Older Firmware for E1550 Modem Needed

TSkwkean
post May 17 2010, 12:00 AM, updated 16y ago

134 posts

Hi guys, do you know where can I get the older firmware version for E1550 modem. I'm having tons of connecting issue after updating it to the latest version from DiGi official website. Keep getting stuck at the 'Connecting DiGi Broadband' especially after you get disconnected from the system. It will get stuck for about 4 to 5 minutes before you are allowed to reconnect again and in some worst situation you couldn't even restart or shut down your PC untill you unplug the modem.

I don't have all this issue when I was using the older firmware version. Btw, I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Anyone else facing this issue?
forumer21
post May 17 2010, 09:01 AM

76 posts

Mmmm i have a copy of 11.608.13, i dl from dg website in Apr just b4 they release 11.608.14 in May.
Pm me if you interest, i uploaded to mf

babysmile
post May 17 2010, 10:52 AM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

Me also have this problem and trying to downgrade the firmware..

problem comes.. need a pass key in order to down grade firmware..

omg..
jooku1
post May 17 2010, 06:20 PM

704 posts

what do u mean by pass key?
I dont have the exact problem you guys mentioned, but just frequent disconnections. 5 minutes and then poof disconnected!! Bloody irritating

However could be a local Digi problem.
TSkwkean
post May 18 2010, 12:07 AM

134 posts

I believe this issue happen to those who were using Windows 7 64-bit, could be a conflict between the newest firmware and the OS system. Today the matter got worst, after I get disconnected, my usb modem still stay with the blue light on and I can't reconnect until I shut down my computer (even a restart cannot solve it as the blue light will stay on).

I had call DiGi helpline and it is no use, those CS cannot handle this case as they don't even know what to do. All they know is to tell to you to unplug your usb modem, uninstall connection manager and plug it back to reinstall...................... which is not even my request for an older firmware version. Why can they hire someone who don't even know basic IT stuffs to handle IT issue??

Since we need a passkey to downgrade the firmware guess I will just pay a visit to DiGi Specialised Store. If they still cannot or don't even know what is going on, guess I will just cancel my subscription. I do not wish to pay RM100++ for something which is worst then turtlenet (streamyx).
azureskydreamer
post May 18 2010, 08:53 AM

32 posts

Can u guys send me a copy of this patch... i tried all kinds of patches all night.. it still dont work.. mine can get connected but the net just wont run... Is there a patch with new version of connection manager? pls mail to me.. at gohtsehau@gmail.com
forumer21
post May 18 2010, 09:49 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(azureskydreamer @ May 18 2010, 08:53 AM)
Can u guys send me a copy of this patch... i tried all kinds of patches all night.. it still dont work.. mine can get connected but the net just wont run... Is there a patch with new version of  connection manager? pls mail to me.. at gohtsehau@gmail.com
If you looking for new patch for e1550 (11....14...) goto digi broadband website
xiongguoy
post May 18 2010, 01:09 PM

26 posts

E155X Firmware:

DiGi Firmware:
11.608.13.01.000.B409 (14.5MB)
11.608.14.15.311.B418 (28.6MB)

HuaWei Firmware:
11.300.05.06.311 (17.3MB)
11.300.13.00.003 (23.5MB) (This is what I am currently using without problems)
forumer21
post May 18 2010, 01:23 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(xiongguoy @ May 18 2010, 01:09 PM)
E155X Firmware:

DiGi Firmware:

HuaWei Firmware:
Whats the difference between dg and huawei firmware?
xiongguoy
post May 18 2010, 06:04 PM

26 posts

more options i guess, and less the digi branding

you can reflash the firmware and play around and use the one that works best for you
peterscm
post May 19 2010, 11:09 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(xiongguoy @ May 18 2010, 01:09 PM)
E155X Firmware:

DiGi Firmware:

HuaWei Firmware:

I'm unable to download from http://www.xiongguoy.com/downloads/e155x/U...01.06.00.03.exe

Is your server up and running? Is there any alternate site to download it?

wiwicore
post May 24 2010, 08:48 PM

I flash 11.300.13.00.003 (23.5MB) into digi's e1550 modem. It runs perfectly in XP and Win7.

But the problem is, in win7 it cannot upload pictures to fb. I dun wan to use digi version, it has problem. Is there any newer version available?

Joshwcy
post May 24 2010, 10:42 PM

32 posts

I don't understand. Can you tell me more about the Digi firmware and huawei firmware? I m using E1550 Huawei. AFter i installed the huawei firmware which u all recommended. I cannot see the Digi screen anymore. If i want to get back to normal... how?
xiongguoy
post May 25 2010, 03:41 AM

26 posts

There is no recommended version or firmware, each have their own pro and cons.

