144 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V4, Comparison and advice needed

TSbulibulizaimon
post Apr 25 2011, 04:21 AM, updated 14y ago

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

Looking for recommendation of 2.0, 2.1, 5.1, or 7.1 speaker system for your PC? Well, you come to the right place rclxms.gif

What you need to post is;
your budget and what will you use the speaker for? (movies/games/recording/R&B music/techno/jazz/etc)
You might also wanna post some additional info such as your current speakers or your room size so it will be easier for us to judge you best speaker purchase

Budget ~RM100
Altec Lansing ATP3 (gaming) -popular
Edifier M1335
Edifier M1380

Budget ~RM200
Edifier E3100 (gaming) -popular
Edifier P3060 (gaming)
Edifier M3400 (gaming) -popular
Edifier M3300 (music) -popular
Altec Lansing v4121 (gaming) -popular

Budget ~RM300
Edifier HCS2330 (music) -popular
Logitech Z523 (gaming)

Budget ~RM400
Edifier R1900TIII (music)
Edifier C3 (music, gaming) -popular
Edifier S330 (music, gaming) -popular
Edifier R501 MkII (gaming, movies) -popular
Corsair SP2200 (gaming)

Budget ~RM500
Logitech Z-2300 (gaming) -popular
Logitech Z623 (gaming)
Altec Lansing MX5021 (gaming) -popular
JBL Duet II 2.0 (music)
JBL Creature III 2.1 (music)

Budget ~RM600
JBL Spot 2.1

Budget ~RM700
Corsair SP2500 (gaming) -popular
Edifier S530D (music, gaming) -popular
Edifier DA5000 Pro (gaming, movies)
JBL Spyro 2.1

Budget ~RM800
Audioengine 2 (A2) (music)
M-Audio AV 40 (music)
Creative Gigawork T3 (music, gaming) -popular
Acoustic Energy Aego M (music) -popular
Harman Kardon Sound Stick III 2.1 (music) -popular

Budget ~RM1000-1200
Edifier S730D (music, gaming) -popular
Edifier S550 (gaming, movies) -popular
Logitech Z5500 (gaming, movies) -popular
Logitech Z906 (gaming, movies)

Budget ~RM1400
Audioengine 5 (A5) (music) -popular

Budget ~RM1900
Epoz AktiMate Mini (music)

This post has been edited by bulibulizaimon: Nov 29 2011, 11:56 AM
titarium
post Apr 25 2011, 09:04 AM

683 posts

I have just tested some Edifier speaker and found out that C3 was so far the best choice for $ to performance .... but unfortunately unable to try out S330

I have the following Q:
1. How does C3 fare against S330 as it is a small top up... how much improvement or what improvements it provides.

2. If I am settling for C3 would it be good I wait for C5's launch ?

3. I kinda like HK Sound Stick 3's design , but would like to have a basis of comparison with C3 on what are the improvements I can foresee if I top-up few hundred $$ on top of the unique design -> went to Digital Mall & Midvalley can't find a place to test out...

btw more to performance 1st Looks 2nd

This post has been edited by titarium: Apr 25 2011, 09:19 AM
durian
post Apr 25 2011, 09:58 AM

75 posts

i finally done up my home
i got a 42 " lcd TV
a PS3
a pc with Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium soundcard
a DVD player
and budget of rm1500

what 2.1 or 5.1 system should i get
main use will be browsing/watching movie/some casual gaming
please advise
regards

Edifier S550 ftw

But i am having this dilemma. I check the I/O to do a bit of studying.
This will most likely be the configuration that I will use.

PC(X-fi Titanium) ----> S550 via 5.1 input
PS3 ----> S550 via AUX input

would this affects the the sounds quality of either one?
is there a hub out there that will solve this issue.
I may be able to connect the PC and PS3 to the TV and reroute it to the S550
but not sure if that's possible

too bad S550 does not come with an optical input otherwise it will be a straight forward thing
Quazacolt
post Apr 25 2011, 10:35 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Apr 25 2011, 04:21 AM)
continuing the thread  rclxms.gif
would be nice if you can include information first timers may find useful in the first post
KTCY
post Apr 25 2011, 01:46 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

ASUS XONAR ESSENCE STX or CREATIVE X-FI TITANIUM HD ?

For music listening like jazz, orchestra and normal movie watching.
power911
post Apr 25 2011, 01:59 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

kewl! new thread drool.gif
xget
post Apr 25 2011, 05:32 PM

147 posts

Looking 2.1 PC Speaker
(any better than my previous ATP3)
budget: RM500+
mainly for: MUSIC (R&B,hip-hop, jazz)) >> Game
bass no need to strong...

Cosef
post Apr 25 2011, 05:44 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(xget @ Apr 25 2011, 05:32 PM)
Looking 2.1 PC Speaker 
Edifier S330D and use the digital coaxial input.
cokehau
post Apr 25 2011, 06:00 PM

175 posts

waiting all it restock then i will get my s530.....xD
xget
post Apr 25 2011, 09:25 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Apr 25 2011, 05:44 PM)
Edifier S330D and use the digital coaxial input.
how much total it cost?

