Bumi lots, Subsale to non-bumis allowed?

TSjiraiya.sennin
post Apr 22 2011, 11:41 AM, updated 15y ago

Hi

I am new to this. I assume subsale means the first owner selling the property. Can a non-bumi buy a bumi-lot if it is subsale?

Saw a couple of untenanted houses I really like but it is bumi lot.

ebackbone
post Apr 22 2011, 11:45 AM

755 posts

search inside property lowyat forum. there are many threads before this that mentions about this issue.
SUSthinakarant
post Apr 22 2011, 11:46 AM

42 posts

Technically you can but its not worth the hassle. So don't bother, its not worth it.
shindenv
post Apr 22 2011, 12:00 PM

135 posts

Not worth it... just look for other non-bumi lot if you are non-bumi else it will be like renting the property as it'll be very hard for you to sell it off later if you need to.
CyrusChang
post Apr 22 2011, 12:01 PM

722 posts

If you desperate...try lar
michaellee
post Apr 22 2011, 02:17 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(shindenv @ Apr 22 2011, 12:00 PM)
Not worth it... just look for other non-bumi lot if you are non-bumi else it will be like renting the property as it'll be very hard for you to sell it off later if you need to.
I don't think this advice is correct. Whether it is worth the hassle varies from individual. Personally, I would think it is worth it as I have been buying bumi lots. It does take quite a bit of time to get the approval but so far it has been 100% success rate. The prices given normally are around 20-30% below market rate, so personally, I believe it is worth the hassle.

Once the bumi lot is transferred to a non-bumi, then the lot becomes international and the next person can still sell to non-bumis. However, if the non-bumi sells to another bumi down the track, then it automatically converts itself back to bumi lot.
Neubie
post Dec 31 2011, 08:06 PM

QUOTE(michaellee @ Apr 22 2011, 02:17 PM)
I don't think this advice is correct. Whether it is worth the hassle varies from individual. Personally, I would think it is worth it as I have been buying bumi lots. It does take quite a bit of time to get the approval but so far it has been 100% success rate. The prices given normally are around 20-30% below market rate, so personally, I believe it is worth the hassle.

Once the bumi lot is transferred to a non-bumi, then the lot becomes international and the next person can still sell to non-bumis. However, if the non-bumi sells to another bumi down the track, then it automatically converts itself back to bumi lot.
Hello, your reply has tweaked my curiousity. How long before you get approval? What kind of restrictions if any are placed on the converted property? What kind of difficulties did you face in getting the approval for the transfer/conversion to international? Appreciate you reply.
Happy Safe and Prosperous New Year 2012 to you.

This post has been edited by Neubie: Dec 31 2011, 08:07 PM
SUSjalsrix
post Dec 31 2011, 10:11 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(michaellee @ Apr 22 2011, 02:17 PM)

Land office always tell me that it is next to impossible for this to happen. Mind telling me how you can make it work ?

The laws are made not to be circumvented, they are trying to protect the bumi properties from falling into non bumi hands.
spydermind
post Jan 1 2012, 01:45 AM

1,166 posts

i dont think this is legally possible although in Malaysia, we have one motto " Malaysia boleh" ....

To be honest, i havent found any property under bumi lot than is cheaper by 30% the next unit which is not bumi llot.

YOu must have a lot of lubang to convert the title.
Fazab
post Jan 1 2012, 11:31 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(spydermind @ Jan 1 2012, 01:45 AM)
i dont think this is legally possible although in Malaysia, we have one motto " Malaysia boleh" ....

To be honest, i havent found any property under bumi lot than is cheaper by 30% the next unit which is not bumi llot.

YOu must have a lot of lubang to convert the title.
Maybe not entirely illegal, but depends on which state.

Got friend who inherited a bumi-lot property where neighbourhood has turned into red light district.
no bumi wants to buy, but lots of chinaman tauke interested.

Legally (it seems) he can apply to sell it to a non-bumi if can't find a bumi buyer after 6? months.
Last heard it is taking forever....so yes a lot of patience needed.

So check with the relevant land office to see can or not, then find a lawyer who 'specialise' in such deals

michaellee
post Jan 8 2012, 04:58 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(Neubie @ Dec 31 2011, 08:06 PM)
Hello, your reply has tweaked my curiousity. How long before you get approval? What kind of restrictions if any are placed on the converted property? What kind of difficulties did you face in getting the approval for the transfer/conversion to international? Appreciate you reply.
Happy Safe and Prosperous New Year 2012 to you.
You need MB's approval for the conversion. There is no restriction on the converted properties. Factually, there is NOT even a single law in the National Land Code regarding bumi properties. A lot of us gets confused with Malay reserve and Bumi lot. Two entirely different things. For developers, they need to reserve an X percentage of properties for bumis but however, if all non bumi lots are sold and bumi lots are available, they can seek to open the bumi lots to sell them to non bumi lots. I have personally not done any conversion by myself per se but has gone through a runner who has given me 100% approval to date.

Added on January 8, 2012, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(jalsrix @ Dec 31 2011, 10:11 PM)
Land office always tell me that it is next to impossible for this to happen. Mind telling me how you can make it work ?

The laws are made not to be circumvented, they are trying to protect the bumi properties from falling into non bumi hands.
The land office you mentioned must be one hell of a confused puppy. You ask them to quote the exact section, clause in the National Land Code regarding bumi lots. There just isn't any clauses. They are confused between Malay reserve and bumi lots which are two different things.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Jan 8 2012, 05:00 PM
SUSRezo
post Jan 8 2012, 06:05 PM

325 posts

Freehold bumi lot don't have such issue!!!
edyek
post Jan 8 2012, 09:29 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

It can be converted depending on state law. It may not be widely practice or some radical gormen servant prohibits it, hence it was label as impossible.

For sabah, one of the easiest way to own a bumi lot is get a bumi (wife, relative, mother or father or proxy who is a bum) to own it for 5 years, then after a certain period of years holding it, it can be convert into non-bumi lots with state approval.
MeowZ
post Jan 8 2012, 09:46 PM

219 posts

Hello guys, maybe this can shed some light.

http://www.bfm.my/investinginbumiputralots_1130.html

Im a real estate agent at PJS 10,Bandar Sunway.
Kokwm
post Jan 9 2012, 12:23 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(MeowZ @ Jan 8 2012, 09:46 PM)
Hello guys, maybe this can shed some light.

http://www.bfm.my/investinginbumiputralots_1130.html
Im a real estate agent at PJS 10,Bandar Sunway.
Very useful info from the talk show thumbup.gif

0.0182sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:47 AM