Reviews On Peugeot 407, Fc Etc

TSNaShRiCk
post May 18 2010, 12:32 AM, updated 13y ago

252 posts

i'm consider to buy peugeot 407.
it has alot of features..
but what about the review, fc, the maintainance, max speed etc.
and where can i mod it..
mavericksam
post May 18 2010, 12:39 AM

259 posts

Pugs are not well known for mods... but think there are some ECU upgrades available if you know where to find...

as for other things, do head over to autoworld forum as the malaysian pug base is there i think... (or at least most of them are there)... the forums discussing everything are more comprehensive...

TSNaShRiCk
post May 18 2010, 12:52 AM

252 posts

thx..
redrum77
post May 18 2010, 10:34 AM

376 posts

oh boy that is a beauty .......
blueapple
post Jul 25 2010, 03:16 PM

49 posts

any pug 407 driver here? can give review about this car? cause i'm interested to get 1 as well
max_75
post Jul 25 2010, 11:17 PM

111 posts

PUG 407 is a comfort, well balance, good handling saloon car. Camry and Accord are no match on those aspect. Ofcoz Japs car give more confident on maintenance, but 407 quality has improve alot.
imperialrealcs
post Jul 26 2010, 12:00 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

and remember get the numplate Wxx 407
SUSInF.anime
post Jul 26 2010, 12:26 AM

2,695 posts

PUG 407

is is my friend's plate

imperialrealcs
post Jul 26 2010, 04:49 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Jul 26 2010, 12:26 AM)
PUG 407

is is my friend's plate
lies.. get a life dude
atencomelbelaka
post Nov 10 2012, 10:46 PM

I ALSO INTERESTED WITH THIS CAR .
NEEDR EVIEWRVIEWREVIEWREVIWEREVIEW drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
yOuNg$tEr
post Nov 11 2012, 09:43 AM

728 posts

Comfort
Very very well built car, good for long distance driving, comfortable, all the necessary steering controls like audio and autocruise present. Suspension wise also very good, heard it has one of the best suspension. Handles bumps very smoothly.

Performance
Too bad it only comes with a 4-speed AT(correct me if i'm wrong) which guzzles the fuel like nobody's business. Though the pickup and acceleration is good, but you'll feel butthurt when you see the tacho revving high and the fuel meter going down so fast.
Top speed wise it has no problem getting to 120 easily and continues to go up to 200, the maximum I tried. You'll be so comfy you won't feel the car is running at 150. Of all things, it is the gearbox that turns me off. The gearbox is also abit sluggish imo.

In-Car Entertainment
Music - Here is where is sort of shines, the built in touch screen HU and speaker set up is so good that you'll feel so happy with it. Runs on JBL speakers. The sound quality is really really good. Nuff said.

Nagivation/Others - Apart from the sound quality/music player, I do not think the other part fares well, the touch panel is kind of laggish and other than navigation and clock, the other functions are basically unusable. There are functions like blackboxes, drawing note pad?, photo album, mp3 player but all of this looks nonfunctional to me. I have tried inserting a pendrive with mp3s in it but it just wont detect and play.

Some buttons on the dashboard are also not usable, probably due to the conversion from European market standards (eg: phone/sim feature) to the Asian market where we do not have such techs.

Overall it's a good car to own but I do think you have better choices out there considering the price and its technology. Perhaps the new 408 has improved these?

Just my 2 cents
Source: family owns one

pg84
post Nov 11 2012, 03:22 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(blueapple @ Jul 25 2010, 03:16 PM)
any pug 407 driver here? can give review about this car? cause i'm interested to get 1 as well
I own one from used .so for a used car point of view it is really good . It looks very special, very beautiful, slender body with a naughty stubby tail . I especially loves the long front overhang, it gives that handsome look other cars dun have. If u like to standout amongst others... this is the car to get

This post has been edited by pg84: Nov 11 2012, 03:23 PM
gunsnroses
post Nov 11 2012, 06:25 PM

