's ability to provide sufficient low-latency memory bandwidth to the processor core. The AMD Athlon(tm) 64 processor and the AMD Opteron(tm) processor directly addresses this bottleneck by integrating a DDR memory controller into the processor, revolutionizing the way x86-based processors access main memory. By running at the processor's core frequency, an integrated memory controller greatly increases bandwidth directly available to the processor at significantly reduced latencies. The performance-enhancing effect is even more dramatic within an AMD Opteron(tm) multiprocessing environment, because each additional processor has its own memory controller thereby scaling over all memory bandwidth.

Well, I've got the answer. With the increased of the CPU clock speed, the internal memory bandwidth is increased but not the RAM speed. smile.gif

Source : http://www.cmpe.boun.edu.tr/courses/cmpe51...4%20FX%2055.doc
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
empire23
post Sep 21 2005, 12:13 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #22

Rifle Armed Redneck from Toowoomba

Here's empire23's not so superior guide to HTB or hyper transport bus/lorry.

Might be wrong, but this is what i can derive from the pinouts and chats with Charge-n-go, enjoy.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post
silkworm
post Sep 21 2005, 11:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #23

Shinin'

Group: Elite

HT aka LDT uses differential signalling, and each "channel" is made of two unidirectional (in and out) links. With 16bits each direction, and two lines for differential signals, that makes 2*2*16 = 64 pins for data/address/commands. The LDT clock and control lines are also differential, and there are one for each direction, so that's another 8 lines. That makes a total of 72 lines for HyperTransport/LDT.

Differential signalling improves signal integrity by immunizing against skew and common mode noise, so you can pump data at ridiculously high clocks. This buys you bandwidth even with a reduced pin-count. Encapsulating information into packets saves the number of pins because you can have commands,addresses and data on the same wire. However, encoding and decoding packets increases latency.

The Intel FSB uses GTL+ single ended signalling, and is a bi-directional bus. Data comes in 64 bits at a time, so there are 64pins. P4 uses split data and address busses, so there's another 32 pins for addressing. On the control side, there are 5 pins for transaction types, 2 pins for address strobing and 8 pins for data strobing. That gives at least 111 pins related to the FSB. I probably missed some pins along the way tongue.gif

All of the above have very little to do with overclocking. When you "bus overclock" you're changing the "base" clock which goes into the CPU. Because the CPU's I/O is synchronous, the FSB/HT/DDR clocks increase in proportion to the base clock. The I/O has to communicate with "something". Even if your CPU can handle the increased I/O rate, the device on the other end (ie. the northbridge or DRAM) may not. That's when you mess with the multipliers/dividers to bring the I/O or memory bus clocks down to levels that are in-spec.

AMD64 doesn't have much granularity in the HT multplier, only 0.5x, 1x, 2x, 3x, 4x or 5x are selectable. The specific control register is covered in the AMD64 "BIOS and Kernel Developer's Guide", document no #26094, pg 49. Likewise for memory controller, there are only 1/2, 2/3, 5/6, and 1/1 dividers selectable (pg 88,89).

Bus clocking is constrained by capability of the devices on the bus and signal integrity. Signal integrity is influenced by a lot of things, including the type of IC packaging, the electrical signalling scheme, the materials used in the PCB, and the routing of the circuit.
+Quote Post
charge-n-go
post Sep 21 2005, 11:38 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #24

look at all my stars !! where's the star??

i oso come out with own drawings now.

This is the difference between FSB and HTT system.

FSB transfer data from RAM, AGP and the I/O to CPU on the same bus. The total transfer rate is only 6.4GB/s on dual channel DDR400. The control and address use different lines.

On HTT, I/O and PCI-e data/address/command are packeted and communicate with CPU on a 4.0GB/s HTT bus (2000MHz 16-bit) in either direction. RAM communicates with the integrated memory controller on another bus running at 6.4GB/s (DDR400 dual channel). So we have a total of 10.4GB/s on HTT bus.

