sos_tiram
post Jan 2 2011, 12:37 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(doggydogg @ Jan 1 2011, 04:53 PM)
yo sos tiram, ;D
can spare a few simplified tricks on how to JIT a? xD
and some backup tips also ;D
No problem, you said backup, yes, it's a good idea to do backup, if anything happened, just do the restore, no need to re-flash back biggrin.gif

For backup, I'd prefer xRecovery, here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=878426
The installation seems to be easy to follow.
Manual Installation:
- Download and unpack the recovery package
- use Root Explorer to remount /system rw
- copy the content of the package (3 files) into /system/bin folder

To activate
Press BACK button few times right after white SE logo appears.

It's better to test 1st whether it's working or not

How To JIT: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=877565 (I'll explain again with picture biggrin.gif )

1) Download JIT http://bit.ly/JiT-toggle

2) Open CMD (Command Prompt) and change directory adb folder. Type this command
CODE
adb pull /system/build.prop build.prop

the file build.prop being pulled out to the folder, as below: make 2 copies of the build.prop file, 1 is original, 1 is modified

3) Open the file build.prop with notepad. Modify it as below
Change
dalvik.vm.heapsize=30m
debug.sf.hw=1

add this at the end:
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit
save the file.

4) Extract and Copy JiT-toggle-0.1 folder to the SDcard.

5) Inside JiT-toggle-0.1 folder, copy & overwrite original build.prop to vmlibs_stock. Copy & Overwrite modified build.prop to vmlibsv2
picture below

6) Next, type
CODE
adb shell

then
CODE
su

important: check your phone, superuser request will pop out once you type su, allow it. In case it's not pop out, manually go to superuser, and allow it. Otherwise you'll get permission denied.

7) Type
CODE
cd /sdcard/JiT-toggle-0.1

important: in your phone, Turn off USB storage (unmount). Otherwise you'll get error can't cd to sdcard/JiT-toggle-0.1

8) Type
CODE
sh enable_jit.sh

your phone will reboot and you'll have jit enabled laugh.gif

Below is the picture

Before JIT:

After JIT:

Feel free to modify, in case I forgot anything smile.gif

p/s: Remember to install xrecovery 1st, sediakan payung sebelum hujan brows.gif
uan
post Jan 2 2011, 01:29 AM

571 posts

Sos, I did use this method. But I feel it affect some part of x8 performance. So I decide to disable it. Restart and freeze at se logo. Unlucky, I have no backup. Reflash all over again.

I don't know maybe I made some mistake somewhere. Anybody with success story perhaps can share his.

*type this using x8 and it not that easy... tongue.gif
fatboythin
post Jan 2 2011, 04:40 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Just bought myself an X8 and got them to upgrade it to Android 2.1. Very good phone for the budget, let's see if any probs start cropping out down the line. tongue.gif
sos_tiram
post Jan 2 2011, 09:12 AM

42 posts

This method works but better to backup if it goes wrong. When disabling the jit, yes, it will hang the phone. enable jit again then it's ok. I just leave it enable anyway, so far no issue biggrin.gif

Rudd
post Jan 2 2011, 12:44 PM

4,043 posts

can x8 use bluetooth after update to 2.1?
hokuan
post Jan 2 2011, 02:25 PM

1,336 posts

Just got my X8 yesterday biggrin.gif Still playing around with it. Is there any GPS like Garmin for android?
piumiu
post Jan 2 2011, 02:37 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

Get papago. Quite good for android. I will install on my X8 once I upgrade the memory card this month.
ghost_301
post Jan 2 2011, 02:37 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jan 2 2011, 02:25 PM)
Just got my X8 yesterday biggrin.gif Still playing around with it. Is there any GPS like Garmin for android?
Yes and No. There is Garmin for Android but only exclusively for Garmin Android phone. Use Papago X5 as I think it has the best map from malfreemap so far.
hokuan
post Jan 2 2011, 02:45 PM

1,336 posts

Thanks! Will look for it now. By the way, anybody use the program that can detect speed trap? I think it's called trapster.
piumiu
post Jan 2 2011, 02:52 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jan 2 2011, 03:45 PM)
Thanks! Will look for it now. By the way, anybody use the program that can detect speed trap? I think it's called trapster.
Yes will malfree map update but it is just POI with regular speed trap area.
Now with the new speed trap gun, more portable they can easily change location.
For me this function is useless.
hokuan
post Jan 2 2011, 10:31 PM

1,336 posts

I see i see, police wont stay at the same spot most of the time.