THX certified is mainly for wat?
Cosef
post Apr 25 2011, 09:31 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(xget @ Apr 25 2011, 09:25 PM)
how much total it cost?

Speaker only cost around RM490, plus digital input cable either you choose RCA or Optical, cost vary from RM10 to 50 depending on what quality you getting.

THX certified is just a fun tag....to have good movie sounding. Most with that certified has house shaking woofer....

This post has been edited by Cosef: Apr 25 2011, 09:33 PM
nismo91
post Apr 25 2011, 09:51 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(xget @ Apr 25 2011, 09:25 PM)
how much total it cost?

THX certified is just for the trend, people like to brag my speaker got THX logo... no use one.. but for PC speakers, usually the THX certified one have boom boom bass, though not all.
cheesycake
post Apr 25 2011, 10:36 PM

302 posts

Can't decide between Gigaworks T3 and Aego M sad.gif Heard T3 is better for Movies and Games, Aego M better for music.

But I do music and movies sad.gif
E1 - AKG
post Apr 25 2011, 11:06 PM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(titarium @ Apr 25 2011, 09:04 AM)
I have just tested some Edifier speaker and found out that C3 was so far the best choice for $ to performance .... but unfortunately unable to try out S330

I have the following Q:
1. How does C3 fare against S330 as it is a small top up... how much improvement or what improvements it provides.

2. If I am settling for C3 would it be good I wait for C5's launch ?

3. I kinda like HK Sound Stick 3's design , but would like to have a basis of comparison with C3 on what are the improvements I can foresee if I top-up few hundred $$ on top of the unique design -> went to Digital Mall & Midvalley can't find a place to test out...

btw more to performance 1st Looks 2nd
Check out the Sound Stick III at MyBytes at Tropicana City Mall or MacStudio at Bangsar Shopping Centre, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza.

Looking 2.1 PC Speaker 
JBL Creature III

waie
post Apr 26 2011, 09:59 PM

WieWie WaWa™
1,246 posts

Hmm.. its hard to decide whether I should go for 5.1 Surround speaker or Roccat Kave. :/ Any comments or suggestion ?
TSbulibulizaimon
post Apr 27 2011, 04:03 AM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

QUOTE(cheesycake @ Apr 25 2011, 10:36 PM)
Can't decide between Gigaworks T3 and Aego M sad.gif Heard T3 is better for Movies and Games, Aego M better for music.

But I do music and movies sad.gif
Never got a chance to test Aego M but played with T3 couple of times. Its a nice speaker for gaming and movies coz its crisp satellites and heavy bass. But hey, its also sounds great playing music. Just tune down the bass so the vocal and other instuments not covered by its bass smile.gif

QUOTE(waie @ Apr 26 2011, 09:59 PM)
Hmm.. its hard to decide wheather I should go for 5.1 Surround speaker or Roccat Kave. :/ Any comments or suggestion ?
Go for 5.1 surround speaker like Edifier R501, blasting it will give more pleasure in surround sound environment. Like when you playing games or watching movies, the bass mostly will rumble you body and it will make you feel amazed. About Kave, since its a headphone.. you'll get an occurate and clearer sounding since the driver just deside your ears biggrin.gif. But wearing a kave for long period of time will cause you a pain since this headphone are quite heavy. Your call smile.gif
waie
post Apr 27 2011, 11:42 AM

WieWie WaWa™
1,246 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Apr 27 2011, 04:03 AM)
Never got a chance to test Aego M but played with T3 couple of times. Its a nice speaker for gaming and movies coz its crisp satellites and heavy bass. But hey, its also sounds great playing music. Just tune down the bass so the vocal and other instuments not covered by its bass  smile.gif
Go for 5.1 surround speaker like Edifier R501, blasting it will give more pleasure in surround sound environment. Like when you playing games or watching movies, the bass mostly will rumble you body and it will make you feel amazed. About Kave, since its a headphone.. you'll get an occurate and clearer sounding since the driver just deside your ears  biggrin.gif. But wearing a kave for long period of time will cause you a pain since this headphone are quite heavy. Your call  smile.gif
I'm at Kuching Sarawak currently.. and its hard to find those good speakers since limited choices of brand. I only can see Divoom and SonicGear around. ><
Edifier
post Apr 27 2011, 12:13 PM

Store Representative
9,161 posts

QUOTE(waie @ Apr 27 2011, 11:42 AM)
I'm at Kuching Sarawak currently.. and its hard to find those good speakers since limited choices of brand. I only can see Divoom and SonicGear around. ><
u can get the Edifier @ PC City.
waie
post Apr 27 2011, 12:26 PM

WieWie WaWa™
1,246 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Apr 27 2011, 12:13 PM)
u can get the Edifier @ PC City.
I think I know where it is. Do you have the pricelist or know where to get em? Easier for me to sort out what I wanna buy. Hmm
xget
post Apr 27 2011, 09:35 PM

147 posts

Looking 2.1 PC Speaker 
budget lower to RM300 sad.gif need to transfer some budget to my DSLR

any good recommend? clear & solid music sound enough