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Sep 21 2005, 11:39 AM
+Quote Post
charge-n-go
post Sep 21 2005, 11:43 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #25

QUOTE(silkworm @ Sep 21 2005, 12:25 PM)
HT aka LDT uses differential signalling, and each "channel" is made of two unidirectional (in and out) links. With 16bits each direction, and two lines for differential signals, that makes 2*2*16 = 64 pins for data/address/commands. The LDT clock and control lines are also differential, and there are one for each direction, so that's another 8 lines. That makes a total of 72 lines for HyperTransport/LDT.

Silky you are finally here huh? tongue.gif

I was about to write something on the quote above, but u r faster than me now laugh.gif

What i can do is to attach image only, hahah.

Direction into the CPU : L0_CADIN_H/L[15:0] <--- 16-pins / 16-bit
Direction out from CPU : L0_CADOUT_H/L[15:0] <--- 16-pins / 16-bit

Other pins are for clock and controlling wink.gif
+Quote Post
skyther
post Sep 21 2005, 12:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #26

Group: Junior Member

Eh, btw... the SB -> NB link is 1Gb/s per direction. tongue.gif
+Quote Post
ikanayam
post Sep 21 2005, 01:00 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #27

there are no pacts between fish and men

QUOTE(skyther @ Sep 20 2005, 11:07 PM)

That depends on the chipsets involved. It's not a set rule.
+Quote Post
charge-n-go
post Sep 21 2005, 01:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #28

QUOTE(skyther @ Sep 21 2005, 01:07 PM)

haha, it should be both direction, but i miss out the arrows at another end. Actually all the buses drawn in the diagram is bi-direction.

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Oct 30 2005, 11:51 PM
+Quote Post
skyther
post Sep 22 2005, 12:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #29

I can do 8x and 4x for you tongue.gif

No 3DMark though.
+Quote Post
skyther
post Sep 22 2005, 12:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #30

A64 3000+ @ 1.6GHz, x8
HTT: 200, x4, 1.2V
RAM: 200, 2.5-2-2-0 1T 1:1

SuperPI 1M:

Sandra Multimedia:

Sandra Memory:

3DMark2001 SE Build 330:

Pathetic benchmarks, I think it's my refresh rate tongue.gif
+Quote Post
ikanayam
post Sep 22 2005, 03:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #31

there are no pacts between fish and men

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Sep 21 2005, 10:02 PM)
Anybody would like to share some screenshot with me? I don't have an Athlon64 system here, so cant test it on my own.

May I have some benchie to compare the effect of yr HTT o/c? Let's say one at 2.0GHz, DDR400 and stock 200MHz HTT(CPU : 10x200MHz, FSB:RAM = 1:1). Another one is 2.0GHz, DDR400, and 400MHz HTT (CPU : 5x 400MHz, FSB:RAM = 2:1). Of course you can have other settings too, such as 8x250, 7x285 and etc.

The benchie can be Super PI, Sandra CPU, 3D mark and etc.

Thx !

I don't think many mainboards can do 400MHz HTT easily. Anyway that won't help much, if at all. All you have to do is bump up the LTD multiplier and it will do more per clock anyway.

what would be interesting to test is how memory bandwith scales with the LTD multiplier from 1x to 5x while keeping everything else the same. This will confirm or deny the theory that the memory controller is not tied to the HTT bus.
+Quote Post
Evogenix
post Sep 22 2005, 03:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #32

I Missed LYN Grey Skin T_T

on request :

TestBed :
AMD 3200+ Venice 0518
DFI Ultra-D BIOS 7.04bta
TwinMOS UTT [ch-5] @ 2-2-2-5

Here is my steps :
1. setting up the BIOS
2. save & reboot, load into Windows xp pro sp2
3. terminate all unused background applications
4. double check the setting thro cpu-z v1.30
5. close cpu-z, run SPImod1.4
6. benchmark from 16k to 1M, 3 times for each to get the best score
7. close SPImod1.4, run SandraLite2005
8. benchmark CPU Arithmetic Benchmark, CPU Multi-Media Benchmark, Memory Bandwidth Benchmarak, and Cache & Memory Benchmark
9. after benchmarking finished, load back SPImod1.4 and take screenies

---=== FINISH ===---

Here is the results that i collected :

Benchmark & screenshot #1
200MHz[htt] x 10[multiplier] @ 2.0GHz, LDT frequency 4x :

Benchmark & screenshot #2
400MHz[htt] x 5[multiplier] @ 2.0GHz, LDT frequency 3x :

