Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
7 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> CS, CZ and CSS FAQ, Everything you need to know

H@H@
post Jun 4 2005, 06:44 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!

Group: Staff
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Okay, here's a quick FAQ on the differences between these 3 titles.

What is the difference between Counter-Strike (CS) and CS 1.6?
They are essentially the same. Its just that CS1.6 runs on Steam, meaning you need to be connected to the Net to play even on LAN.

What is the difference between CS and Condition Zero (CZ)?
CZ is basically CS but with a single player portion (Consists of offline bot play with goals and another game type called Deleted Scenes). The multiplayer component for both is exactly the same except that CZ has different textures for some maps. CZ can also be played on LAN without the need for Steam, so no net connection is required.

What is the difference between CS and Counter-Strike: Source (CSS)?
CS is a multiplayer mod for Half-Life while CSS is the multiplayer component for Half-Life 2. CSS plays similarly to CS but has better graphics, a physics engine and also ragdolls drool.gif .

How can I get CS, CZ and CSS?
You can download CS for free if you own Half-Life or you can buy it at retail (Or via Steam). Same goes for CZ. CSS comes with Half-Life 2 and is not available separately. All of these titles are available online via Valve's online service aka Steam. (Requires credit card)

I can't find places to get CS, CZ or CSS. How to get it then?
At the moment, the official distributor of VUG games, Sendi Mutiara Multimedia, is not allowed to distribute any Valve game anymore as VUG and Valve are no longer together. So, finding a copy of any of these games at retailis not so easy. You can try looking for it at some retailers who are selling old stock or purchase it via Steam.

I don't have money to buy CS, CZ or CSS, where can I get it?
Too bad for you. They worked hard to make this game, work hard to get it then.

Can I play CS, CZ and CSS on LAN offline?
Yes, you first need to connect to the Internet, login to Steam, unplug your net connection and let Steam fall into Offline mode. After that, you should have no problem running LAN games. To look for LAN games, just go to the LAN tab in the Find Servers dialogue box. To host, just create a game.

Any further questions, please ask here.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peisqo
post Jun 5 2005, 10:14 PM

5 Star Member !!

Group: Senior Member

ok H@H@ i finally got my original copy today ... just wanna know how the friend thinggy works ? It's so hard to be able to join the same game with my friends ...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post
H@H@
post Jun 5 2005, 10:17 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!

Group: Staff

QUOTE(Peisqo @ Jun 5 2005, 10:14 PM)
ok H@H@ i finally got my original copy today ... just wanna know how the friend thinggy works ? It's so hard to be able to join the same game with my friends ...

Don't use it. Its broken... In my 2 years of using Steam, I've never once seen someone on it... Even though I have 4 names. Use Xfire instead.
+Quote Post
Peisqo
post Jun 5 2005, 10:34 PM

5 Star Member !!

does it has fuction where it checks which server is my fren in or auto join in my fren's game ?
+Quote Post
csL
post Jun 5 2005, 10:44 PM

Group: Junior Member

yeap, u downloaded xfire? Xfire have this function, u can join them when they are in game but not the friend list in ur game.
+Quote Post
MasterAlvin
post Jun 6 2005, 01:18 AM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!

QUOTE(Peisqo @ Jun 5 2005, 10:34 PM)
does it has fuction where it checks which server is my fren in or auto join in my fren's game ?

xFire has everything you need
+Quote Post
Peisqo
post Jun 6 2005, 06:10 PM

5 Star Member !!

that's cool .. thanks
+Quote Post
Peisqo
post Jun 6 2005, 09:50 PM

5 Star Member !!

is there anyway where i can join my fren's game that he creates at home with bots ? Say he create a game in his house with bots ... can i join his game ? if yes how ? thnx .. and it doesn;t seem really efficient .. my fren has joined a game but it says he's not in my xfire .. did i do anything wrong ? how can we refresh the list or something ..