77 posts

If you are buying, please be careful of the gearbox, the AL4 gearbox is famous for problems, do test drive thoroughly before purchasing to make sure the gearbox is problem free.
Eng_Tat
post Nov 11 2012, 08:00 PM

2,215 posts

hi all wanna ask those 2006/5 peugeot 407 worth to get at 50-55k? thanks
SKYjack
post Dec 12 2012, 04:36 PM

367 posts

This model has a timeless design,one of the best looking Pugs with superb handling! Better suspension than even the newer models! FC is not bad for a 2 liter engine,please don't compare with Kanchil/Keliasa. Maintenance is reasonable, a few independent Pug specialist workshops now,never go to the authorized SC! 04/05 models are going for $50K +/-. The price is very tempting. Here are some facts to consider before purchase.

Main issue is AL4 gearbox. Works well but prone to failure. 08 models were given a gearbox cooler. This improved reliability. However it is important to change ATF every 30Kkm. 08 model also given VVT engine,improved hp. GPS for premium models,display screens are also prone to failure,replacement cost $5K.

09 models were given a facelift. Nice changes to interior.

Market price at present for 09 is around $70K +/-. Wait a few months,I believe it will drop to $65K next year! Wonderful & worth the buy!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Dec 12 2012, 05:30 PM
azbro
post Dec 12 2012, 06:19 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 12 2012, 04:36 PM)
This model has a timeless design,one of the best looking Pugs with superb handling!
This...

Newer ones still expensive...but end of the day....

better get the 408 2.0...yes, the 408 look no where near to the beautiful 407, nor does it handles as well, but important this is you are getting a new car, doesn't mean it wont breakdown...but at least you are getting 5 years warranty

This post has been edited by azbro: Dec 12 2012, 06:22 PM
shihian
post Dec 12 2012, 11:00 PM

QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ May 18 2010, 12:32 AM)
i'm consider to buy peugeot 407.
it has alot of features..
but what about the review, fc, the maintainance, max speed etc.
and where can i mod it..
i'm driving a 407, bought new in mid 09. so far still happy with my choice. great specs & handling (u need to drive to know), very comfortable ...as i travel long distance alot with it. for the price, it has a great sound system etc...so far no issues with the car. i only serviced at nasim so far. to be honest, their service is not up to par..customer service is good but technicians aren't professional. they drive customers car super fast within their small workshop compound and may damage customers cars (happened before to people i know) and everytime i collect my car, my aircon and radio is set to full blast like as though they never get cool air & music in their lives, ever. some areas inside the car not placed back properly after they remove (i think to connect to the electronics to check the car). however, i have to admit they've improved alot since 2009.

This post has been edited by shihian: Dec 12 2012, 11:12 PM
TSNaShRiCk
post Dec 12 2012, 11:51 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(shihian @ Dec 12 2012, 11:00 PM)
i'm driving a 407, bought new in mid 09. so far still happy with my choice. great specs & handling (u need to drive to know), very comfortable ...as i travel long distance alot with it. for the price, it has a great sound system etc...so far no issues with the car. i only serviced at nasim so far. to be honest, their service is not up to par..customer service is good but technicians aren't professional. they drive customers car super fast within their small workshop compound and may damage customers cars (happened before to people i know) and everytime i collect my car, my aircon and radio is set to full blast like as though they never get cool air & music in their lives, ever. some areas inside the car not placed back properly after they remove (i think to connect to the electronics to check the car). however, i have to admit they've improved alot since 2009.
thank you for your review.. btw.. already on it since the last post.. and loving it.. what ur top speed? mine was 190 somehow it was limited by the computer..
lowpro
post Dec 13 2012, 09:00 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(shihian @ Dec 12 2012, 11:00 PM)
which service centre do you normally go to?
shihian
post Dec 13 2012, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(lowpro @ Dec 13 2012, 09:00 AM)
which service centre do you normally go to?
so far only went to nasim glenmarie.

