> why local made car expensive than those in USA?, Korean, Japan, Germans car even Malaysia News

SUShack3line
post Feb 18 2010, 12:32 AM, updated 16y ago

29 posts

Tahukah anda kereta di pasaran domestik [tempat asal kereta] lebih mahal daripada pasaran Amerika Syarikat? Contohnya adalah seperti berikut:

* Hyundai Genesis 3.8l
* Harga di Korea: USD 45,893.09
* Harga di AS: USD 31,203.82

* Lexus GS350
* Harga di Jepun: USD 45,458.49
* Harga di AS: USD 37,635.81

* BMW 550i
* Harga di Jerman: USD 85,093.43
* Harga di AS: USD 49,804.43

*Harga dalam Dolar Amerika Syarikat

Antara faktor perbezaan harga ialah jenis aksesori dan faktor paling utama adalah kerana struktur cukai. Saya harap sekutu semua faham kenapa harga Proton dan Perodua lebih murah dipasaran luar.

source : http://geartinggi.com/

In the U.S., the Genesis V6 3.8L sells at a starting price of $33,000, while a basic V8 4.6L costs $38,000.

But in Korea, it went on sale this January with the Genesis V6 3.8L selling for about 52.8 million won ($48,485). This is a difference of more than $15,000.

So why would a car made by a Korean company be cheaper in a foreign country than in its domestic market?

According to Hyundai Motor, taxes and a different production system are to blame.

A 24.3 percent tax is levied on domestic cars after they are made. Also, there are over 20 more optional features, including a sunroof and an electric power braking system, in the Korean Genesis 3.8L than the U.S. one.

A Hyundai representative said, “In Korea a 3.8L model is considered relatively high-end whereas in the U.S., it is considered a basic model which is why we took out the extra options for the U.S. cars.”

Even with all of this taken into consideration, the U.S. 4.6L Genesis has very similar optional features as the domestically sold 3.8L Genesis, and is 800 cubic centimeters bigger, but still costs less than the domestic 3.8L Genesis.

Even if we exclude the extra tax on the domestic 3.8L Genesis, it still costs over 42.4 million won.

In the face of customer dissatisfaction at these double standards, some Korean companies are moving quickly to “re-import” Genesis cars that were exported to the United States.

This means that after a car that is made for the U.S. market is exported from Korea, it is brought back in by automobile import companies.

So a customer who orders this re-import would be driving a U.S.-version Genesis on Korean roads.

The automobile industry estimates that around 10 companies are preparing to re-import the Genesis. And customers are signing up to buy them.

Kang Jin-seung, an executive at a Korean automobile import company, said that a significant number of customers have signed up to buy the re-imported Genesis. He added that the re-imports will arrive by October and be ready to run with Korean license plates.

The 3.8L full-option Technology Pack Genesis in the U.S. has a starting price of $38,063 (excluding some options, such as seat warmers). With shipping and Korean tax fees, this comes to 60 million won. That’s around 5.8 million won less than the comparable Royal VIP Pack with full options sold in Korea.

Automobile re-importing is mainly popular in Europe with expensive cars like Porsches. The re-import of regular passenger cars like the Genesis, however, is extremely rare.

People who are skeptical of the Genesis re-import plans say that the savings are insignificant because the won has depreciated against the dollar recently. Others say that foreign imports have fewer optional features.

Experts also argue that the difference in price is due to the cost of auto parts and raw materials as well as commodity prices in each country. Hyundai Motor also pointed out in its defense that in developing the Genesis, it carried out consumer surveys and studied the prices of similar cars in the U.S., including the Chrysler 300C and the Lexus GS.

Hyundai Motor said that it had to lower the retail price of its cars in the U.S. market because fewer people have heard of the brand compared to other bigger automakers. The recent U.S. economic slowdown also contributed to the price being lower there.

Representatives of Hyundai Motor added that Japanese and German cars are also much cheaper in the U.S. than in their home countries.

These arguments, however, still do not sit well with many Koreans, who are furious that domestic-made cars and other products cost more here than overseas.

Experts say that the domestic market for re-imported cars will grow if Korean companies keep their prices high. This means that more customers will choose to buy re-imports because they are cheaper. Many customers have complained following reports about the price differences in the Genesis.

In July, Hyundai Motor advertised a new 3.8L Genesis in Korea with fewer optional features, for 47.5 million won.

This gap in domestic and overseas prices can also be seen in foreign brands which have been imported to Korea.

U.S.-based fashion brand Banana Republic first opened its doors in Korea last summer. But consumers were in for a nasty shock as the clothes were almost twice as expensive here than in the U.S. Some items cost up to 70 percent more here than their U.S. equivalents.