I need to buy Papago X5 right?
aizax007
post Jan 2 2011, 10:36 PM

119 posts

guys...x8 performance good or not??
doggydogg
post Jan 2 2011, 10:48 PM

Got some tomatoes to spare?
838 posts

QUOTE(aizax007 @ Jan 2 2011, 10:36 PM)
guys...x8 performance good or not??
good after root + JIT
better alternative, get LauncherPro or ADW app
stock interface = lag

here something to share wif u all
Timescape removal
so far my phone takde hal

This post has been edited by doggydogg: Jan 2 2011, 11:01 PM
hokuan
post Jan 2 2011, 11:44 PM

1,336 posts

Feel like want to JIT my phone, but it's only 1 day old, warranty void then all gone sad.gif
doggydogg
post Jan 3 2011, 12:22 AM

Got some tomatoes to spare?
838 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jan 2 2011, 11:44 PM)
Feel like want to JIT my phone, but it's only 1 day old, warranty void then all gone sad.gif
initially thot the same too, but then beh tahan the sluggishness
apparently SEUS is a life saver. i flash my phone dono how many times edi.

hokuan
post Jan 3 2011, 10:26 AM

1,336 posts

My hand is getting itchy to root and JIT it tongue.gif

By the way, I'm going to purchase papago x5 soon, but from the web there's no xperia as compatible phone model, will it work? and also the package come with a micro sd card, have to use that or we just need to activation code?
uan
post Jan 3 2011, 10:43 AM

571 posts

papago x5 does not work with current x8 rooted 2.1... try sygic aura instead...
zepp
post Jan 3 2011, 05:04 PM

hi every1, i'm a new x8 user for 2 days only. i wanted to download dr.web antivirus n angry bird but the download couldnt run, what i can see is only "start download". i've tried 3G n wifi but the same problem persists. is any1 out there facing the same problem? i've yet to upgrade to 2.1 n was wondering does that affect the process of downloading? suggestions, comments n solutions are appreciated smile.gif
jcloudsnetwork
post Jan 3 2011, 08:42 PM

QUOTE(sos_tiram @ Jan 2 2011, 12:37 AM)
No problem, you said backup, yes, it's a good idea to do backup, if anything happened, just do the restore, no need to re-flash back  biggrin.gif

For backup, I'd prefer xRecovery, here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=878426
The installation seems to be easy to follow.
To activate

It's better to test 1st whether it's working or not
How To JIT: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=877565 (I'll explain again with picture  biggrin.gif )

1) Download JIT http://bit.ly/JiT-toggle

2) Open CMD (Command Prompt) and change directory adb folder. Type this command
CODE
adb pull /system/build.prop build.prop

the file build.prop being pulled out to the folder, as below: make 2 copies of the build.prop file, 1 is original, 1 is modified
3) Open the file build.prop with notepad. Modify it as below
Change
dalvik.vm.heapsize=30m
debug.sf.hw=1

add this at the end:
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit
save the file.
4) Extract and Copy JiT-toggle-0.1 folder to the SDcard.
5) Inside JiT-toggle-0.1 folder, copy & overwrite original build.prop to vmlibs_stock. Copy & Overwrite modified build.prop to vmlibsv2
picture below
6) Next, type
CODE
adb shell

then
CODE
su

important: check your phone, superuser request will pop out once you type su, allow it. In case it's not pop out, manually go to superuser, and allow it. Otherwise you'll get permission denied.
7) Type
CODE
cd /sdcard/JiT-toggle-0.1

important: in your phone, Turn off USB storage (unmount). Otherwise you'll get error can't cd to sdcard/JiT-toggle-0.1
8) Type
CODE
sh enable_jit.sh

your phone will reboot and you'll have jit enabled  laugh.gif

Below is the picture
Before JIT:

After JIT:

Feel free to modify, in case I forgot anything  smile.gif

p/s: Remember to install xrecovery 1st, sediakan payung sebelum hujan  brows.gif
Hi, when I run the last step, enable_jit.sh, The command prompt show cannot find busybox but my busybox in the sdcard root and accessible by titanium backup too
sos_tiram
post Jan 3 2011, 09:36 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(jcloudsnetwork @ Jan 3 2011, 08:42 PM)
Hi, when I run the last step, enable_jit.sh, The command prompt show cannot find busybox but my busybox in the sdcard root and accessible by titanium backup too
Here, use my version of busybox
http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/9/16/1435290/busybox.rar

Copy the busybox to system/bin in your phone, not sdcard smile.gif

74 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:26 PM