WTA Mac vs Windows, User who uses both OS comment pls.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
WTA Mac vs Windows, User who uses both OS comment pls.
Nov 9 2009, 08:00 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 60 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Mar 2006 |
OMg.. any debate about Toyota Vs Honda?
Nov 9 2009, 08:06 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 77 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2008 From: Azn |
^ ferrari vs lambo?
Nov 9 2009, 08:38 PM
Casual ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 476 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Mar 2007 |
actually i realized 1 thing with desktop pc. we need to upgrade fr time to time and that adds to the cost, esp if u're a gamer.
but if u don upgrade, after 3 yrs, u most likely have to change ur processor AND your motherboard. which means more money. :| as for mac vs windows. windows sys always need to b reformatted because as time goes by, there will be more n more viruses/worms/junks. ur sys will be slower. a recent study shows that windows 7's security is as bad as XP. so there u go. u still need antivirus --> which will slow down ur machine and with the AV, it will only make ur windows machine as safe as a MAC (hackers prefer to spend time on windows, more value). i'm using both sys day in day out. but i must say i prefer mac. somehow it makes me more productive - jz i cant play PC games |
Nov 9 2009, 10:25 PM
Look at all my stars!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,010 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
today mac(apple) standard is tomorrow PC standard.
Nov 9 2009, 11:44 PM
Regular ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,144 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2006 From: Genting Highlands |
QUOTE(daydreaming @ Nov 9 2009, 08:38 PM) actually i realized 1 thing with desktop pc. we need to upgrade fr time to time and that adds to the cost, esp if u're a gamer. but if u don upgrade, after 3 yrs, u most likely have to change ur processor AND your motherboard. which means more money. :| as for mac vs windows. windows sys always need to b reformatted because as time goes by, there will be more n more viruses/worms/junks. ur sys will be slower. a recent study shows that windows 7's security is as bad as XP. so there u go. u still need antivirus --> which will slow down ur machine and with the AV, it will only make ur windows machine as safe as a MAC (hackers prefer to spend time on windows, more value). i'm using both sys day in day out. but i must say i prefer mac. somehow it makes me more productive - jz i cant play PC games Example, i've been using my Mac for more than 3 years, from Tiger to Leopard and now Snow Leopard. STILL AS STRONG AS BEFORE. Have yet to come to a point where I need to reformat. QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 9 2009, 10:25 PM) IF tomorrow ever comes for PC.. And if it ever comes, it carries all its previous issues with it.. This post has been edited by civic98: Nov 9 2009, 11:44 PM |
Nov 10 2009, 06:42 AM
Look at all my stars!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,010 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
your reply like apple latest ad
the broken promise episode |
Nov 10 2009, 12:16 PM
ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,775 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2008 |
Here are some words from a influential Mac Fan Boy....
QUOTE http://www.tomshardware.com/news/nvidia-ap...force,9032.html Nvidia CEO Jen-Hsun Huang said “Apple wants to differentiate. So inside your MacBook is a NVIDIA chipset. Because Apple wants to build fundamentally different computers than just the Intel platform. They want to add value.” Mr Huang said that in his home they’re “all Apple.” According to him “Apple uses the best technology for their [computers]. Apple says to their customers: if you buy a computer from us you can be sure we have selected the best technology inside for you. That is their promise to consumers. Their promise to consumers isn’t we’ve selected the best technology for you with the exception of what Intel allows us to use. That’s not their promise. And that’s why Apple uses the best technology where they want whenever they want. And that’s why I’m all Apple! At home it’s just Macs everywhere. It’s NVIDIA’s technology in all of them but I use Macs. My son has two Macs, my daughter has a Mac, there’s an extra Mac just in case and my wife has a Mac. It’s just Mac, Mac, Mac! Because I know it’s got the best stuff inside.” |
Nov 10 2009, 12:53 PM
Regular ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,266 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2009 From: Your House |
I like their software, not their hardware. Only if OS X could be installed on a PC without all those hackintosh hacks.
Nov 10 2009, 01:14 PM
pipo~ pirorin~ jajyan~ chin~ ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 799 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2008 From: every stores, super maket and hypermart~~ |
hoi!!! dun talk labbish on windoz laaa... it gives a lot of job opportunities for others...
look at sophos, norton, mcafee, trneds micro, etc etc... they all rely on windoz for their jobs mac & linux mana ada this many job opportunities? |
Nov 10 2009, 02:05 PM
Apple rox ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,329 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Joined: Jan 2020 |
QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Nov 10 2009, 01:14 PM) hoi!!! dun talk labbish on windoz laaa... it gives a lot of job opportunities for others... look at sophos, norton, mcafee, trneds micro, etc etc... they all rely on windoz for their jobs mac & linux mana ada this many job opportunities? looks like you are the one talking labbish Ya, those company rely on windoz, because Windows got much more users compare to mac, NOT because Windoz better than mac. If Mac got more users than Windoz, you think they will focus on Windoz? |
Nov 10 2009, 02:58 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 159 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Nov 2005 |
need not to bash the OSes la.. everyone has their on preferences.
each OS have their pros n cons.. leopard might have the edge on vista.. but win7 is fast, stable and on par with snow leopard. |
Nov 10 2009, 04:05 PM
I am not a dog ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 3,530 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 |
In Laptop market, the large multi-touch touch pad is what i like. I guess PC laptop users might jealous bout this feature from Mac laptop.
