Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
2 Pages  1 2 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> boot/trunk custom board, recommended place?

ghoster
post Nov 7 2009, 06:28 AM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

hi guys,

im thinking of getting a custom board to cover my spare tyre in my car's boot. my current stock board is uneven, looks kinda ugly too tongue.gif a shop at SS2 offered me RM180 for a custom board, with a few compartments for power amplifiers and other stuff. but i dunno whether their workmanship is good or not. any recommended place?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
robinhood
post Nov 7 2009, 08:42 AM

You can try Auto Genesis at Seri Kembangan, KL (near South City Plaza). They have just employed a few custom fibre/mounting board sifus. Price pretty reasonable too.
+Quote Post
ghoster
post Nov 7 2009, 09:28 AM

any picture of their work?
but it quite far, any place near damansara?

This post has been edited by ghoster: Nov 7 2009, 09:34 AM
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Nov 7 2009, 09:42 AM

Group: Senior Member

how is the design for the Rm180 ones?

personally if my amps are hidden with the price of RM180... i am fine with it... but well refering to my previous setup with 4 amps though...

cheers...
+Quote Post
ghoster
post Nov 7 2009, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(craziechild @ Nov 7 2009, 09:42 AM)
how is the design for the Rm180 ones?

personally if my amps are hidden with the price of RM180... i am fine with it... but well refering to my previous setup with 4 amps though...

cheers...

they dont have a demo unit, thats what im affraid of. i've had a few bad experience with ICE before, so i dont want to gamble tongue.gif
+Quote Post
IceCube
post Nov 7 2009, 11:14 AM

Where can we get the hard cardboard thing from ?

Thinking of DIY it since my car is an old car. not worth spending hundreds for a cardbox. And i also like to DIY one. huhuhuh...
+Quote Post
ghoster
post Nov 7 2009, 11:15 AM

i think u can easily find the hard cardboard. but the one im looking for is make of plywood, much more better biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
driftmeister
post Nov 7 2009, 11:45 AM

THIS IZ ENFIELDZ

QUOTE(ghoster @ Nov 7 2009, 09:28 AM)
any picture of their work?
but it quite far, any place near damansara?

ACP (SS2)
AutoGadget (Dataran Sunway)
KF Audio (Aman Suria)
KKLau (Beside Taman Bahagia LRT)
JP Audio (Dataran Sunway)
+Quote Post
ghoster
post Nov 7 2009, 12:35 PM

yes, this is what im talking about, i wonder how much will it cost biggrin.gif

+Quote Post
ckmoy007
post Nov 7 2009, 05:30 PM

5 Star ICE Noob

omg, the last pic, alpine MRV-F900... damn huge. those pdx looks so tiny compared to it.
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Nov 7 2009, 05:53 PM

i love huge amps... hahaha...
+Quote Post
zennn
post Nov 9 2009, 02:47 PM

Group: New Member

just visit the list of shops above, have a chat with the boss, buy him teh tarik or kopi o, then discuss la...

which one fits your budget and gives u confidence, go for it...
+Quote Post
ghoster
post Nov 10 2009, 06:09 AM

sounds like all the shops listed are trustworthy, thanks biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
Crazy_Fella
post Nov 10 2009, 02:29 PM

QUOTE(robinhood @ Nov 7 2009, 08:42 AM)
You can try Auto Genesis at Seri Kembangan, KL (near South City Plaza). They have just employed a few custom fibre/mounting board sifus. Price pretty reasonable too.

i am not saying they are not good, but my friend who drive a vios had done there for a custom boot setup. To me, the works are unacceptable compare to the price he paid. Just my 2 cents.
+Quote Post
ghoster
post Nov 12 2009, 01:06 PM

my car is a hatchback, so the boot space is limited, is it possible to fit a subwoofer and an amplifier without giving away the space for spare tyres?
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Nov 12 2009, 01:52 PM

yea... just have to find a way to arrange your equipment?
+Quote Post
supersound
post Nov 12 2009, 06:15 PM

DIY sure can avoid all the problems. That's why sometimes on car audio = what you paid is not what you get.

This post has been edited by supersound: Nov 12 2009, 06:16 PM
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
zennn
post Nov 13 2009, 02:53 PM

in some cases DIY causes more problems....hehe leave it to the pros better
+Quote Post
supersound
post Nov 13 2009, 03:04 PM

^But atleast ownself won't complaint much on the outcome. Is hard to judge subjective manner sometimes. 1 may say it is nice but some may not.
Like those US installations that involved spare tire compartment, for them are good but for me is bad as I cannot use my spare tire. At the end have to see how we judge it.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
zennn
post Nov 13 2009, 03:26 PM

usually if everyday driven car then they wont sacrifice the spare tyre compartment la.

my 1st time i still used spare tyre and made the floor to accomodate it, make it easy to take in and out

when started pro, not enuff space, had to sacrifice it lah, giant amps, sub also 15"...car very small...jazz only haha....
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 09:31 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)