Different ppl may want/need different features and everybody uses the Internet differently. So best way is to play around with them and use which ever suits you best.

I've posted and uploaded all the firmwares I have for the E155X.

Before my last post, I've checked huawei site to see if there was any new version, only 1 version is currently on their site (the one I am currently using, refer to prev post), they have removed the old one.

The E155X was released Mar 2009 and was meant to be a cheaper/lesser replacement for the E159/E160.
The E159/E160 is actually better then the E155X (like how the PSP Slim was a cheaper/lesser replacement for the PSP Fat, but that's another story for another day)
The E155X can be considered an old and obsolete model, I doubt huawei will continue with future firmware updates.

E155X:
HSDPA 3.6m only, no HSUPA, means upload max 384k
(in comparison, some sierra modems are HSPA, 7.2m d 2m u)
UMTS 384k (that is as high as UMTS can go)
EDGE 240k (I once have an EDGE modem that could go up to 280k, DIGI claims their EDGE network can support up to 384k, 384k is the theoretical limit of EDGE)
GPRS up to 86k (this is the first modem I've seen that cannot support GPRS 115k)

This post has been edited by xiongguoy: May 25 2010, 03:42 AM
wiwicore
post May 25 2010, 11:10 AM

QUOTE(Joshwcy @ May 24 2010, 10:42 PM)
I don't understand. Can you tell me more about the Digi firmware and huawei firmware? I m using E1550 Huawei. AFter i installed the huawei firmware which u all recommended. I cannot see the Digi screen anymore. If i want to get back to normal... how?
Joshwcy, there is no need to show digi on your screen. Its just a stupid digi skin on your connection manager.

In fact, the huawei mobile partner actually runs faster than digi one, loading web page also faster. And do not launch digi website automatically after connected, which is a good thing.

Added on May 25, 2010, 11:16 am
QUOTE(xiongguoy @ May 25 2010, 03:41 AM)

Bro... I tried to upload photos to facebook but FAIL with windows 7, with digiBB, on latest huawei firmware.

I don't have alternative internet connection so unable to confirm its windows 7 problem of digiBB problem.

I got no problem with facebook upload With XP + the very same digiBB.

Do you encounter this problem, and perhaps could share how you fix it?

This post has been edited by wiwicore: May 25 2010, 11:16 AM
xiongguoy
post May 25 2010, 02:58 PM

26 posts

Most of my machines are windows 2003 or windows 2005, I don't have any machines with windows 7.
My modem is now plugged in to a dedicated download machine with a non-digi sim-card.

So I guess I can't really help you on that end. Maybe asking someone else whom has a similar setup as yours?

(E155X + HuaWei Firmware + DiGiBB + Windows 7 + Facebook Photo Upload)
Joshwcy
post May 28 2010, 01:08 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(xiongguoy @ May 25 2010, 02:58 PM)
Most of my machines are windows 2003 or windows 2005, I don't have any machines with windows 7.
My modem is now plugged in to a dedicated download machine with a non-digi sim-card.

So I guess I can't really help you on that end. Maybe asking someone else whom has a similar setup as yours?

(E155X + HuaWei Firmware + DiGiBB + Windows 7 + Facebook Photo Upload)
What is DigiBB??? I only downloaded Huawei Firmware 11.300.13.00.003. How about the DIgi Firmware? which one should i download?
DiGi Firmware:
OR

After installing huawei firmware 11.300.13.00.003. I should install which digi firmware? 11.608.13.01.000.B409 (14.5MB) OR 11.608.14.15.311.B418 (28.6MB)

xiongguoy
post May 28 2010, 09:52 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(xiongguoy @ May 25 2010, 03:41 AM)

Different ppl may want/need different features and everybody uses the Internet differently. So best way is to play around with them and use which ever suits you best.
abrellm
post Jun 7 2010, 09:18 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ May 17 2010, 06:20 PM)
what do u mean by pass key?
I dont have the exact problem you guys mentioned, but just frequent disconnections. 5 minutes and then poof disconnected!! Bloody irritating

However could be a local Digi problem.
Yeah i have been experiencing frequent disconnects too. and i was on the old firmware (e1550 modem)
e-claire
post Jun 15 2010, 09:50 AM

31 posts

i'm on win 7 too and i can't upload to fb as well...any idea to fix this?

0.0221sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:55 AM