Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
95 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> The USB Drive / Thumb Drive Performance Thread, Pls Contribute !!

cybpsych
post Apr 27 2009, 09:38 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1781

---------------------

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Apr 23 2009, 04:41 PM)
Come to think about it, I've lost many thumbdrives, all being left there and not unplugged.

This time, I'm gonna get a lanyard and tie it to my bag.
The Contour doesn't seem to have any holes to tie on, so I'm leaning on the Voyager GT, as there's a place to tie something on and it comes with a lanyard as well.

Anyways, I found a review on Kingmax u-drive 16GB, it's in chinese, but I don't know the accuracy of it. With Kingston DT100 doing 14.1MB/s write?
link
Can this one be trusted? Because, if it's accurate enough, these would be as close to those premium, faster drives at, 'normal' price

Contour comes with a leather pouch ... you can hang ur lanyard on the pouch, but not the unit (i think Sandisk classify Contour as high-end, classy pendrive) ....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
super macgyver
post Apr 27 2009, 06:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1782

★~13k Spam Club~★

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 27 2009, 09:38 AM)
Contour comes with a leather pouch ... you can hang ur lanyard on the pouch, but not the unit (i think Sandisk classify Contour as high-end, classy pendrive) ....

sumore it is the only model of sandisk got lifetime wrty, while micro u3 just 2yr wrty. wink.gif
+Quote Post
ronnie
post May 5 2009, 03:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1783

Not enough stars

Here is the result for my Kingston DataTraveler 100 - 4GB

Any reason the Write speed drops on the bigger file size (>2GB) ?

This post has been edited by ronnie: May 5 2009, 03:15 PM
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
super macgyver
post May 5 2009, 08:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1784

★~13k Spam Club~★

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 5 2009, 03:14 PM)
Here is the result for my Kingston DataTraveler 100 - 4GB

Any reason the Write speed drops on the bigger file size (>2GB) ?

try using sisoft sandra lah.

lastest superstick mini
+Quote Post
yanhui95
post May 6 2009, 11:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1785

I ♥ Tennis

what is the most value for money 16gb thumbdrive (also need performance) budget around rm120
+Quote Post
super macgyver
post May 7 2009, 12:13 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1786

★~13k Spam Club~★

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ May 6 2009, 11:43 PM)
what is the most value for money 16gb thumbdrive (also need performance) budget around rm120

u better go for contour eventhought it above RM120. sweat.gif
+Quote Post
yanhui95
post May 7 2009, 08:47 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1787

I ♥ Tennis

QUOTE(super macgyver @ May 7 2009, 12:13 AM)
u better go for contour eventhought it above RM120.  sweat.gif

is there any other good one's? corsair voyager?
+Quote Post
devanbrat
post May 7 2009, 06:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1788

Group: Junior Member

Is there any thumbdrives for 16GB less than RM 100 out there?
+Quote Post
yanhui95
post May 7 2009, 07:45 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1789

I ♥ Tennis

QUOTE(devanbrat @ May 7 2009, 06:50 PM)
Is there any thumbdrives for 16GB less than RM 100 out there?

got, sandisk u3 micro for rm99
+Quote Post
Xehanort
post May 9 2009, 08:27 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1790

Study in Singapore........

im having problem to plug in my friend's sandisk cruzer 16GB flash drive
the computer ask to something like "windows found new hardware, install driver for new hardware" instead of like usual
i click cancel to install driver coz i scare to damage it
anyone can help me??
+Quote Post
tskhang
post May 9 2009, 02:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1791

QUOTE(Xehanort @ May 9 2009, 08:27 AM)
im having problem to plug in my friend's sandisk cruzer 16GB flash drive
the computer ask to something like "windows found new hardware, install driver for new hardware" instead of like usual
i click cancel to install driver coz i scare to damage it
anyone can help me??

This is normal when you plug in any USB drive (brand/model) for the first time to your PC.
+Quote Post
everling
post May 9 2009, 03:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1792

Normally for first time use, Windows would find the driver it needs and install it without asking the user for additional instructions. This is slightly unusual.

I would allow Windows to go online to Windows Update to try to look for the drivers. If that fails, I'd go to the manufacturer's site to look for the driver. If that fails as well, then maybe the flash drive or Windows is faulty.
+Quote Post
YiQi
post May 10 2009, 12:43 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1793

Just got my Apacer AH323 8GB today.

Here is the result test by ATTO
+Quote Post
runner999
post May 20 2009, 09:07 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1794

which is better? sandisk contour 16GB or corsair voyager GT 16GB? i heard voyager GT used to be fast but not anymore, is that true?
+Quote Post
cybpsych
post May 20 2009, 09:22 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1795

---------------------

yes, Contour is better ... but more expensive ... if performance is what you're looking for (price does not matter), then get Contour wink.gif
+Quote Post
runner999
post May 20 2009, 09:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1796

what is the current price for Sandisk Contour 16GB? i saw mostly RM200+ but i also saw one at RM170.. is the RM170 obsolete or.. ?
+Quote Post
cybpsych
post May 20 2009, 09:44 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1797

---------------------

QUOTE(YiQi @ May 10 2009, 12:43 AM)
Just got my Apacer AH323 8GB today.

Here is the result test by ATTO

not bad either .. one of the better ones wink.gif
+Quote Post
cybpsych
post May 20 2009, 10:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1798

---------------------

QUOTE(runner999 @ May 20 2009, 09:40 AM)
what is the current price for Sandisk Contour 16GB? i saw mostly RM200+ but i also saw one at RM170.. is the RM170 obsolete or.. ?

yeah, mostly 200++ ... to the seller who sells at RM170, try to contact him/her for more updated price ...

in fact, pm any of the sellers ... some may have not updated the price list *or* it's old price when they stock up their inventory (aka can't go down)...
+Quote Post
rayfoo
post May 20 2009, 08:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1799

which of the thumbdrives brand comes with password protection built inside already? thanks
+Quote Post
chanws8
post May 20 2009, 11:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1800

ИΞШB!Ξ

QUOTE(rayfoo @ May 20 2009, 08:42 PM)
which of the thumbdrives brand comes with password protection built inside already? thanks

Mayb u can try with the Kingston DataTraveler Locker...Try google for it... smile.gif
+Quote Post

95 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 01:01 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)