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 6 2005, 09:53 PM
+Quote Post
MasterAlvin
post Jun 6 2005, 11:57 PM

first, he needs to type "sv_lan 0" in console, then you need to make sure he's not on a router, or he will need to open certain ports, i dunno about ports, you'll need someone else to help.

if you are set, all you need is his IP addie
+Quote Post
Peisqo
post Jun 7 2005, 09:21 AM

5 Star Member !!

so i just create a normal game with bots .. type "sv_lan 0" in console ( i'm without router ) and he can join my game via xfire ? xfire auto detects which game i am in isn;t it ?

edit: haha sorry i'm so n00b .. i remember when i last played was like beta 5. something ? lol .. awp shot leg oso can die 1 .. and those bunny hop days .. anyways is there any command we type during the start game works now ? Like cs_sidespeed or something like that .. i remember last time got alot 1 .. does it still work now ? if got can someone share with me some useful commands sad.gif

and also how to join game when i know the ip ? I can't seem to find any place to enter ip address

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 7 2005, 11:21 AM
+Quote Post
csL
post Jun 7 2005, 12:15 PM

Here u goes, a full set of command for cs source, if that not you need nvm tongue.gif . Cuz i play only source..... btw, if you want to connect to a server, at console you can type connect xxx.xx.xx.xx:xxxxx then enter. Its work in cs source. Hmm... the command list isn't made by me, i actually dl it from some forum. tongue.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  commands.zip ( 24.51k ) Number of downloads: 190
+Quote Post
arshad
post Jun 7 2005, 02:05 PM

GHEY GHEY GHEY

to port forward..go portforward.com... thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
Peisqo
post Jun 7 2005, 03:35 PM

5 Star Member !!

thanks ... i tried the sv_lan my fren still can't join la .. how to enter ip ? can't join tru xfire
+Quote Post
ZipD
post Jun 7 2005, 06:32 PM

Type 'connect xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx' (without quotes) in the console, where x is the numbers representing the IP address of your friend's server. Your friend must also NOT be blocked by a router (if he has any) and both of you must unblock HL2 from the Windows Firewall if you're using Windows XP SP2.

If you still cannot connect. Try connecting to an internet CSS server. If you can't connect to any servers, try this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=92118.

If that doesn't help, please note down the error message you got from Steam and post it here so that we can help.

This post has been edited by ZipD: Jun 7 2005, 06:36 PM
+Quote Post
Peisqo
post Jun 7 2005, 08:02 PM

5 Star Member !!

both parties must port forward ar ? anyways what's the port for source ar ?
+Quote Post
MasterAlvin
post Jun 8 2005, 12:27 AM

only host needs to do port forwarding
+Quote Post
ZipD
post Jun 8 2005, 12:46 AM

Copy & pasted from Steam User Forums:

Firewall/Router Settings
If you can't see your server in the list or your friends are not able to connect to your server then this could have many causes. One of them is that you're behind a firewall or a router.
If your server is behind a firewall and/or you are using a router, you need to open/forward these ports:

UDP 1200 (Friends Network)
UDP 27000 to 27015 (Gameport)
UDP 27020
TCP 27030 to 27039
TCP: 27015 (SRCDS Rcon port)

For the full thing: Source Dedicated Server (Windows Only) FAQ

This post has been edited by ZipD: Jun 8 2005, 12:48 AM
+Quote Post
Lurker
post Jun 8 2005, 02:42 AM

Snap Napper
Photography

Group: Elite

I can't find places to get CS, CZ or CSS. How to get it then?
At the moment, the official distributor of VUG games, Sendi Mutiara Multimedia, is not allowed to distribute any Valve game anymore as VUG and Valve are no longer together. So, finding a copy of any of these games at retailis not so easy. You can try looking for it at some retailers who are selling old stock or purchase it via Steam.

any idea which store in KL still have stock?
+Quote Post
Peisqo
post Jun 12 2005, 04:36 PM

5 Star Member !!

the port forward thing still doesn't work la .. 4get it la .. anyone knows how to activate the QUAKE thing ar ? like dota 1 ... got FIRST BLOOD ... DOMINATING like that ... how to activate ?
+Quote Post
davidman82
post Jul 6 2005, 02:26 PM

One CS COndition Zero Original CD sold how much???
+Quote Post

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 02:18 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)