-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====-----=====

If you watch out carefully, you will found out that i used different LDT frequency for both test laugh.gif laugh.gif
my mistake, so for more accurate result, i benchmark again @ 200MHz[htt] x 10[multiplier] with LDT frequency 3x

Benchmark & screenshot #3
200MHz[htt] x 10[multiplier] @ 2.0GHz, LDT frequency 3x :

End of test :
From the benchmarked results that i collected, oviosly we can see that marks for
200MHz[htt] x 10[multiplier] > 400MHz[htt] x 5[multiplier]

So, i concluded that by incressing htt frequency wont gain any of the system bandwidth nor performance at all.

regards,
Evogenix

This post has been edited by Evogenix: Sep 22 2005, 03:44 PM
+Quote Post
skyther
post Sep 22 2005, 03:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #33

Whoaaa got LDT x 10 meh?

I tried using 200 x 4 and 400 x 2, but 400 couldn't POST. My mobo tops out at 360ish HTT AFAIK.
+Quote Post
Evogenix
post Sep 22 2005, 03:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #34

QUOTE(skyther @ Sep 22 2005, 03:49 PM)
Whoaaa got LDT x 10 meh?

I tried using 200 x 4 and 400 x 2, but 400 couldn't POST. My mobo tops out at 360ish HTT AFAIK.

x10 is multiplier
3x is LDT frequency

faild to boot into BIOS @ high htt frequency might cause by
1. mainboard limitation
2. proc's memory controller limitation

Evogenix
+Quote Post
skyther
post Sep 22 2005, 04:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #35

Nah I tried upping voltages but it didn't help.
+Quote Post
winc87
post Sep 22 2005, 05:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #36

w|Nc

It's the limitation of the mobo. It doesn't related to the proc memory controller. smile.gif
+Quote Post
antonio
post Sep 22 2005, 05:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #37

Media Member - Motoring/Motorsports

Group: Moderator

This is the most highest HTT i've ever achieve with my board and the new E6 Venice...b4 this my winnie and venice a few months back managed to get 370 and that is the most out of it....

390 is the best for me....no benchies how ever....sorry... doh.gif
+Quote Post
charge-n-go
post Sep 22 2005, 05:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #38

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Sep 22 2005, 04:22 PM)
I don't think many mainboards can do 400MHz HTT easily. Anyway that won't help much, if at all. All you have to do is bump up the LTD multiplier and it will do more per clock anyway.

what would be interesting to test is how memory bandwith scales with the LTD multiplier from 1x to 5x while keeping everything else the same. This will confirm or deny the theory that the memory controller is not tied to the HTT bus.

Good suggestion dude.

I do this bcoz from wat i noticed, some people will js o/c their HTT base clock and tune the multiplier within safe region of 800MHz to 1200MHz, while leaving their CPU and RAM at stock speed, and then overjoy bcoz the mobo can o/c so high and have performance gain. AFAIK, this works with FSB only bcoz higher FSB bandwidth decrease the latency.

I'll come out with new methods to prove our assumptions and theory earlier wink.gif

Thanx skyther, Evogenix, antonio_zth for the screenies wub.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Sep 22 2005, 06:10 PM
+Quote Post
charge-n-go
post Sep 22 2005, 06:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #39

Experiment procedures updated biggrin.gif

pls refer to post #2

THanx for joining ppl wink.gif

* anybody can come out with better procedure, pls suggest here biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Sep 22 2005, 06:09 PM
+Quote Post
Evogenix
post Sep 22 2005, 06:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #40

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Sep 22 2005, 06:07 PM)
Experiment procedures updated biggrin.gif

pls refer to post #2

THanx for joining ppl wink.gif
* anybody can come out with better procedure, pls suggest here biggrin.gif

i think test#2 already shown in my screenie
the benchmark #1 and benchmark #3 accually the same setting.
the only difference is the LDT frequency 4x[benchmark #1] and 3x[benchmark #3]

there is slightly decressment with the score as shown in the srceenie from 4x to 3x

Evogenix

This post has been edited by Evogenix: Sep 22 2005, 06:15 PM
+Quote Post

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th October 2008 - 10:31 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~naughty by nature~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company