Shinsegae International, which imports the brand to Korea, said the discrepancy was due to the high costs of leasing store space in Korea.

Even so, Banana Republic in Korea received numerous complaints from local customers. As a result, the brand lowered its prices earlier this year. To achieve this, some clothing items are now delivered by ship, whereas they were all air freighted before.

Banana Republic’s spring/summer collection in Korea was, therefore, considerably cheaper. A dress which would have cost 289,000 won last year was selling at 219,000 won this year. Men’s cotton T-shirts, selling last year for 179,000 won, now cost 139,000 won.

source : http://joongangdaily.joins.com/article/view.asp?aid=2894349

This post has been edited by hack3line: Feb 18 2010, 12:34 AM
bugpakoo
post Feb 18 2010, 12:36 AM

91 posts

you forgot to simplified...
suicideroach
post Feb 18 2010, 12:36 AM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

mengapakah aku harus peduli dengan semua ketahian ini? aku tidak pernah menyalahi sesiapa pun sekiranya harga kereta di negara ku sendiri murah ataupun mahal. Ada duit, beli la. Tak ada duit, jangan la beli. Duduk diam-diam sahajala.
badSeed
post Feb 18 2010, 12:41 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Feb 18 2010, 12:36 AM)
mengapakah aku harus peduli dengan semua ketahian ini? aku tidak pernah menyalahi sesiapa pun sekiranya harga kereta di negara ku sendiri murah ataupun mahal. Ada duit, beli la. Tak ada duit, jangan la beli. Duduk diam-diam sahajala.
kamu tada duit dok diam diam
ky-l
post Feb 18 2010, 12:43 AM

126 posts

takde duit jangan beli. Tak puas hati bina sendiri
qqmeng
post Feb 18 2010, 12:44 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Feb 18 2010, 12:36 AM)
then might as well u dont complain anything?

gf not good get another one la
bank service not good, search for other bank lor
job no good be your own boss
government no good, immigrate lor
... list go on...

if u tell me tht you hv never complain b4.... try persuade anyone here to belief u ...
bluephoenix87

42 posts

Because we need to make some datuks rich...
POYOZER

Traveler
3,653 posts

What a boring topic because this discussion never ever can solve the problem. It already have been discussed in Kopitiam for many times already.

suicideroach
post Feb 18 2010, 12:45 AM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

QUOTE(badSeed @ Feb 18 2010, 12:41 AM)
kamu tada duit dok diam diam
tada duit, kita bina duit.

btw, enjoy ur local tin milo car.
badSeed
post Feb 18 2010, 12:49 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Feb 18 2010, 12:45 AM)

i smell some jealousy laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by badSeed: Feb 18 2010, 12:50 AM
suicideroach
post Feb 18 2010, 12:50 AM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Feb 18 2010, 12:44 AM)
then might as well u dont complain anything?

gf not good get another one la
bank service not good, search for other bank lor
job no good be your own boss
government no good, immigrate lor
... list go on...
if u tell me tht you hv never complain b4.... try persuade anyone here to belief u ...
Its easy...before u go rage complaining and blame it to other ppl, try to see the world around u. Many ppl are less fortunate then u. Ur gf not good? well, some ppl got a really fat-huge ass gf. Your job not good? have u seen a person with 4 kids trying to make a life by cleaning and collecting the rubbish besides the road?

Life is short.. enjoy it while u can.
SUSslimey
post Feb 18 2010, 12:55 AM

6,914 posts

i forgot the term for it.
the lower price in another country is to penetrate that market.
hilmiangah
post Feb 18 2010, 12:55 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Feb 18 2010, 12:45 AM)

i'll key ur Jaguar.

thats a promise.
badSeed
post Feb 18 2010, 12:58 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Feb 18 2010, 12:55 AM)
i'll key ur Jaguar.

thats a promise.
need any help?
joe_mamak
post Feb 18 2010, 12:58 AM

363 posts

No use one.

The government ain't going to listen.
hellriser
post Feb 18 2010, 12:59 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 18 2010, 12:55 AM)
dumping
SUSslimey
post Feb 18 2010, 01:03 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(hellriser @ Feb 18 2010, 12:59 AM)
dumping
yes, that's it. thanks.
hvtan
post Feb 18 2010, 01:04 AM

u should have your answer when Proton was launch
quintessential
post Feb 18 2010, 01:08 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 18 2010, 01:55 AM)
that's the reason why proton has not enough money for R&D. heck, even part of proton's profit goes for government project like roads and infrastructure.

hilmiangah
post Feb 18 2010, 01:08 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Feb 18 2010, 01:08 AM)
that's the reason why proton has not enough money for R&D. heck, even part of proton's profit goes for government project like roads and infrastructure.
milk the cash cow till the last drop.

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0531sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:58 AM