Added on December 13, 2012, 12:24 pm
QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ Dec 12 2012, 11:51 PM)
thank you for your review.. btw.. already on it since the last post.. and loving it..  what ur top speed? mine was 190 somehow it was limited by the computer..
i think around there. i'm not a speed demon, only occasionally when overtake smile.gif..with ron97 can get there quite easily but needs more effort with ron 95 (flat road). city driving, i dont feel much difference. i used to use ron 97 for 2 years after buying the car, then the price went too high, switched to ron95.

This post has been edited by shihian: Dec 13 2012, 12:24 PM
ciput
post Dec 20 2012, 07:42 PM

30 posts

is it true the 2005 version need another extra gb cooler or just stick to 30k atf change?

and does that version also comes with jbl speaker, 7 airbags, traction control and safety technology just like the 2009 version?
SKYjack
post Jan 7 2013, 10:03 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(ciput @ Dec 20 2012, 07:42 PM)
is it true the 2005 version need another extra gb cooler or just stick to 30k atf change?

and does that version also comes with jbl speaker, 7 airbags, traction control and safety technology just like the 2009 version?
2005 model does not have the gb cooler. I don't think you can attach a cooler. Cooler and JBL sound system was added to the 2008 model. All models come with 7 airbags,traction control and other safety features. I'd say stick to 30k ATF change even with the 08 model.

Market value for 09 model is 70k. Get this as it come with additional facelift.
UbuntuClient
post Jan 8 2013, 01:53 PM

1,417 posts

This spare part very expensive in Malaysia. Get the CBU from 2007 and upward. Top mounting cost more than 2k. And AL4 gearbox is sensitive.
SKYjack
post Jan 9 2013, 09:06 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(UbuntuClient @ Jan 8 2013, 01:53 PM)
This spare part very expensive in Malaysia. Get the CBU from 2007 and upward. Top mounting cost more than 2k. And AL4 gearbox is sensitive.
If not mistaken,08 onwards was CKD. Gb cooler was added to this model. AL4 gearbox is good,but make sure to change ATF without fail every 30K!
Ridt_Henshin
post Jan 9 2013, 10:09 AM

380 posts

dont look down on a modded 407.

Dylan from dk tuning has remapped this car. Can get 160hp after remap on stock ew10j4

This is one of the cars spec 407 ( taken from autoworld )

Alfa's 407
140-170-252hp | 200-250-342Nm | HKS ES Wagon Jasma Muffler & 5zigen centre bullet | NX NItrous | K&N Cool Air Intake | DK Remapped ECU | 18" OZ energy | Full Bodykit | MTX speaker | Bilstein B12 Full Sport Suspension | Brown Italian Leather

If not mistaken the 252hp is with NOS.
UbuntuClient
post Jan 10 2013, 08:46 AM

1,417 posts

407 year 2005 and below got problem with ECU. My friend just change his engine with V6 3.0. Got from halfcut.
SKYjack
post Jan 18 2013, 09:51 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Jan 9 2013, 10:09 AM)
dont look down on a modded 407.

Dylan from dk tuning has remapped this car. Can get 160hp after remap on stock ew10j4

This is one of the cars spec 407 ( taken from autoworld )
Alfa's 407
140-170-252hp | 200-250-342Nm | HKS ES Wagon Jasma Muffler & 5zigen centre bullet | NX NItrous | K&N Cool Air Intake | DK Remapped ECU | 18" OZ energy | Full Bodykit | MTX speaker | Bilstein B12 Full Sport Suspension | Brown Italian Leather
If not mistaken the 252hp is with NOS.
Bro, impossible to push hp to 160 by ECU remap alone. Check DK tuning website and they claim only 6-7hp increase on stock engine. The engine has to modified also to get 160hp.
Ridt_Henshin
post Jan 18 2013, 12:26 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 18 2013, 09:51 AM)
Bro, impossible to push hp to 160 by ECU remap alone. Check DK tuning website and they claim only 6-7hp increase on stock engine. The engine has to modified also to get 160hp.
yah its like impossible..

nyway i just me dylan yesterday, doin for my gti. so this sunday see the gains la for full remap session

heres the dyno chart of the 407 btw man. Taken from the website.