First time in Mac OS, i felt very headache & annoyed to do my stuff in mac os x like i used to be in XP. Lucky the forumers here are helpful. I had spent almost 6 months to bring over softwares i use in XP into Mac. Nowadays i spent most of my time in Mac OS. It is very stable for multi-tasking. And lagging issues is not so often anymore. Since i am not a hardcore gamer, i spent most of my time doing work in Mac OS X... Good reason to push myself more closer to work zone. I do play some less intensive graphic games in Mac OS X. like Machinarium, Plants vs Zombie, Zuma... Every year No need to pay for original AV software. If 2nd laptop, i will still go for Mac one. The GPU consider compatible to handle quite alot of recent years intensive graphic games. To me, COre2Duo or higher processor than this spec is sufficient to do stuff i want to do... Until i seriously into 3D production. Then i will consider a High End PC setup. Mac OS X become a "secondary" consideration of mine being a computer user between both OS platform. It's no more sky-high price to own a Mac computer anymore. Give it a try instead of over 10 years staying in Microsoft. Bugging where to get "free" anti-virus software. |
Nov 10 2009, 06:13 PM
Regular ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,144 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2006 From: Genting Highlands |
This is almost too funny.. There're actually people fooling around about which OS God is running..
God Runs Windows XP? http://gizmodo.com/5400305/even-god-runs-windows-xp ![]() QUOTE Yes, that's a Windows XP error, floating in the sky. No, it's not a Photoshop. QUOTE I think people need to keep something in mind: God is omnipotent and omniscient. He knows about Macs and, if He wanted a Mac, He could get a Mac. This Windows error is proof that, in the eyes of God, Mac is simply an inferior product not worthy of His Heavenly Disposable Income. That's right - given a choice, God chose Windows. If this teaches us anything, it's that in spite of the glitches and errors which may cause crashing - along with earthquakes, tornadoes, floods, and droughts - running the world simply cannot be trusted to a Mac. QUOTE Thunder and lightning is when God's XP is being slow. Earthquake is when God's XP crashes. Hurricane is when God's XP has a virus and keeps loading porn sites. Eclipse is when God's XP makes him update Windows and he has to reboot. QUOTE This can esaly explain why we hanvnt heard from god in a while. He's Been trying to get his computer to bootup without crashing. This post has been edited by civic98: Nov 10 2009, 06:18 PM |
Nov 10 2009, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Nov 10 2009, 01:14 PM) hoi!!! dun talk labbish on windoz laaa... it gives a lot of job opportunities for others... look at sophos, norton, mcafee, trneds micro, etc etc... they all rely on windoz for their jobs mac & linux mana ada this many job opportunities? why talking like kid? this kind of job availability doesnt make any special they are certainly fixing windows holes |
Nov 10 2009, 11:06 PM
Newbie...like, seriously ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,362 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuching / Miri |
i thought the job opportunities post was a sarcastic one. was i wrong?
Nov 11 2009, 08:15 AM
Casual ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 476 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Nov 10 2009, 04:05 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « yea, agreed. my old windows machine (desktop) is running so slow when the anti virus is running. heck, depending on which AV u r using, even a new system can be slow! and things r still the same with win 7. :T |
Nov 11 2009, 08:41 AM
yes indeed, my win 7 boot up is getting slow
Nov 11 2009, 11:15 AM
Macster/Gunner/Autobot ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,244 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2008 From: Here and There |
QUOTE(rushmode @ Nov 10 2009, 02:58 PM) need not to bash the OSes la.. everyone has their on preferences. each OS have their pros n cons.. leopard might have the edge on vista.. but win7 is fast, stable and on par with snow leopard. of course its fast, for the first few days at least, after a week later everything starts to throttle down, its as if an M5 car losing so much of power after a few days. On par with SL are you kidding me? or are you on crack? simple example exchange support 2007 comes free with every mac, on the pc you have to buy it, see the difference? |
Nov 11 2009, 11:26 AM
Apple rox ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,329 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Joined: Jan 2020 |
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Nov 11 2009, 11:15 AM) of course its fast, for the first few days at least, after a week later everything starts to throttle down, its as if an M5 car losing so much of power after a few days. On par with SL are you kidding me? or are you on crack? simple example exchange support 2007 comes free with every mac, on the pc you have to buy it, see the difference? I agree. First time i installed Windows 7, I was impressed by the fast boot time and shut down time. But after 2 weeks, it gets slower ans slower... Even Leopard boot and shut down faster than Windows 7 |
Nov 11 2009, 11:49 AM
Animal-Pak ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,467 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Nov 2005 From: Ipoh |
i'm thinking of getting a mac for my leisure, web browsing n some college work etc...currently i own 1 laptop, should i get a mac mini which i customized to around 3k or to save extra 1k and get the mbp 13"?
sorry if i posted in the wrong thread |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 22nd March 2010 - 03:29 AM |