![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Pls give advise on CPU Spec, Budget of RM1200
Nov 19 2009, 08:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 22 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Nov 2007 |
Wow.. I feel that suddenly i learned alot things.
But finally decided to use AMD and those spec recommend by Titaniumz. Thanks to him and thanks for everyone who willing to teach me. Btw, with his spec can i just use a normal 450W PSU just to save some cost? Coz a normal 450W PSU just around RM50? Athlon II X2 240 RM198 MSI 770-C45 RM245 Kingston ValueRAM DDR3-1333 2GB RM180 Western Digital SATAII 500GB RM165 Cooler Master Elite 335 RM140 Gigabyte Superb 460W RM155 Total RM1083 |
Nov 19 2009, 08:34 PM
Ze Balmarian ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,493 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2009 From: Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(vampiremax @ Nov 19 2009, 08:18 PM) Wow.. I feel that suddenly i learned alot things. But finally decided to use AMD and those spec recommend by Titaniumz. Thanks to him and thanks for everyone who willing to teach me. Btw, with his spec can i just use a normal 450W PSU just to save some cost? Coz a normal 450W PSU just around RM50? Athlon II X2 240 RM198 MSI 770-C45 RM245 Kingston ValueRAM DDR3-1333 2GB RM180 Western Digital SATAII 500GB RM165 Cooler Master Elite 335 RM140 Gigabyte Superb 460W RM155 Total RM1083 Well a cap ayam psu indeed can power up your rig. But think like this: Processor is like the brain, PSU is like the heart pumping blood (power) to every part of the body (rig). Sure you don't want a cap ayam heart, do you? From my experience Gigabyte Superb line is pretty decent for a budget psu, and give you enough headroom for a low power graphic card should you need one (you don't need a fancy high end graphic card for your usage anyway). |
Nov 20 2009, 12:47 AM
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 3,597 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Sep 2009 From: Twixt nether and ether |
QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 19 2009, 08:34 PM) Well a cap ayam psu indeed can power up your rig. But think like this: Processor is like the brain, PSU is like the heart pumping blood (power) to every part of the body (rig). Sure you don't want a cap ayam heart, do you? From my experience Gigabyte Superb line is pretty decent for a budget psu, and give you enough headroom for a low power graphic card should you need one (you don't need a fancy high end graphic card for your usage anyway). What is the Superb's rated continuous output? If it has 400W worth of continuous juice, it'll even power up a GTX285 with watts/amps to spare |
Nov 20 2009, 12:56 AM
- wak ampir nak pencen - ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 5,816 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 From: In The Jungle |
QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Nov 20 2009, 12:47 AM) What is the Superb's rated continuous output? If it has 400W worth of continuous juice, it'll even power up a GTX285 with watts/amps to spare The Superb 460W is rated 400W continuous & 460W peak.. I have used quite a few of them with some pc's i made b4 and they work just fine.. My lil sis rig i used the Superb 460W to pwer up her Phenom 9850 + HD4670 rig.. Even my friend X2 + HD4850 rig is using it... Both rig are still working fine, i even have a unit in stock as a reserve just incase if ever my PSU kong or something |
Nov 20 2009, 01:10 AM
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 3,597 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Sep 2009 From: Twixt nether and ether |
QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 20 2009, 12:56 AM) The Superb 460W is rated 400W continuous & 460W peak.. I have used quite a few of them with some pc's i made b4 and they work just fine.. My lil sis rig i used the Superb 460W to pwer up her Phenom 9850 + HD4670 rig.. Even my friend X2 + HD4850 rig is using it... Both rig are still working fine, i even have a unit in stock as a reserve just incase if ever my PSU kong or something Overclock3D.Net ran the GTX285 with an i7 920 and 6GB of RAM. The max power consumption recorded was just under 330W |
Nov 20 2009, 01:57 AM
- wak ampir nak pencen - ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 5,816 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 From: In The Jungle |
QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Nov 20 2009, 01:10 AM) Overclock3D.Net ran the GTX285 with an i7 920 and 6GB of RAM. The max power consumption recorded was just under 330W Yup that's why lah, i mention about it in a few other threads but got someone kept saying better get a 500W for a mid-end rig etc.. |
Nov 20 2009, 08:15 AM
Old Am I? Technical Support, Hardware Group: Moderator Posts: 11,173 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2005 From: Dagobah |
QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Nov 20 2009, 01:10 AM) Overclock3D.Net ran the GTX285 with an i7 920 and 6GB of RAM. The max power consumption recorded was just under 330W QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 20 2009, 01:57 AM) Yup that's why lah, i mention about it in a few other threads but got someone kept saying better get a 500W for a mid-end rig etc.. Yups, I did mention it.. for such graphics cards, I recommended 500W and higher. You cannot look at the readings and compare to PSU wattage ratings like that... Nowadays most power used comes from the +12V rails (if you didn't notice, the PCIe power connector comes from the +12V rails). The PSU wattage ratings include total power combined for +5V, 3.3V, +12V and +5V standby rails. To demonstrate my point... notice how much wattage for +12V rail? ![]() This post has been edited by lex: Nov 20 2009, 08:22 AM |
Nov 20 2009, 08:16 AM
Ze Balmarian ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,493 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2009 From: Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 20 2009, 01:57 AM) Yup that's why lah, i mention about it in a few other threads but got someone kept saying better get a 500W for a mid-end rig etc.. Some people like overkill mar. I'm also using PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W to power my Q9400+HD4870, overkill but I can enjoy the silenct rig... but the 4870 is killing my ear anyway... |
Nov 21 2009, 01:59 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 22 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Nov 2007 |
Hi, TItaniumz.
Can help me make some change on my spec? If the graphic card is AGP ( I donno AG wat ad. another type of GC but not PCI-E), Which mainboard i should use? |
Nov 21 2009, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(vampiremax @ Nov 21 2009, 01:59 PM) Hi, TItaniumz. Can help me make some change on my spec? If the graphic card is AGP ( I donno AG wat ad. another type of GC but not PCI-E), Which mainboard i should use? Motherboards with AGP slots are pretty rare to come by. Why would you want to stick with an AGP card anyway? If this is about cutting down on cost, why not get a motherboard with an IGP? |
Nov 21 2009, 02:34 PM
The AGP Mobo is not for me.
My cousin wanna buy new computer also and his graphic card still can use as my GC. IGP is internal graphic card? came together with Mobo? |
Nov 21 2009, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(vampiremax @ Nov 21 2009, 02:34 PM) The AGP Mobo is not for me. My cousin wanna buy new computer also and his graphic card still can use as my GC. IGP is internal graphic card? came together with Mobo? Yes. As I said, AGP slots are all but extinct in current mobos. So you would fare better getting a mobo with an IGP. |
Nov 21 2009, 03:09 PM
Hrm... then how i know which mobo came together with IGP?
look for those movo with this word at the flyer? V+S+GbE? or u got suggestion for me? AMD processor. |
Nov 21 2009, 03:12 PM
Nov 21 2009, 03:30 PM
Motherboard with IGP, well you could take MSI KA780G-M for RM285, but you'll have to get DDR2 RAM instead.
Nov 21 2009, 04:00 PM
Hrm.. ok... DDR2 is ok also.
Btw, I cant found the PSU you mention from those flyer. Gigabyte Superb 460W RM155 is ok if i use Cooler Master Extreme 460W? RM160 |
Nov 21 2009, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(vampiremax @ Nov 21 2009, 04:00 PM) Hrm.. ok... DDR2 is ok also. Btw, I cant found the PSU you mention from those flyer. Gigabyte Superb 460W RM155 is ok if i use Cooler Master Extreme 460W? RM160 Sure why not? I'm not related to Gigabyte in any sense, feel free to get any brand as long as you feel comfortable. |
Nov 21 2009, 04:13 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 21st March 2010 - 12:52 AM |