UbuntuClient
post Jan 19 2013, 09:16 PM

1,417 posts

For me, horsepower is to speed your car. The important is how much torque you can get. Torque that drive your car from 0. The higher torque, the faster your car can move from 0.
UbuntuClient
post Jan 19 2013, 09:20 PM

1,417 posts

Hit Grand Livina. Don't ask about Livina. You will suprise it. Hit not more than 50km/h. 407 bumper even not crack. Just arm broke.

stinger82
post Jan 19 2013, 09:32 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(UbuntuClient @ Jan 19 2013, 09:20 PM)
Hit Grand Livina. Don't ask about Livina. You will suprise it. Hit not more than 50km/h. 407 bumper even not crack. Just arm broke.

pretty bad, what happened?
UbuntuClient
post Jan 19 2013, 10:09 PM

1,417 posts

Livina suddenly brake. Not notice it on jamme.
kelchow
post Oct 29 2013, 12:59 PM

Hi all 407 sifus,

I just bought a 2009 premium spec model. Great car, no doubt!! One thing I can't seem to get it working is the usb slot. When I insert the thumb drive in the slot to listen to my songs it doesn't play. It will keep playing the CD or the radio only. On the LCD, I select multimedia, USB. On the screen it shows the list of songs. When I press play, it doesn't play! Secondly, when I insert a dvd disc to the slot it also couldn't play. Disc ejects. Does anyone here have similar problem with the player? Please advice. Thank you.
nelson_hew
post Jan 5 2014, 10:39 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(kelchow @ Oct 29 2013, 12:59 PM)
Hi all 407 sifus,

I just bought a 2009 premium spec model. Great car, no doubt!! One thing I can't seem to get it working is the usb slot. When I insert the thumb drive in the slot to listen to my songs it doesn't play. It will keep playing the CD or the radio only. On the LCD, I select multimedia, USB. On the screen it shows the list of songs. When I press play, it doesn't play! Secondly, when I insert a dvd disc to the slot it also couldn't play. Disc ejects. Does anyone here have similar problem with the player? Please advice. Thank you.
HI Kelchow,

How's your Pug doing? IM thinking of getting one, either a 09 or 10 model. Anything for me to look out for? especially for pug? since it is already 4 year old already, there must have a few parts that need to change. i.e suspension/timing belt/ engine mounting/ disc break. you know much it cost?
Sorry cant give any solution to your ICE issue.
nevland
post Mar 25 2015, 08:39 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(nelson_hew @ Jan 5 2014, 10:39 AM)
HI Kelchow,

How's your Pug doing? IM thinking of getting one, either a 09 or 10 model. Anything for me to look out for? especially for pug? since it is already 4 year old already, there must have a few parts that need to change. i.e suspension/timing belt/ engine mounting/ disc break. you know much it cost?
Sorry cant give any solution to your ICE issue.
have you bought your pug?

i just paid a booking for 2011 make
PugGuy
post Apr 6 2017, 06:10 PM

Hi guys,

Anybody looking for used Pug 407? I'm planning to let go mine. Year 2005 CBU France. Interior condition still looks and feels good - leather seats no crack, dashboard and trims all looking good. Exterior has some minor scratch here and there. Usual la in driving in KL. But some wear and tear parts will need replacement, i.e. wheel bush and arms. Also, need to do top overhaul to clear off the carbon deposits. Otherwise, driving on the highway is a pleasure with a stable handling and cornering. Very stable car and it's pleasing design. Looks very garang. I'm willing to let go at below market rate due to the wear and tear. Please pm me if interested. Thank you.

PugGuy
SonnyCooL
post Apr 7 2017, 04:11 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

407 really that good ar ?????
looking for a wagon, look at current 407 SW used prices look like a good buy ... tongue.gif
fishmango
post Apr 7 2017, 10:25 PM

796 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Apr 7 2017, 04:11 PM)
407 really that good ar ?????
looking for a wagon, look at current 407 SW used prices look like a good buy ... tongue.gif
SW version are cbu n b4 2008. Number r much less than the sedan. Not easy to find a good condition. beware spare part r not cheap.

0.0307sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:49 AM